0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Semi-hollowbody Electric Guitar Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Semi-hollowbody Electric Guitar?

Questions about the Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Semi-hollowbody Electric Guitar?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Sacramento, California December 23, 2016

    Teri

    Wow what a great case you guys at Sweetwater rock and for Tim Harrington he is the best can't say enough about him Tim keep up the great work

  • from KC MO December 15, 2016

    Gator case for Starcaster

    The gator case works perfect for my Starcaster that I just got from Sweetwater. The case is really well built and looks amazing. The inside is pink. It's sporting the vintage look. My wife was laughing so hard when she saw the pink lining inside. My Starcaster really likes the vibe of hanging out in there so it's a keeper. The design and build of the case is just awesome.

  • from Florida March 18, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Very solid case! Nice value

    Case looks great, is well balanced, fits my Starcaster (which is a huge deal! I was having a hard time finding a case that would fit well) has great latches and a very comfortable handle. Very pleased

  • from December 29, 2015

    Fits a Fender Starcaster perfectly

    A great case at great price. Fit my Fender Starcaster perfectly. It seems like a well made case and the hot pink is an added bonus too.

  • from Scottsdale, AZ July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Composer, Vocalist & about in that order

    Perfect for a Riviera 12-string...

    This is actually the second one of these 335 style Gator cases that I purchased from Sweetwater. That said, I was really pleased with the first one I bought (for my ES-335) which also just happened to beautifully accommodate the longer head-stock of a Riviera 12-string that I recently acquired.

    Anyway, between this case's sturdiness, cosmetic wow-factor, built in shroud, price point, and Sweetwater's impeccable service, buying another for my Riviera 12 seemed like a no-brainer.

    See my original review for a few more details about these cases. God bless. (:

  • from Scottsdale, AZ October 20, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Composer, Vocalist - & about in that order too! (:

    Pretty neat ES-335 case for the money...

    I purchased this Gator from Sweetwater for my ES-335, which arrived around 2 weeks ago, and Iím actually quite pleased with itÖ

    In short, it has seemingly sturdy overall construction, with a durable brown tolex-type exterior (instead of the seemingly cheesier soft vinyl exteriors that some similarly priced new cases have). It also has a very snug fitting, hot-pink, plush interior, and an attached shroud which is a nice little bonus feature too. For the money itís basically the bomb-diggity, and it screams Velvet Elvis, so itís a lot less boring than most.

    Two quick words of caution:
    [A] Donít trust the caseís lid to stay open by itself at firstÖ Meaning be careful casing & un-casing your guitar for a while, until the ďplush webbing strap" (for lack of a better term) has a chance to naturally stretch/soften a little. That said, you donít want the lid to come crashing down on your guitar before it's safely in the case & clear of the caseís perimeter. It actually almost happened to me a few times, so just a thought!

    [B] I let my caseís interior air-out for the first 48 hours (due to the glue-fume-factor) but I think Iíd probably recommend twice that duration to keep your guitar from soaking in unwanted order. Iím not suggesting that toxic fumes are (or are not) associated, but then again, not all countries observe the same safety standards either, so ya never know.

  • from United States September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Fits Epiphone For sure!

    This is a very nice case and definitely fits the Epiphone Dot. Looking at the extra room for the head stock, I would not be surprised if it fits a Sheraton II as well. Having owned one in the past, I know that they are hard to fit with an even larger headstock than the dot. I would assume that the reviews prior to mine were from older cases before Gator increased the size. No doubt to accomadate Epiphone 335 style Guitars. This case is Made in China which surprised me. It is not the quality of a TKL, but every bit as good as the Epiphone OEM case. I would think that this case might be a bit roomy in the head stock area for a real Gibson 335, but I would guess that the Epiphone market is the target for this case. Nice padded handle, Gold hardware, brown vinyl covering and real cool Pink lining and pink cover just like the old Gibson cases. Albeit a China made knock off. But then again, so are the Ephiphone DOTís. I am glad I bought this instead of the Epiphone case for my ES-335 Pro. Worth a little more to have some vintage Mojo.

  • from Houston, Texas July 17, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Geek

    Fits Fender Starcaster Semi-Hollowbody

    For those of you who are looking for a top quality case to fit your Fender Starcaster semi-hollowbody, look no further. Once again Fender puts out a great instrument, but fails to provide a case that fits the body of their oddly shaped Starcaster guitar. I had my doubts when i bought this case, I bought the similar model for my Gibson LP, and, although well made, the guitar swam in the case. Not so for the Fender Starcaster and the Gator Deluxe Wood Semi-hollow electric guitar case. I tried several other brands and the Gator was the best, not only for fitment, but it is an outstanding looking case, reflective of the brown Gibson cases with the pink interior and pink guitar shroud to add protection to the top of your instrument. The case has top-notch construction and all latches work great. Price-wise, I think it is on par with a case of this quality. I would also venture to say it is ample re-make of the Gibson cases. I think the only downside is, oh wait, there isn't one. I can't speak for other semi-hollowbody guitars, but it works well for the Starcaster. Hope this helps. Cheers!

  • from Lafayette, LA July 6, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist/Manager/everything else

    Beautiful, Gibson Style Case

    Purchased for my Epiphone Riviera Limited with Bigsby.
    Beautiful case. Inside is the plush pink interior. Yes, I still do feel manly. Fits my guitar and I am sure many others very well.
    No complaints.

  • from New York August 20, 2014Music Background:
    An old, bluesman.

    Perfect Match

    I bought the Gator Deluxe Wood Case to replace my original Gibson ES-335 case that I bought back in the early 80's. The plastic handle on my original eventually dries out and cracked. Wanting a case to match, as close as possible, to the original one, I was told by my own Sales Consultant that this would be the one to get. It was this or the "new" Gibson one with the gray interior or the Gator with the plush pink, like the original. I bought the Gator and couldn't be happier.

  • from Howell, N.J, October 18, 2014Music Background:
    Jack of all trades, master of none.

    A good fit for your new Starcaster or even your old one.

    While this is not a perfect fit, it will work wonderfully for fairly rigorous handling of your Starcaster. It is quite snug once you get the guitar leveled up inside of the case. I am not a gigging musician so I am certain this case will be more than adequate for my storage and transportation needs. Undoubtedly a better choice than the gig bag I purchased with the guitar. (Which I am returning)

  • from Seattle, WA June 26, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Director/Live Musician

    Good Case!

    Got the same case in black as a gift. It fits my '57 Gibson ES225TD well. Tight first fit, but after that it settled in nicely. Seems to be built well and isn't that heavy, which can mean something if you have to cart your gear to far. If you need a case for a 335ish thin line hollow or semi-hollow body, you can't go wrong with it.

  • from Los Angeles May 3, 2016

    A Real Disappointment

    I was thrilled to get this case. It fits my Guild Starfire IV like a glove and it's beautiful. Workmanship and materials look very good, especially given the reasonable price point on this case.

    After confirming that it fit my guitar, I tucked it away until it was needed. That turned out to be about 6 months. When I pulled it out, the case was beginning to come apart. The vinyl covering material is peeling up at the edges. The lid has warped to the point that, even with all latches closed, there is a gap between the lid and the body of the case almost enough to see inside the case.

    At first, this case appeared to be as good as any Gibson or Guild case I'd seen. But, even without subjecting it to any of the rigors of travel or remote gigs, it has begun to show it's poor workmanship. I'd recommend spending some extra money for a name brand case if you have a nice instrument that you really want to protect.

Questions about the Gator Deluxe Wood Case - Semi-hollowbody Electric Guitar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway