0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Garritan Personal Orchestra Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from September 30, 2015

    Getting GPO to work in 64 bit Pro Tools 11 & 12

    According to GPO tech support, if you want to use GPO in Pro tools 11 or 12, you will need to download a free stand alone player from Plogue called Sforzando because the Aria player that comes with GPO is not currently AAX compatible but Sforzando is 64 bit AAX compatible. Then in the Sforzando player, where you see the words "File: Empty" click and you will see "GPO" listed. Click on that to load the various GPO instruments. You cannot do multiples, though. I followed their tech support instructions and it works fine because Pro Tools recognizes Sforzando as a plug in and Sforzando can load your GPO library. The GPO library has great instruments for the price!

  • from September 15, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Amazing

    When I purchased GPO to replace some very old sound modules, I figured I'd be happy with the improvements, but little did I realize that I'd be replacing thousands of dollars worth of gear with software that was a fraction of the cost, and be thrilled with the results. Combine this with a keyboard with assignable faders and you're set to go. I'm completely amazed by GPO, and I'm kicking myself for waiting this long to purchase! Definitely a great bang for the buck!

  • from Philadelphia PA August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, engineer

    Very good at it's price point

    I needed a comprehensive, good sounding orchestral pack fast. For the price point, this was perfect. Some sounds are a bit thin, mostly mid/upper viola range, but more than made up for by the sweet solo cellos. Flutes a bit airy, but the timps and pizz basses are spot on.

    For demo work, orchestral backings of popular styles of music, this is a value.

  • from Council Bluffs, Iowa USA July 21, 2014Music Background:
    I have been working in music and conducting for 40+ years.

    Garritan Personal Orchestra is "Great"

    I gave Garritan Personal Orchestra 5 stars even though it did not come with any paper documentation. The sounds are clean and has taken my orchestrations up to a professional level and beyond. The only instrument that could be a little better is the Harpsichord 8+4 the "+4" is not equal to the 8' voice in volume. I saw in the documentation that a Rinky-Tink piano was available but you have to make it using the Duo Steinway pianos. It is very easy to use and well laid out except the dark background (Update required) , I have some trouble seeing. To complement this software, I would have liked to see a nice classical guitar and banjo in there as well as a Rhodes and a Wurlitzer electric pianos, these would round out the orchestral sounds.

  • from Missoula, Montana February 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Garritan Personal Orchestra

    Overall, very nice. The piano samples are wonderful.

  • from United States April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Student,Performer, Amateur Producer/Engineer.

    Bang for my buck

    I was looking for a string library that wasn't overly produced that I could customize and play with to my specifications, GPO is perfect for that. Also I write rock music with orchestral influences so for the price the variety of instruments you get I haven't found any other deals like this for the price range. Overall an excellent product I have been bragging about it to all of my friends Musicians or not. Bottom line if you want a wide library that can be tweeked to your hearts content look no further.

  • from Canton, Ohio February 5, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, guitarist.

    Very good for the buck

    The sounds are quite good for what I payed and this product was well worth the money; however, the string sounds are mildly lanky and lack the attack that a real player can execute.

  • from south portland, ME October 22, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer/producer, pro musician

    Excellent Sounds - Tiny Price

    I am very happy with this purchase. I have never used any of the "Super Large (with a price to match)" Symphonic Libraries so I can't compare them with this, all I can say is that the sounds here are very warm and very big and very real sounding. Many articulations are available and it seems that all Orchestral bases are covered. The Aria player is surprisingly easy on resources and pretty simple and flexible to work with. I deducted 1/2 a star because the "Ambience" reverb program doesn't sound that good to me (altho it's not that big a deal) and using all the articulations requires the use of many keyboard controllers - like the mod wheel, keyswitches, sustain pedal, etc, and is not that easy for a hacker like me to learn (I'm a drummer).
    I wholeheartedly recommend this library to anyone who is looking for excellent orchestral sounds on a budget - just like the ad says.
    Also, I wanted to say that registering and authorizing is very slick and quick, unlike most other programs I have, and doesn't penalize you if your music PC is not connected to the Internet. And the Garritan website is great with lots of resources available. I think that about covers it.

  • from Leavenworth, KS October 12, 2010Music Background:
    Very serious Hobbyist, student, etc

    A super choice

    Being that I was looking for Orchestra sounds that where affordable this is a super package. I had basically wasted $ on other packages that I thought where giving me more for my $. No disappointment with this package what so ever. The Area Player is easy to use, the interface is easy to use and the Garritan web site offers A++ support even giving you a online Orchestration course (free to anyone whether you buy or not). The only thing missing is Saxaphones (not usually found in orchestras) and an euephonium (also not found in orchestras). Both of these instruments are found in other Garritan products which I am sure it add in the future

Questions about the Garritan Personal Orchestra?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway