0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Auralex Great GRAMMA Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Ada, OK October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Bass player for 44 years and a high school band director for 25 years.

    Great Gramma does the job!

    I play bass in live settings and almost always deal with some low end rumble. The first gig I used the Great Gramma I could tell a noticeable difference. No rumble and a more focused bass sound. Our two guitar players noticed the improvement right away. It is light weight and a very affordable way to improve your bass sound immediately . I use an Orange AD 200 amp with the 4x10 and 1 x 15 Orange cabinets. The Great Gramma held the hefty weight of this rig just fine. A worthy purchase indeed!

  • from Plymouth, NH July 30, 2013Music Background:
    working musician

    Buy it!

    Amazing how much the Auralex cleans up the on-stage sound. No more vibrations. Really makes the drummer happy.

  • from Plymouth, NH July 19, 2013Music Background:
    working musician

    Buy it!

    Absolutely amazing how much this cleans up the on-stage sound. Worth every penny. Eliminates all vibrations caused by your speaker cabinet just sitting on the stage alone. The vibrations of my bass cab and the guitarist's cab together caused this boomy, sympathetic harmonic thing that sounded like low frequency feedback. The Great Gramma under my cab completely eliminated this effect. I no longer cause our drummer's snare to take off either, no matter how far up I crank the volume.

  • from Fremont, Ohio April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and Studio Owner

    Auralex rules!

    This riser absolutely works!. Some people mistakenly think they can go buy some foam somewhere and get the same results I get using Auralex products. But I quickly shut them up when I demonstrate the differences of having and not having professional equipment.
    I'll always buy Auralex!. Thank you Brian VanDekeere and Justin Quesenberry for all your help!.

  • from Richmond, VA May 30, 2011Music Background:
    Run sound for local cover band

    Two Thumbs Up For The Great Gramma

    Touring the local bar band circuit, I have been struggling for a few years now trying to get the sound I was really looking for out of my bands P.A. and my bass players rig. Even with really nice EV/ DBX and QSC gear for the PA and nice Ampeg gear for the bass rig, the sound in various bars was either boomy or mushy or this or that, but never "right" even with EQ, compression, etc etc (granted the crowds like the sound, it's just my picky ear). Picked up 3 Great Gramma's off a recommnedation from a friend (1 for the Ampeg 4x10 cabinet and 1 for each QSC sub (with the EV ZX-5 mains on the pole supports). I was bowled over by how much deeper the bass sound was without sound muddy or overdriven or any other bad term to describe the sound. Our regular fans where commenting on how much deeper the bass sounded (since I was not cutting it with EQ to stop the boomy, muddy, ring on for several minutes overtones we used to get in some bar situations). This improved the over-all sound as I was not having to drive the vocals, cymbals, etc at as high a volume to overcome the kick drum/bass guitar levels.

    I'm sure a professional sound engineer would be able to work all this out with the turning of knobs and sliders and this and that and master's level calculus to get just the right speaker angles, but for a small local touring band, the Gramma was the way to go.

  • from Out in the Woods of Central Missouri February 23, 2010Music Background:
    Ex-Pro Guitarist, Recording & Live Sound Engineer

    The Missing Link

    I knew how much Auralex's MoPads helped studio monitors, but I was not prepared for the drastic improvement the Gramma & Great Gramma made to my guitar system. No matter what amp I've used this with, it's like hearing it for the first time. Lows are no longer the least bit mushy, all the tone controls are much more effective, and the differences between guitars are much more apparent. Everything is clear, present, and perfectly blended. This was the piece I've been missing! Now, all my amps sound they way I've always wanted them to and the way I always thought they should but never quite did. If you're not happy with the way your rig sounds, forget changing guitars, pickups, speakers, amps, strings, cables, picks, or anything else until you get one of these. I've already got 2 Grammas for my combos (Fender, Vox, and others) and a Great Gramma for my 4x12s cabinets (Marshall and Mesa-Boogie), and I'm planning on picking up a few more, just to make sure have enough to go around. Absolutely the BEST upgrade I've ever made and one of the cheapest, too!! Live, in the studio, or in the living room, this should be a required part of every rig in every situation...

  • from Reston, VA, USA January 27, 2009

    Instant Results, Instant Gratification...

    So, like many guitar gear-nerds, I'm just knowledgeable enough about sound and acoustics to make me inherently skeptical about products that promise instant improvement in tone and sound quality. So, when Auralex's Great GRAMMA amp isolation riser came down the pike, I was wary of being duped once again by a product that promises everything but that delivers precious little. To say that I was pleasantly shocked is, perhaps, a gross understatement. I put this baby under my 4x12 cab, fired up my 100W tube head, and kerblooey...instant improvement in tone. Lows are lower. Highs are crisper. Mids are just where I put them with my amp (and rig) EQ. Best yet, the Great Gramma costs well under a Benny.

    The Great Gramma, so far, has tackled everything I've thrown at it. Thank you, Auralex for offering such a god-send of a product; and thank you, Sweetwater, for offering it to guitar-geeks the world over for a...ahem...song.

  • from Bradenton, Fl December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It works

    Used under a Fender Deluxe, Vibroverb and Bassman by my son for harp. He reported a positive difference in tone and separation.
    Last gig he noted that all the stage speakers set up by professional sound techs were also placed on GRAMMA risers. A simple piece with lots of engineering behind its purpose.

  • from Famouth, KY October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Disabled House Rattler

    Great Gramma Great.... But.....

    The Gramma works great for isolating random vibrations in my practice room (living room). It really cleans up sympathetic harmonics. BUT, I have a tall heavy stack whose center of gravity is not centered on the riser. I've had to place a 2x4 under the front pad to somewhat balance it. My stack is under 300 lbs. Bottom speaker is a Warwick Bass WCA15, next is a WCA410, and the WA600 is mounted in a 4 unit rack. I would not recommend the riser if you have small children and a tall stack.

  • from Waterloo, NY USA March 6, 2013Music Background:
    Bassist

    Auralex Great GRAMMA

    Awesome! Really isolates and tightens up my rig. Bass response is much tighter. My band rehearses in a classroom on the 2nd floor of an old school with wooden floors (20'x30'). My rig was very boomy in that room before I got this product. The only downside is that tall rigs tend to wobble if they are top heavy. I took my rack off my cabs...problem solved.

  • from NY/NJ June 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Live Sound Engineer

    Tight Sounding Bass on Auralex Great Gramma

    Tightens the mix of the overall band sound and more focused.

  • from Placentia, CA July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Good Performance, So-So Quality

    The principal behind the design was well executed but the quality of workmanship was just fair. I had originally intended on making my own but figured after purchasing all of the materials and taking the time to make a quality product that I might as well buy a couple already made. I have three complaints regarding the quality of build.
    One being the wood used was just MDF or particle board. I would have used birch ply. That's just the way I am.
    The second being a sloppy glue job. Lots of over run.
    And finally the third being that the handle on one of my units pulled right out ot the wood the first time I used it. The screws are too short and by not using plywood they could not get a good grip. So, seeing no reason the have handles in the first place, I removed both of them from my two units.
    So there you have it.

Questions about the Auralex Great GRAMMA?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway