0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

GoPro HERO3+ Black Edition/Music Bundle Reviews

3.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Zach Neels

    I've owned GoPro cameras since the Hero2, and they are an amazing tool for multiple needs. I've used the HERO3+ for taping my biking trails, used the mic mount for recording quick videos, the tab mount for recording my car on the track, and the mount for my guitar headstock to film play-throughs. With this amount of add-ons, you can do an infinite amount of cool things!

  • Jeff
    from Livermore, CA October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro/Serious Amateur Musician

    GoPro ROCKS

    Used this at a concert to capture my fingerboard and it came out perfect, I will be trying all sorts of new ideas with it!

  • Steve Shambaugh
    from Newark, CA September 21, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Home Studio Hobbiest, Wanna-Be Rock-Star

    GoPro Hero 3+ Black Edition Does Not Dissapoint

    I've been hearing about these "little" cameras for some time now and finally took the plunge and boy, does it ever live up to its reputation and more! I bought it primarily for connecting it to my aerial drone but the musician's bundle of attachments fits me perfectly also. The resolution far surpasses any playback system I have at present but it's good to know it'll still be viable when I upgrade to the next big thing. Freeze-frame shots of video are incredible; just like a high quality still photograph. This gets two thumbs up from me for sure.
    And customer service from Sweetwater... Amazing. I had a problem after a few days with this camera and once I notified my Sales Engineer, Kevin Scott, he handled it super fast. He had a replacement on the way to me by the end of that same day!!! Even before I sent them my first one back. And when the replacement arrived, it had a pre-paid shipping label to return the defective one. I can't say enough about these guys. I've been buying stuff from Sweetwater for nearly 10 years and as this is the first time I've ever had to use their Customer Service, they knocked it out of the park.
    Thanks Guys...

  • Robert Robertson
    from Los Angeles May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Session Musician, Teacher

    Perfect for recording gigs!

    The video quality is incredible. It's literally too good for youtube. Not even kidding and the wide angle lens is super cool.

    The audio is not the best, but it's definitely good enough to show people.

    Size is exactly what you need. You just set it up on a music stand and it's ready to go. It's way better than having a big, huge, bulky camcorder to lug around from show to show along with your other gear.

    IMO, it's perfect for a musician wanting to record gigs, make youtube videos, etc.

  • Randy Tribble
    from Beaumont Tx May 7, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    Thay got the name right on this one GoPro !

    Very easy to use. I just made my first video with it at work. Recording in 4k is OVER THE TOP JUST AMAZING !!! I will be recording all my Landscape jobs from here on out .Give Zach Garrison a call at Sweetwater and get a first class response to all you pro audio and video gear. Thanks Sweetwater !!!

  • Charlie
    from LA! April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    I Reeaaaalllly Love This Camera, But...

    I got this camera to film rehearsals, concerts, youtube videos, and other random nonsense. It's a really nice camera! The video quality is amazing and it's so small and compact you can take it anywhere. The sound quality is pretty good as well. I enjoy a lot of the accessories you can buy for it, like the waterproof housing. (Finally I can make underwater music videos!!!) ^^

    Like the title implies, I absolutely love the GoPro, but there's no zoom, no flash, and the battery life isn't that great. Sometimes I wish it had those things, but for me it's certainly not a deal breaker.

    So if you want a SMALL (about the size of your fist) hd camera that you can throw in your gig bag and record shows, or make some really unique youtube videos/home movies, then this might possibly be the camera for you.

    I highly recommend getting an extra battery, and the LCD touchbac screen thing. It's really nice to be able to see what you're filming ^^

    Also give a Jay Frederick a call at 800.222.4700 ext 1288. He's a really nice guy and I've been getting all of my equipment from him for a while. He's got a lot of experience with pro audio/video and always gives me some great advice.

  • khalid barzanji
    from NY May 27, 2014Music Background:
    Music Writer and Arranger

    Great but No clear Focus

    I know that this Cam is only For Sports But many People Buy it For other use I hope that Gopro Take Care ofMy Review about there Cam...
    Good things :
    A lot of features and Options
    Very Nice built quality
    --------------------
    Bad things :
    1- The Lens is fixed and not Focused .. focus adjusting option Is Not available..which is so bad
    2- No Zoom

    Totally The Cam is great

  • Chris Edwards
    from Springfield, MO May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician with Renegade Rail

    Awesome little camera

    We've been using this to record our live shows... Overall.. very pleased.. High quality imagery.. fairly simple to setup and operate. Actually records a decent sound from the built in mic. Had an issue finding a memory card that didn't lock up... stay away from Sans Disk products.. Lexar 600x is working great.. Also wish it had a zoom feature.. the fixed focal range is somewhat limiting. Great tool for our video arsenal..

  • Jim McConnell
    from Dennison, OH May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Singer; recording artist & sound equipment poor! :)

    Battery Life

    The three star rating is due to the fact that GoPro, in my estimation, really messed up by not having the "AA" battery option. I have had several cameras with the rechargeables, and they all have let me down, with more recording or shooting time needed, and no way to recharge, or not being able to use during recharge, etc. UNLESS, you can afford another battery to have it fully charged and ready to go. Usually those are quite expensive. MY favorite is still "AA"s, a couple of sets and carried in a plastic transport box, available all the time, switch 'em out and keep on shooting. Otherwise, I love all the features, and must "MIGHT" purchase one because of the other options and features.

  • Engval
    from Los Alamos, Ca. May 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    good

    The Camera is great but some of the adjustable stands that come with it is of poor quality.. The interlocking parts that hold he camera are to breakable which I have already have broken in mounting the camera in different positions.. I would suguest using spring metal that interlocks. Also, unless you have a powerful computer in playing your recordings, you will not get smooth movement, and even at that it is very blurry. Viewing your recordings on your High Def TV is ok. Trying to navigate through the camera is somewhat akward unless you have the Wi Fi accessory.

  • Jamie
    from Atlanta September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording artist/ Professional guitarist

    Over priced/hyped Junk!

    Stay as far away from gopro as possible. I went through 2 of these cameras in a 30 day period. The first one the audio didn't function at all. I returned it for an exchange! The second one the video started malfunctioning within 2 weeks. Strange lines and overexposure, under exposure, screen turning pink and purple. Last video I shot only filmed a quarter of the screen.
    Here is my honest opinion, the plastic clips are awful! Both the normal clip and goose neck clip broke on first usage. Very brittle plastic. The audio is tolerable but muffled. The low light video is very grainy, with and without low light setting and at different video settings. The advertised video's for this camera are misleading! They are doctored by pro's in post applications. Nothing I filmed ever came close to looking like that even at the highest settings. The video was barely better than an iphone video. Research and google about these cameras, they are plagued with issues. I really wanted to like it and I reviewed long and hard before making my choice. I was thinking they would have all there issues worked out.
    Before returning it, I contact gopro support (they are nice). They instructed me to do a firmware up date in hopes that would fix it. Nope the camera bricked! Be warned and don't make my mistake!

  • Alexandria
    from VT July 23, 2014Music Background:
    multimedia

    This camera is Great

    if you love having several million little pieces of cheap plastic to assemble and store for different mounts. There isn't a viewfinder, you have to have an external monitor if you're into setting your view. Also only takes mini sd.
    The camera is tiny, smaller than a business card. I guess if you have really small hands it wouldn't feel so fumbly. Parts like the wrap-around camera mount feel like cheap plastic that will break soon enough with the minimum of wear.

Questions about the GoPro HERO3+ Black Edition/Music Bundle?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close