0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

QSC GX5 Power Amplifier Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the QSC GX5 Power Amplifier?

Questions about the QSC GX5 Power Amplifier?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Evan Mehre

    The QSC GX5 is a workhorse. I've used this amp for YEARS (both in a rack and thrown into the back of a van uncased) for powering monitors, practice speakers, and all sizes and shapes of mains. I've even taken it from a -20 degrees truck into a hot bar, and from damp basement practice spaces to 100-degree outdoor gigs. My GX5 has never tripped a breaker, never quit, never overheated, and has never let me down!

  • from Sunny Florida April 7, 2017Music Background:
    35yrs Guitar, Pro Studio, Live Prod, Amp Designer/Builder

    Proof that Quality Delivers

    Throughout the past 30years I have probably been through a few dozen power amps made by pretty much everyone from cheapos that blew or had some sort of defect (one of them blew when we hit the first chorus of the first song on a gig) to those equaling monthly Car payments vin that never gave a hint of ever giving up while running constantly at their limits.
    I got the GX5('s) for monitors and have actually switched them to be primary mains. There is something about the way the GX5 (and GX3) delivers dynamic power without effort that makes bands sound punchier and cleaner during busy and high-power-need passages.
    This is a mid-priced mid-range amp that is definitely punching above its weight class, and delivering!!!
    Everyone should buy or rent or borrow one for a wtf moment of Why does it sound so much better and louder? and its alot less watts..... Hhmmmmmmm

  • from Connecticut June 14, 2016Music Background:
    Occasional weekend warrior

    THE Best!

    I originally purchased one of these 5 years ago and it was great! Played a LOT of gigs with it and never had a problem. Got out of the music scene for awhile, now back in . I just purchased a new one and I am very pleased with it. The workmanship is incredible. So simple to operate. Thanks to my sales engineer, Justin at Sweetwater! Great service by him, as always. Buy one, or two!! You WON"T be sorry.

  • from Winter Springs, Florida April 28, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Disc Jockey 30 years experience Full Time

    Very Impressed

    I bought this amplifier as a 4th set up occasional use amplifier. I run QSC PL series and Crown XTI 2's in my primary amp cases. I took this amp out for a spin during a small school function, I knew it would spend most of the afternoon at full throttle and figured it was gonna have issues it would be here. Well I have to say I'm more than satisfied. I ran it wide open at 4 ohms per channel (700 watts) into 4 JBL boxes and it thumped the place... I was particularly impressed with the low end, as it wasn't cloudy or muffled, it was tight and ran as well as any $1500 QSC I own. Frankly, I don't know why I bought the PL series amps as this one not only runs as cool as a cucumber but was a quarter of the price... Odd ? My PL amps run warm are heavier deeper and in my opinion don't run as well or as efficient as this one... I need to go back to the drawing board and draw these in and save some $. Anyway, even though it doesn't bridge mono it is just as configurable, it has a 100hz crossover that allows you to split the channels to high (above 100hz) and low (below 100hz). So you can run to 8ohm midrange / high cabinets in daisy chain netting a (4ohm load) on one channel for 700 watts (350 per cabinet) and a single 4 ohm sub cabinet on channel 2 for 700 watts... Very convenient and basically eliminating the need to bridge mono anyway. You get a single amplifier that will do the job of a 2 and this isn't even the most powerful model... The GX5's big brother does even more power, the GX7... You will not be disappointed... I promise you, I was blown away with its performance !

  • from January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Music Home Theater Lover

    Great Amp!

    So far so good Sweetwater!! Ive had a set of high output speakers for the past 6 years in my house that can each handle 400 watts RMS @ 4 Ohms. For the longest time i have searched for a raw power amplifier that i could tie into my home theater system VIA RCA Level Inputs and have had no luck. Many home theater power amps can only handle 200 watts or lower at the most to power a multi room house system. I first upgraded to a high end home theater reciever which sounds great but does not get that raw punchy full range sound to these monster speakers. This amp did the trick even though its a rack mount for a DJ setup i made a perfect spot for it in my home and i am blown away from the output of this unit. I know know the true power these speakers can handle, this amp 1/4 turned up shakes my house and thats what i am looking for. You can tell the great quality of this amp just by picking it up the 30lbs that it is. Thank you Sweetwater for all your help and the shipping was in a timely mannar packaged perfectly.

  • from detroit,mi October 10, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    great amp if you need a power amp, buy this one!

    great power amp.. I hooked this amp up with speakers and monitors and the sound was great and clear. if you need a power amp, I recommend u get this amp!!

  • from United States February 7, 2014Music Background:
    20 years of music, and Live sound

    QSC GX5

    Great amp very clean sound. I Bought mine at Sweetwater Sound and got excellent customer service

  • from Crossville, TN July 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer

    A great amp for the money.

    This amp is priced right with a lot of features you do not normally get in this price range. I just purchased and used at a weekend gig and it preformed flawlessly. I received many comments on how clear the sound was. I used this amp coupled to a sonic maximizer and the sound was so clear. I would recommend this amp to others.

  • from Ellisville, Mo February 2, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist...for fun

    QSC GX5

    Easy to set up...works GREAT...absolutely love it!!

  • from Findlay, OH July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Active gigging Bassist, sound engineer, home recording

    QSC- The only choice!

    This is one of the QSC amps that I own. I am completely satisfied with this amp and it's quality, features, and pristine sound! I have used this both in stereo mode and also in the crossover mode and it performs exceptionally well under both conditions. Drives subs without any problems and runs cool for hours and hours all while maintaining that great sound that I love from QSC amps. I have used many different brand amps over the years (running live sound) and I much prefer QSC over Crown ANYDAY! I feel QSC's are more dynamic and have better sound quality and they hold up longer (proven to me many times). They are used by many sound companies for that very reason. This is truly a great amp for live sound as well as DJing. QSC has done it, again!

  • from Carmichael, CA May 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist bass player

    Plenty of Power

    Great amp, does what I bought it for and provides all the power I need for my bass in church.

  • from Redlands, Ca USA August 23, 2011Music Background:
    Worship leader

    QSC GX5 is one awesome amp!

    I purchased this amp for a portable PA system our worship team uses on occasion. This has more than enough power to run our system and was easy to hook up!

  • from Vacaville, CA August 9, 2011Music Background:
    Recording/Live Sound Engineer

    Amazing Power Amp

    I have loved this amp since the day I got it. I had to replace an older crown amp that was a little more powerful then this one. I have had no issues with this one and it actually ended up being the exact amount of power I needed where my old one was slightly too much. Love QSC amps. I use almost all QSC for my power needs.

  • from Albuquerque, NM September 27, 2010Music Background:
    Musician / Songwriter / Home Recording Engineer

    Great Power - and outstanding sound reproduction quality in an inexpensive power amp

    You typically buy a power amplifier because you need good clean sound reproduction and more power to enable you to play at much larger venues. In my case, I needed a sound system that would adequately support my guitar, my bass, my keyboard synthesizer and could also handle vocals and double as studio monitor for my home recording studio. In essence, I was looking for a powerful pristine sound reproduction system. I started out by selecting twin JBL JRX115 speaker cabinets and after reading over the amplifier requirements to drive those speakers, and researching the specifications of several power amplifiers and selected the QSC GX5 as the perfect match up for those speakers. I could not be happier with the clean, quiet, high quality sound reproduction I am receiving from this system and I now have adequate power to play almost anywhere I choose. The amazing thing for me was that I fully expected to pay a whole lot more for a system that would adequately support all those instruments and microphones and also sounds as good as this system does. There was enough money left over in my budget that I was also able to add a 16-channel mixer on the front end and now I can plug the entire band into this sound system and balance the sound perfectly and even record live off the mixer as we play. In the final analysis, the QSC GX5 is a workhorse that gives my band and my home recording studio the powerful, clean, quiet, quality of sound reproduction I was looking for. I couldn't be happier with this amp.

  • from Rhode Island August 29, 2010Music Background:
    Weekend Musician! Rock/80s Rock

    Amazing Amp

    After a long search for the right amps for my cover rock band I settled on these and I am extremely happy with my choice I baught two GX5. This amp has just what you need and nothing you dont! I have two of these one to power both my Peavey pv118 subs and one to powere my tops which are 15s, very clean power, crystal clear and no clipping, toss anything at these amps you want and they handle it! The ratings are very accurate, 500 watts per chanell at 8ohms is just that more than enough to power my bands 4 speakers, from small venues to outsider we have plenty of power. There built like tanks and can withstand heat etc..we played 4 hours on a 90 plus degree day with the amps cranked and nopt a hicup! In my opinion you will not find better "working mans" amp than this one, its worth every penny and then some! I also own a GX3 To power our monitors, its an amazing set up, I expect to be using these amps for years to come, awesome job QSC !

  • from New Braunfels, Tx March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Entertainer- 40 yrs.

    Great in the rack!

    The GX5 is an answered prayer. Accepting both 1/4" and Speakon cables, and weighing just 28 lbs., it is a well-thought-out amp. The power is clean and totally dependable, and we are able to push subwoofers and monitors with ease. The design is clean and appealing, and looks great in the rack, kind of like my girlfriend! Need solid power with an awesome warranty for low bucks? GX5!

  • from Erie PA February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Working musician

    Perfect

    This is an awesome amp with plenty of power for the money. It has made a huge difference in my bass rig. I would recomend this product.

  • from Toms River,NJ December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician, composer, drummer, keyboards

    QSC GX5 Really Performs for me LIVE!!

    Needed a 2nd P.A. setup so I purchased the GX5 and after only 5 gigs with it so far, all I can say is YES!!! This amp really compliments my Mackie C300z's and it's all clean. Highly recommend it!

  • from February 1, 2012

    Great Unit

    Works as expected. Easy to reach inserts.

  • from Redlands, CA December 2, 2015

    Rock Solid Reliable

    I bought a GX 5 when they first came out. It has been used to power my bass rig. I drive this amp with a BBE BMax-T preamp and for the last 7 years of conbsstant use it has never let me down. If you want a no frills and stone reliable power amp and you don't need bridge mono operation these GX series amps can't be beat. Puts out 500 watts in to both of my vertically stacked 2 X 10 cabs and delivers all of the clean headroom I need.

    The only negative are the fans are a little noisy but this is a PA amp after all and considering the price point it's a negligible gripe. Also, the description days "light weight" so not sure if Hans & Franz wrote that description but its not light by any stretch of the imagination. It's a very compact 28 lbs (mine is actually 24 lbs so the description may be shipping weight) which makes it seem heavier to me.

    Anyway, the amp is reliable, built solid and is a great value considering this is a QSC engineered product with an excellent warranty and great product support.

  • from Waterford, MI October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Live / Recording Engineer; musician and educator

    QSC GX5

    I have been a fan of QSC for at least 12 years. So it was a given that when our church needed a replacement amplifier I was delighted to discover that QSC had a very affordable replacement amp. The new (for me) size; light weight; coupled with varied input and output interfaces blew me away. It was easy to install and sounds great!

  • from Eutaw, AL July 25, 2012Music Background:
    Recording hobbist and southern gospel bass singer.

    I love it but ----

    Good amp.. Sounds really great and has all the in's and outs to fulfill about any combination of speaker hook-up. Only negative I find is that it is very loud compared to my Yamaha P 5000S' I have been using.

Questions about the QSC GX5 Power Amplifier?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway