0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Taylor GS Mini-E w/Electronics, Spruce Top - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 26 customer reviews
  • from Middletown, Ohio January 26, 2016

    DREAM OF A GUITAR!!!

    I read all the reviews posted on this sight,and I thouhgt , OK, it is a nice guitar, but ,can it really be this good? Well, let me tell you this, all the reviews praising this Gem did not do it justice, in my opinion. I purchased mahogany GS MIni, and I loved it (still do).It had a mellow, peaceful type of sound, but I was looking for another type of sound also. I cannot describe it, but I knew that when I heard it , I would know. Well, I found it in the GSMINI-E RW!!! I still do not think that I can describe it. It is a sound that is strong , sweet, beautiful, and clear. It sings for me every time that I strum, flatpick or fingerpick it. It makes this old, mediocre guitar player sound like I have been doing it for years, and truth be told, i have only been playing for about 10 months. As others before have written, you cannot go wrong with this guitar,and you cannot go wrong with Sweetwater. They are the absolute BEST!! Their service is second to none. They have always done right by me. Thanks to Sweetwater and Matt Fuller. You both always come through.To quote a Vulcan, "Live long and prosper.

  • from Georgetown, KY January 14, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    GS-Mini

    Fantastic guitar. Fun to play and of course, it's a Taylor so it plays like butta.

  • from Las Vegas January 4, 2016

    Love at first strum

    I had bought a Taylor Big Baby that I loved but I needed some amplification, so I sold it only because of that reason. I considered rebuying a Big Baby E but with so many 5 star ratings on this GS , I thought I would get it. WOW was I surprised at this gem. Volume , sustain, clarity , great action, so easy to play. Just don't hesitate , just buy it. But buy it from Sweetwater , their 55 pt setup is just what you need to get it in great condition, ready to play.

  • from Auturn, AL October 2, 2015

    Nice Guitar

    Very nice small guitar , sound really nice .

  • from Crivitz August 4, 2015

    Fits Like a glove

    I bought this guitar thinking it was something that I dont have in my collection.... a travel guitar. I love the Taylor quality and sound and after reading an article in Wood and steel magazine... I just had to have one... or 2. When i received it i was blown away by how well it fit me and was so easy to hold and play....fit me like a glove plus it has all the volume , sound and tone that you would expect from a Taylor....If you dont have one buy one .... everyone should own a GS mini.

  • from Arizona August 1, 2015Music Background:
    Church Praise and Worship Team and 30 years of guitar playing.

    A Tale of Two Taylors and Sweetwater Sound.

    Towards the end of the year in 1999, I placed a special order through a music store for a custom Taylor 514-ce. I ordered this guitar with a wider, 1 7/8" nut width neck (same as a 12- string would have). This option was important to me at the time as it made finger-style playing much easier. It is a truly beautiful work of art, both to look at and in sound and playability.
    But.... life goes on and styles change as mine did. I also got older. Instead of finger picking, I'm now more into flat picking and, with the onset of carpal tunnel syndrome and arthritis, a narrower neck and shorter scale is a plus.
    Enter the Taylor GS Mini....... After reading countless reviews and watching a ton of videos on this guitar, I started looking for the best deal I could find on one. Brian Kerns, my Sales Engineer at Sweetwater went out of his way to make me a super deal on a Mini-e Rosewood that had been used there as a "demo". The original pictures had been misplaced for this instrument and I really wanted to see it prior to buying. Brian scheduled a retake of the photos, (same as are done with the new instruments for sale) and then did a physical inspection himself. So.... I had the pics, a report of the guitar's condition and we made the deal. Two days later, it arrived, which was a full two days sooner than expected! It was well-packed, had been checked over by there Tech Department prior to shipping and I was hard-pressed to tell that it had been a demo unit.
    As has been said by many other reviewers, I am VERY GLAD I did! I'm still in the evaluation stage, but if all proves out, I will be selling the 514-ce and the Mini-e RW will take it's place as my "go-to 6-string acoustic"! The sound is not quite as good as the 514, but the shorter scale and narrower neck are a real joy to play. The volume is astounding from a guitar this size. Add the ES-T electronics for plugging in, a well-built gig bag and this is an instrument that goes beyond the category of "travel guitar"!!
    This is getting kinda' long so I'll end it with this...... Taylor really nailed it on this guitar! If you're in the market for a smaller guitar, in my opinion (and that of many others as well), you can't go wrong on the GS Mini! AND........ you also can't go wrong by making that purchase from Sweetwater Sound. Take the Virtual Tour of their campus if you haven't done so already. (It's like working at a musical instrument and sound equipment Disney Land!!)

  • from Macon, GA June 29, 2015

    Love this guitar

    What can I say about the GS Mini that has not already been said. It sounds great and is extremely comfortable. This is my third purchase from Sweetwater and the experience is amazing as usual. My sales engineer, Ryan Wiltermood, is great at his job and always makes sure I am taken care of. Thanks again.

  • from June 15, 2015

    You Can't Go Wrong

    This guitar is the best travel guitar money can buy. Even as a primary guitar, you can't go wrong. Get one now. The case is super rugged for a gig bag and I've had no issues taking this thing on a military deployment which is a real testament to the construction of it. Transitioning between dry and VERY humid locations was fine, and it stayed in tune! I've been playing for about 12 years and this sounds better than even some more expensive Taylors. No regrets!

  • from Elwood IN May 18, 2015Music Background:
    working and hobbyist

    as good as it gets

    Sweet water is in there own class. Allen Crampton and Scott gave me 100%. My Taylor mlne-e has great sound plugged or unplugged. Great fit and workmanship. Travel bag is top notch

  • from Paragould ,Ar April 10, 2015Music Background:
    Just getting started

    WoW

    I'm am blown away with the look and feel of my new GSmini-e. But the sound is far better than i expected. My third day with it and now I'm hearing things come from it I've never heard from my playing. I'm fairly new paying guitar (less than 2 years) so this is like making one of those big discoveries. Taylor got this right. Sweetwater has sold me three guitars and done a great job getting it here ready to play.

  • from Southern Illinois February 24, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Terrific

    Very glad I got this model. Even though it is only a laminate sides and back, I think the rosewood gives the tone a very nice color. Sound overall is terrific. Feels very comfortable to play. If you buy this for a travel guitar be careful; it may become your primary guitar. Perfect for travel, great for just playing anytime. Very pleased; can't think of any complaints. Have to mention that not only was the guitar in perfect condition, there were also labels on the packaging advising not to open anything for a few hours. Glad I followed that advice and encourage all, especially in this winter, to do the same. Very pleased.

  • from United States February 21, 2015Music Background:
    6 string bender for 41 years

    Wow, seriously, wow!

    I been a guitarist for 41 years but my mainstays are electric. My wife, out of nowhere finally decides she wants to start playing guitar. She's a bit small and holding a full size guitar is a bit cumbersome for her. I decided to pick this Taylor GS Mini-E RW up and have been absolutely floored at the quality of this little beast.

    It's a beautifully made guitar with a ton of sound when not plugged in. The neck action are perfect and I honestly haven't been able to put it down! My wife asked me last night if it was her's or mine!

    I was a bit skeptical with all the 5 star reviews and claims over the years for these guitars especially considering they are made in Mexico. I tend to stick to American made guitars at a much higher price range. I can say without hesitation that this was money well spent. Kudos Taylor you made a wonderful guitar at a wonderful price point.

  • from Dallas, Texas - USA December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    GS Mini-E RW

    The GS Mini-E RW is AMAZING! Love, love, love the ES-T system in this dynamite scaled down guitar! This would be at the top of my list of recommendations for anyone looking for a travel-sized guitar. This is my "go-to" guitar when I'm just sitting around the house playing. I want to book a trip just to actually use it as a "travel" guitar. Phenomenal tone and (after a set-up) excellent playability. Highly recommend this one.

  • from Romeo, MI November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Outstanding!

    I can't say enough about this guitar. Very comfortable to play and sounds great! I want to thank my salesperson Ben Robinson who took my order recently on Friday and got the guitar to me the next day Saturday afternoon. Due to the cold weather I took Ben's recommendation - (though difficult to do!) and let the guitar sit in the box for several hours to adjust to the room temperature. Finally opened it up and enjoyed the perfect set up and playability until late into the night. Thanks again Sweetwater for doing an amazing job!

  • from Littleton, NC October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Lifetime Music Student

    Travels Like A Mini; Sounds Almost Like a Dred!

    I have owned 3 other 'travel' guitars from various manufacturers and this one blows them all away. It's hard to believe you can get such rich, full sound from such a small guitar.

    When playing this little giant through my Behringer Ultracoustic ACX450 it's difficult to tell the difference between the Mini and my Ovation 1777 Legend.

    The fit and finish are exactly what you would expect from Taylor.

    IMHO; If you're looking for a travel-ready, small body, acoustic/electric it really doesn't get much better than the Taylor GS Mini-E.

  • from Reston, Virginia August 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Home Recording

    Amazing Little Guitar!!!

    Taylor really knocked the ball out of the park with this little baby. I recently moved to a small condo, so I made the hard decision to sell some of my music gear that I no longer have room for. Unfortunately, my Martin DC-16RGTE AURA was on the list of items that had to go (yes, call my crazy!). I had recently purchased a Taylor T5z Custom Koa from Sweetwater, and am absolutely blown away by it, so I started looking into Taylor's "parlor" guitars. After reading all of the positive reviews of the Taylor GS Mini series, watching the demos on YouTube and getting a chance to test a couple of them out at my local guitar stores, I knew this model was the right choice. I mentioned the word "parlor" guitar before, but this guitar is anything but that when it comes to the feel and tone. Although it has a shorter scale and smaller body, I can honesty say that it doesn't feel uncomfortable or that much different from most regular-sized acoustic guitars that I've played. Actually, it's a very comfortable acoustic guitar to play, and the tone is astounding, considering its size. Unplugged, it does sound slightly less full than a regular-sized acoustic guitar, but not that much. Plugged in, this little baby really shines. I play mine through a Roland AC-60, and the tones I get from her are shear bliss. I thank Taylor for creating such a wonderful, well-crafted acoustic guitar. This is one of those guitars that just begs to be played, and I look forward to many enjoyable times playing her. Everyone at Sweetwater is wonderful, but I want to give a special "thanks" to Mark Magdich and his assistant, Chelsea, for their top-notch customer service -- as usual.

  • from Raleigh, NC July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician, worship leader, teacher

    Don't Let the Size Fool You!

    I have been looking for a 'parlor' size guitar for a long time and finally found a keeper. The GS Mini is *so* easy to play - comfortable size and great playability. Perfect intonation up and down the neck. Sounds great by itself or through my Fishman Loudbox Artist. Try one – you won’t be disappointed. Sweetwater setup and shipping was amazing.

  • from Kingsport, TN July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I have a Martin D41 and Gibson J100. I play the GS Mini-Try one!

    I fell in love with the sound and feel of this little instrument. I also have a Little Martin LX1. I was satisfied with the LX 1 until I heard the sound of the Taylor GS Mini. I cannot do the GS Mini justice with words. It has the volume of a full size but with a smaller (23 1/2") scale. Go into a store that has one and see for yourself. Then, check out what is in stock at Sweetwater. They are so nice to deal with. You get the exact instrument that you order from their site. They have photos of each instrument and serial numbers. They are so nice to deal with and shipping is timely. Back to the GS Mini, you won't want to lay it down so it's best not to walk by and pick it up unless you have a couple of hours to jam. It's that sweet. Got to go now, this review makes me want to go and play the GS Mini...Buy one today!!!

  • from De Leon Springs, FL May 6, 2014Music Background:
    Longtime guitar player and collector

    Little guitar with a big guitar sound

    First off, I was really impressed with the tone. It is clear, bright and loud. Just as loud acoustically as any of my all-sold wood guitars. Plugged in it sounds great too. This is my first experience with Taylor’s ES-T electronics and I found it produces a very natural amplified acoustic sound. The finish and construction is first class and as good as you would find on a more expensive guitar. Try not to think that the GS Mini is a kiddie guitar--they are not. You could gig or record with them. So if you are just starting out, or plunking around the house for fun, or thinking of doing some recording, this guitar would be a good choice for any of these uses.

    Once again Sweetwater’s customer service is second to none. My guitar was well packaged and double boxed.

  • from Midland TX March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Praise and Worship guitarist 18yrs experience

    Awesome so much fun to play!

    I love the sound, sound and feel of this wonderful guitar. Having a blast playing this gem everyday. Even sounds great when I plug it in.

  • from Georgetown. Texas October 23, 2015

    More than I anticipated! !!

    Received guitar in great condition. The sound without plugging it in, is full and rich. The g, b, and e strings produce rich, brilliant sounds on the high strings. I did want a little more action on the picking so I adjusted the action a quarter turn tighter and put on 52-12 strings in place of the standard 56-13 and obtained amazing results. When plugged into my 60 watt Rolan amplifier the sounds are as full as you would have with a full size acoustic electric. This is a pleasing guitar to own and great for travel because of its size. If you're thinking of getting one....don't think anymore.. DO IT. You will be a happy camper.

  • from Boulder January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Professional player and teacher

    Really cool little guitar

    I really like this little thing. It has a great bell like tone that is unique and cool. It is absolutely a blast to play. I asked Sweetwater to have one of their techs set it up with low action before they mailed it, and it showed up set up perfect! Electronics are cool, but I don't use that feature very much. I would have given it 5 stars but it lacks a little bottom end. When compared to my Eastman acoustic, this is noticably thinner. It is a small scale guitar, so that is to be expected. I would recommend this to anyone! Nice fret board, beautiful looks, great electronics, sturdy zipper bag, and quality construction. This is one of the best mini guitars on the market.

  • from triangle NC December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sweet Clear and Solid

    Very fine Guitar. Easy to play and beautiful clarity and resonance.

  • from Indianapolis, IN December 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Well Done Taylor

    This little guitar is wonderful, it's enjoyable to hold and sounds very good considering it is such an affordable cost. I have an American Made 300 series Taylor that is everything I have ever looked for in an acoustic. I can't imagine taking my 300 on the road with my business travels and I spend over 80 night a year in hotels. This little GS Mini is perfect for this duty. The case is surprisingly nice and the overall package really nailed my needs. Well Done! The help at Sweetwater was also incredible, they took time to show me several different models and really had some insight into what I was looking for, Thanks Jake L.

  • from San Diego June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Professional singer/songwriter/performer

    Comfort Guitar

    One of my biggest considerations is how comfortable an acoustic guitar is to play and of course the tones it produces. This guitar delivers on both promises. I prefer a smaller body and scale especially when performing on stage. I bought this guitar for just that purpose and it is an awesome performer. I particularly like the arched back which give the guitar deeper bass and projection but still responds with crisp highs and mids to blend the perfect tones for all types of music. Downside if any would be the electronics which are basic and need signal processing to control feedback. You will love the sounds and comfortable playing of this amazing guitar.

  • from Sonora ca September 24, 2015

    Taylor GS MINI

    The GS Mini is perfect for travel in my motor home. The sound is great and when playing with a group's amps it can hold it's own. Great on open chords a little tight when capo'd .

Questions about the Taylor GS Mini-E w/Electronics, Spruce Top - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway