0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Gator G-PRO-6U-19 - Portable Rack Case - 6U Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator G-PRO-6U-19 - Portable Rack Case - 6U?

Questions about the Gator G-PRO-6U-19 - Portable Rack Case - 6U?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Norwalk, IA May 12, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur Radio

    Perfect for Ham Radio Go-Box!

    Rugged, convenient, easy to configure, very happy with product!

  • from December 23, 2015

    gator case

    Great Product! Seems very durable and road worthy so glad I went with this case!
    The sweetwater staff are awesome and very helpful!

  • from Easley, SC September 1, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player with Hot As A Pepper party and dance event band!

    It's a rack case!

    I have an existing SKB roto molded case, and wanted one just like it to put a new mixer in, however, SKB doesn't make a 6 space case, and Gator did, so I took a chance and made the purchase.

    The case closes nicely, the feet are spaced perfectly to fit on my SKB and not slide around.

    It seems well made, strong, and should last me a long time. It makes a handy sled in the winter. Nah, just kidding.

  • from New England July 25, 2015Music Background:
    Sampling, Mobile Recording

    Durable, yet Bulky

    This is an excellent case. I've been using it for a few months now and I feel satisfied my gear is well protected. It's solidly built, the latches feel good, and I have a feeling this thing will outlive me, much less my equipment.

    My only regret is not getting a case with wheels. As it is now, I am looking into getting a cart or something to help make carrying the 6U easier, as it is quite wide and, even with only three racks filled, quite heavy... this is of course, my fault, not the manufacturer's, but it makes it very hard to carry around in anything other than a truck or a cart. The 4U would probably have been a better choice for portability, but I figured it would be nice to have the possibility to expand in the future if I need to add more rack-mounted equipment to it, and I'm always on the move to record in all sorts of places, so I need something that can keep it safe whilst doing so.

    Something else to consider as well, is that this model is designed to interlock with the same model, so you could get a 2U and set it on top of a 4U or something, so that each one is fairly lightweight to carry, but you can bring the same amount of equipment as if you got a 6U: it would be a bit more expensive, but it might save your back (just remember to get slightly longer patch cables). If you plan on flying with your gear, or throwing (well, hopefully more like "setting") your gear in the back of a van after sessions under a pile of other gear and need something that will keep it safe against being crushed, crunched, or dented, this is a top pick!

  • from Tampa, FL January 29, 2015Music Background:
    recording engineer, Pro musician, hobbyist

    Gator G pro 6 u 19portable rack case

    this case should be minimum for the amount of gear that you have or are planning to get

  • from CA December 31, 2014Music Background:
    50 years of playing & recording music

    Gator G-PRO-6U

    I have owned two SKB racks for many years. This Gator is an excellent rack and I expect to get many years of use from it. I sat on it during a recent jam session and it held up well. The hinges seal the lids tight. Thanks for a great price and an excellent case.

  • from Independence, MO October 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great value

    Great price with heavy weight once case is loaded.

  • from San Antonio, TX October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Ham Radio Operator

    Great case for my Ham Radio go box setup

    This is a a great case for my Ham Radio go box setup. Very sturdy and strong and with help from Evan and the guys/gals at Sweetwater I was able to customize the case within with the Furman power conditioner, shelf trays, and other items to complete my portable ham radio setup .

  • from Richmond txt September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Musician recording engineer

    Great case

    Well made but light weight enough that even after filling it up with equipment it was manageable when carriying
    The only problem was getting top and bottom screws in when using insulation tabs The tabs center the screw so there is no "play " so if the rack screw holes are not exact you can only get one screw in per side. And not all 4

  • from Kingston, ON April 10, 2014

    Ham Radio Go Box

    Assembled my HF and VHF transceivers as well as two TNC's a TNC-X and PTC IIex along with a SEC 1235 power supply and rig runner into the Gator 6U. The addition of the Furman M-8Lx finished off the equipment.
    The trays worked very well and even had room for a laptop under the lower tray.
    The real kicker here was when I took it to be part of a training session with the local ham club here. 4 members of the club were "blown away" with the system and are now in the ordering process with Sweetwater. Maybe not the 6U but 4U and others.
    The system will make the transport and use very easy during our RV travels this summer. The expensive electronics are very well protected and the set-up time is not an issue any more.
    Thanks again and watch for more orders from here.
    Les/VE3KFS/CIW650

  • from chester, Ca usa January 30, 2014Music Background:
    overall audio engineer

    pertty good

    The only problem is no back rails included, i dont have the time to order them separately for 40$ and thats a rip off. I kind of need the back rack rails for fans and cabling, blank spacers, holders.....the best part about a rack is the ability to organize the back and have it easily workable....i cant even do it now lol....i like everything else, its clean, durable and water sealed, and always buy the good rack screws it holds your stuff on the front way better, the gear i put in it cant move around or shake/wobble and the only way with a deep casket like this is the tight threaded fastening style screws to secure all of them.....

  • from Idaho October 31, 2013

    Amateur Radio Go Box

    Great case for setting and protecting expensive radio equipment. Very adaptable to any radio configuration while allowing front and rear access to plugins and power supplies. The 6U easily handles three racks of equipment without crowding.

  • from Renton, WA. January 24, 2013

    Rack Case

    I purchased the Gator Case G-PRO-6U-19 along with the metal shelves to store all my emeregency communications radio gear. The box is built well and rugged. I especially like the front & rear latched covers for easy access.

  • from colorado! September 10, 2012Music Background:
    extra class ham radio operator

    perfect for ham radio use

    awesome! super fast shipping.
    great service. i would not order from anyone else but sweetwater sound.
    i mounted my ham radio station inside this box and it works great.

  • from Redmond, WA USA July 10, 2012Music Background:
    Limited -- using for radio equipment

    Great case for radio go-box

    Using this case to hold radio equipment for an emergency comms go-box. This case is perfect! We were inspired by another radio ham's use for his go box based on his YouTube video. We will buying more.

  • from Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121 March 15, 2012Music Background:
    When I was young, my mother let me play on the Linoleum

    Products and Service

    Sweetwater has been an excellent company to deal with. They really want you to be totally comfortable with your on-line purchase from them. Then they will follow through and make sure you were taken care of with your purchase. A good example of this was when one of the products they sell had a shortage in the shipment. They could have told me to call the other company and take care of it myself. Instead the salesman told me he would take care of that for me. He did follow through with that promise and I received the items shortly after. I will surely recommend Sweetwater to my friends.

  • from WY February 9, 2012Music Background:
    Not applicable. Can not carry a note in a bucket!!

    Used for a Ham Radio Emergency Go-Kit

    Used this case to mount two Ham Radios and the associated equipment for Emcomm use. The size (6U) allows room for two radios,
    power supply, antenna tuner, signalink and a 2U drawer for all other needed supplies.

  • from NC January 11, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur musician, sound and production work.

    Very solid and secure !

    Very solid feel to case. I feel everything in the case is secure and well protected. Just what I needed.

  • from January 2, 2012

    Fantastic Plastic

    Does exactly what it's supposed to without weighing too much. Love the rubber feet on the side; usually carry it with one handle and load it on it's side.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI May 31, 2011Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Solid

    Solid case! No frills or anything, it just protects your gear like you would expect. Great buy, great price!

Questions about the Gator G-PRO-6U-19 - Portable Rack Case - 6U?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway