0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Gretsch G9201 Honey Dipper Round-neck, Brass Body Biscuit Cone Resonator - Shed Roof Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Gretsch G9201 Honey Dipper Round-neck, Brass Body Biscuit Cone Resonator - Shed Roof?

Questions about the Gretsch G9201 Honey Dipper Round-neck, Brass Body Biscuit Cone Resonator - Shed Roof?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 17, 2017

    Honey Dipper

    This the first resonator guitar I have purchased. Couldn't find any at local music stores. So I looked at some on line. Youtube reviews and other. Decided on this one and decided to give Sweetwater a shot. Glad I did. The guitar is nice and the delivery and service from sweetwater is thumbs up too. I would recomend this guitar and sweetwater to anybody. Thanks again sweetwater.

  • from Illinois January 27, 2017Music Background:
    Once upon a time....

    Best resonator for the money.

    Got it today. Haven't put it down, & it's now 3AM. It's a small guitar, but has HUGE volume, and great tone. Finger picked, it's a bit like a banjo on steroids. I got this to maybe figure out some slide licks, but I may never bother. This thing has a very unique sound that sets it apart, & the string to string definition is far better than some other more pricey ones that I've played. It came well packed & double-boxed. The fit & finish are perfect. It looks "vintaged" but not "beat-up." Came w/a great set up, was in tune right out of the box. I used to fear buying a guitar over the internet. But that was before Sweetwater. My rep, Derek, will convince you that drummers can indeed be trusted with other matters. I recommend the HoneyDripper, and Sweetwater.

  • from Oregon September 6, 2016

    Outstanding!!! (Stop looking and buy this one!)

    This is the first resonator that I've owned, personally. Though I have played some belonging to other people. Most of my collection are of upper end guitars. I'm 50 & not stranger to tone, performance or build quality, This Honey Dipper keeps impressing me more and more when compared to others out there.
    I've looked all around to buy another for additional tuning and an opportunity to explore a little - to play another type or brand and see what's out there. Let me start by saying I researched the ***** out of resonators before originally buying my Gretsch Honey Dipper. I made myself miserable night after night, hours and hours trying to make a decent decision. This has to be the best money I've spent in a looong time. I went through it all over again researching to buy a second resonator. I've un-surprisingly come to the conclusion that this is such a great guitar in it's range that I'm going to buy another one of these instead of trying something different. JUst going to get another color,..can't decide between the brass or green though.
    The neck is solid and a very gentle V,- barely there - it'll feel great no matter your hand size (mine are med.average sized) The body is so well done I just cant find any issues or flaws at all. Holds tune incredibly well. Frets are perfect and finished - nothing to do. It's finish is simple and beautiful with a satin shimmer. It's got some weight to it for a smaller guitar, built like a tank and I think this plays into its awesome tone. I love it for that. It has character to its sound, not thuddy or harsh - very well balanced and RICH. Not some stamped out tin can like most. It's tone is a wonderful balance, very 'bell' like. Not harsh, jangly or tin like at all. It has a clarity and warmth to the tone I did NOT expect. The demo videos do not do it justice at all! It will respond to how you play it. It will easily compete with others twice this price and more.
    I bought mine originally thinking I would upgrade the cone later. I still haven't 1.5 yr later. I'm a G. tech and I haven't even given it a proper set up yet as it played perfectly right out of the box. It was set at a height that was perfect for finger style and slide combo's. I have heard a couple of people since upgrading the cones on theirs with spectacular results. I personally love it just as it is. Gretsch absolutely nailed it with this one! If you're the guy I used to be, looking hard and stressed out about making a good pick. Buy this one, sit down with it one night by yourself and play it uninterupted. This guitar is HIGH QUALITY and worth it's price times over. Seriously! Do it!

  • from Iowa March 30, 2016

    Honey Dipper

    Very nice quality. Set up was good out of the box. The only problem is I have to clean up my playing because this thing is very, very loud and amplifies very mistake. If you are looking for something to play delta blues this is it.

  • from November 26, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing since I was 5. 61 now.

    Great Resonator

    Really good action, love the sound it puts ou. Has that old southern blues feel to it. Both slide and picking.

  • from Southern California November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Professional player

    NICE QUALITY ALL AROUND

    The finish on the metal body is 100%. The neck has a smooth satin finish and fret and finish is 100% The neck looks like one solid piece of mahogany unlike some others where the heel and headstock is assembled. Grover Sta Tite tuners are always nice. I do like the standard type tuners over the slot heads style. A lot easier to change strings. Yes its a tad on the heavy side. You won't go back packing with this guitar. It could probably stop a bullet in a rowdy bar. Myself I like the unbound neck and the dark rosewood looks very nice.. I was about to consider the competitor to this for a couple hundred dollars more but am glad I went with the Gretsch. This guitar ships in a styrofoam case and also in standard cardboard box then Sweetwater ships that in another box. So it's triple boxed. Also I'd like to mention the Sweetwater service above and beyond.

  • from boston, ma January 17, 2015Music Background:
    hobby player, lover of blues

    Great Resonator

    The honey dipper is the best investment that I've made in a long time. I look at quite a few resonators, and most were way out of my price range. I've seen some reviews elsewhere comparing the honey dipper to nationals, etc., but it seems like an apples and oranges comparison. Sure, you get what you pay for, but the honey dipper has awesome intonation, resonance, tone, nice variable volume, and that great delta blues sound. Has been great for Doc Watson and John Hurt fingerstyle too. Having a blast with it, and it has become the only guitar 've been playing. Super comfortable neck, nice size, and yep, it's heavy, but not too bad. I usually sit down with my guitars anyway, so no huge change for me. Overall, very pleased. For the price you cannot go wrong. I got the case too, which is well made and worth it. Plan on having this for the long haul.

  • from Porter Ranch California August 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hendrix Freak

    The Honey Dipper

    I looked for months for a Dorbro nickel plated brass body guitar I couldn't find one even used under $3,000 When I found the Gretch Honey Dipper which rivals the Dorbro in every way for less than $600.00, i couldn't believe it, but when it came in mail and I played I was so satisfied with the quality of the guitar it was hard for me not to order another one just look at

  • from Senoia, Georgia February 21, 2013Music Background:
    I am the merchandiser for the classic rock band KANSAS

    Gretsch 9201

    I dont care if this guitar was made on Mars, the workmanship is excellent and the thing rings like a bell. You could not buy a better entry level Rssonater guitar for the money and the Gig Bag was just as nice... Charlie @ Sweetwater went that extra mile by getting the guitar out of the warehouse and went over it for me before I bought it... Go Charlie!

  • from January 28, 2017Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Da Blues

    Great guitar for the money! Always wanted a resonator and looked at and played many. Really liked the high end Gretsch and may get it when I can play Crossroads perfectly.

    This guitar is well made, loud when it needs to be and has great sustain. Definitely one of my favorites.

    Mike Soper from Sweetwater is always helpful.

  • from New York August 21, 2016

    At this price, a small miracle

    It's a fully functional resonator for 500 bucks! That's really all you need to know. Obviously, you can't expect the subtle sparkle and shimmering overtones you'll get out of a vintage nickel plated brass body. Let's not be greedy. Here's what you do get: pretty flawless workmanship, including a fret job well done (this used to be the problem with affordable guitars, and often still is), great feeling and playing neck, total authenticity in that ringing, boxy, "mechanical loudspeaker" sound you expect, easy transformation into a slide monster with one of those over-the-nut gizmos that help you put the action high enough for a metal slide. The finish is not as pretty in person as in the pictures. The ones I've seen all had a greenish, yellowish tint. In conclusion: Someone at Gretsch has done their homework, and come up with a way to get everything that's essential out of a crazily affordable resonator guitar. Everything on top of that, shiny looks, silvery sound subtleties, vintage mojo, are not part of this package and shouldn't be expected. It's a resonator for 500 bucks, for crying out loud!

  • from Eaton, OH August 16, 2016Music Background:
    Playing for three years now after a late start in life.

    Really Really Cool

    Pluses: Cosmetically flawless, neck feels great-smooth with matte finish means no-stick with sweaty hands, good fretwork, intonated well out of the box. 12 fret design, compact, which helps offset the heavy body a little. Sounds Great! Rings for a long time in a dark and empty room!
    Negatives: Action was quite high, I took it down a little at the nut, but left it higher than my other acoustics as I want to experiment with slide. Only one strap button.
    Shout out to my salesman, Mike Baldonado who recommended this one....solid recommendation, Mike-you NEED to get one of these for yourself!

  • from March 4, 2016

    Love the guitar but delicate finish on G9202

    Bought the G9202 version of this guitar because it was much more affordable than other metal body resonators and sounded good. Only reason I went for the one with the finish is because its what was in stock. That said, I love the guitar. Plays well. Has a real nice tone. It sings and cries more than any other guitar I have right now. My only criticism is the finish seems kinda cheap or too delicate at least. Sure I had bug spray and sun screen on while I was playing it, but I suspected a guitar from a company like Gretsch to stand up to a some use. The finish started peeling off and rubbing clean where my arm and hand rest on the guitar.

    I like a weathered looking reso, but expected that to take years not minutes of playing while wearing bug spray. Bug spray aside, it has started showing nicks in the finish in other places too. Only guitar I've ever had this issue with. But it's still my favorite just be cautious about what finish you get.

  • from Midland, Tx November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Intermediate player

    Nice resonator but needed some work

    I purchased this in July as a demo model. Gretsch did a great job on making a metal body resonator at this price point. It is truly a beautiful guitar, with the unmistakable sound of Delta Blues. My only problem with it was the biscuit. It was cut at an odd angle, and the string slots were cut very deep, causing the B and high E strings to fret out at the 13th fret. The action was also very low on the treble string making it almost impossible to use a slide. I bought a new biscuit and cut it to the string height I needed to raise up the high strings for Delta Slide. Now this guitar plays great fretted and with a slide. The only reason I gave 4.5 stars was for having to replace the biscuit other than that, I think it is well worth the $500 plus the $11 for a new biscuit.

  • from Eugene, Oregon July 7, 2015

    Gretsch Resonator

    This is my first resonator guitar, so I'm not qualified to speak about comparisons between brands, but I'm very happy with the quality of this instrument. As a starter resonator, it makes a lot of sense. The fit and finish are excellent and the sound is at least as good as I'd hoped for. I didn't want to spend more than this on an instrument I wasn't sure I'd want to play, so this is a great place to start, while still getting a quality instrument.

Questions about the Gretsch G9201 Honey Dipper Round-neck, Brass Body Biscuit Cone Resonator - Shed Roof?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway