rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Taylor GS Mini Mahogany - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 107 customer reviews
Questions about the Taylor GS Mini Mahogany - Natural?

Questions about the Taylor GS Mini Mahogany - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from BURLESON, TX June 9, 2017

    Gs Mini Magogany

    This little guitar is awesome! Very sweet mellow sound. I bought it for my daughter but I think I might keep it for myself. Perfect couch guitar! Philip Courtney is the man! He answered all my questions and even helped me pick the guitar. The customer service at Sweetwater is unbelievably spectacular!

  • from May 1, 2017

    GS Mini Hog Heaven

    1st of all, Sweetwater...AMAZING! Online, got to choose my guitar from a bunch of specimens, Found one with INCREDIBLE wood grain (MAHOGANY). Then, after I ordered it, I get a call THANKING ME for choosing SW! WOW, who does that anymore? 2nd, I get an email from Michael Wuchter telling me it has shipped and he sends me 6 pics of MY GUITAR I ordered online. ABOVE AND WAY BEYOND! 3rd? I receive the guitar THE NEXT DAY!!! Now that may be due to how close I am to the warehouse, but that has NEVER happened before ordering online, EVAH! And the guitar? 55 point inspection, set up, TUNED, and they sent me CANDY...that's right, Sweetwater = CANDY! 1000% BLOWN AWAY! Never again will I buy another new instrument from ANYONE else again! Hats off to Michael and ALL the gang at Sweetwater for going way beyond my expectations and stealing me from even local shops in my area! The tone of the GS Mini is WAY bigger then the size of that lil luv machine! I can't put the guitar down. Can't wait to record with it, it's going to be SWEET...:)

  • from Long Island April 13, 2017

    Taylor GS Mini Mahogany

    I am a beginner and wanted a smaller guitar to keep at my office. I did a lot of research and went to some local stores to check out the 3/4 size guitars. This guitar has fantastic ratings no matter where you look. I was down to several choices of guitars and with the help of Scott Brobst at Sweetwater purchased this fine instrument. It went through their 55 point check and came to me ready to play.

    The service is great at Sweetwater and I cannot thank Scott enough for helping me get such a beautiful guitar.

  • from Rancho Cucamonga April 11, 2017

    Amazing little big guitar

    Unreal...its little sounds big and rings forever......a great guitar for sitting around the house or on a road trip. Money well spent.

  • from Aiken SC March 27, 2017Music Background:
    Old Time Picker

    taylor GS Mini Still Going Strong

    Hi, Its the Old Time Picker again, I just had to do a second review on this Little Honey, I bought my GS Mini over two years ago and I still pick it up and play it all the time, I have a Taylor 810 and two Martins and one Gibson Dreadnoughts, But I still find myself going back to My GS mini for my all around picker, Its a great little guitar so if you don't have one or two don't wait get one to day you will not regret it, And check out the New line of Taylors the Academy Series comeing soon I think they will be great guitars to, Well back to my GS Mini and Pickin and Grinin,,,,,The Old Time Picker

  • from Orland Park, Illinois March 25, 2017

    Taylor GS Mini

    As I was browsing through your Taylor inventory, I came across the GS Mini. Since I already own several other Taylors and being familiar with their inherent quality, I ordered one. When it arrived I was completely blown away, not only by the build quality but by the sound this little guitar produced. It is loud and has great clarity and sustain. This is a rock solid instrument that is sure to please players of all skill levels.

  • from January 10, 2017

    Amazing sound for a 3/4

    I bought this for my 13 year olds Christmas present and all I can say is wow. Not quite as deep as my Martin, but I love playing this on lead and more... super solid!

  • from NH December 23, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate

    Taylor GS Mini

    I really like the tone of this little guitar. It looks and feels great. Sound gets better the more it's played.

  • from November 29, 2016

    Taylor GS mini review

    I just received my Taylor GS Mini. It is as cute as a button. It has great tone & I love how it looks. This is a great little guitar to noodle around on while watching t.v. or sitting outside in the summer months. I do have to get a bit used to the smaller size, but that shouldn't take long.

  • from Wesley Chapel, FL October 6, 2016

    Big surprise

    For a small guitar, this is a treat! Just plain fun to play, like all Taylors' very easy to play and sounds surprisingly good. Great for travel but also easy to grab and sit on the couch and noodle. Well worth the investment.

  • from Lawrence, Mass. September 23, 2016Music Background:
    Ham and Egger

    Taylor GS Mini Nahogany top

    Very nice little guitar which is fun to play! Sweetwater hit a home run again with what they offer when u buy guitars! Perfect for the couch and outside door step! Good job!

  • from South Carolina June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Acoustic Fingerstyle

    Taylor GS Mini - Mahogany Top

    I've been a proud Taylor owner (and player) since 1990 when I purchased a 710 dreadnought. So when my daughter became sufficiently educated in the basic chords, I looked to purchase her first guitar (so that I could reclaim my 710 from her). She is very petite, so the GS Mini seemed to be a natural choice. I'm a fingerstyle player, and so I called Ryan Murray directly to get some specifics on the instrument. He took the time to look at all 5 models that they had in stock with me online in "real time". I was able to pick the one with the most consistent grain pattern (in my mind). He answered my questions about set-up, shipping, warranty, etc. I can honestly say that the Taylor build quality is evident even with this model. In fact after 15 minutes it felt like I'd been playing it for years. Smaller size does not detract from sound quality. Not a cannon as far as projection; but that's not how it's billed in the first place. Intonation consistent up the neck. Play several instrumental numbers "capoed" on the 7th fret. Stays in tune, and handles that fine. Included gig bag is pretty basic; but my daughter thinks it's great as it features shoulder straps and can be worn like a backpack. This is a high quality instrument, and is very well-built. I know it will be enjoyed for years. Thanks Ryan.

  • from April 24, 2016

    GS Mini

    The GS Mini Mahogany is just an incredible instrument. When it comes to Taylor's I'm not a huge fan. But for me GS Mini and 816ce stand out. Nothing quite like them. I own a GS Mini and I was a bit surprised by the out of the box setup from Sweetwater. The action was a lot higher than I expected and the GS Mini does not come with the wrench needed to adjust the truss rod. If you're picky about high action I would suggest you request Sweetwater leave the action at factory configuration and just loosen the strings (de-tune) for shipping.

  • from Sedona, AZ April 14, 2016

    Taylor GS Mini Hog

    First off, I would like to thank James Masterson for his excellent customer service. I highly recommend him, his ext is #1641. Give him a call, he is super knowledgeable and very helpful.
    Also, Sweetwater is absolutely the best in the business, hands down.
    Okay with that said, I seriously love my GS mini. I read every review I could find on the Mahogany version and I am very happy with my purchase. It sounds amazing and very full bodied, despite its smaller size. Love the Ebony fingerboard, plays like butter. Strumming chords, figer-picking and even sounds great up higher on the fret board. It stays in tune pretty well, although I plan on replacing the stock tuners with a Gotoh SGS510Z mini tuner with a 18/1 ratio. I purchased the pickup for it, seems to work well through my Vox AC4TV Mini Tube amp, but to be honest I have nothing to compare it to since I've never owned a acoustic electric before. The only mods I have done so far was replaced the factory plastic bridge pins with Planet Waves Ebony Bridge Pins. They seem to fit pretty well with no problems. I read a lot of different things about the Taylor Ebony Bridge pins, some say they fit, some say they need modification, etc. etc. Personally, I noticed a significant difference between the Ebony and the plastic pins. I also purchased a Black Pickguard from Taylor to switch out the Tortoise Shell one, I love the way it looks with the black Pickguard accenting the Ebony Bridge and Fretboard.
    All in all I highly recommend this guitar. It does everything I hoped for and more. Also, the softshell case it came with is pretty awesome too. Thanks again Sweetwater!

  • from April 2, 2016

    Sweet!

    Plays great. Sounds great. Get one!

  • from April 2, 2016

    How is Taylor this good?

    Got tired of worrying about my 714 during travel and wanted a guitar I could bring to buddies, camping, and traveling. When I walked into GC to try one out, I was not expecting much and honestly didn't think I was going to like it based on the size and previous experience with the baby..

    However, as soon as I started playing, I was blown away by how good this guitar sounded. I went in for the spruce but left with the Hog. Both sounded great, I just thought the Hog had warmer tones and suited me better. on top of its great sound, Its super comfortable, easy, and fun to play.

    Don't hesitate, you'll love it!!!

  • from February 15, 2016

    GS Mini Mahogany with pickup

    This is my second GS Mini. I gave my spruce top to my (then) 9 year old grandson. It is perfect for him, he can play it easily. Gramps has been playing out for over 40 years. Got this with the pickup. I play it at home, take it to practice, don't travel without it. It has become my daily player. I have gigged with it, no problems. It is a blues machine, but also very well suited to finger-picking, bluegrass flat-picking, jazz comping. Quiet or loud, it has great tone and feel. The nut size and scale make this thing very playable and FAST. Way nicer than a straight 3/4 size. If I lost it I would get another. Best $500 guitar you can buy. Period.

  • from December 20, 2015Music Background:
    Novice / Couch Star

    You Won't Be Disappointed

    Couldn't be happier about my Taylor GS Mini purchase. Jason at Sweetwater was a pleasure to deal with. Pulled the guitar out of the box...and she just looked and sounded great. It was hard go justify a more expensive, larger body acoustic when the GS Mini just fits me so well and sounds so good. I love the fact that Sweetwater inspects the guitar before it gets shipped out. I also like the fact you get to pick the serial number of the guitar you want. Truth be told...I originally bought one of these guitars at my local "big box" store. Got the guitar home and pulled it out of the box only to find out the guitar was dry as can be with sharp fret ends and had one other issue with the nut. It went right back to the store and I ordered it from Sweetwater instead. LESSON LEARNED! Thank you Sweetwater.

  • from Florida December 1, 2015

    Taylor GS Mini Mahogany

    I wanted a more mellow sound than with my GS Mini spruce top, yet still fill a small room. Got it ! Clean, mellow and like all my Taylor's a full rich sound. Really another great Taylor at a Great "Sweetwater" price. Since finding Sweetwater I've purchased another guitar and the Trio Band Creator. I've had great service and they go out of their way to find exactly what I'm looking for even down to the weight. Because of their personal service, follow-up, and pricing, it's my new home for all my gear.

  • from Syracuse, NY October 8, 2015Music Background:
    20+ years bass and guitar in various roles

    Best Travel Guitar Available

    Wow. Taylor really hit a homerun with this one. After playing every small bodied guitar I could get my hands on, this was by far the best of the bunch. The playing experience stood out even among full size taylors (114 and 214 series). And yes, mahogany is a great choice at this size - it has more balance than the spruce version, which is bright and closer to the Baby Taylor.

    This was my first guitar from Sweetwater - I have since ordered another and can't wait until the next. I loved the chance to choose my specific guitar - down the serial number (yes, fun for the superstitious), and the 55-pt inspection is the cure to one of the main problems with ordering instruments on the internet. Props to my sales engineer Derek S and all the folks at SW. Keep up the excellent work!

  • from September 2, 2015

    Like it a lot

    Perfect couch potato and traveler guitar : or for anything , the sound it puts out is amazing ! I have - 314 ce wich I love but, now it's getting lonely in its case.

  • from Covington LA August 31, 2015Music Background:
    40 years guitar, occasional gigging.

    Great little guitar

    Such a big sound for a small body. Change the strings to an ultra light gauge ( I make my own string sets) and no loss of volume. Also added the ES-Go to the guitar...real easy, however, my Taylor GS Mini did not have the interior wire clip to hold the wire....no problem though the wire doesn't seem to flop around even without the clip.

    Just returned from Key West flying Southwest Airlines and the guitar fit with room to spare in the overhead storage bin.

    The case worked fine as I could just carry it on my back like a backpack as I wheeled my other luggage through the airport!

  • from Monticello KY July 30, 2015Music Background:
    performer and work for production company

    Blues Machine!

    I cannot believe this thing! I received it on my lunch break and was late for work...oops. I got off of work at 3 came straight home and just now put it down at a little after 7. Only reason I'm not still playing is my fingers hurt too bad to continue. The mahogany top option offers such a wide range of tone it's incredible. The lows hum, the mids sing, and the highs ring! You can pluck any string and here it resonate forever and ever. I've hammered out some delta blues for 4 hours and I feel like a kid again wanting to venture into unchartered territory. Dang the sore fingers I want to play more! This thing is addictive. A must have for any acoustic our electric player it will be my gig guitar as well. Also grab the ES GO PICKUP with it! Super easy installation and great tone for the money... Thanks Ian Angle customer service was exceptional as well.

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio July 10, 2015Music Background:
    Formerly in cover bands now just a hobbiest.

    Amazing!

    This thing works great for electric players who don't want to fight around a large bodied acoustic instrument. The build quality of this guitar is fantastic and this instrument is rock solid. I really don't think you could ask for better sound quality and tone for an acoustic of this size. Since most pros use acoustics as their first step in songwriting, it's great to have one as small as the GS mini that can be kept lying around anywhere in your house for when you have an idea or the inspiration. This thing is absolutely addictive to play. After I opened the box, I played for about 4 hours solid. It's really tough to put down. Also, the re-enforced or "firm" gig bag you get with this guitar is super nice! Also nice embroidery work where it says "GS mini" at the top part of the bag. You certainly can't go wrong with one of these!

  • from Middletown Oh June 9, 2015Music Background:
    No musical background......YET!!!

    GS

    In my past life, I was a quality control inspector(and a pretty one). So one thing I know about is quality work,and this guitar is all that and more. Cudos to Taylor! Now, if Ican learn to play to do this GEM proper credit. I am an old Nam vet that has only one thing left on my bucket list......to be able to say that I learned how to play a guitar, and thanks to Sweetwater and their free online guitar lessons,that is going to become a reality. Thank You, Sweetwater....and thanks to Mike and Matt for their help. Courteous and respectful. I could not have asked for any more. Again, my heart-felt thanks to everyone at Sweetwater. By the way , I received my guitar the day after I ordered it(the candies were a "sweet"water touch.

  • from May 7, 2015Music Background:
    flute, sax, piano and guitar and took collge courses on music theory and music histort

    worth every penny

    I really love this guitar. Everything I hoped for. Sweet Water has excellent employes with outstanding customer service...*thank you, Chris*....

  • from United States April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Home recordist, occasional praise band member, 38 years playing guitar.

    Top of the line tone!

    You know that sweet, warm tone you hear on recordings by the top professional acoustic guitar players? I'm talking about what you hear on any of the "Wood and Steel" samplers-Snuffy Walden, Laurence Juber, that kind of tone. Well, I wouldn't have believed it myself, but you can get that tone with this guitar. Yes, the back and sides are laminated, so there might be a very, very slight loss of tonal complexity. But that nuance will cost you about ten times the price of this guitar.

    I've been playing for almost 40 years now, and on acoustic, I primarily finger pick with the pads of my fingers. If I was able to afford it, my dream guitar would be a Koa Taylor grand concert. I also own a cheap Charvel acoustic electric, and while this guitar sounds very good when processed through a Fishman Aura pedal (deserving of a five-star rating also), the tone in the room while you're playing is bright and strident.

    So I picked up this mahogany topped GS mini, and the difference is night and day. While the Charvel is over 20 years old, and has been played-in extensively, the GS mini sounds warm and full right out of the box. I recorded it with a $200 tube mic and low and behold it gave me that rich, professioal sound I was looking for. I've since added an LR Baggs lyric mic to it, feeling that the tone is way too good to trust to a magnetic sound hole pickup. At first, I added some EQ for the lyric, but after I put on set of Elixer HD light strings, the need for EQ disappeared.

    I've been recording with this set-up for almost 2 years now, and I'm always blown away by the quality of the sound. Bottom line: You cannot get tone like this for a lower price.

  • from Florida, United States April 9, 2015Music Background:
    40 years of pickin and grinnin with an occasional grimace

    GS-E mini

    Seriously, why play a full size ? Your audience will hear an amazing , rich sounding full size instrument. You will be rewarded by playing such a comfortable guitar. My only quibble is the bridge pins are plastic. Order a set of ebony or tusq pins asap. The tone will noticeably improve, as if its needed. My setup out of the box was a hair high. A 1/8 of a turn tighter on the truss rod got me buttery goodness. I also removed the strings, and rubbed down the entire fretboard with 0000 steel wool and wiped it down with boiled linseed , per the Taylor manual. Mmmm mmmm. Got me a wonderful Acoustic.

  • from April 6, 2015

    Got rid of the full-sized and the Backpacker.

    Sold off my full-sized Washburn and Martin Backpacker acoustics, then bought this to kind of split the difference. I never spent much time playing acoustics, until now. The GS Mini feels every bit as comfortable as any electric I've played. Despite the compact size, it retains a full-sized sound. I tried several parlor sized guitars, and none fit the bill. While several of those guitars cost less, none brought the value and versatility of the GS Mini.

  • from Chicago area February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Just play for my own amusement.

    Taylor GS Mini - M

    Service was top notice. Fast delivery. Guitar is amazing for under $500.

  • from Aiken SC USA February 2, 2015Music Background:
    Old Time Picker

    Sweet Taylor GS Mini

    This is a Sweet Little Honey, I was looking for a small body acoustic guitar with a great sound, Well I found it, or Taylor and Sweetwater found me, Sweetwater and Taylor came through again, This is a Great little Guitar, I play a lot and needed a Great Little Guitar that was easy to play and to hold, my Old shoulders just couldn't take reaching around a Big Boy anymore so I have found just the right Little Strummer for me and anyone that wants to play and be real comfortable while doing it, Get yourself a Taylor GS Minni today and Get back to doing what you Love, "Pickin And Grinnin"

  • from Connecticut December 31, 2014

    Smooth as silk

    From the beautiful mahogany woodwork to the GS mini headstock, this guitar is the epitome of Taylor's superior craftsmanship. Forget about the "mini" tag: the fullness of tone, clarity and sustain are impressive. The GS mini plays smooth as silk and sounds as good as if not better than most full sized guitars.

  • from Kansas,USA December 8, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Sweet guitar

    Sounds great, and is the perfect size for me. Beautiful!

  • from Mississippi November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    In Love

    The Taylor GS Mini mahogany top is an amazing guitar. Guitar was larger than I imagined it would be due to the "travel" and mini name but no worries this thing is awesome. Beautiful craftsmanship and sound. Do your research, read the reviews, but I will guarantee that you can't go wrong with the mini.

    Great customer support, fast shipping, and great staff.
    Give Sweetwater rep Mark a call at extension 1265. Awesome, knowledgeable guy with great service! I won't buy from anyone but Sweetwater.

  • from Texas November 4, 2014

    Awesome sound from this lil guitar

    Bought this guitar to travel with but I might buy a cheaper one to take since this one is way too nice to get dinged up....

  • from Berkeley, CA USA October 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Sounding small guitar

    I had been thinking about a guitar with mahogany top for some time. I have a couple of other guitars - one with Adirondack Spruce top and mahogany body and one with Red Cedar top with Indian Rosewood body. Both are wonderful instruments. Both are very different. After a lot of research on the web and listening to this Taylor GS Mini over and over again, I decided to purchase at Sweetwater.com. Guitar arrived in great playing condition. No adjustments were necessary. And the sound is fantastic. Love this guitar.

  • from Long Beach, NY September 12, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    I love this guitar!!!!

    This is the first guitar I've ever purchased and I couldn't be happier!! It sounds amazing (way bigger and louder than I could have imagined), it's easy and comfortable to play (I'm not very big and have small hands) and it even looks cool. It comes with a really nice case which is an added bonus. I have no complaints at all, this was a great buy and sweetwater is awesome. The guitar came perfectly setup and was ready to play right out of the box. 5 STARS!!

  • from Bryan, TX September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome!

    I have been wanting a guitar that I could travel with and recently came across the gs mini. Finally got it in and added an LR Baggs M1A to it. Easy to play and is a lot louder than I anticipated it to be. Great! Played it through my church's PA system and all I can say is "WOW". I am so happy I took the plunge to purchase this amazing mini guitar.

  • from United Kingdom September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Absolutely Brilliant!

    The Taylor GS Mini is honestly such a great guitar to play. I have been blown away by the depth and scope of sound produced by this small bodied guitar! Taylor have exceeded themselves. The sound the guitar produces you'd expect from a much more expensive guitar, it is a lot of guitar for the money! It plays as easily and beautifully as any other Taylor - clear precise tones in all ranges from low bass to high trebles. Build quality is second to none (it is a Taylor). I've had the guitar for over a year now and every day since purchasing it I have not wanted to put it down! I look forward to playing it every day, it's one addictive guitar! I recommend it 100% to anybody - for the experienced player to the beginner - this guitar suits all.

  • from Hedgesville WV September 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor GS Mini

    Love instrument. Great guitar !

  • from United States August 10, 2014Music Background:
    Creative Professional, hand drums and guitar are my 'spare time' fun

    SuperFun! Taylor Mini

    SuperFun, that's really all I can say. Just came back from traveling with the Taylor Mini, and it was small, easy to pack and transport and what an amazing sound

    At this price point it's a great choice and Taylor has got me hooked for my next acoustic. Gotta go play now, bye.

  • from United States July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner

    Love My Taylor GS Mini

    This guitar has the most amazing sound. Although a smaller guitar, the Taylor GS Mini has better sound than most of the high priced dreadnoughts. I can't think of a better guitar to own.

  • from Syracuse, N.Y June 5, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor GS Mini - Mahogany Top

    There is nothing that I do not love about this guitar. I am a relatively new player at 50 and wanted to add an acoustic guitar to go with my Strat. Based on the reviews and youtube videos I felt confident going with the GS mini, and being able to select the guitar from Sweetwater , I knew exactly what the mahogany finish would look like. Since this is my first acoustic I cant compare it to others but I know every time I pull it out of its beautiful case(included), I feel like this thing is special. Yeah , its small, but big fun... And, there is no company that can beat Sweetwater for complete customer satisfaction . It is amazing the attention they give . When I get I a call a week after getting my order to ensure I am satisfied I think that is a great thing. And that is after just the right amount of attention after ordering and during shipping . Pretty rare these days. Great guitar , great company !

  • from PA April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Music teacher

    The right instrument makes a difference

    I owned a larger guitar and it played fine, but I couldn't get comfortable. I played the Taylor GS mini and I new this was for me and it has been. I have had this instrument for about a month. I am a beginning guitar student and love to practice. I am so happy with the progress I am making.

  • from Austin, TX April 17, 2014Music Background:
    musician for 40 years

    Taylor GS Mini

    Great sounding guitar. Short scale is a blast to play. Taylor's attention to detail shows, the guitar looks great. I also purchased the ES GO pickup, installed it myself and it sounds terrific.

  • from April 14, 2014

    In love

    I am in love with this guitar. It is easy to handle and sounds beautiful. Sweetwater was awesome and had it ready and delivered quickly. I even got it a day earlier than Anticipated!! I am extremely happy with everything :).

  • from Great Falls, MT March 12, 2014

    Great buy!

    Great sound, great size, looks great! I would buy another one in a heartbeat!

  • from United States March 5, 2014Music Background:
    could have been a contender but did not get serious with a guitar until after 60 yo.

    Unbelievably GREAT

    I went into the store preparing to spend 1000-2000 bucks for a nice playing and sounding Taylor or Martin guitar. A kid next to me in the sound room was playing on this one. he sounded very good. when he put it down, I quickly snatched it and started playing. played for 3.5 hours before I realized how long it had been. Lovely. great warm, mellow and deep tones. high strings are crisp. it is small but has remarkable sound to it. I am a big guy, 6'2" but this little guitar was a paradoxical fit for me my hands are not all that big and they fit wonderfully on this smaller neck. I just love it.

    I ordered one and got a set of K & K mini pickups to go on it and a fishiman mini loud box amp. all together, this is the sweetest sound ever.

    I am pretty particular and if anything, I am overly critical. I can not be critical about this set up. it is super. The pick up and amp bring out the guitar's great sound and possibilities even more. I could not be happier.

    I played the spruce mini too but the hog really spoke to me with its rich tone and depth

    A bonus I was not even looking for was that this instrument is small enough to take about any where. including on the overheads on any plane. how great is that.

    I love all of my guitars but this one is a special treat. I cannot walk by it and and not pick it up for a few minutes, just to hear how sweet it sounds.

    I would have bought a Martin 28 but I found that I did not need nor want it after playing this little gem.

  • from Fort Smith, AR March 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing Guitar!

    This guitar is awesome. This is the tone I was looking for. I can take it around and it can hang with some of the big boys. The sound and convenience of this guitar makes it a must have for your collection.

    Also, Sweetwater is great to deal with. The customer service is second to none. Thanks Evan!

  • from United States January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate Hobbyist

    Awesome Guitar Awesome Sound

    I always wanted a Taylor after hearing several. I ordered the Taylor G'S Mini, not expecting to be totally blown away by it. After all, it's small. How could it pack so much sound? Wow, I am impressed! It's better than I expected. The other great thing about this guitar is that every time I play, it sounds better!

    Finally, my experience with Sweetwater has been excellent. Do not hesitate buying from them. You won't be disappointed.

  • from Moulton,AL August 27, 2013Music Background:
    etc

    Still Love my GS Mini

    Im in this relationship for the long haul.I can not keep my hands off this
    guitar.

  • from Tucson, Az. August 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist-Hawaiian Slack Key guitar

    Love this guitar

    I bought my GS Mini for travel and camping but tend to play it all the time now. I have other guitars, including a Taylor 312ce, but the GS is on top of the fun factor scale. I keep it in open G tuning and it sounds great. I've had it for close to a year and it's opened up quite nicely. I did have to have the neck re-set, but that was covered under Taylor's warranty. The NT neck makes that job a breeze for a good repair tech.

  • from Sarasota, FL USA August 15, 2013Music Background:
    Active gigging guitar player, Hobbyist

    Absolutely LOVE it!

    I was hesitant at first because of the size and worrying that it wouldn't have the real "sound" of a full guitar. I have been blown away with how great this guitar sounds! I've played it every day since I got it a month ago! The guitar I normally play is a Taylor 414CE. I've had this guitar for 9 years now and have never had a complaint! Recently there has been some cosmetic issues on the head area near the tuning pegs and I contacted Taylor about it. They said to send it back in and they'd redo the laminate for free! Amazing customer service! So I needed something to hold me over while my other baby was in the shop. I originally bought a Martin DRS1. A nice guitar, no question, but I was getting a fret buzz from it and just didn't feel right over all. So then I found this Taylor GS Mini! Again, the size was my concern... As soon as I opened it up I tuned it and started playing. I can't tell you how much it projects! How crisp each string is. How solid the guitar is, and how great the quality of it is! And it comes with a hard/soft case! You.Can.Not.Go.Wrong with this guitar! It is such a great piece of art and a wonderfully rich guitar! Thank you to my Sweetwater Rep Ian Angle! He is such a great guy! He helped me getting this guitar and then setting it up with the Taylor ES-GO - their pickup designed for this guitar specifically! Both pieces together for over $250 less than the Martin DSR1, and in my opinion... a much better sounding piece of equipment! If you want a great deal on this or anything else - call in and hit extension 1648! That's Ian's extension! He'll be able to help you in any way possible!

    Thanks again for everything SweetWater! The next guitar will be my BTO Taylor!

  • from NEW Mexico USA August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Life time hobbyist

    You cannot beat this as a travel guitar

    I had the spruce top model and sold it to get the mahogany top model. Nothing wrong with the spruce top I am just a mahogany freak. I like this guitar because it has a big sound, not a toy sound like most travel guitars.

    The mahogany top sounds incredible. Great tone and looks. Taylor has matched the top and back/sides well so it doesn't look like two different woods. It is kinda big for a travel guitar when it is in it's case so it may not be easier for plane travel, but if you are in a travel trailer (where space is at a premium) or your truck/car the size is much better than a regular sized hardshell case.

    I travel by truck and travel trailer a lot so having something a little smaller, that sounds good, and not as expensive as my other guitars, has been a plus for me. I love this thing!

  • from Moulton,AL USA August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Ex Pro Musician now Hobbyist

    WOW

    I find it funny but not shocking that when I seen "WOW! Blown Away"
    was the description for the 5.0 rating,because that was the first words out of my mouth when I played this guitar! LOVE THIS GUITAR!
    Craftsmanship,Sound and Fit of mine is flawless.
    Thanks Taylor. I only wish it was made in the U.S.A.

  • from Weymouth NJ July 26, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Beautiful guitar

    Besides being a beautiful guitar, the tone is amazing. Compared it to the Wechter, as it stands there was no comparison. The bottom of the mini is great. The volume was also impressive. Lastly the price was wonderful.

  • from Boston, MA May 16, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    What an awesome guitar

    Taylor has done an amazing job creating a travel size guitar with such great sound. I purchased it thru Sweetwater and couldn't have had a better experience. They are a first class retailer.

  • from Livonia, MI USA May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor Gs Mini (Mahogany}

    My new Taylor GS Mini Mahogany top has met and exceeded all expectations. I had my reservations about a made in Mexico Taylor instrument but I quickly learned that its has the same quality craftsmanship as my previous American made Taylor 414 that I previously owned. This guitar plays wonderfully and has exceptional sound. Dealing with Sweetwater also exceeded all expectations I had about buying from an online store. I would definitely return to Sweetwater for any of my future musical instrument purchases.

  • from Utah April 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The iPad of Guitars

    I was originally drawn to the idea of a smaller guitar after seeing Ed Sheeran on TV with his Little Martin. I was aware of some of the "campfire" guitars but was never impressed with their ukelele-like sound. But if Ed Sheeran can cope with one, I was sure I could too. I immediately headed to Guitar Center to check out the Little Martin and stumbled across the Taylor GS Mini. Yes, the price was considerably higher, but the salesperson said he's never had a complaint about the GS Mini. Reading countless Web reviews sealed the deal. I bought from Sweetwater because 1) Guitar Center has no mahogany models in stock and I didn't want to order sight-unseen, and 2) I love how Sweetwater posts pictures of each individual guitar, giving you the ability to see exactly what you're buying and a choice between various units they have in stock. I fell in love with one with a dark striping pattern, unusual compared to all the relatively mundane examples I had seen online. Very classy and exotic looking. Sweetwater's buying experience was fantastic.

    I love, love, love this guitar. Remember when surfing the web in bed or on the sofa involved dragging out a clunky, heavy laptop that could never be positioned comfortably? Now we have tablets that are small and light and cozy to use pretty much anywhere. That's the Taylor GS Mini. My other acoustic guitar feels like trying to cradle an adolescent child. The GS Mini just feels right. Light as a feather and small enough to embrace, I find myself playing this guitar all the time. On the sofa, at my desk in the home office, in bed, on the front porch. I just grab it off the wall hook and play. So effortless. The tone is fantastic. I feel like I'm losing nothing in sound compared to my vintage solid wood Japanese-made Epiphone acoustic. The playing action is great. This is my first Taylor, and I now understand the hype about Taylor's playability. I love the neck size. The reduced scale actually enhances playability for me and my slender fingers.

    I don't see this as a niche product - rather a new guitar paradigm. I envision Taylor greatly expanding this model line. I hope to see solid wood versions of the Mini as well as cutaways. Maybe even some with fancier inlays and bindings if one wants to "climb the ladder" of guitar quality/appearance. Maybe even a version with the Expression electronics? I know you're listening, Bob Taylor.

    I predict the GS Mini is the guitar that will finally break me out of the "perpetual beginner" rut. Great, great product. If I had the dough I'd buy one to hang on the wall in each room in my house for grab-and-play convenience. Thanks Taylor! And thanks Sweetwater.

  • from columbia, north carolina April 12, 2013Music Background:
    guitar hobbyist

    outstanding guitar

    I started to title this review "outstanding travel guitar" but felt "outstanding guitar" better fits the gs mini. While it IS a perfect guitar for travel, it's much, much more. I presently own a martin dsr, martin hd-28, taylor 314ce, taylor gc3e, and takamine mini. I chose the taylor mini because of the reviews on this guitars and what I had read on various guitar forums. I flat pick, strum, and finger pick classical style, folk style, and travis pick. I have been playing guitar for over 50 years. My present travel guitar is not fun to play because of the neck width and fret spacing. When I received the gs mini 4 days ago I was expecting a slight improvement in playability over my takamini mini. Wow, was I surprised! It was so easy to finger pick, flat pick, and strum. It was almost as great for finger picking as my gc3e. And the loudness without distortion was unbelievable. All this with a tone which is unbelievable! I love the tone of the mahogony top, and you would never know that it had laminated sides and backs if it was not listed in the specs. The laminated back even vibrates during strumming and picking. Taylor did an incredible job in their laminating process. The guitar is sounding better each day, and I will probably be playing this guitar around the house more than my single bodied guitars.

    I would also like to praise sweetwater, especially dustin keesbury, for its outstanding customer service department. I have never received the quality of service in my professional and personal life as I have received with sweetwater. They will be getting my business for future needs.

  • from United States March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Teacher, Therapeutic Musician-in-training

    Perfect fit

    I love this guitar! I teach music to kids in daycares, I am training to play music for sick people and gig. This guitar is incredibly versatile and easy to transport. It weighs 5lbs on your back with the guitar in the case. It plays like butta' and is beautiful! Anyone that has played my little Mini falls in love with it.
    I am very pleased with the level of customer service that Sweetwater provides as well as the different payment plans.

  • from Boston, MA February 5, 2013Music Background:
    Touring Solo Artist

    Perfect. Big Sound from a little package.

    I'm a touring solo artist and have been taking my Taylor 414ce out on the road for the last 3 years. It has been great but the wear and tear on my "nicest" guitar makes me feel guilty.

    I wanted something that was affordable and convenient enough to tour with, this GS Mini is just what the Dr. ordered. Best of all, these fit in overhead compartments on most airplanes so you don't have to worry about checking it. If you had to, I'd recommend you pick up SKB's aftermarket case and gate check it. That thing is a lot more protective than the softcase that it comes with.

    As a live performance guitar this thing is worthy. Laminate sides and back are great for live settings as they are less likely to feedback. Not impressed with the ES-GO pickup, I opted for a K&K piezo clone from JJB Electronics, they sound great and won't break the bank! Plus, the Mahogany really stands out in a world full of light blonde spruce top guitars.

  • from January 4, 2013

    GS mini

    Oh yeah! This is my first acoustic guitar in a while and this one is wonderful. Great tone and sustain. The neck is slim and elegant and feels very much like my electric LTD. Played in drop D with the elixir medium strings and it sounds great and stays in tune. Throaty low end and nice warm mids/ highs. Quality construction and quality materials. There are a ton of videos with people playing this guitar if you need further information or sampling.

    Charlie Davis my sales guy is always top notch. Great communication and customer service. I have purchased several things from Sweetwater now and will continue to come back because of the quality and time Charlie takes to ensure the best experience possible.

  • from Muncie, Indiana January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter with a small home studio, played in bands semi-professionally since the '50s

    Taylor GS Mini

    I was shopping around for an acoustic that was within my price range, yet would still be suitable as part of my “backup group” on my demos – something with crisp highs and not a lot of low end. In reading the reviews, it appeared that the GS Mini filled the bill on both counts. It is also sized to fit my small hands and small frame. After several weeks of playing it, I'm convinced I was right in choosing this great instrument.

    Despite its size, it doesn't have that “uke” sound that plagues many smaller acoustics. The intonation is dead on up and down the neck and it's so easy to play. I'll keep this one for a long time.

  • from Central America December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Professional for the last ten years.

    Super funt to play

    This guitar was a total surprise. I had read other reviews and was prepared for a great guitar but I never expected to get this much guitar for the money. I still gig with my CE 315 but I practice a play and do some giging with the GS Mini. GEt the pickup and cable too. It's worth the extra investment.

  • from NJ November 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome guitar, awesome service from Sweetwater

    The GS mini is extremely well made, easy to play, and sounds incredible. It is a great size - very easy to handle but clearly not a "kids" guitar. If you were intrigued by the baby Taylor because you want somthing easy to travel with but consider the baby taylor too small, the GS mini is the way to go. You will be pleased. Case that comes with it is top notch as well. As to Sweetwater - their customer service is outstanding. I got my guitar and it had a problem. They quickly sent me a replacement (overnight!) and a postage paid return for the other one. They were an absolute pleasure to deal with, every step of the way. I have bought two guitars from them, and they will get my future business as well - never seen a more orgnanized, friendly, knowledgable company on the web. Special thanks to Dustin for looking out for me since day one. :-)

  • from New Paris IN. USA October 23, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    sounds big!

    This is a great little guitar, I take it every where, and I find myself using it at home instead of my full size martin. Great when your siting in a recliner.

  • from England October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Experienced plucker.

    GET IT

    I was one of those people who waited 18 months before buying this guitar. I had doubts that a solid top and laminate back and sides guitar would be any good. I promise all of you out there who have been considering buying this guitar but have yet to make the leap of faith don't wait any longer, if you have the money and can afford it buy this guitar, it totally rocks. It has a very BIG sound from such a small guitar. An incredible guitar by Taylor. If I had known how good this guitar was gonna be I would of bought it much earlier. This is the best guitar I've ever played of the price. It's simply excellent!

  • from Valparaiso, IN October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor sound all the way!!!

    I stopped in a Guitar Center last week looking to buy a uke. I started playing some Taylor guitars to kill time. I grabbed the GS Mini and was amazed at the sound! I went home and did some research and found they made it in mahogany as well. I read the reviews here and decided to pull the trigger. I currently own a Martin D15m, which is a solid wood (mahogany) dread, so I am familiar w/ the warm tones that mahogany emits (oh, did i mention it costs 2.5 times more). I was surprised to receive a phone call the next day from Mark at Sweetwater thanking me for the business and then conversing with me about the Taylors and the GS Mini. I couldn't wait to get the guitar.
    Two days later it arrived. I played it all weekend long, even with sore fingers!!!

    Put aside any ideas of this being a "less-than" guitar. This instrument is every bit as good as some of the $1k models on the market, maybe even better. The finish is flawless. I actually love the satin look. It gives the guitar a vintage look, which marrys well with the warm, rich vintage tone that is produced from the mahogany top.
    I cannot wait to get the ES-Go pickup and try it!

    Incidentally, I had never heard of Sweetwater prior to this. I am so glad I gave them my business. The customer service was second to none. When was the last time a company called you personally to thank you for your business or allowed you to pick the exact model you wanted from their inventory?! Buy this guitar from Sweetwater and you will be glad you did.

    As I write this, I can't wait to get home and play her.

  • from Clermont FL USA October 7, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AWESOME Taylor GS Mini

    What a remarkable instrument the Taylor GS Mini is...She is in a class all by herself.....Tone and playability/projection is astonishing given it's size...add a ES-Go pickup and shes sings... So, If you are looking for a fine guitar that gives you that authentic Taylor sound without breaking the bank..then this guitar is for you.....Thanks JK at Sweetwater.....

  • from Atlanta, GA September 19, 2012Music Background:
    Beginner/Hobbyist

    Oh My God

    This guitar is seriously everything everyone says it is and more. Despite the price, this guitar is literally studio quality, you just need the studio. You sacrifice all the bells and whistles to get the "Taylor" tone at an affordable price. By bells and whistles I mean no binding, no dazzling inlays, no abalone, no exotic shiny finish and plastic bridge pins and some plastic-like top on the head stock, but the sound quality is immaculate. It's crazy loud and clear, and I hear if you upgrade the bridge pins it gets even louder. I haven't tried the es-go pickup, i'm still skeptical about it.

    And ordering from Sweetwater is just icing on the cake. I was able to pick the exact guitar that I wanted and I love the 55 point inspection. I literally played a tune fresh off the delivery truck.

    If you are considering this guitar, which you are reading this review, go ahead and get it. GET IT. You will not regret it. Go to the store and play it first. You WILL fall in love.

  • from Fresno, CA August 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A travel-sized axe that is anything but a toy...

    I just picked up a mahogany top GS mini today. I was looking for small, travel sized guitar; we live in a small house, and wanted to keep a miniature guitar on the wall in our nursery to play for our baby without taking up a lot of room. I was thinking the Taylor Baby would be perfect. Now, there is nothing wrong with the Taylor Baby at all, but when I saw that this guitar was only an inch or so larger than the Baby, I reckoned I'd pick it up and give it a try.

    I'm glad I did.

    This is an amazing little axe: HUGE sound, plenty of volume (more than any other travel-sized guitar I've heard), sweet tone and great playability. In fact, it was mildly disconcerting: how can a guitar this small sound so good? There must be some brujo magic in Taylor's Tecate workshop.

    Of course, I'm kidding. The tone comes from great materials and quality construction. I played several variations of the GS mini: rosewood, sapele, blackwood-- all sounded great. As a matter of taste, I settled on the smooth, warm and throaty mahogany model. It just barks in the right way when you dig in, and has wonderful sustain & harmonics on lead lines. Playing up around the double digit frets, I found every note was clear and punchy with lots of ring. The setup is superb; polished, even frets and a handsome tobacco finish.

    And oh yeah, the price. 5 bills, and you get a guitar that is both compact and sonically rich. If you are looking for a travel-sized axe that is anything but a toy, you can't go wrong with this one. What's more iif my daughter ever decides to learn the guitar (after she's mastered the fine arts of walking, talking, and peek-a-boo of course), I cannot think of a better instrument for her little hands.

  • from Costa Rica August 25, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician for the last ten years

    This Thing Barks!

    Got my new Mini and and haven't been able to put it down. I use it on gigs and it rocks. I would point out that the pick up system is great and very simple to install but you'll need a little more volume on the master and back every one else off so you can get in the mix. NOy a big deal but should be pointed out. I've done two or three gigs with it and have no problem being heard. The mahogany top and medium guage string make this little pony a real work horse. Buy it, play it and dig it!

  • from North Carolina May 16, 2012

    Taylor GS Mini Mahogany: Sweeeeeeeeet acoustic

    I was looking for an acoustic with a smaller width (Lower bout to higher bout) and less depth (top to back), due to back and neck issues resulting from a car accident.

    I'm a smaller guy ( 5' 8" ) and bigger width and depth guitars force my body (back, arms, shoulder and neck) to bend, reach and lean way too far, in order to play. Causing my neck and spine to bend in uncomfortable (and painful) angles and compress spinal discs and neck.

    I auditioned many acoustic guitars prior to coming across the Taylor GS Mini. But these GS Mini acoustics are almost perfect for me (or anyone with similar problems).

    The tone is warm and quite melodic. A little more trebley when brand new, but as the strings break-in and the wood resonates over two or three weeks of consistent playing; it gets even sweeter sounding.

    It has a decent projection, but no overly loud projection. Certainly nothing like the bigger body guitars in terms of projection/loudness.

    But what it lacks in projection/loudness, it makes up for in heart-felt sweet, warm tones. The ebony fingerboard gives it a very nice and deep sense of melody and resonate tone. The neck is nice and easy to play. I really love this guitar.

    If I had one gripe, I would say that I wish Taylor would make a GS Mini just like this, but with a 1 7/8" nut width. That would be sheer perfection, for me.

    As usual, a big thanks to Dave W. (at Sweetwater) for his top notch customer service!

  • from San Diego, CA April 22, 2012Music Background:
    lifetime musician

    MUST HAVE

    i just recently bought the GS mini Mahogany top. i was originally going to purchase a taylor 210ce but wasn't in stock. while waiting for the 210 i kept in touch with bob at sweetwater and had the opportunity to play a spruce top GSmini and loved it i spoke to bob about the mahogany top and decided to purchase one. i received it thursday and didn't put it down till i had to go to work on monday. its such an awesome guitar. great warm tone great volume would recommend it to anyone. bob and everyone at sweetwater were all so helpful, great customer service i would definitely buy more stuff.

  • from San Diego, CA February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    The perfect guitar

    I love this guitar! No flaws, perfect finish. And the sound! Nice deep, full, projected sound. This guitar is easy to play, makes you instantly feel like a better player. It is a great size, smaller without looking or feeling too small (I'm a 5'5" woman with smaller hands). Very impressed with Sweetwater. Guitar even came tuned and ready to play straight out of the box.

  • from Asheville, NC February 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, blues and blues rock

    Bluesy Brilliance

    Can't put it down. Got it yesterday and played all night after work. Got up extra early this morning so I could get back on it.

    I play mostly electric blues (Stevie Ray and Joe Bonamassa are favorites) and have never really been interested in acoustic guitars. That is until I played the GS Mini Mahogany top.

    It is the best playing acoustic I've ever picked up. Very, very warm sound. Great projection and so easy to play. I've played a lot of Taylors and the higher end models are great playing guitars, but for this price point the GS Mini is an unreal deal. Instead of spending $1,500+ to get into a solid-wood Taylor, give this a try instead and I think you will really be impressed with both the ease of use and the tonality.

    This guitar is great for all types of music. I was playing some Neil Young and The Doors last night as well as some Texas blues and each and every song had a deep warm resonance that my older full-sized acoustic sitka spruce top could not match. All in all I am THRILLED with this guitar and would recommend the Mahogany top version to anyone willing to listen.

    The biggest difference between the mahogany and the spruce top, in my opinion, is the warmth and "vintage" sound of the mahogany vs. the brightness and "pop" of the sitka spruce. It really depends on whether you want a Dave Matthews-esque tone (spruce) or more of a old rock/folk/blues tone. The Taylor GS Mini mahogany top is a guitar that I could easily hear someone like Keb Mo playing. Pick it up, try it out, you won't be disappointed. It will be a guitar that I will hold onto the rest of my life.

  • from Buffalo, NY January 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Little Guitar With Big Sound

    I really am blown away by this little gem and I haven't put it down since I received it. The build and finish are flawless, the action is very low and the guitar is very playable.

    I own a Taylor 814ce and I enjoy this guitar every bit as much. The sound is quite full with a surprising bottom end that usually isn't elicited from a smaller bodied guitar. The highs are crisp and clear and overall the guitar responds well to either a light or heavy attack.

    It came in what Taylor describes as a "hardbag". Though not offering the same protection that a hard case could afford, the hardbag has a hard skeleton and soft interior which does a nice job of protecting the instrument.

    Overall I'm thrilled with this purchase and with the support I've received from Sweetwater and recommend this guitar and Sweetwater highly.

  • from May 3, 2016

    5 star - Excellent purchase

    Great sound from guitar plus great service from Sweetwater!

  • from Dallas December 1, 2015Music Background:
    Years of recreational guitar playing

    Very satisfied with GS mini

    Bought this as a travel guitar, and am very pleased. Despite the smaller size it sounds almost as good as my full size Taylor and brings out the bass notes well. The neck is slightly cramped for my big hands, but I consider that a good trade off to have a convenient travel size to take to family gatherings, vacation, etc.

  • from July 8, 2014

    Good little guitar

    It is a great little guitar and comfortable to play. Obviously the tone will not be as great as some full sized guitars but still pretty impressive in all respects. The fit and finish are impeccable. I am quite pleased with this purchase!

  • from Wayzata, MN USA June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Ex pro musician, now a hobbyist

    Great little guitar

    The GS-mini is a small guitar that sounds BIG. Though not really fancy in appointments, it is very classy in an understated way. The materials and workmanship are very nice, for the money. It plays easily and the intonation is spot-on. My mini exhibits a fast attack and lengthy sustain, which I enjoy. String balance is excellent and I enjoy the slightly darker tone of the mahogany top-wood vs. the spruce; it has considerable headroom. One has to really dig-in hard to overdrive the instrument, yet it is quite responsive to delicate technique, as well. So far, I'm pleased as punch with this little Taylor parlor guitar and I think the included gig-bag is first-rate, too. A swell package with the ES-Go pickup.

  • from Mount Arlington, NJ April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great little guitar!

    I really like the GS mini. It has a great sound for it's size and is fun to play. The staff at Sweetwater is excellent and always provides top notch service. I trust buying from them.

  • from Albany, NY January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist in love with guitars

    Amazing!

    I heard all the minis played on you tube, but could not really tell if the great projection and tone on some of them was from pickups and other sound enhancements. I just received my mahogany mini this morning and it is everything they say about it. I don't know how Taylor did it, but it actually has better projection than my Taylor GC. The projection and sound quality is amazing. You can also dig in and strum and it holds the tones as well. I was looking for something small for my small stature and small hands with quality sound. Highly recommend Sweetwater as well. I had my mini in less than two days from ordering. I've bought two other Taylors from Sweetwater as well and deal with Katie who is great!

  • from Onaway, MI USA January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    Well done, Taylor

    Purchased as a gift for my son. Having a J45 and 454CE already, I'm aware of decent build and quality, and this little wonder is up there with them. The play ability is very nice, and the voice is quite decent considering it's smallish size. It's a little off from my J45, but who would think they'd be equal?

    Overall, we're very happy with this guitar, and my son will be traveling some, so the portability was important. I highly recommend.

  • from Terre Haute, IN May 28, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Love it!!!

    I play this guitar more than any of my others now. I travel with it, play it on our deck, play it on the couch... Thanks to Ryan for the great advice!!!

  • from Prescott, Arizona February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician in my 20s and early 30s, just a hack nowadays.

    Taylor GS Mini Mahogany

    At age 64, after 49 years of playing, acoustic guitar has become a bit of a problem lately (left hand, right shoulder – growing older is not for sissies!). Electrics are no problem at all, but on the acoustic side I thought maybe the GS Mini might provide a solution.

    I selected a mahogany-top at Sweetwater and my guy Ryan Murphy made sure everything went perfectly (customer service at Sweetwater is off the charts, if you don’t already know). Right out of the box, I was immediately impressed. The ergonomics of its size didn’t stress my shoulder at all, and I realized that with its truly surprising (and satisfying) tone, volume, and playability (objectively speaking, and also for my left hand), this might be all the acoustic I’d need on a day-to-day basis. I’d give it a full 5 stars, except I did feel the need to upgrade it a bit. If you’re interested, here’s what I did:

    1) Changed to uncoated Phosphor Bronze strings. An amazing increase in volume and tone. Elixirs have always been tone killers to my ear, but everyone has different tastes.
    2) Changed the black plastic bridge pins to white bone with abalone dots. I got a perfect-fitting set from a guy on ebay for just $14. Subtle improvement in tone, big improvement in looks.
    3) Removed the plastic tortoise shell pickguard via the hairdryer method. Worked perfectly, but you do need to go slowly and be patient. There was not a trace of tan line because the guitar is so new -- your mileage may vary. I have no objection to pickguards, I just hated the tortoise look on the mahogany – frankly I would have left it on if Tayor had used a black one instead, which would have gone great with the bridge, fretboard and headstock – a no-brainer aesthetically (I have several other Taylors, so it’s a head-scratcher to me why they blew this – normally they nail every design detail and a black plastic pickguard is no more expensive). Now that it’s off, it looks so much better and I highly doubt I will replace it with a black one – which was my original idea.
    4) I rubbed up the incomparable Virtuoso Guitar Polish on the matte finish varnish and it now sports a beautiful satin glow.
    5) Installed a mahogany trussrod cover ($16 on ebay). A great unit with a perfect fit and very nice semi-gloss finish; it really dresses up the plain headstock.
    6) Swapped out the tuners for Taylor Chrome Minis. $50. This was unexpected and does contribute a lot to my 4.5 rating. I had some tuning stability problems with the original 14:1 tuners and the new 18:1 tuners solved that. They drop right in with no modifications.
    7) Installed a K&K Pure Mini pickup. Wow. Love this thing.
    8) FYI, you have to fill in the recessed spot for the original endpin plate when installing a non-ES-Go endpin. I found a polished chrome washer that fits beautifully. The washer was a buck, but the shipping was $10.
    9) Finally, I sent in the Tusq saddle to Bob Colosi and had him make a genuine bone saddle. This $26 was TOTALLY worth every penny. Not only is Bob a great guy and a meticulous craftsman, but the tone upgrade is truly eye-opening.

    So there you have it. I don’t count the K&K because I would have bought the ES-Go anyway, and the K&K actually was $7 cheaper. So crediting myself that $7, I put in $110 on the GS Mini. You may question whether all that investment was worth it on a $500 guitar and I wouldn’t argue with you. The bottom line for me, though, is that it looks and sounds gorgeous, plays like butter, and my acoustic time has at least doubled because I pick it up constantly. Which is the test for any guitar, isn’t it?

  • from U.S. Southeast January 17, 2013Music Background:
    high-level amateur pianist, so-so guitar picker.

    Close to top-quality Taylor

    Needed a smaller-than-standard acoustic for my teen who has smaller hands. Didn't want to go too cheap (i.e. $150 ). Tried the 3/4 size, but it really was *too* small; this GS Mini is perfect for her. Very nice sound, beautiful wood all around. Comes with a well-designed soft/padded case. Half-point off since it probably needs to be (obviously from a buyer's POV) about $75 cheaper.

  • from Allentown, PA December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Playing out about twice a month.

    Near Perfect Travel Guitar

    Excellent tone comparable to a full size guitar. Not in anyway similar to the compromised tones of a Taylor Baby or Martin LX. The 23.5" scale is just long enough for me, but 24 or 24.5 would have been better. The hard bag is a bit bulky but provides enough protection to likely survive a green tag gate check where the item is returned at the arrival gate.

  • from San Diego, Ca. USA October 19, 2012Music Background:
    gigging retro real time one man band

    hot rod travel axe

    very nice guitar. Big sound for such a small body. sounds even better with bone saddle and bridge pins! nice smooth tuners. typical Taylor perfect set up. Mine has a real pretty figure to the mahogany top. The more you play it the better it sounds. excellent rigid gig bag! Very light. My only beef is that the edges of the body are very sharp 90 degree angles. A bit of sanding would make them a bit more comfy....pickey, pickey!

  • from Northern California June 7, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing since I was 12, but laid off for decades, now I am back playing again with pals from school ! FUN!!!!

    Sweet sound from Sweetwater~

    I received my new Taylor GS Mini Mahogany just a few weeks ago...I'm sure glad to have this new sweet sounding beauty. I like the smaller size fretboard for my small hand (I am a lady) and the second I picked her up I knew she and I would be great pals. I'm still trying to think of a name for this mahogany top, in the running are "60" and "Sweet Pea". The sound is definitely deeper with lower tones than my Martin (a Little Martin) which I got last Christmas. They are both beautiful guitars and very different from each other. But since I received this Taylor by mail I have only picked up the other one time...hmmmm. This guitar fits me perfectly, is so splendid and I look forward to years of playing her. And the discounted price was awesome, thanks to Sweetwater!!
    The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because nothing is perfect~

  • from Los Angeles April 24, 2017Music Background:
    12 year mostly electric hobbiest

    lovely short scale guitar with balanced sound

    Flawless fit and finish. I had looked at a Baby Taylor a couple of years ago for a travel guitar and was not impressed: looked like exposed plaster board screws for neck attachment among other issues. Not with this one. Very resonant if you like to thump on guitars for rhythm. Balanced sound, excellent playability. A few issues on arrival. Outer carton (bottom) was wet, shipper had it in a puddle at one point so don't know if that effected it but the set-up was almost unplayable, with zero neck relief. Two of the strings (low E and A) sounded dead, like really old wound strings get sometimes. But I expect all guitars to need set-up and after a new set of strings and 1/2 turn (yikes) of the truss rod the neck came into spec and now it plays like an electric. Highly recommended, but add in the cost of a set-up and don't drop ship one to someone who doesn't know too much about guitars.

  • from Voorhees, NJ March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Film Director

    Neat Little Guitar

    I had planned to use this camping because of it's size and price. When I played it for the first time, I started thinking I just might give it a try on stage and I have! This is much more guitar than I expected.

  • from December 10, 2015Music Background:
    Musicain

    Taylor GS Mini

    Love this guitar,very easy to play.Sounds just as good if not better then most full size guitars I've played.

  • from COLORADO January 27, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Perfect couch fiddle!!

    I had to do some tweeking for example(Monster size strings were removed and thanks to AJ Becerra my Tec for the lighter strings, I'm am now ready to capture any and all tid-bits I can while relaxing on the couch. Folks give AJ a call and he will hook you up as well. Taylor GS Mini-Mahogany and yes this makes 3 Taylors and my trusted PRS what else could a guy ask for---Scoot over Honey I'm playin right now!!

  • from Maui, Hawaii USA December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great Guitar!

    Bought a GS Mini for my daughter in Las Vegas to replace her LXM which, I feel, does not measure up to the Martin brand. Then decided to get one for my wife for Christmas, which I've been "breaking in" for her to make sure it plays well. (Yeah, right.) I did replace the Medium strings with a Light Medium set to maintain the tone while making it easier to chord the bottom three strings. For some reason, I found it uncomfortable to play right out of the box, something my daughter also agreed with. I tried the same model in a music store nearby and found that one much easier to play, so I'm not sure if there is a quality control issue at Taylor, but the adjustment in string choice seems to have solved the problem. Other than that, the guitar is a joy to hear. Beautiful tone across the entire range and comfortable to hold. Taylor has created a winning design that will become an icon which will transcend its travel guitar class! Mahalo to Anthony at Sweetwater for his care.

  • from Rye NH July 11, 2013Music Background:
    aging punk rock country squire

    nice little axe

    don't let my 4 star rating fool you. This means that I think this is an awesome guitar. I bought this a a first guitar for my daughter, the small size is crucial for a child's success. That being said it sounds and plays like a big girl guitar. Tone is excellent. There's nothing more discouraging than trying your hardest to learn to play and not having a guitar capable of giving you the reinforcement of letting you know you're making good tone. This should be a great problem solver for a lot of applications, easier portability and great for small hands.

  • from Ohio USA June 28, 2013Music Background:
    Bar band, some studio, mostly porch jammer

    Another Taylor for me

    Everything I expected it would be, I own a nylon, two grand auditoriums, and a big baby, and this mahogany top is my favorite.Its a baby on steroids. I perform with it and it goes side by side with anything I've come across. I do an acoustic thing with my son and he plays a seagull, no problem with volume, it's just as loud. I especially like how the mahogany top rounds out the tone, sometimes the spruce tops can be a bit high-endy, this mahogany top is perfect. I put the Elixir light-mediums on it 12-56. Even regular lights would be fine but I like the BOOM of the low side with 56 gauge. Well worth the money, Sweetwater cut me a great deal at the gear fest.

  • from Dover, NH June 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor GS Mini follow up

    I had the GS Mini for several months now, and I wanted to follow up on my earlier review. I changed to light strings, and I am glad I did. The Mini with medium strings was just too rigid for my style. I prefer light strings on my larger guitars too. The light strings make the Mini much easier to play.

    I added the ES-Go pickup. The install was a breeze. I read several comments about hum (noise) with this pickup. I have a Fender G-DEC 30 amp with numerous modes. Sure enough there is some hum with the built in Acoustic mode, but it isn't any worse than I hear from my other acoustic guitars so this is not a problem with the ES-Go pickup. In fact I have a custom mode in the Fender amp with no gain and high volume which has no hum at all. It seems to me the hum issue is caused more by amp setup than any problem with the ES-Go pickup.

  • from Toledo, Ohio April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, performer, guitar lover

    A Fabulous Find

    I just received my Taylor GS Mini Mahogany via Fex Ex today, and already I can't put it down. This is my fourth Taylor (W-15, 816, 412) so I wasn't too worried that it would be disappointing. But here's the thing- the expectations need to be appropriate for the instrument- this is a $500 guitar. It is a small-scale guitar. It is a laminate back/sides guitar. That being said it sounds tremendous- much better than the sitka top in my opinion. It's good for- sitting in the recliner and fingerpicking, campfire moments, writing music on the back porch, serenading the family dogs as they look on in bewilderment. Here's what I wouldn't use it for- studio work and live performance. I wouldn't take my 816 to the lake for singalongs, and I wouldn't take my GS Mini to the studio to lay down final tracks on my next album.

  • from Cape Cod, MA March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Studio Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Just... FUN!

    Great little guitar for the apartment, road, bonfire, studio... could really see it being used in a any number situations. Sounds great, looks and feels great. It's my first Taylor and I can say it lives up to the quality that I expect from this brand. Setup nice when it arrived thanks to Sweetwater tech's. Really just fun to play!

  • from New Hampshire February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor GS Mini Mahogany

    The Taylor GS Mini is a nice smaller "travel" guitar. I am not so sure about the travel at least as far as air travel. The guitar is small enough and light enough that airlines should allow; however it is big enough to exceed carry on size so it is really up to the individual flight crew as to whether you will be allowed to carry it. If they do not allow it then you will be forced to check a guitar in a non-rigid case.

    The case itself is pretty nice. It offers good protection, but I am not sure I would want it thrown around by baggage handlers. It is has backpack style straps for easy carrying. Carrying capacity is fairly limited, but it has a storage area for a couple song books and whatever you can squeeze inside.

    The GS Mini Mahogany is pretty sweet. This is a very nice sounding small guitar with a big voice. I bought the Mahogany for its good looks and because I thought the sound might be a little less bright then the Sitka version. The finish is beautiful with an almost 3D holographic effect as you move the guitar the wood grain changes in the light. I am torn on the pick-guard. I don't have a pick-guard on my other guitars and I haven't had problems with scratching the top. The pick-guard is also a little sharp on the edges so you can feel it scratch on your fingertips at times. I think the pick-guard would be better as an option, but all Mini's have it.

    The guitar is fun to play. The neck is a bit narrow, but plays easy once you adjust. The body when placed just right tilts the guitar gently so you can see the fretboard without any effort. This is a great guitar for strumming in first position. I wouldn't want to play a lot of barre chords on it. It uses medium strings so it is a little harder to play down the neck. I miss the cut-out on my larger guitars, but I would have the same issue on any other dreadnought-style guitar.

    I am also a little disappointed about the ES-Go pick-up system because I have seen some videos and reviews which show it is a noisy system. I may have to consider another pick-up option, but that is not a true flaw of the guitar itself.

    I would recommend the GS Mini Mahogany to anyone interested in a smaller guitar. I can see many people would be happy using a GS Mini as their only guitar because it is that good.

  • from Montreal September 20, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Love the gs mini mahogany

    Crisp resonant tone, very warm also, and great playability. I love the fact that Taylor is pushing the design envelope to produce such an affordable and great playing guitar. I also have the Taylor baby mahogany so I knew I'd be getting something I'd love.

  • from Boston, MA February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love it but be real

    I love my mini hog, but to be real the quality and tone Is not close to my Taylor 416. There are plenty of rough edges and the finish is not high quality. The fret board was rough enough that bending took more effort than necessary. These rough spots where fixed with steel wool and lots of polishing.

    The tone is nice but not on par with finer guitars. Volume is good, but not a canon, this is nice for late night playing. The hog has a sweeter tone than the spruce top and is best in finger picking over strumming.

    Where it really shines is as a fun couch guitar that is easy to play. The short scale makes for strings that are easy on the hands. Bar cords are a snap. The down side is playing up the neck gets very crowded. The small size makes it comfortable to sit back an noodle, on the couch, on the porch, anywhere.

  • from July 16, 2013

    no set up

    for 500 bucks. I thought it would play perfect out of the bow. wrong! nut is too high as is the bridge. both need to be modified to play correctly. that means the cost of taking it to a luthier. youd think that a Taylor guitar, would have been set up properly.

  • from Richmond, VA April 16, 2015

    Didn't live up to my expectations

    This is a pretty guitar, that is very comfortable to hold, however...

    I found the strings too "tight" and the tech I spoke to at sweetwater said its the scale length so if you've not tried this scale length before and have sensitive fingers and don't like tight strings it may not be for you. It buzzed a lot on the treble side and again the tech I spoke too attributed it to scale length. I returned it and got a Dreadnaught Jr by Martin Instead.

    I had the mahogany GS mini and I will say it was very pretty and comfortable to hold but I think it had technical issues I could not get past and be happy with. My local guy said it was not a good copy and that my Dread Jr (also from sweetwater) is perfect. Sweetwater held true to their return policey and I am very happy with the Martin I bought from them.

  • from Colorado January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Novice

    GS Mini

    I am not an avid guitarist, but wanted something I could pack around and offer good, full sound. I have purchased a mini Martin and my daughter plays that, although I was not impressed with the sound as it offer a muted sound and she had some problems with the integrity of the construction. So, that said, based on the reviews and the web videos this sounded like it was a full sound for the size and Taylor quality would be better. It plays decent, but this too offers the muted sound and at the price and and being sligthly larger than the Mini Martin I was hoping to have a stronger, fuller sound, guess for the size it is nice, but not what I would have thought at this money. The frets are rough and although I did not expect a perfect guitar at the botton of the tier, this would not have taken but a little longer on the assembly cycle to have filed the fret ends down a bit more to smooth out the ends. The finish is nice and the action is consistent.

Questions about the Taylor GS Mini Mahogany - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
Enter the Giveaway