0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Hercules Stands GS414B Hanging Guitar Stand - Single Reviews

4.0 stars based on 53 customer reviews
Questions about the Hercules Stands GS414B Hanging Guitar Stand - Single?

Questions about the Hercules Stands GS414B Hanging Guitar Stand - Single?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from March 24, 2017

    Hercules Stand

    Don't spend good money on a guitar and trust a cheep stand. Buy this Hercules stand and rest assured your guitar is safe.

  • steven federline
    from Maryland March 23, 2017

    rock solid stand

    Very nice guitar stand,i like how the top uses the weight of the guitar to lock itself in & same when u grab your axe the jaw automatically opens when u lift up & out,pretty cool little mechanism!! Thanks again to Sweetwater & Tommy Winter my sales engineer absolutly the best,Sweetwater for life Steve

  • Shannon
    from February 22, 2017Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior for 20 years

    Excellent Stand

    I had been fighting with cheaper stands over the years and after the last time my bass tumbled over I decided it was time to get a good one. I opted for the single Hercules and couldn't be happier with my decision. Sturdy construction and easy to transport.

  • Mike
    from W February 13, 2017Music Background:
    Returning player

    Sturdy, stable, fully adjustable

    Wanted something very solid - this Hercules is best I've ever seen. The locking head is awesome in its design - it autolocks when the guitar is hung. Many years since I've bought a stand... very pleased with my choice.

  • Braden
    from Rocky Mountains February 12, 2017Music Background:
    Novice

    Dependable

    Very solid stand. Have not found a better single stand for sale. Auto-grip yoke is ingenious. I also purchased the wall mount after using this stand.

  • rickyg
    from hI November 17, 2016Music Background:
    working

    Must have accessory

    This Hercules stand is a great on-stage tool... keeps instrument securely in place using instrument's own weight... rubber covered legs protect the instrument body ... a must have accessory...

  • Jim Brown
    from Wesley ChapelFlorida October 7, 2016

    Great Stand

    I already owned two of these stands so I knew how good they were. After discussing options with Joe Shafer my engineer we both concluded that these stands were still the best option. With a great price and free shipping, what more could I ask?

  • James
    from Texas September 2, 2016

    Best stand available!

    You don't have to worry about your guitar getting bumped and falling out of this stand. The Hercules stand is sturdy and has a quick and solid easy in and out for your guitar. I've read the negative reviews about the failed plastic, and if my stand fails after a year or so, I'll just buy another one. It's that good!

  • Customer
    from August 4, 2016

    Simply the best

    I have read all of the negative comments about the Hercules stands and for the life of me I cannot understand the problem. The most often mentioned negative comment is that the adjusting handle turns into a sticky mess and then falls apart. I have had my Hercules GS414B for three years and use it every day. The handle is not sticky and shows no sign of falling apart. I'm baffled by these comments. This is the best stand available. It is not harmfull to lacquer finishes. It is study, well balanced and portable. I also have six guitars suspended on Hercules wall hangers and my guitars have been on them for two years or more. I trust Hercules products.

  • Scott
    from Layton, UT June 11, 2016Music Background:
    Been playing guitar for almost 50 years now.

    So rugged

    This thing is just so nice. It is so rugged and stable. I sometimes play a Jazz Bass as it has a very asymmetrical body. That makes it so that it does not sit very stable on a standard guitar stand. This one solves all such problems. The nice wide tripod stance makes it very tip resistant. I think I will get another even though they are expensive.

  • Customer
    from May 18, 2016

    Love it

    Best stand I have in my lifetime

  • Customer
    from February 19, 2016

    Warranty

    Hercules will honour their warranty. Just go to the wed site and follow directions. Yea Man! for those whose stand got sticky and gummy.

  • Customer
    from October 20, 2015

    Best Ever Owned

    Have used stands for 40 years. This stand is the best ever. The automatic neck-lock feature is fantastic and works beautifully. The length adjuster locks securely and cannot slip down under the weight of the guitar. The only issue I have found is that rust dust covers the upper stand when pulled from the lower tube. Unsure whether this will be a future issue.

  • Barbara S
    from Deming , cNew Mexico October 13, 2015Music Background:
    Family , and perform 3times aweek

    thecbest for safety

    I brought 3 of these sts nds for my own guitars
    ans wouldn't buy any other.
    had other stands but not as safe .
    love them.

  • Jeff
    from St Pete, FL September 9, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player / Collector

    Great Guitar Stand

    These guitar stands are the best I have found. It is built like a tank and holds the guitar without fear of falling off, like some of the cheaper stands. I have gone through several different types of stands, and these Hercules stands are the best and last stands I will have to buy. A little bit more money up front, but should last a very ling time.

  • Barb. S
    from New Mexico September 3, 2015Music Background:
    Family

    the best st@nods ever

    I've had other stands , but not as good or s@'ve as r his one is.
    I brought one before and then brought anothervthey are great.
    Thanks all.

  • Craig Herget
    from Phoenix, AZ May 27, 2015

    Great Stand!

    A terrific stand! Heavy duty, but not "heavy." Perfect for both electric and acoustic guitars. I have one for each of my guitars and will purchase others if/when my guitar collection expands. Yea, a bit pricey, but worth every nickel.

  • Customer
    from March 19, 2015

    Hercules Stands GS414B

    This is a fine piece of equipment for the price.

    Well made and functional. Grab, lift and go. Excellent.

    Also, fast courteous service from the folks at Sweetwater.

  • Customer
    from March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great

    Best stand I have ever owned.

  • BuckW
    from CT March 6, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, guitar and piano

    Great Guitar stand

    This is the best guitar stand I've owned. Sturdy and adjustable height and weighted clip. Can't imagine it could be improved.

  • Ben Anderson
    from Columbia City, IN USA January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Teacher and Performer

    Hercules for Sure

    So happy I bought this. Doesn't take up hardly any room. Sturdy is a key word, the thing is a tank. Wouldn't put my guitar on any other stand!

  • Brenda
    from NM November 27, 2014Music Background:
    Jammer and Singer

    Hercules Stand GS414B

    It is safe and a great stand even had my Sister buy one from Sweetwater . Thanks for the great service and products!

  • Bruce Pritchard
    from Buxton, NC November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The best stand I've ever used

    I've always had the problem with stands for my bass putting pressure on the cord while resting in a stand. This solves the problem by grabbing the headstock and automatically closing around it, to make it a hanging stand. It's as sturdy as an ox and folds down almost flat with no big fork that you need at the bottom to rest you bass on. It adjusts more than high enough to hang my long neck Jazz, without touching the ground. Highly praised.

  • Tony
    from Phila August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Part time gigging for 25 years

    Awesome Stand

    I needed a good stand for new Martin I just purchased (DCPA 1). I was a little hesitant to get this because it's so different than anything else I've used but I love it and actually ordered another one. Great stage stands, very sturdy. Impressive design. Although they are supposed to be safe for the high end acoustic finish, I didn't want to take any chances so I added some felt to the contact points. Highly recommend!

  • Curt Pratt
    from Elgin, SC August 5, 2014Music Background:
    Make more music than money

    No Rock & Roll

    That's right.. NO ROCK & ROLL

    The Hercules is not only industrial in strength, it looks good doing it!
    All those years I put up with stands that swayed or tipped, or snagged the strap or the cord... None of that with the Hercules. Gone; just bad memories. I now hang my D35 and my fave Epi Dot Cherry without fear.

    Nothing beats the case, of course, but if it's not there or in your hands ...
    it should be hangin' on a Hercules.

  • Jerry Fletcher
    from Hanover, MD August 3, 2014Music Background:
    50+ years of spending money at music shops...

    Hercules Heavy-Duty Adjustable Single Guitar/Bass Stand

    I recently bought one of these, primarily to support a Squire Jaguar solid body short scale Bass. I've had the Bass hanging on this stand for some time now and it has never toppled, nor lost its grip and allowed the adjustable support bar to fall. I like this stand, and hope it lasts a good, long while. There is enough adjustment to use this for a standard or longer scale Bass or baritone guitar. I expect to buy a couple more to keep other guitars handy when recording. I wonder if Hercules offers different support bars for a variety of instruments? It would be nice to have a similar stand for ukulele and banjo.

  • Bob
    from Grand Haven, MI April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist

    Excellent Stand

    Remarkably good stand - even for long-scale basses like mine. This is my second Hercules stand and their quality in unmatched. You will not be disappointed!

  • Dave Purdy
    from Forest Lake, MN August 26, 2013Music Background:
    Playing in a band since the 70's!

    Great for bass

    I love these stands, I own 4 of them, before I just purchased this one for my bass player as a gift. He has a long bass and said he had trouble with finding a stand. I surprised him with this stand and he just loves it!

  • Customer
    from March 29, 2017

    reliable

    great light weight reliable sturdy stand , I like it.

  • Customer
    from Maryland, USA March 21, 2017Music Background:
    30+ years actively playing 3-4 nights a week

    Nice Stand!

    I have used Ultimate guitar stands for years and wanted to try a Hercules to compare. I really like this stand! It is solid, holds my guitar nicely and I especially like the auto grip feature! I will definitely be purchasing a few more of these! Either choice is a good one, but the auto grip is really nice and for me, it is worth sacrificing the foldable guitar holder on the Ultimates.

  • Josh
    from Central NJ March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician, singer , songwriter, recording engineer

    Stands up to the rest.

    Hard to get excited about a stand. One of my band mates is clumsy and has been trying to kill my guitar. Insert Hercules. Thing is solid, well balanced. I like the mechanism to hold guitar in place. I hate the runner loops etc other brands use. Like that I can grab it with one hand and I am good. Seems well built, works great guitar and bass. Next step might be the 3 tree. Go for it. Love it so far.

  • Joseph
    from Coventry, RI USA November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist; 2 year weekly lessons from Berklee Institute graduate and Providence College, RI instructor for guitar. Musician hobbyist (retired).

    Hercules Stand GS414B Hanging Guitar Stand Single

    Very sturdy. Like theadjustable height. Can use it to hang my tenor ukulele also.

  • Customer
    from Coventry, RI USA November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist; 2 year weekly lessons from Berklee Institute gdaduate.

    Hercules Stand GS414B Hanging Guitar Stand Single

    Stable. Adjustable, whereby I can use it for my tenor ukulele also.

  • Rory Keyes
    from Fremont, Ohio October 25, 2014Music Background:
    Worship team

    Nice as expected.

    Love this stand. Use one at Church, wanted one for home. Best stand I've owned.well worth the money.

  • Customer
    from December 26, 2016

    Guitar stand

    It works great so far.

  • Customer
    from United States January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Best Stand I've Had

    This stand functions perfectly and folds down quickly and smoothly. The only reason it doesn't get a 5 star from me is how lightweight it is. I needed a stand that not only holds my guitar but protects it. A decent bump and this this thing could easily fall over. Plastic parts feel cheaply made but the stand's elegant design and functionality make me feel satisfied.

  • Guitar Roy
    from Clarksdale August 16, 2013Music Background:
    Bluesman

    Very reliable

    This guitar stand is small when you break it down and very reliable.

  • Customer
    from April 9, 2015

    Hercules single GS414B Hanging Guitar Stand -

    I purchased this stand based on several hours of research that indicated it to be a superior product. I gave it a 3.5 because, although, as of today, it is working nicely, I am concerned that if something should go wrong with it I might have a problem getting it fixed. This Hercules stand is manufactured in China and it has been my experience that the primary reason for Chinese manufacture is to cut costs sometimes at the expense of workmanship and durability. I had read reviews that mentioned a problem with the material that the handle of the adjustable height mechanism is made out of and that several folks reported that over time it had turned soft and sticky eventually leading to malfunction. I attempted to contact Hercules in order to see if this problem had been addressed but I could find no way of contacting them, following the contact link on their website took me to a dead end. Hopefully this problem has been corrected but I am concerned that I cannot contact the manufacturer.

  • Georgett Baker
    from Chino Hills, CA January 26, 2015Music Background:
    children's performer

    Sticky hand grip falls apart

    Stand is sturdy and grips guitar well but hand grip has become sticky and fallen apart. Company sends a response for email but no follow up, that is the problem with buying foreign items, the companies are abroad and take no responsibility to replace an inferior item.

  • Steve Agosto
    from Louisiana October 22, 2016

    Hercules Guitar Stands

    I have 7 of these guitars stands and hand another one fail tonight. That's 3 so far. The grip that adjust the height fails. You will first notice that the grip becomes sticky and tacky to the touch. Then the plastic completely fails and the spring and parts come flying out. I finally was able to contact Hercules' distributor and then shame them on their FB page and they sent me one. I'm not going through the trouble again. I'm done with them...if you value your guitars like I do, don't use them.

  • Dino
    from United States March 3, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great Design but ...

    I own 2 of these and design-wise these are the best stands I've ever owned ... I've had them for several years Now the bad part. The plastic adjustment handle has a rubberized texture to it. Over time it became tacky, then gummy, proceeded to get gooey and finally the underlaying hard plastic of the handle eventually weakened to the point where the tension spring underneath just broke through. the handle failed completely. This is after just sitting in my man cave untouched and unmoved except for hanging a guitar from them. I've emailed Hercules - It's been 3 weeks now and no response. Overall a great product that served me well until the plastic handle literally just melted away into thin air. Best stand I ever owned otherwise. I even have several of the Hercules wall mount models.

  • James
    from Weatherford, TX August 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great at first, but ...

    These stands were so nice that I bought 5 of them at once several years ago. Now, I only have two left. The reason is that the handle is made of a plastic that has degraded into a sticky mess that has failed (broken apart due to this failure) on three of the stands. The other ones that haven't broken yet are super sticky and just gross to touch. I have never had these stored anywhere but in a climate controlled environment. Plan on replacing these in the long term if you buy them.

  • Customer
    from Illinois May 1, 2017

    Junk

    This stand's grip turned gummy and sticky and broke down to the point that the plastic broke and the spring inside came out. Many others have claimed their's did the exact same thing. Many blogs about this very problem on many music sites. Would not recommend this stand and the price is to high for the junk received

  • Customer
    from March 14, 2017

    JUNK MATERIALS

    I thought these stands were great until the rubber started breaking down. Now when I adjust the height the rubber part is real sticky from the oil leaching out from the rubber. I bought 2 of them in 2010. I guess you are suppose to throw them away after 5 years. You pay for what you get. Go to their website and read the warranty.

  • Customer
    from November 28, 2016

    Does not last

    after a while the handle becomes sticky and the spring mechanism does not engage rendering the stand useless.

  • Snaggle
    from Memphis November 26, 2016

    Great but Falls Apart

    I have used it for around 5 years at all types of gigs but picked up a guitar off the stand the other day and found a piece of plastic on the ground. Like others, I found the adjustment area to be a gooey mess and all the pieces flew everywhere. I would stay away from this stand.

  • Robert Oatsvall
    from Raleigh, NC August 28, 2016

    Handle turns into a gooey mess

    Right on time, 3 years and the adjustment handle falls apart, turns into a gooey mess and drops the guitars. They need to fix this!

  • George Bradshaw
    from San Francisco Bay Area July 17, 2016Music Background:
    Play guitar in Olde Tyme & Bluegrass

    Shame on you, Hercules

    My Hercules guitar stand (GS414B) is now a worthless piece of crap. The height adjusting handle turned into a sticky gooey mess and disintegrated around the pins that hold it onto the stand. And I haven't even used it for the past year but when I took it out of the closet today, I found the handle on the floor and wondered what is that gooey piece of plastic. Then I realized it was the height adjusting handle. And there doesn't seem to be any way to contact the company to obtain a new handle. What a poor way to run a company that use to have a very good reputation.

  • Customer
    from April 12, 2016

    Stand Broke Apart After One Year

    After one year of use, I walked up to the stand and found a broken plastic part and a spring coil on the floor. The stand is now collapsed and totally useless. The stickiness on the hand grip (that several reviewers have complained about) should not be ignored. The sticky goo is hard to wash off fingers and is revolting. I would never buy another Hercules stand.

  • Customer
    from April 2, 2016

    Hercules Stand In General

    Do not purchase any Hercules products. I have two 3 guitar stands and two single stands as pictured here. The rubber on the height adjustment grip will turn to goo. Eventually the spring to the clamp will loosen causing the stand to drop the guitars to the floor. Hercules website states that the company does not have any direct contact with the public, only through their vendors. Not only is their product flawed they do not support as well.

    Steer clear of this product and company.

  • Customer
    from February 17, 2016

    Sticky hand grip

    Listen folks..the materia used to make this stand gets sticky and later the handle used to adjust the height gets sticky and falls apart. Great idea, but after a couple months, it will fall apart.

  • Robert Hall
    from Apple Valley, California November 25, 2015Music Background:
    Played for over 65 years

    Hercules GS414B

    Strong, durable, no! This is a piece of junk. The top AGS is attached with a very brittle piece of unreinforced plastic. Mine broke the first time out and cannot be repaired. Hercules is hiding and has no customer service. Look at the complaints and pictures online. I can't believe retailers continue to sell this useless junk.
    I have 25 guitar stands, some are 60 years old and still work OK.

  • Steve
    from Jennings, La October 31, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Hercules Stands

    These are the greatest stands in the world.......just as long as you don't plan on using it for more than about 3 years. I have owned 5 of these and am currently still using 3. The plastic/rubber on the grip will eventually soften, become sticky and then disintegrate. Two have done it, and I have a 3rd well on it's way. One day it will become sticky and then shortly after when you go to hang your guitar the grip will fall apart and you'll be lucky if you haven't permanently damaged your guitar. Contacting Hercules is non-existent. They want you to contact their national distributor who will not answer your e-mail. Like I said if you have no intention of hanging your guitar on it for more than a few years, it's the best guitar stand on the market.

Questions about the Hercules Stands GS414B Hanging Guitar Stand - Single?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway