0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

SKB Mighty GigRig Reviews

3.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the SKB Mighty GigRig?

Questions about the SKB Mighty GigRig?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • John Grabowski

    When it came to accommodating a Mackie Onyx 1640i, along with several pieces of rack gear, I chose the SKB Mighty GigRig rack/case. The clever design travels compactly, then reconfigures to open and expand for use. (Be sure to also check out the optional "A/V Shelf." It provides the perfect spot for the laptop I use as part of my setup.)

  • Wes
    from Oregon February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Worth the Money

    A little big but well worth the investment in a very usable design. The Presonus Studiolive fits like a glove.

  • Nicholas
    from Albany NY November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Great Product with one flaw

    This is a great piece all around but there is one design flaw that has created a problem for me. The latches that clamp down the case have little springs on them so they pop up when you unclasp them. A few of those tiny little springs have broken it becomes a major pain to unhook and remove sections of the gigrig without a separate hand. It would be nice if SKB reinforces those springs. They're needed and much too dainty to last the duration.

  • David Vaughn
    from Philadelphia, PA October 25, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Mighty Indeed

    I purchased the complete system (Mighty Gig Rig, Extender, AV Shelf, and a set of rear rails). I use with a Presonus 16.0.2 mixer. Initially, I could not get the Extender to fit with the main Gig Rig. Sara at SKB sent replacement units immediately. The replacements fit together fine but latched but only in one orientation which is enough but apparently SKB does not enjoy close tolerances for the units. The main Gig Rig unit came with rails in the front and back and I added optional rails to the back of the extender. Access to the back of components is not as bad as I thought it would be though I generally worked from the bottom to top connecting cables. I sometimes used a dental mirror; I sometimes pulled equipment out the front to make back side connections and then reinserted. The middle is wide open from the mixer level to the bottom of the extender. The extra length/depth allows for mounting front and back and I used just about every space. I was not able to install Crown xTi amps on the same level back-to-back (they fit but not enough room for Neutrik cables. The AV shelf is great (best feature) for a laptop or video monitor. When connecting cables, you can temporarily place the mixer on the AV shelf and position the shelf to the front (low) or back (high) to help with access and then replace the mixer afixing to the rails. The wheels are large to allow rolling up a ramp into a van/truck. I drilled a couple holes in an iPhone holder and afixed to the top rails with the mixer.

  • John
    from Los Angeles California June 13, 2011Music Background:
    DJ and KJ

    In Responce to Brian Wilkinson

    I have to agree with Brian on the comment about the wheels turning in due to no Reinforcement. I made one out of 1/2" Square tube and 1/8 plate where the wheels go. For the price a user should not have to do this. For this is why i give it 4 out of 5 stars. Once the base was reinforced i can not complain further on this case.

  • H.A.B.
    from Bloomfield Hills, MI December 31, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Performs as Expected

    It's kind of big but real easy to roll around. It's nice to be able to leave everything hooked up and there is plenty of room below. If I have time I raise the unit with the lid which puts the mixing board at waist level but it's OK to leave it down position you don't mind bending over slightly to operate the mixing board. Over all it does what I expected it to do so I am happy with the purchase. Will consider the 6 space expander at a later date.

  • John Kavanagh
    from Grand Rapids July 21, 2015Music Background:
    Producer / Composer / Sound Engineer 10+ years

    Strong big and clunky

    The materials are nice, but from the pictures you think that this is small and compact to fit a board... It is huge, 2 adults could curl up inside this thing, I would say that mainly height and length make this thing clunky. The second day I had this the latch on the side of the box had the spring break and gashed my hand. Latches need to be better made for sure. Castors are very nice, but do not ever think about getting this thing up a flight of stairs, this box is too big to really fit in any door way while carring it. It's strong, has a nice height to it so you don't need to hunch over it. Castors make it easy to move 1000 lbs of equipment into a trailer easy, but will never fit right into an suv.

  • Tom Jellison
    from Canaan, NH, USA November 28, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician, live sound engineer

    It works fine

    A little dissapointed with the attention to detail. Front and rear covers don't line up well and sometimes have trouble snapping in place, several areas where the injection molded plastic is rough and unfinished looking, the latches don't line up well. I guess I expected more considering the price. That being said, it works well, does what it says it does, and there's nothing else on the market that can handle the deep mixers, so I'm happy... problem solved

  • Carl Nelson
    from West Michigan December 11, 2013Music Background:
    25 years stage hobbiest

    Presonus 16 4 2 rack

    I am not reala impressed with this rack unit seeing it was designed for the 16.4.2 board. I had to modify the rack ears so the board sat level within the space. I feel the gig rig is bigger than it needed to be therfor taking more stage space than needed.

  • Customer
    from October 10, 2012Music Background:
    Musician.

    Ok

    Made of plastic. Buckles are cheap. Definantly not the SKB of the past. Sucks that you can't just open the lid and use but you also have to take of the bottom which means all your loose cables fly out. Good to leave set up but not a good mobile case. Takes two people to pack and un pack.

  • Peter DiCenso
    from McLean, Va. February 1, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Not so good with the small details

    I love the design, but upon arrival two of the 5 "Pins" used to secure cabinet pieces were sheared off. Don't know if it was shipping or construction but they can't be easily replaced. I didn't ship it back "cause it's so huge and to rewrap it all would be too much effort. The rest of the unit is fine, but the "covers" now are inoperable for me. gotta put it to work right away--no time to send it back. A lot of money for so-so quality.

  • Brian Wilkinson
    from Bowling Green, Ky August 4, 2010Music Background:
    Live sound

    Thumbs downs

    Very poor unit. As soon as we put the amps, driverack, mixer and power conditioner in it the casters started to turn under like there was too much weight. We have used it for six gigs and it isn't fit for further use except maybe as a mixer only rack. The plastic is not rigid enough to support any weight at all. Ordered an OSP to replace it.

Questions about the SKB Mighty GigRig?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close