0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Gretsch G9230 Squareneck Bobtail Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Gretsch G9230 Squareneck Bobtail?

Questions about the Gretsch G9230 Squareneck Bobtail?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 29, 2016

    sounds great despite poor setup

    I really love the sound of this dobro, however the inspection that Sweetwater hails, didn't catch the fact that when you tune the 3rd string, it pops right before your reach "in tune". Then it goes past "in tune". You have to really work with it to get it right. If the technicians really did the inspection, then they would have caught this issue, because I caught it the first time I tried to tune it. Other than that, It's a great instrument. I am trying to work out the tuning issue myself without having to send it back.

  • from Ft. Wayne, In. October 31, 2016Music Background:
    Done a few gigs.

    First Dobro

    Just picked this Dobro up three weeks ago. Been playing rhythm guitar for a few years now so this is a whole new deal. Beautiful guitar. Sounds great with plenty of volume unplugged. I got the Behringer AD21I to pluginto before going into my Roland Cube amp. What a sweet sounding set-up this make. WOW.. I'm lving it.

  • from NH, USA March 12, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician, instructor

    Gretsch bobtail

    I bought mine a little over a year ago, and I've gigged with it, taught lessons on it, recorded with it, and played the heck out of it. I'm an experienced player, and was looking for a decent playing and sounding squareneck that I could count on without spending a grand. I got that in spades! This has become my favorite resonator, and I play it more, and like it better thatn many that cost twice as much, No kidding. This is AWESOME value for your dollar, and I have even recomended them to a few students. You can't get a better resonator for under a grand, period.

  • from Southeast PA January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Gigger

    Great Guitar

    For the price you can't beat this guitar. I bought this as a "bar guitar" to use for gigs where I need to be amplified and I don't want to take my expensive acoustics. I'm considering buying another one to use for a different tuning. This would also be a perfect starter guitar that you will still be able to use as you progress.

  • from Kinston, N.C. 28504 December 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, ancient hippie, over the hill rock n roller, music lover etc.

    Gretsch Squareneck Offers Lots of Bang for the Bucks!!!

    I needed a dobro with amplification, as I was getting lost in the electric guitars and drums in the Christian Praise band I have joined. The mikes and clip on pickup I was using were not doing the job. The Fishman pickup is doing the job for me now. This Dobro looks great and sounds fantastic. I really love the look of the headstock and the price of the instrument was very reasonable. Best of all was the service at Sweetwater, the best I have ever had. Thanks to Stewart and the rest of the pros at your store. I highly recomend this dobro and Sweetwater.

  • from Everett, WA. October 16, 2012Music Background:
    I play the stereo.

    Slider

    Since I have no formal training, I think the guitar plays well. It's fun and sounds very good. Almost every night I try and do something.
    It's easier for me to have some fun with it with the square neck arrangement. Good sound, good tone. For someone with no musical talent other than playing the stereo, I'm pleased.

  • from Sweetwater TN August 24, 2012Music Background:
    DADF#AD

    Great deal!

    I am thrilled with my new reso! Looks great and sounds great. Plus, it has a Fishman pickup that is smooth as silk. This is easily one of the best values ever on a resonator guitar. The Sweetwater reps went above and beyond to provide excellent customer service. I am now a loyal customer..

  • from Artesia, NM August 22, 2012Music Background:
    Family Bluegrass band

    Gretsch Dobro

    I love it. And the service was great. I have never ordered from a company that called ME to make sure I was happy with the product.

Questions about the Gretsch G9230 Squareneck Bobtail?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway