0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Taylor GS Mini-e Mahogany Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Taylor GS Mini-e Mahogany?

Questions about the Taylor GS Mini-e Mahogany?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from quitman la, LA April 5, 2017

    my guitar experience

    this guitar was way more than I expected it looks great ,play beautifully plus it sounds so sweet. If you want a middle size guitar that sounds like a big guitar this Taylor GS Mini is it!

  • from quitman la, LA March 11, 2017

    MY TAYLOR GS MINIE-E MAHOGANY

    I totally love this guitar. love the size, sound, the easy play of the neck. every thing about this guitar is A+ great guitar for the beginner or the professional thanks

  • from March 3, 2017

    GS Mini-e Mahogany

    I absolutely love the mini-e hog. It's so comfortable to play and the tones produced by this guitar are really wonderful. I'm thrilled with this guitar! Also, my sincerest endorsement for Sweetwater tech Jonathan Appleton. Very helpful, courteous, knowledgeable and responsive.

  • from West central Indiana February 4, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer

    Great service

    This guitar is great right out of the box ! The setup and the action are super . The sound of this little guitar is much more than I expected .
    Thanks Dan and all the crew at Sweetwater .

  • from Virginia February 2, 2017

    Taylor GS Mini-e

    I love this guitar!! I had no idea when I bought it what to expect and I was completely blown away. I recommend this guitar to everyone!

  • from Hawaii January 10, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great sounding guitar.

    Hearing good things about Taylor GS Mini I decided to purchase one from Sweetwater thru my Sales Engineer, Sean Geyer. I picked the mahogany top since I already have 2 acoustics with spruce tops. You'll definitely notice the difference in tone with mahogany. The sound is somewhat warmer and the bass is definitely deeper sounding. I love the tone it produces and playability due to its smaller size. It has ES2 Electronics but for me it was almost not necessary. The sound plays big without it. It comes with 13-56 medium strings and took a while getting use to it. My acoustics have light strings. Overall it's a great guitar and you'll love it. And you'll love working with Sweetwater. This was my fifth guitar from Sweetwater and they'll always treat you right.

  • from NY October 28, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Taylor GS-Mini-e-Mahogany

    Great little guitar. The slightly smaller neck and scale length makes it easier to play than my other acoustics. The tone is brighter - but not tinny - and grittier than my full size guitars but the bass is strong. Tone for lead playing is excellent. My other guitars sound dull by comparison. This guitar is like a tough little teen-ager and it likes to rock. Has a rootsy finger-picking sound too. Very light so I'm always grabbing it as soon as I get an idea. Comes with 13-56 strings which are hard on the fingers. I tried 11-47 flex-core silk & steel Martins but the B and E were too thin and didn't tune right. I put back the 17 B and 13 E, and left the rest, so now I've got thinner bass strings - more comfortable for my endless hours of playing. I'd put back the factory strings for recording.

  • from Arizona October 22, 2016

    Taylor GS Mini E Mahogany

    Great sound and playability plugged in or acoustic...

  • from Florida, USA November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor GS Mini-E Mahogany-2013 Fall Limited

    I purchased my first GS Mini Hog top last March. It would be fair to say that I rarely go a single day without playing this guy. I can leave it out on my stand by my desk without fearing for its' safety-so it gets PLAYED. The compact size is comfortable to hold and the neck is easy on my tendonitis-ridden fretting hand. It travels well and isn't so precious that I feel I cannot enjoy it outside of my home. This guitar is surprisingly hardy. I took the Elixirs off after two days of play (too tinny to me) and restrung it with Med Martin Lifespan SP Phosphor Bronze strings (now my string of choice for this instrument) which to my ear made the guitar sound AMAZING.

    The sound is clean and bold and a little dark (love that) with a substantial amount of projection despite the smaller body style. It intonates well, capos well up neck, and has a nice little sustain for a lam body and solid top. Plus, it makes me happy when I play it. Tone is always the most important aspect to me when choosing a guitar, closely followed by playability. This guitar sounds great and plays easily with the fast Taylor neck.

    I have owned many high end Taylors (to include a 900 series and several Fall Limiteds) and they never spoke to me. They were beautiful, but in the end I found myself with 4 lovely Martins. The 4 Martins also came after giving Ovations, Taks, Deans, Gibson and Ibanez whirls as well. However, my tendonitis has become so pronounced that playing larger necks cramps my fretting hand almost immediately--so, enter the GS mini. I am now in the process of selling 2 of my 4 Martins. I simply go to this little guy above all others.

    I have played enough high end instruments in my 13+yrs of playing guitar to know what I like. I like the GS Mini. It is what it is...a no frills, small bodied workhorse that I would replace in a skinny minute if anything happened to it. I have not found more bang for the buck in a guitar anywhere. It probably isn't for everyone, but I am in a place in my life right now where simplicity and functionality rule--not cost, and this guitar fits the bill.

    So, I love it so much that when I saw the 13 Fall Limited with ES-T Electronics, it was a no brainer. I picked one up the day I saw it at Sweetwater online. Thank you Ryan Sloan for your excellent customer service (as I worked my way through the Taylor 500 series Hog line). Those weren't for me tonally, but the Mini sure is!

    Sweetwater is my favorite online music store. Their customer service surpasses the others by leaps and bounds. Try the GS mini--you might be pleasantly surprised by it!

  • from Seattle October 11, 2013

    VERY Happy.

    I love this thing. Very warm and rich and vibrant tones. Super comfortable to play for hours. So Comfy and nice sounding that my Taylor 310 has languished in its case since the Mini has shown up.

    The mahogany top definitely makes this guitar a more subtle instrument than a spruce top would. There is a dark, smokey, muted quality here that I love. There are highs in its tone, just not the aggressive sparkling highs that you'd associate with spruce.

    This is my first experience with the Taylor Expression System and I'm definitely happy. I don't own an acoustic amp so I plugged it into a simple 50's American style amp and it sounded great. Still like a nice warm acoustic guitar. Not an acoustic guitar plugged into an electric guitar amp(though the possibilities light up my electric guitar brain).

    And finally..... Sweetwater treated me right. Very courteous and professional and My GS Mini showed up perfect and ready to play right out of the box. Will do business with again.

  • from Honolulu, HI December 21, 2016

    Mini with booming sound.

    Small travel size guitar but the sound is anything but small. Strong sound and being smaller it's easier to play. This is my first Taylor. I have an old Takamine and Yamaha FG acoustic but love this GS mini mahogany. Being mahogany top it has slightly darker sound than my other acoustics and the base is definitely deeper. I ordered mine with ES2 electronics but it's almost not necessary. It came with 13-56 medium strings and took a while to get used to the feel. My other acoustics have lighter strings. But now I love the tone and its playability.

Questions about the Taylor GS Mini-e Mahogany?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway