0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Glyph GPT50 - 2TB Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • from United States July 3, 2013Music Background:
    musician, recording hobbyist

    great upgrade from the gt050q

    faster read speed. Write speed a little faster. smaller and i love the new power button. no accidental power offs.

  • from Princeton, NJ July 3, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer

    Storage To Archive By

    Glyph has been in the forefront of media storage devices, and I have been ordering their drives since the early 2000s when I used a Tascam 2424 with an external drive slot. Back then a 75GB drive for that unit cost $750! Today, with hi-res multi-track files the norm, taking lots of space, the new Glyph units with Firewire connectivity are de rigeur if one intends to hold onto files in an archive, which I do. Reliable, sturdy, and what I have expected from Glyph for over a decade, they're tops.

  • from Frankenmuth, MI June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician & Graphic Designer

    Rugged and Reliable

    I bought this drive as a back up drive, and also as a record drive. I use Pro Tools LE, and record at professional studios that support Pro Tools HD. When transferring a session to be mixed at a separate studio, It only took 7 minutes to transfer 23 GB of raw audio files! This thing is built like a tank and feel very comfortable traveling around with this drive. I still recommend keeping it in some sort of padded bag or case just to be safe since it still is a mechanical hard drive. You can't beat this product's price, storage capacity, speed, and reliability! After seeing this in action, both Engineers at the studio were impressed and said "We've got to get a few of these!"

  • from manheim, pa. March 29, 2013Music Background:
    recording & live sound

    Glyph GPT50 (1TB

    so far i loeve these drives ! i bought 2 so far & i believe glyph is the only external drive i'll buy ! i see they are upgrading them this spring that adds usb 3 & a carry bag.

  • from Missouri February 6, 2013Music Background:
    40+ years in the Music Business

    Glyph are the best external drives for use in the Music Business

    I own four Glyph external HDs for storing and backing up both samples and audio projects (songs). They are simply the most quiet and reliable drives available. Don't forget purchasing them from Sweetwater, with their great customer service and support makes buying and using these drives a "no brainer"!

  • from Memphis, TN January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Profesional Musician

    Word of mouth

    I'd like to think I've done some exhaustive research when it comes to external HDs. In the end, it was the reviewers' praise that nudged me toward getting a Glyph. The warranty and data recovery offered certainly contributed to my decision as well. On top of that Paul Allen, my sales engineer, called me a few weeks after I got the drive just to ask what I thought about it and if it was doing the job. I said to him what I'll say here: "It's fantastic. It's unbelievably quiet. It was worth every penny." Skip the trip to the electronics store. If you're in the market for a pro grade external drive, do yourself a favor and call Paul Allen at Sweetwater and grab this drive. I'm getting another one.

  • from Kinston, NC USA January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer\Musicain

    WHAT A SAFETY NET!!!

    I bought this drive just last month for time machine back-ups on my macbook Pro, hoping to never need it. Well last night I needed it, Mac book with hours of studio work would not boot. Thinking of all the worst that could happen, I had no other choice but to try the Glyph and after a few hours everything was back to normal. If you own a studio, I would recommend this drive. Thank-you, Jason Koons and the sweetwater team for all your support.

  • from New York, NY October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Composer / Producer

    Glyph Rules!

    Excellent drive and built like a TANK! i love the safety of 3 sec shutdown feature.

  • from United States April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, singer, engineer, and producer.

    Awesome Studio Drive!

    Quiet, fast, and a small footprint! So far it's an amazing drive for my studio.

  • from Milwaukee, Wi USA June 21, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Glyph products

    I have 9 of the glyph hard drives acquired over the years and they have provided reliable service. The company has stood by the repair of one of the drives power supply with no data loss and no charge to me.

  • from Oviedo, fl. January 12, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician, Singer, writer, arranger

    Glyph GPT50 (1TB)

    Not too much to write about this one. It already comes with great expectations and it deserves its reputation. Great Glyph as usual.
    You can depend on Glyph to be the best.

  • from Waverly, NY October 16, 2012Music Background:
    church recording/sound engineer

    Glyph 2TB

    The Glyph drives are awesome. This is the fourth one we own, and the first brand we consider when purchasing desktop hard drives. We've never had a problem with these.
    If your older system calls for FireWire 400, you'll want a 400/800 converting cable, not included.

  • from Chicago July 8, 2013

    Great Product

    I've owed the previous generation of glyph drives and the fans started getting too loud from years of use. It became a distraction come mixdown time in the studio so I picked this new glyph drive and this thing is really pretty damn quiet. Def great buy for a quiet professional drive for use in studio. Now I use the older glyph drives for personal tasks at home and its still goin strong, no hard drive issues.

  • from Cerrillos/Madrid/Santa Fe, New Mexico USA April 24, 2012Music Background:
    www.glenneff.com. The Sound Poet's Music

    How does one review a hard drive....by the way it looks?

    As long as it works out of the box.....how else can you review a hard drive? Looks cool,not too noisy,nice blue light......Pray to Budda that it works for many years to come.....I bought two....

  • from utah December 20, 2014Music Background:
    professional musician

    Gpt50

    It doesnt hold up and has poor life. Hardly got to use mine before the drive went loopy and stopped reading. I can see why it isnt available anymore.

Questions about the Glyph GPT50 - 2TB?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway