0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Fulltone GT-500 Booster/Distortion Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • David Hess

    This is a great pedal for the front end of your vintage or reissue amp for clean boost or subtle gain push. But that is just one side of it! The distortion side of the pedal yields tones ranging from clean boost to insane, with a highly flexible tone circuit for creating more modern tones. This really can take your 2-channel amp and make it a 3-channel with boost on every channel. Killer build quality with no compromise yet very reasonably priced.

  • from Tucson, AZ January 27, 2016

    Fulltone Gt 500

    Great box. I've been working with it for about a year. The trick with the GT 500 is the mids knob on the distortion side. Also the red candy apple paint looks great. Does not play well with Daisy chained power supplies so buy the Fulltone wall wart or use isolated power. Will run with 9 volts but is sooo much better with 18.

  • from Midland, MI November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Holy Smokes!

    So I ordered this pedal on Friday and received it on Saturday? A new definition of fast. Sweetwater is on top of their game.

    I own the Blackstar Stage 60 which I think is the best piece of amp equipment I have ever purchased. I've owned Marshal JVM, Fender etc. All are great amps but the Blackstar is my holy grail. Three channel, clean, OD1 and OD2. So I was looking to add some umph at lower volume levels. Also to get into metal territory. All I can say is wow. This GT500 delivers big. Playing on the clean amp channel I can grab most any heavy sound I need. But when I kick this pedal in on OD1 it's splendor. Between the boost and distortion I can scream at bedroom levels. OK, so here is the unexpected kicker. When I have my amp on a heavy OD2 this pedal takes it over the edge. The squeals, feedback, harmonics sustain are unreal. I've only started to explore the sounds. Fulltone is in a league by themselves.

    The thing that has me beside myself is the definition it retains even on the amps OD2 setting. Every pedal I have tried in this amp mode comes out like mush. No definition. The GT500 retains the character of the amp even on ridicules amp gain settings. It's like it morphs to my amps sound, just makes it more of what I have. I love my sound without the pedal. If the innate characteristics of you amp and guitar don't cut it, pedals may help but the source has to be right. This pedal help good tone sound better. I couldn't be more pleased. And the price from Sweetwater for a pedal like this is within a working musicians budget.

  • from Gainesville, GA July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist / Gigging Musician

    Two Great Pedals in One

    I'm running this pedal in front of a Blackstar HT-5 and it gives me 6 very usable sounds with a two channel amp. I've got amp clean, clean boost, pedal distortion, boosted distortion, amp dirty, and dirty amp boosted. The only combo that doesn't work so well is pedal distortion into the amps dirty channel which turns into a mushy mess but might work as a fuzz sound for someone.

    The boost / OD side is my favorite. Playing into a clean amp I get that slightly jangly just barely overdriven Fender sound I've been after for a long time. The OD is very subtle though so for someone with single coils it may just be boost but with humbuckers it will distort some when you hit it hard. The second awesome function of this side is as boost of my amps dirty channel. It add saturation and thickens up the sound which is great for lead and solos, especially on the plain strings up high.

    The distortion side is good too. It ranges from fairly subtle to a good classic rock crunch and eq really works letting you shape the sound how you want. The pedal as a whole is fairly transparent letting you create the sound. The mid control is very powerful and feels like an active boost/cut but I don't think it is.

    Overall all the knobs and switches seem high quality. The gain on the boost side is notched causes some static when changing the setting which I guess is how it's designed. The pedal has a very high output level (up to 32db) so you have to be careful setting levels. A very small tweak in the knob has a big impact which is the only negative for me; it needs something to lock the knobs in place for travel.

  • from Knoxville, TN December 26, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist/Worship Leader

    Favorite drive Ever

    Amzing Pedal! If you take the time to play with it, you wont be dissapointed! It sounds great with any amp i use it on, and its the only pedal i would use if I had no other. Especially pleased with the OD section!

  • from Logan, UT May 11, 2012

    Great pedal.

    Having owned over 50 overdrive pedals, I have to say the overdrive side of the pedal is lacking. But, it does a decent job. What I can say is the distortion side is awesome. I used to have an old Peavy amp and mainly played Hard Rock back in the day, and this nails that fat distortion tone I used to get. Plenty of gain and distortion on hand. Out of a sea of pedals this is one of the only dirt pedals I haven't sold. I consider it an essential part of my rig. The EQ on it is very versatile

  • from Dallas, TX February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Pedal

    I've never had a very good overdrive pedal before, but this pedal is way awesome. It sounds really good and has a very solid feel to it. Even after 3 week, I'm still figuring out new sounds.

  • from S.F. Bay Area February 8, 2010Music Background:
    Pro MusicianSongwriter, guitarist , singer,recording engineer

    Excellent Pedal

    This pedal is by far the best distortion I have ever heard. It stings, rings, sings and has the most beautiful harmonic textures. The mid-range knob on the dist. channel acts like a "long-throw" wha-wha pot with all the midrange sweep you desire!! The booster channel, for me, makes for a great sounding rhythm crunch channel, while retaining clarity even for chording. Two seperate channels for a variety of too cool sounds. I love this thing!!

  • from Boyne City, MI January 7, 2010Music Background:
    20 years of guitar

    Excellent pedal

    This totally does what it says it will. It has a wonderful tone, and you can go from just a clean boost to some heavy distortion easily. I've used it with a tele through a Blues Jr., and it sounds really amazing. The tone controls are intuitive.

  • from Seattle, WA December 28, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Guitar / Synth

    Scroll up and buy one

    I love my GT-500. I got it for it's boost / overdrive function and the fact that you could run it's separate distortion section before or after the boost, both of which can be used at the same time. The boost can be driven for some overdrive, or as a super clean boost that'll retain your guitar's tone when engaged. Very hard to find a pedal like this. The distortion side goes from grit to heavy saturation, even capable of some metal tones, though I haven't played metal since I was 16. The boost has Bass / Highs eq knobs, while the distortion side has Bass / Mid / Highs eq knobs. The mid knob is pulled directly from one of Fulltone's wahs allowing very "vocal" midrange sweep adjustments, providing distorted tones from fasal to super scooped. And you could combine it with the boost side and IT'S eq for a huge range of tones. It's hand-wired and built tough. Nearly endless gain possibilities here........

  • from Boyne City, MI December 15, 2009Music Background:
    20 years of guitar

    Great pedal

    This is a great pedal. Just as the literature says, you can get a really wide range of tones from it. The overdrive/boost side has a big boost possible and responds well to picking dynamics--really a nice bluesy sound. The distortion side will go from cleanish to pretty distorted. It's not metal, but I don't get the sense that's what it was designed for. Certainly fine for rock. The mini-pots are useful.

  • from St. Louis, MO May 5, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great pedal

    Great pedal. Can do lower-mid gain overdrive and heavy stuff. Retains the signature sound of your guitar and amp. And now with a price drop, at $120 there is no question to grab one of these or not. The answer is YES!! Not a AMP-IN-A-BOX type pedal it dosent sound like a Marshall or a Mesa turned up all the way. It sounds like your guitar and amp with more gain. A big step above your common overdrive pedal.

  • from Connecticut October 25, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging guitarist.

    Indispensible gigging tool

    This pedal will not give you a signature tone. There is no tone in this pedal that floors me. But what it DOES do well is provide a myriad of tones that is very useful for a gigging musician that needs to cover alot of ground. The booost side can give you a nic clean boost to goose your amp or provide good lower gain crunch similar to an old non-master volume Marshall. The distortion side has lots of gain, and the inductor mid control can beef up your mids or provide scooped tones. The pedal is also fairly dynamic, responding well to attack and guitar volume knob changes. I will never fall in love with this pedal, but it has earned a spot on my board as a go to pedal for achieving good tone for a variety of musical styles.

  • from Canal Fulton, Ohio USA October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Dedicated hobbyist/musician with G.A.S.

    Great boost and distortion

    Love this pedal. The eqs on both sides have great tone shaping capabilities. Boost on left sounds better than distortion but I love both. Mainly used for direct in recording and sounds great.

  • from October 25, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro guitarist in a cover band

    Good pedal

    I bought this to used with my Gibson Les Paul, which I also purchased from Sweetwater.( What a service, these guys are awesome) The sound had too much base and did not cut trough the mix at all. When I used it with my Ibanez RG, it was way better. I used both channels together with a little reverb and got a good distortion sound. Still prefer my Boss DS1.

Questions about the Fulltone GT-500 Booster/Distortion?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway