0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Thomson Course Technology Guitar Tone: Pursuing the Ultimate Guitar Sound Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Thomson Course Technology Guitar Tone: Pursuing the Ultimate Guitar Sound?

Questions about the Thomson Course Technology Guitar Tone: Pursuing the Ultimate Guitar Sound?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from West Jordan Utah October 23, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar

    AWESOME

    Great book vey informative. Lot of cool tidbits that are a huge help

  • from November 11, 2014

    Guitar Tone by Mitch Gallagher

    I have really enjoyed reading this book! It is a very well thought out book.

  • from Fargo, ND March 26, 2014Music Background:
    I play for fun.

    Buy this book before you buy any more gear.

    Excellent book on how guitar tone is affected by the many parts of the signal chain; I will definitely consult it before adding any new effects or guitars. The chapters on individual players, and how to reconstruct their signature sounds was great as well; I know that much of a player's tone comes from their own hands, but it was very helpful in creating a "pro-level" tone with the gear I have now. Thanks, Mitch! Go, Dragons!

  • from Farley M.O. USA February 14, 2014Music Background:
    just learning

    A valuable tool for anyone learning guitar

    If your Just learning for a hobby or Going Professional this book is great for better understanding the science and art of guitar tone, while it might not cover the newest type of gear coming out such as the Fishman guitar Pickups, but it still cover's everything from the wood used in the guitar to all the small things such as picks.

    ( the Fishman guitar pickup is a new design, look it up at Sweetwater's websight.)

  • from Manalapan NJ March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Student Hobbyist

    Guitar Tone

    Super book I thought I knew what there was to know about Guitar playing.
    I was so wrong this book really opened up my eyes. Mitch laided it out really good so every could understand. Thank you sweetwater for this book and the great service.

    Anthony B

  • from South Bend, IN August 21, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Book

    This book is very well written and covers a lot of ground. This book tells how the build and material of a guitar affects tone. How different speaker cabinets, tubes, and,foot pedals play their roll in shaping tone. It tells how some of the top guitar players get their tone. I would recommend this book to anyone that plays guitar.

  • from January 23, 2012

    guitar tone

    I think Mitch did a great job explaining the various elements that go into getting the tone you want. I would highly recommend this book to anyone searching for his or her own sound. Thanks Mitch and thanks Sweetwater.

  • from December 13, 2011

    Guitar Tone

    Mitch Gallagher's book is a treasure. It's a LOT more than it's modest-title implies: it's more like "A Complete Guide to Electric Guitars-and Amplifiers for Novices and Experts Alike, As Considered From the-Perspective of Tone, With an Informative Compendium of Great-Guitarists, Their Gear, and Their Techniques." (Somehow I don't think-the editors would've gone for that title.)-Though not exactly an encyclopedia, it has the same kind of scope and-exhaustive detail; yet it is very readable, such that even a-non-guitarist would probably find it interesting. But it is no-"Beginner's Guide to Guitar Tone"; I'll bet that most long-experienced-pros will be surprised to find how much they learn from this book. It-has the feel of a reference book, something you'd return to time and-again, as your own knowledge and experience grew.

    Also, though certainly not a "buyers' guide", it contains more than-enough information to lead both novice buyers and seasoned pros to-intelligent, personalized choices regarding new or vintage guitars,-amps, stompboxes, software, aftermarket products, and even strings and-picks.-And in the end, it is all about tone: every detail of every chapter is-considered from the perspective of tone. How does the wood of a guitar-body affect tone? How does the material a bridge is made of affect-tone? How do amplifier tubes affect tone? And so on. In fact, at the-end of each chapter is a table listing the various parameters-discussed, summarizing their contribution to tone.

    The section on "Iconic Guitarists" (he lists fifteen) would almost be-worth the price of the book; in fact, I could imagine this expanding-into the second volume of a two-volume set, so as to include even more-great players. And I'm sure some readers will grouse over the-exclusion of one or another player who they thought should be included-in this section. But Mitch's main criterion for inclusion here had to-do with the unique, recognizable sound each of the players is known-for, not necessarily their virtuoso skill or popularity with fans. And-as with the rest of the book, detail is plentiful, and often (very-authoritatively) pokes holes in the myths and legends surrounding-guitars and players.

  • from Birmingham and Nashville, USA November 22, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer, Songwriter, Pro Musician, Teacher, Bassist, Singer, others...

    Just try and find a better book on the subject...AMAZING!

    Ok, i'll admit it: I have a problem.

    I'm a tone freak. But I'm not alone. I think all of us guitarists are always searching for "THAT" sound. Whether for inspiration, to emulate what others have done, or to build our "tonal library", we're always looking for "that" sound, when in reality, we all know there isn't just one---there are INFINITE sounds that a guitar, its amplification, and the effects chain (if used) can make.

    I was skeptical about this book at first, but I couldn't resist it. It is a LARGE tome. QUITE detailed. Mitch has done his research. You can use this book to get specific sounds not just from specific artists, but from specific artists in certain eras defined by their recordings, which is EXTREMELY helpful.

    Once I started looking through this book, I could NOT put it down and in fact read every line. I thought I knew a LOT about guitar sounds and what works and why, etc., but I obviously didn't know asmuch as I thought I did. I really appreciate that mitch didn't just list what people used, but HOW they used them, both live and in the studio. I'm impressed.

    Of course, there's always room for more detail in a book like this, but so far,nothing like it has come close.

    Congrats, Mitch, on such a great release. And, guitarists, get this book!

  • from Sicklerville, NJ May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Interesting read

    I was skeptical about how this book would be, but was pleasantly surprised. It's interesting, and keeps your attention. It's also chock full of good bits of information explained clearly, and with care.
    Of course, there's a whole section on tone wood, which I quietly disagree with, but that's just my opinion. Otherwise, almost anything you could think to ask about guitars, effects, setups, amps, etc. is explained here. A must have ? No, not really. But if you like guitars, it's definitely worth the money.

  • from Ct January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Active musician

    Great reading

    Very interesting and well written. A must read for anyone into guitars and tone!

  • from Charlton, MA April 10, 2013Music Background:
    Noodling around with guitars for a handful of years

    Good read if you aren't familiar with electrics, amps.

    Having more $$ than talent, I spend my toy money here at Sweetwater. So far that has mostly been acoustic guitars and recording gear. Having just dipped my toe in the electric guitar world, this book has left me with the feeling that I can sort out all the hype related to buying amps, guitars, affects, and using them. Good Book! Glad I spent the $$ on it, and I keep it nearby.

    New to the game? Trying to sort out what to believe in the advertising? This book does help!

  • from Dubai UAE February 16, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Designer, Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Professional Consultant.

    Great Book

    As a professional Electro - Acoustic consultant and a sound chaser, I found this book very accurate and written with a lot of technical basis and tried / tested information. Mitch obviously has the 'curse or blessing of the sound man' and has, been there done that, trying new ways to create sounds. Whether these sounds be unique from a new standout solo or replicated by using 'not the original' methods. Sound and the search for the sensation of 'their' tone is something that every guitar musician looks for and this book is a great way to get ahead of the pack.

Questions about the Thomson Course Technology Guitar Tone: Pursuing the Ultimate Guitar Sound?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway