0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Samson G-Track USB Condenser Microphone with Audio Interface Reviews

4.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Samson G-Track USB Condenser Microphone with Audio Interface?

Questions about the Samson G-Track USB Condenser Microphone with Audio Interface?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • RIGO MUSIC
    from NY May 2, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Samson G-Track Mic

    I bought the Samson Go Mic (Titanium black, of course) and it works great for podcasting and Skype but I wanted a quick and easy way to write songs and try out new material with just an acoustic guitar and vocals to give me an idea how it would sound live. So I bought a Samson G-Track USB mic with Audio Interface (Titanium black, of course) and it is excellent! It comes with Sonar LE recording software but I use Audacity and no problem there, just plug it in and it shows up as an audio device. There is a switch on the side that changes modes from stereo interface to mic/instrument so I used that, plugged in my acoustic, got some levels and hit record. I canít believe the quality for the money and it even came with a desk stand and all the cables. Itís a pretty hot mic and a good idea to get the shock mount accessory.

  • Gene King
    from Fairhope, AL October 27, 2014Music Background:
    Pro guitar player, studio engineer and producer.

    Samson G Track is wonderful

    This device is all one needs to make great recordings. The mic itself is clear, crisp, and detailed. The interface included works like any other ie Focusrite, Presonus, Tascam and M-Audio with no latency! If you're on the fence, jump off and start enjoying recording.

  • Khuram
    from Karachi,Pakistan April 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Alli in One

    This mic has given me a quality oriented Audio with out any latency.I will be purchasing Studio monitors for using G Track.with them.G Track gives me a professional sound at a lower cost.I am setting up my home studio for recording purpose.And this Baby will gonna give me a quick start.Thanks a lot Samson!

  • 12welve
    from Saginaw,MI April 24, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer,Engineer,and Producer!

    Astounding!!!!!!!

    This mic is a digital marvel and a poor mans dream straight out the box you get a direct line input for keyboards or guitars with individual volume controls for head phones mic signal and line input WOW!!!!! Not to mention the ultra smooth a/d converter that acts almost like a vintage eq coating all this for just 150.00 bucks is a new professional standard trust me people this is the best usb mic in the world created by the pioneers of cost cutting exceptional quality! 12welves Beats!!!!!

  • Scott Petrie
    from Toronto, ON, Canada March 18, 2011Music Background:
    Art Director, Photo/Videographer, Hobbyist Musician

    No Static on my MacBook Pro

    I've used the G-Track for a year now doing voice overs on videos and the sound quality of this mic is as good as you will find even compared to professional mics costing 10 times the price.

    And the convenience of having all the preamp controls right on the front of the mic, that retract in and out the mic body on a toggle so they don't stick out when not being used is awesome.

    I have a 4 year old MacBook Pro and there is no hiss or static at all. And the warmth and fullness of the sound quality is astounding.

    I don't have a shock mount so I use it on a boom mic stand which works great to isolate it from any desk vibration.

  • Bud
    from January 4, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, amatuer/home recording

    Excellent Value All The Way Around

    This mic lives up to all it's claims. I purchased this mic as one of many pieces I plan to use building a computer based recording setup. I was truly astonished at the clarity and accuracy Samson offered me. So far I've only used this without any tailored recording equipment. I've only used it with Audacity software and on-board audio. Exceeded my expectations completely. I can only imagine how it will sound coupled with the proper gear! I highly recommend purchasing this mic, if you're looking for a USB microphone. I love all the extras it offers, too. Once again, this is a purchase that is well worth the value.

  • Jason Mann - AutopsyLIVE! (Internet Fake Radio Show)
    from Buffalo, NY USA January 15, 2010Music Background:
    Vocalist (singer & voiceover) & Show host

    Two Mics in one! Perfect for Internet Broadcasting!

    The GTrack exceeded my expectations when I discovered that it can be used SIMULTANEOUSLY via USB and by analog directly to a mixer. This allows me to use the mic through a mixer to broadcast with mixed audio live as well as connected through USB with conference-capable VOIP apps like Skype for audience participation. The audio quality is great, although the sample rate must be turned down when using on an older (or newer overloaded) computer.

    Worth every penny, and then some.

  • AG
    from San Anotnio,Tx September 21, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Artist,Engineer,Producer,Songwriter

    Best Mic I've Used

    G Track microphone blew me away,when I found out how it really sounded once I plugged it into my computer and started recording. The on board montioring makes it great and instrument input as well. Youll be amazed after hearing all your vocals and overdubs at once. The sound is crystal clear,great for overdubs backround vocals,live mixing as well. I have a home studio and this has been the best mic I've used thus far. Great Job by Samson

  • ROckERdude
    from ideehoe March 13, 2009Music Background:
    25 year diy producer/musician

    THE BEST USB MIC MONEY CAN BUY!!!

    This mic is flat out amazing sounding!!! crystal clear , easy to use , and comes packed with every cord imaginable for hookups( no really)...awesome for vocals and instruments...record the whole band at once , and burn down to a cd in one take!!! does overdubs really clear also....with this mic and the free music program , AUDACITY, you have a powerful full studio at your fingertips, BUY THIS NOW!!!

  • Michael Dodd
    from New York City August 14, 2007Music Background:
    Masters Degree in Church Music... Hobby Audio Engineer.

    No problems on My Mac

    I bought this to replace a cheaper mic and Audio Interface from M-Audio... I get absolutely NO Static on my Mac. I does record in stereo provided that you are recording a stereo input. Mics always record in Mono and in GarageBand.. You have to set the track to Mono so that you hear it out of both speakers. It has incredible range and this is the first mic that I've used that sounds like I sound. Don't need to turn the bass up or down with the input to alter what the mic hears. This is a no frills quality mic that will sound like the Singer sounds...

  • Rob S.
    from Delaware January 5, 2014Music Background:
    novice

    Great Mic

    This was Christmas gift for my son, he really likes it and he says it records well with his MacBook pro and garage band,

  • Sir Connor Quigley
    from NJ February 23, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist, student

    Quality mic.

    This mic is perfect for acoustic guitar/ vocals. I even use it to record my drums and electric. I am able to have a friend play the drums and i can sing and record electric all at once with this mic. It does it all.

  • RG
    from Madera, CA November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Exactly as needed

    Needed a USB mic that we could begin working with little to no setup. This mic is it. My daughter needed the mic to do some work while I needed to do some field recording. Setup perfectly with both Windows/Mac. Included manual is excellent. A great recommendation from our salesman, thank you.

  • Jim Radcliffe
    from Dallas, Texas January 20, 2011Music Background:
    40 years ON AIR in Commercial Radio Broadcasting

    G-Track: Most Excellent USB Mic!

    I tried several USB mikes before shelling out for the G-Track and all I can say is that it was worth every penny. The other mikes I tried were tinny, had very little dynamic range, cheap construction and just terrible audio output.

    The G-Track arrived on time from Sweetwater. I unpacked it, glanced at the instructions, plugged in the USB cable and was recording in minutes.. no hassle, no glitches, no problems.. it just works.

    The built in headphone amp is a bit weak but maybe I need headphones matched to its output.. it's really not important as I use the G-Track for Screencasts and podcasts.

    The construction of the mic is outstanding. I was expecting something made of plastic... what a surprise, feels just as good as some of the mics I have used on the air in commercial broadcasting. I've been in broadcasting most of my life and this little USB mike really is a very good product.

    I highly reccomend it for anyone needing a quality mic to use with their PC for doing Screencasts and podcasts. It sounds great and looks great as well. Nothing cheap about the G-Track.

    Glad I bought it and glad I bought it from Sweetwater.. thanks for the Tootsie Rolls and Taffy.

  • eric
    from california January 20, 2009Music Background:
    pro musician, engineer, producer

    upgrade your macbook pro to leopard 10.5.6

    i just talked to Samson about static problem. They told me to upgrade system to 10.5.6, and so far no static...

  • JG
    from Dallas,Texas March 4, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist,Student,Musician

    Works Great!

    I've just started recording some vocals so I don't have much experience with other microphones.But this one was so easy to setup and use that I would recommend it to anybody that is starting like me.It could have some better options like the stereo recording and maybe an off button and have the shock mount included but it is not necessary.

  • kray
    from New Mexico August 11, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great on Windows - STATIC on Mac

    The best thing about this mic is that it comes with everything you will need. Every cable you will need to interface your guitar, keyboard, and you laptop. It even comes with a desk stand. Somebody at Samson was thinking!!

    So why 3 stars...

    If you own a Mac and use Garageband this mic will have static when recording AND you will not be able to record in stereo mode where you have the guitar on one channel and vocals on another. You will only be able to record channel one and you have to use the inst/mic/line switch to flip back and forth. My main laptop is a MacBook and so I am completely disgusted because this means that no one really tested this mic on a Mac OR no one really cared if the mic produced static.

    If you own a Windows machine (tested on XP) you will be very happy as everything works great. The sound is very clear. I've used Sonar before so the included software was easy for me to use and record and add effects easily.

    I'm hoping that Samson will come up with some way to fix this ridiculous static on the Mac.

  • Hakim
    from Fayetteville,NC June 9, 2009Music Background:
    Music Education Major

    Good Mic But Statics A Killer

    Ok so I was waiting for my G-Track to come with very high hopes, and for the most part it delivered. It came with the software and all the cords needed but everytime I tried to record the static was just annoying and bothersum. I read a couple of the reviews here and was sure I wouldn't have that problem because I have Windows Vista, but I was wrong. I dont recommened this product because of the static, what a shame it is that such a great product idea is just tainted with this minor problem. Im returning it as soon as possible.

  • Larry Clark
    from Vienna, VA USA March 20, 2010Music Background:
    Field Recordist, Narrator

    Mariginal -- Sold Mine on eBay

    While the feature set looks good on paper, the audio quality was just average. In stock configuration, this thing picks up all kinds of mechanical noise (like the motor vibrations from my netbook's fan through the wooden tabletop). The base is already badly balanced, but when you add the mandatory shock mount, it is very easy to tip the mic. When you add the shock mount, you are already up to $180, and a heavy base (like for a kick drum mic) will set you back more. The audio levels vary depending upon the input source or if you are monitoring playback from your computer. I was glad to take the $ loss selling this after I replaced it with a Blue Yeti.

  • GearTester
    from Planet Neptune January 2, 2009Music Background:
    I just have a musical present, but not a musical background

    Need more gain

    2 stars mean OK, Average... I find it very usefull and I've had fun with it. I'm impressed by the overall sound which is pretty good for that price rance considering you get an audio interface, mixer and microphone all together for les than 200$. However, the mic gain is too low, actually you have to get it to 70-80% of the range to have a nice signal comming to you DAW. In case you have to track more delicate and softer sources the mic goes useless. Th instrument input gain so far is OK.

    I have nice high end gear and I got this for tracking ideas when traveling or for mobile cheap recordings. It would have been more usefull if it had an alnalog output to use a stand-alone mic and not be stuck with USB, but for this price again, you couln't ask for more.

  • Jane D
    from Ontario, Canada December 6, 2008Music Background:
    Have been a singer most of my life.

    Static Problems with MacBook Pro

    Great mic .... great sound .... but can't get rid of the horrible static when using the G-Track on my MacBook Pro. If you go through the hassle of changing the sound property settings, unplugging the mic, reconnecting the mic and changing the sound property settings back, the static will stop for a very short time, but then start again. I've gone back to my old mic. Too bad, because this mic sounds great.

  • Michael Doerfler
    from North Carolina April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Samson GTrack Review

    I purchased the G-Track for versatility and value. I did not expect much, and that is what I got.

    Overall, it does the job, but is simply underpowered as a USB-powered device. The gain and microphone volumes must be set at their highest levels, and it's tricky to get it set right before clipping occurs.

    There is also a low level hum that also shows up when trying to pull more sound in ambient settings.

    For the amateur who is happy enough to have a "universal" device that can be quickly plugged in and used for low quality voice-overs, and maybe sketching out a few demos, it'll do. Not intended for professional use at all.

    My decision, I'll live with it and make it work. The folks (specifically, Mike Baldonado) at Sweetwater gave me a heads up on it, and they were dead on. That is why I keep coming back to Sweetwater.

  • Customer
    from October 8, 2008

    G-Track Static MacBook Pro

    Beautiful mic, nice stand, great concept. Terrible static on my 4 month old MacBook Pro.

Questions about the Samson G-Track USB Condenser Microphone with Audio Interface?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway