0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Gretsch G9310 New Yorker Supreme Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Gretsch G9310 New Yorker Supreme?

Questions about the Gretsch G9310 New Yorker Supreme?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • TM
    from SoCal August 30, 2016Music Background:
    Player, Engineer, Writer

    For the money, its a no brainer

    I was in a local shop not long ago and they had a few mandolins ranging from this one (the cheapest) to others I wont name, but they were around a mid-level price around 500-700. To my surprise this sounded the best. It was objectively louder, throatier, and just over all had a better tone. I have a very nice mandolin at home, but I'm very seriously considering picking one of these up for sort of a "campfire" mandolin. The price is absolutely insane, especially when you consider that its all solid wood. The snobs will say "yeah but its not carved wood, its pressed!". But to them I say so what, try finding a solid carved mandolin for under 500 and you'll be looking for a lifetime. And I'd rather take a pressed solid wood instrument than a laminate any day of the week.

  • Customer
    from August 11, 2016

    Very pleased!

    After looking around at the junk on Craigslist (or the not so junky mandolins that people wanted $1000's for) I decided to heck with it, and bought this mandolin based on the positive reviews. I came completely setup and fully playable. It was very well packed. It has good volume, and was easy enough for me to play but I'm a total beginner at mandolin, so I have nothing to judge it by. It seems very well made and looks better in person than in the pictures. Really nice looking, nice wood finish. I'm pretty surprised at what I got for the price; seems like an excellent value. I've already recorded a simple little piece with it, and it sounded great. Thanks again to AJ & Sweetwater for the great service... so easy to do business with you!

  • Jim
    from September 27, 2015Music Background:
    church and home

    Gretsch G9310 New Yorker

    For the money this is all solid woods this is a great instrument.I use this in church to add some different tones.Works very well very happy with the investment.Strings are a little hard to replace because of the hooks are small a little bending of the hooks helped this problem alot.You want go wrong if you are looking for a great starter.Got mine right here at Sweetwater great service

  • David D. Bunch
    from Baton Rouge, LA September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Excellent mandolin!

    The craftsmanship on this mandolin is superb. You cannot see the seams between the neck, back, and sides. Definitely has the Gretsch quality built in. Above all else, it is a beauty to look at.

  • Customer
    from May 13, 2016

    Great Gretsch

    Am a beginner player. Bought my Gretsch just over a year ago. Easy to play and, as a result, have learned quickly. Great bright sound, smooth action. Lots of listeners have asked about it, some have even gone out and bought the same.

  • Nate
    from Ne Pa. December 12, 2014Music Background:
    B.G. jammer, a little stage experience.

    G9310

    No matter what you pay for this, the one I played was an extremely well crafted mandolin. So nice in fact its hard for me to believe that they are all this nicely done. As an owner of several F styles it was hard for me to be interested in an A model. This one, due to the natural finish and mellow sound immediately peaked my interest. It actually looks like it was hewn from a solid block of wood. Perhaps more people would think its a great instrument if they doubled or tripled the price ? The sound is more mellow than say a Bill Monroe instrument but so is the sound of a lot of the more well known mandolin players of today.

  • Rich Harrison
    from Chicago, IL December 18, 2013Music Background:
    Multi-Decade Player of Many Instuments.

    Not bad for the $$$

    When I received mine it had only 6 of the 8 strings installed. I blame Gretsch China, not Sweetwater. The nut was cut too high. and had to be trimmed down to fret the first and second frets without excessive force.

    Once set up, it plays wonderfully with Elixrs. For this price range, you have to expect a few issues, but once they were settled, this is a fine playing mandolin for the price point.

  • Robert B.
    from Old Bridge NJ November 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gretch G9310

    Bought mine from guitar center. It needed new strings and the nut needed to be filed down because the first fret was difficult to play. Some of the frets needed to be filed and I didn't like the strings.

  • Ian
    from October 26, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Decent for the price

    This is a decent instrument, sounds alright not fantastic but not terrible either.
    The Action is not great, requires LOTS of finger strength to play properly

  • Joel Mellow
    from Madison WI July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician/engineer/video editor

    Nice Mandolin, but...

    I got the mandolin after a while and first thing I did was try to tune it out of the box. The high E string broke while tuning to standard tuning, so I went out and got some GHS strings to replace and start a new fresh set.

    I have several guitars, another mandolin I'm hopefully replacing, a ukelele, a fiddle, bass and banjo and when I replace strings, it's kind of a no-brainer that takes a few minutes.

    However, this mandolin is seriously the hardest instrument to replace strings I have ever had the utter frustration to do. Dang. The hooks to hook the strings to are tiny and the loop is incredibly hard to get working to get a string hooked in. I can restring a guitar in 10 minutes... It's taken me a half hour to get two strings hooked up and ready. Seriously frustrating... nothing really online from what I saw about some magic tip to do this...

    Hopefully, by next week I'll have all the strings hooked in and tuned. :-( Why are the loops to put the strings in so d*** small?

Questions about the Gretsch G9310 New Yorker Supreme?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway