0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Electric Solid Guitars Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Electric Solid Guitars?

Questions about the Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Electric Solid Guitars?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • R Easterday
    from Georgia May 19, 2017Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer

    Excellent Case

    I had an SG needing a real case and I've had good luck with Gator before. This case is really great and much lower in price than the factory case. It is top quality in and out and a real deal. Sweetwater had it here super fast and with no problems.

  • mark Azbill
    from new haven indiana March 17, 2016

    gator deluxe wood case

    just as nice as a gibson!

  • jimmy
    from cranston ri usa July 10, 2014Music Background:
    just enjoy playing

    gator case

    great case for the price fits my Gibson les paul perfectly
    thanks again matt & the people at sweetwater
    you guys are the best

  • Customer
    from March 7, 2013

    Perfect Fit

    This is a perfect fit for my vintage SG, and an awesome value!

  • Jae
    from Winston-Salem, NC United States January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Rocking the free world for 35 years, for free

    Gator Deluxe Wood Case

    I bought a '60s Tribute SG for Christmas that only came with a gig bag and I wanted the protection of a hardshell case. I don't play out much so I didn't feel like spending a lot of money on a Gibson case. The Gator is a well built case with plenty of padding. The shroud is a nice touch that didn't come in the case for my much more expensive SG standard. The only thing that keeps me from giving the case 5 stars are the latches. They could lock down more snug. As they are I worry that they might pop loose when I pick up the case.

    Would I buy it again? Well, this is the second one I've bought and I'm thinking about buying another for a Mexican made Strat. That should tell you something

  • Dennis
    from Jersey City, NJ November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, producer, engineer and guitar teacher.

    Got Vintage? Get Case!

    I needed a case to replace the original for a magical ancient SG Special.
    Made a call to my man at Sweetwater (thanx Matt) and in a coupla days later it arrived, on schedule, for the best price, in perfect condition - exceeding my expectations.

    A plush purchase for a guitar with a high degree of mojo.

  • Brian
    from Montana April 4, 2017

    Nice case

    I like this case, I chose it over the standard Epi case as my guitar was brown. I liked how the pink added a little pop. Overall it is a good case, if I compare it to the epiphone case I got with my custom pro I'd say this one is of slight less quality. A couple of spots where the lining had some sketchy gluing. But overall it is a very nice case and I would recommend it. It holds the SG snug as a bug.

  • Bob
    from Mt. Airy, NC February 13, 2016

    Almost perfect

    Recently bought an Epiphone SG. Wanted an Epiphone case for it, they were out of stock for a long time. My sales engineer (Nathan Parker) recommended this case. It's a great case with a vintage look. The shroud is nice. My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is it only has 3 latches. It needs 5, or at least 4. Thanks Nathan and Sweetwater!!!

  • Rocky Scott
    from Ky December 27, 2015

    Gator case for my Epi Blueshawk Delux

    Very nice case.Love the shroud

  • Tom
    from Dayton, OH September 4, 2015Music Background:
    50 years folk 'n' roll, soul, pop, etc.

    Pretty Darn Good Case

    I got this to house my case-less vintage SG and it's a good looker, and pretty well made. It fits the body contour well. I like the old school pink interior with the satin cover. But it could use another latch. Really, my biggest gripe may not apply to you. This SG has a very thin body and the angle at which it sits in the case isn't optimal, as it puts pressure from the pick box in the neck section of the case on the middle of the neck. And this neck is pretty thin. It's not much of an angle, but it's there. My solution so far has been to put a thin strip of leftover dense foam wrapped in satin from a keyboard case on the "floor" down at the butt end of the case. That leveled it out nicely. I had to play with the thickness some but I feel better about it now.

    Like I said, this is just my situation. If you have a newer/slightly thicker SG, this is the one for you. Snazzy, well built and a couple of nice extras a-la an old Gibson case.

  • Pete
    from November 19, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/student

    Nice Case!

    Very nice case, well made and solid. Fits my SG like a glove and has great neck support.

    I would like to rate it higher, except for one (important) thing: it only has 3 latches (top of neck, behind handle and on lower bout), and none of them snap down very tightly when closed. Concerned about the possibility of bumping into something and it popping open.

    I think It could use at LEAST 1 more latch, either in front of the handle, or directly on the other (back) side, like most cases have. (or both!).

    Despite this, it is still a very nice case and I'm glad I bought it.

  • allen lawhorn
    from olive hill kentucky December 22, 2013Music Background:
    25 year musician

    nice case but....

    its a great case but the buckles on the hinges do not all snap down tight. they are kind of loose. other than that its a cool case and good enough for my Gibson sgj.

  • ARF
    from New Orleans, LA April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Ok, for the price

    Case functions as intended, but not without issues. First the case smells of adhesive like you wouldn't believe. Had to leave it open for a week to air out. Second the top is not aligned very well and sticks/is hard to close. Interior is ok, but some of the liner was separated when I got it. Compared to the Gibson case this is definitely a cheap case both price and quality.

  • Customer
    from April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Professional guitarist/ instructor

    Flimsy junk

    If I could give it 0 stars I would. Looks great in the pics. BUT there are only 3 latches that don't seem to want to stay latched. Nowhere in the specs does it say there are only 3 latches and the pics do a great job of hiding it. The case is light as a feather and the inside storage compartment is so flimsy I'm afraid to put anything in it. I bought this case for a custom built Gibson SG Les Paul Custom. I'm not returning it because I needed the case immediately and HAD to use it. I play for a living. I'm currently shopping for another. Do not buy this case if you are looking for something of quality that will last and give your instrument the protection it deserves.

Questions about the Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Electric Solid Guitars?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway