0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Way Huge Green Rhino MKII Overdrive Reviews

5.0 stars based on 7 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    The main complaints musicians have about popular overdrive pedals are that they cut low end, top end can get piercing, and it would be great if they had a bit more gain. The Way Huge Green Rhino MKII solves all of these problems, and then some. It has a great amount of overdrive on tap, and gives you the ability to shape the top frequencies and boost/cut the lows.

  • from Boston, MA August 16, 2012Music Background:
    OD Enthusiast

    Finally! The OD I Have Been Looking For...

    I have been looking for the "perfect" OD pedals for years now. While there is not such thing as the "perfect" pedal for everyone, I can say that the Green Rhino is perfect for me and for my current needs. I have always preferred the tonality of Tube Screamers, but was never 100% happy with any particular model (too little low end from some, not enough gain from others, too much gain from some, lack of full tonality control, etc.).

    The Green Rhino does exactly what I need an OD to do. I use it with humbucker-equipped guitars and into either a Marshall Class 5 just on the edge of break-up or into a Fender BDRI (primarily on the drive channel). It takes that just-starting-to-break-up tone and pushes it into absolute heaven. Rich, lush gain that is very touch-sensitive and reacts well to adjustments on the guitar's volume control. Don't get me wrong, this isn't a high-gain pedal. If I want all out saturation, I use a Muff, but for everything between sparkling clean and high-gain fuzz/muff tones, the Green Rhino has it covered. This pedal gives you far more control over the tonality than traditional TS pedals, but the primary advantage right out of the gate is that it doesn't lose so much of the bottom-end like typical TS pedals. The result is a richer, fatter tone that still cuts through the mix.

    Thanks to my Sweetwater rep Jason B. for his excellent assistance on this purchase (as is always the case).

    If you generally like Tube Screamers, but just haven't found one that is "just right" you really should give the Green Rhino a try.

  • from Birmingham, AL August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Overdrive!

    Really did a lot of research before I bought this pedal. I tried all the traditional options and had a friend recommend this to me. It really is a step above most Overdrive Pedals. Sounds amazing on my Strat and through my Tube amp. The quality of the construction is really nice as well.

  • from United States March 2, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter, recording artist/engineer, tone junkie

    A Swiss Army Overdrive

    Amazing tone! Built like a rock. And just what I was looking for. It's sort of like a Tube Screamer on steroids, but more ... has a much smoother, creamier texture to the overdrive; not harsh or jagged like some pedals. The two small controls work like magic to sculpt your tone. The 100 Hz dials in as much or as little low end as you'd like (making my Blues Jr. cabinet sound more like a 2x12 closed-back job) - nice and beefy if you want it. The curve control shapes the overall frequency, dialing in a fuller top and bottom end spectrum or something more in the mid-range. I can get a great Trower sound out of this pedal for a blues rock vibe, or can cut back on the low end and boost the mids for for classic rock. It's sweet, juicy, and Way Huge. And it's not ugly.

  • from Phoenix, AZ October 17, 2011Music Background:
    Bedroom rock star

    Sounds awesome with Strat!

    I took my time and did my research on this one. I was originally going to get an Ibanez Tube Screamer but I ended up with this one and I think all for the better. It has much more control over the bass response. It sounds great with my single coil Strat with boutique 50's pickups (similar to the Custom Shop ones). I also like this pedal because it doesn't mask your playing technique behind a wall of dirt like so many other overdrive and distortion pedals do.

  • from Missoula, MT April 5, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Greeh Rhino

    Outstanding pedal. This overdirive pedal combines the best of many different pedals. You can get the Tube Screamer sound, you can get the MXR heavy sound. There is so much to work with here. You can't go wrong with the Greeh Rhino.

  • from Makaha, HI USA July 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist to the Bone!!!!

    Way Huge Green-O

    The best Tube Screamer clone out there(for me)....alot of tonal options vs a typical Sreamer. I use this OD in conjunction with a Tremonti Wah, and a Bonamassa Fuzz into a JC-120.

  • from Chattanooga, TN June 11, 2012

    Green Rhino MK II

    If you're looking for a tube screamer clone, this is one of the best out there. Very adjustable as far as tone goes, and really easy to use. I've got this stacked with a Sparkle Drive and have all the tone I need, from clean to really gritty overdrive.

Questions about the Way Huge Green Rhino MKII Overdrive?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway