0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Gator GR-3S - 3 Rack Spaces Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator GR-3S - 3 Rack Spaces?

Questions about the Gator GR-3S - 3 Rack Spaces?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 4, 2015

    great case

    Best case for the money I've found.

  • from Columbus, Ohio January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Company

    Over priced but does the job.

    My biggest gripe with the gator cases is the rubber gaskets always seem to fall out after a while. This leaves the lids loose fitting and falling off. I imagine this one will follow suit after if sits in the sun for a few gigs. They will scratch any surface you place them on due to the rivets on the bottom. Other than that, I love it. Just the right depth. Strong and I have never had one crack/disintegrate like the old skb cases used to do.

  • from NY December 19, 2013Music Background:
    recording Engineer

    Sturdy, light weight

    This case is pretty solid and sturdy and not especially heavy. My main criticism is that when they say "shallow" they really mean it. I can't store my gear with their power cables attached, because the back of the case gets in the way. Its a minor inconvenience, but when you are constantly on the road and plugging/unplugging cables from the back you notice it. But in all fairness it is advertised as a shallow rack case.

  • from Virginia Beach, Va November 28, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixing & Mastering

    Gator Portable Rack

    Great rack. My Monster 2500 & UA Apollo fit well into it. I can not comment on the test of time. It fits nicely.

  • from Columbus, OH USA October 20, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Case

    I travel with my Avid Eleven Rack and this Gator GR-3S portable case works great I mounted it in the center and that leaves room for cables below it. I am very happy with all of my Gator Cases.

  • from San Antonio August 13, 2013Music Background:
    Live Outdoor Sound-18+ years

    Get This Not That

    If you need a small shallow rack case this is the only way to fly. The Gator 2RU case has a shoddy plastic handle that will fail quickly. Get the one extra RU with this one and you won't be sorry.

  • from Hazelwood, MO June 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    It's a rack space

    Not much to say. Keeps my gear safe.

  • from Albuquerque, NM June 9, 2012Music Background:
    songwriter, artist and advertising pitch demos

    Self-contained digital recording studio in a suitcase!

    I bought the GR-3S to create a portable, digital recording studio consisting of a Motu 8pre, a Furman M-8x2, a rack-mount hard drive, and my Macbook Pro (running Logic). The setup is exceptionally low noise, which I need for producing demos for producers and artists' agents, and this case carries everything securely (saw for the laptop, which of course has its own bag).

    I boot up the laptop, flip open the case, jack in the artists' instruments and mics, let them warm up while I set the levels, and bam--ready to record.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI November 3, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Production, Musician

    Very nice shallow rack

    I own 4 of these racks now, I was happy to see the 3 space format. I really like the size and portability of these racks. A couple things that could be improved, having used them for a few years now.
    1) The exposed clasps can get damaged, although they have held up pretty well. Ideally, these should be concealed.
    2) The track mounting rails have 2 parts, the threaded part is the further inboard piece. This is a little goofy, but is only a problem if you take all the screws out (need 1 screw to keep the threaded back plate in place).
    3) The covers have a gasket, that can (and does) fall out from time to time. While I like the seal it provides, just wish the gasket would stay in place.
    If you are looking for an affordable, shallow, basic rack. This one works well.

  • from Salt Lake City, UT, USA July 15, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer

    Lightweight - Rackmount Hardware A Bit Odd

    I'm quite pleased with this unit overall. However, the design of the rack rails, which utilizes separate plates that are stuck to the actual rails via double sided tape, seems very strange to me. I'm sure there's a very good reason for it, but without any explanation offered the solution appears overwrought and "cluttered."

  • from DC February 6, 2007Music Background:
    Live sound

    Case works great, I use it every weekend

    Light, sturdy, and no back aches lifting it. And no car paint scratches from bumps to worry about when hauling it in and out of cars.

    I agree that not all the backplates are glued/taped well together, but it's not nearly as challenging as the earlier guy wrote it to be. But if you're mechanically challenged then I suggest just using some simple household some epoxy/glue to seal the backplates before racking equipment.

Questions about the Gator GR-3S - 3 Rack Spaces?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close