rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Boss GT-001 Table Top Guitar Effects Processor Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss GT-001 Table Top Guitar Effects Processor?

Questions about the Boss GT-001 Table Top Guitar Effects Processor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Dayton August 16, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist - Blues, Rock, and Smooth Jazz

    BOSS GT-001

    Small footprint with lots of tone. I own the GT-100 but opt to use this on my gigs for downsizing my equipment and setup time. Great little unit. Has 4 buttons for your favorite patches and a scroll knob to navigate to the others.

  • from Ohio April 22, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitar

    Greater than expected

    First of all i am using this unit with the Shure SRH840 headphones. This pairing makes for a VERY enjoyable experience! Nothing can really compare to a true and good tube amp or solid state. However this unit has surpassed all of my expectations.

  • from Santa Barbara, CA January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Retired International Playboy

    Incredible unit!

    I've had a lot of effects processors for my particular use (I'm using a nylon string guitar (Flamenco), and want an enhancement - I'm not sure what). My most recent was a GT-10, but I play mostly seated, so don't really need the footswitches - This sound is by far the BEST I have heard from everything I've ever tried. I loved my GS-10, but eventually a couple of pots stopped working....

    Anyway, after a lifetime of Flamenco, I'm getting into Blues, and have an Epiphone arriving today; I'm sure this will work great.

    But the very first patch I tried as enhancement was dynamite.... and it is so light, small, runs off of USB, has an aux in... WOW and even a SOFTWARE Librarian Editor (Roland finally did it - the GS-10 editor was superb).

    YMMV, but for me this is the holy grail. Well, ok, when my Epiphone arrives I may consider footboard, but for sure it will be a GT-100.

  • from Roscoe, IL December 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Any Tone Any Time!

    Seems like I can get ever tone I wanted and more. Every time I go an create a new tone I find new things it can do. This is a magic box! Has a bit of a learning curve but well worth it.

  • from Canada November 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Sounds, great reamping, great user-friendlyness

    I have almost never given any electronics product five stars, but I think I will for this one. It's not 100% perfect, but it does stuff so well in general that it's very noteworthy.

    The sound is great. It's clear, sounds natural, distinct and powerful. I really only use the Marshall 1959 superlead plexi setting, since only play the Ramones, and the sound is very nice, clear, natural, powerful and so forth. The same model on my JS-10 isn't quite as good.

    The user friendliness is really good, as I didn't really need to read the instructions to figure it all out. But you still need to consult the PDF programming guide (which is not included...BAD!) to understand all the menu items.

    What I bought the unit for was the reamping. Great idea to record clean, and then decide at your leisure what amp model and FX to apply, instead of recording the final tone and feeling you wish you could have redone it. When I compared as recorded processed signal with the clean signal reamped and rerecorded, they sound virtually identical, just a very, very slight softness on the reamped signal (not surprising since 44.1 khz recordings cannot record the extreme highs well, and I have done extensive A/B listening tests after recording live music at 44.1, 48, 88.2 and 96 khz to prove this out).

    So I'm really happy with my purchase. I wondered why there are so many good reviews on this product, and now I know why.

  • from High Point, NC October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome Technology

    I have the GT-100 and it is incredible. The sound production of the GT-001 is identical but without the GT-100's footswitches and control pedal. With the Boss Tone Control software, you get immediate and complete control of the GT-001's parameters. I cannot emphasize enough how valuable the onscreen software control is. Once you use it, you will never go back to hunching over a small display window to adjust settings.The amp modeling and tone control are nothing short of incredible. The GT-001 also has an XLR mic input for vocal processing. The quality of the effects are very good and the preamp gain is completely there for hard rockers. A truly great product.

  • from December 28, 2016

    Great unit

    This is a follow-up to a previous review. After getting to know the unit better, avoiding the presets, using more of the functions.. I will now say this is a quite versatile tool, especially for the low price.

    It has been regularly used in many situations and can be seen as a compact problem solver. As a practice tool, a backup amp sim, a sound card with DSP, as a effect tweaker (for test drive) and so on.

    I was a bit harsh in my previous review. And see know the unit as great value for the money that has plenty of usable options. Especially if you use the quite excellent software that comes along.

  • from Lakewood, NJ September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Great for home recording

    This unit is perfect for home recording. I was using a plethora of pedals but now I have everything at the same level as my computer rig. The sounds/effects are some of the best I've heard from Boss.

  • from Pocatello, ID July 20, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar/bass/studio dude

    Absolutely astonishing (regardless of price point)

    First off, if you need the footswitches and extra screen and intend to not use the USB librarian, just buy a GT-100 now instead. That is the ONLY bad thing I can say about the GT-001 versus its bigger, more expensive brother.

    That said, the unit is phenomenal at any price point as far as sound quality goes - it's everything good effects-wise Boss/Roland have done in the last ten years and then some, and the amp modeling has finally hit prime time. Previous generations could sound acceptable with tweaking, but you'd never mistake them for the real deal.

    This thing is the first unit that's passed my modeler Turing Test - while recording in cans at 7 am and doing a dry run, I reached over to my normal 4x12 to feel for SPL because I was afraid it was too loud. For that moment, I genuinely forgot I wasn't playing a real cranked monster.

    The learning curve on this is steep but useful even before you master it - especially if you've used the GR-55 and similar units in the past. Assigns and whatnot are very similar, and any parameter can be automated by a variety of ways.

    If you're buying this for the guitar to MIDI monophonic synth, be aware it's no GR-55. It's serviceable but very fast runs, note bends, some harmonics, etc. will make it glitch badly (which can be fun if you want that sort of chaos). Interestingly, you can still use the full audio recording/processing power of the unit while doing the guitar to MIDI- I had figured it'd be a 'lose everything' proposition.

    Effects can be over the top, especially on factory patches, but the extensive routing and dry blend options on everything mean you don't have to get lost in the harmonizer swamp unless you want to. Since it contains all the first-wave MDP Boss effects as well, it's a heck of a bargain - the price includes simultaneous Tera Echo or Overtone plus Adaptive Distortion effects plus al the usual stuff.

    Stuff the manual won't tell you that may sway your decision if you're looking for specific parameters: delay time per delay effect (can have up to three, varies by mode selected) is approx. 3s on most modes, reverb caps out at 10s.

    Re-amping etc is simple as well, the mic pre is boring but serviceable with an Octava condenser, and phantom is easily switchable in the control software on/off and is very visible in it when on.

    Finally, be sure to check the firmware version included in your individual unit and update it from the Roland site if it's not current before installing any drivers or the librarian/editor - all my initial frustrations were caused by not following that simple instruction.

  • from July 10, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    Great Sounds, Functionality and Portability for the $$

    I bought this unit because my axe-fx II stays at home in my rack, and I travel alot for work, so I wanted something super-portable, that had decent sounds so I could practice and write on the go. I was considering a second axe-fx, but the price on this unit was pretty attractive so I took the plunge.

    Well, so far, I have used it every day since I bought it on the initial release. It is a great practice tool for silent practicing using headphones. It is USB powered, which is also great. The software is pretty robust, and while you can't edit the parameters as much as you can on the axe-fx, the stock amp simulations have a pretty good feel and response. I actually like the simplicity of it, as I care not to edit the power amp response curves and things like that, I just want to plug in, tweak a bit and go. Editing on the unit itself is somewhat tedious and I recommend using the librarian software as you get a much better visualization, and you don't have to cycle through menus using knobs.

    I found a great rhythm tone, great clean tone, and a great lead tone with some playing around with various models. I do find the effects are not quite as pristine as on my G-system or the axe-fx. Some of the effects tend to be harsh and excessive, but this is to be expected in this price point. I haven't tried out the mic functionality of it yet, but that isn't why I bought it.

    Overall, at this price point, the unit is fantastic. It does exactly what I expected it to do, and it does it really well. Would I record an album with it? Probably not... but having said that, some of the sounds on here really are top notch. Playing the amp models feels to me just like playing a mic'd up amp through the studio monitors.

    My last boss experience was the GT-8 processor, and I was underwhelmed to the point where I returned it (this was a few years ago). But I'm happy to say that they have come a long way since then.

  • from Astoria,N.Y. July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Rock ,Metal , Classic Rock, Hard Rock , Blues

    Boss GT-001 Table Top Guitar Effects Processor

    this little guy is great, hook up your mp3 to it and jam along to your favorite bands.hook up monitors to it ,its great. hooking it up to the computer to get sounds from artist like steve lukather and other artist its great, but have to add more artist hopefully soon.private jam sessions are great when you dont want to make noise just by using a great pair of headphones.this thng has alot of effects, amps etc.I would never use this for gigs or amps, a little over priced, but this thing is like the korg pandora with no drums , bass or playing in a different key..and last, an on board tuner...

  • from Deltona, FL July 29, 2016Music Background:
    Lead guitar for blues/jazz

    The easiest multi-effects I've ever used

    It's not fair that I give it a 4 star cause I am rating it as a floor unit which it was not made to be. However, that is still what I use it as and it still does a dynamic job. The ME-25 does not compare to this as far as sound and ease of use. I am very disappointed that this unit does not come with a battery option, especially since it's smaller and lighter than most other multi-effects units. It does however come with a very long reliable power cord. My only concern is that the inputs and outputs are plastic. I am assuming that time will wear these out much quicker than metal. This is basically a plastic unit with a metal top. I compared this with individual boss stomp boxes at the store and my desired tone was better and able to attain much quicker. I highly recommend this unit to jazz and blues players because it does not have that instant screaming output on every patch you go through. The tuner also allows a very original tone of your guitar alone with a nice available volume boost.

  • from Seattle February 14, 2016Music Background:
    Retired weekend gigger

    Product outstanding, documentation needs work Part 2

    This is a follow-up to my earlier review. The software and website were a huge help to me in understanding how the GT-001 works. After downloading the software and logging in to the GT-001 website, you see a full-screen graphical display of each patch on the GT-001.

    You can rename patches, change amp models, adjust the amp models, and adjust the effects. You can also switch each effect on or off, and you can change the order of the effects easily.

    But once again, the written manual fell short. It said the software should be downloaded from the Roland website, but it was really the Boss website.

  • from Seattle February 9, 2016Music Background:
    Retired weekender

    Product outstanding, documentation needs work

    I am retired from live gigs and was looking for a good table-top amp substitute (we live in a condo). The GT-001 is exactly what I was looking for. The amp models and effects are outstanding, and the in-and-out connections are flexible. The display panel is easy to see, even for us old guys, and the buttons for four favorites are very convenient.

    Sure, you can buy cheaper multi-effects units, but the GT-001 is worth the price of admission and then some!

    The only reason I downgraded the GT-001 to four stars is that the documentation really needs work. The so-called Owner's Manual is just a few pages and is more like what other manufacturers call a "Quick Setup Guide." The downloadable Parameters Guide is TOO complex, except as a reference guide for use later. It would be useless to a user who was not already familiar with programming a multi-effects unit.

    What Boss needs is something in between the Quick Setup and the Parameters Guide. Maybe a "How To" guide to common tasks -- rearranging effects for best results, setting up channel switching within one patch, global settings affecting all patches, and so forth.

  • from September 6, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro.

    Ok as a practice tool

    What it is; a practice tool with interface option. Kind of like a Pod Express or a Pandora glued to a 44.1khz interface (like an old Fast Track or Pod UX1). Works for a laptop, would not recommend for main home studio setup. A bit cheap/plastic sounding, most of the presets are useless. Should not be gigged with. Midi sounds are horrible.


    Why the four stars? Well, it works fine as a practice tool, lightweight and does not take much space in gig bag. Can be used for rehearsal. Sounds better than the Pandora. A fifteen year old Pod 2.0 actually sounds better but the GT-001 has a few options that may come handy vs the Pod (mainly interface possibility).


    Normally you would expect a review like this to rate the product at 1-2 stars. But there are not many other options on the market that fills this space (lightweight interface and practice tool with DSP). So if this is what you need it may be the best option (unless you feel like dragging around an Eleven Rack twenty times the size/weight...).
    No it is not a Dumble. Yes, it lacks headroom and is not responsive to guitar volume changes at all. But it works fine as a practice tool.

  • from July 10, 2015

    Great for desktop recording.

    I was looking for a desktop effects box with a built in audio interface.
    I also wanted a portable unit.
    This little thing nailed it!
    *interface *guitar effects *mic input *aux in *stereo out *headphone jack *small footprint
    It's easy to use with a 4 favorite buttons, master volume and 200 presets.
    One nice feature is: when you connect with a USB anything you play on the computer comes thru the headset. That's very handy for playing along with jam tracks, YouTube and any training material you might use.
    The "Tone Studio" software gives complete access to all the presets and allows you to dive into the effects controls for creating your own favorites.
    The effects can be controlled with a aftermarket foot pedal but I believe the best use for this is as a desktop tool.

    On the down side: you can't use the mic and the guitar intput simultaneously, even thought they has separate input jacks.
    The build quality looks good but, the jacks are plastic.

    Overall it's just what I was looking for.

  • from Joliet, IL. October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording, Semi-Pro musician

    Great Deal...Tone for Days

    I have been a Line 6 guy for years and after awhile, you kinda known what your gonna get... I checked out the Boss gear on the Glenn Deluane site and was impressed. The GT-001 tone is fuller sounding and more in your face. Others need a lot of tweaking, this has some great tones straight from the box. The Tone Central is cool too. Free stuff is always cool. Downloaded the Steve Lukather presets and solo'd till my callus's got callus's. Well worth the money.

  • from NYC June 30, 2014

    Like a GT-100 on your desktop

    I am pretty happy with this so far. Nice editing software, share patches with GT-100 users. Perfect for a home studio with limited space. Great DSP.
    I recommend splurging on an expression pedal too. ( Though I didn't)

Questions about the Boss GT-001 Table Top Guitar Effects Processor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Closerrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
Enter the Giveaway