0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Gator ATA Molded PE Guitar Case - w/TSA latches for Double-cutaway Electric Guitars Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
  • from Ocean Springs, MS July 10, 2014Music Background:
    home hobbyist

    GPEElec Gator ATA case

    Thanks to Andy Rice for this recommendation. It fits my 6th Anniversary Tele with a slight gap allowing the guitar to slide up & down about an inch but I use that area for my towel so there is no movement in the case at all.
    Cant beat the price!
    FYI, it will not fit a Jaguar. I have one that I bought with a case from Andy, but I had to try, just to see if it would fit.

  • from April 15, 2014

    Gator GPE-Elecric case

    Ordered the case not expecting anything special. When the case arrived, wow, nice hard case, nicely padded, really scored!

  • from N. Canton Ohio March 26, 2014Music Background:
    bedroom blaster

    Great case .

    My Charvel Desolation Soloist did not come with a case so I started checking the guitar case reviews on Sweetwaters website . Sure enough someone else had purchased this same guitar and said this case fits like a glove which it does . Built tough and balanced well . My sales rep Keith was very helpful and I was shocked how quickly my order arrived . I am definitely shopping from Sweetwater again .

  • from Richmond, Indiana November 16, 2013Music Background:
    Played in a band for 21 years. have played solo the last 13 years

    Great Protection

    I bought the Gator GPE-Electric-TSA case for my JTV69S guitar and it is a perfect fit. The case is very well made with sturdy smoothe-operating latches, and the compartments are large enough to hold my strap, and other accessories. The plush lining is nice and the handle is very comfortable on the hand.

  • from Chanhassen, MN USA February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist rock musician

    Great case

    This was a much better case than I expected it to be, I would like to replace my other hardshell cases with this type. It is really nice and offers great protection; high-quality build! I would highly recommend this case.

  • from Southwest FL March 29, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    GREAT case. Rock solid.

    Really nice cases - I bought two of them. Fits my custom-made guitar like a GLOVE. (It's a slightly stretched strat-style body, much like some of the Ibanez or Charvel or Jackson strats)

    Also fits my Godin xtSA too, albeit a touch snugly.

    Great professional grade cases. I'll buy these again, if I ever need cases again!

  • from Flat Rock, MI USA July 8, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician, Worship Leader

    Best Case Ever

    This case is amazing! I didn't try it out on my PRS SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary Electric Guitar in Royal Blue which I purchased from Sweetwater. It shipped on a Tuesday in the afternoon and the next afternoon it was here!! Blown away not only by the case but by Sweetwater and how fast the shipping was!! Anyways when I put my PRS in the case it fit perfectly!!! Any smaller and it would've been too small. There's also plenty of room for accessories like capo, cleaning cloth, strings, string winder, and tuner!!

  • from Flat Rock, MI USA July 7, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician, Worship Leader

    Best Case Ever

    This case is amazing! I didn't try it out on my PRS SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary Electric Guitar in Royal Blue which I purchased from Sweetwater. It shipped on a Tuesday in the afternoon and the next afternoon it was here!! Blown away not only by the case but by Sweetwater and how fast the shipping was!! Anyways when I put my PRS in the case it fit perfectly!!! Any smaller and it would've been too small. There's also plenty of room for accessories like capo, cleaning cloth, strings, string winder, and tuner!!

  • from El Prado, NM August 20, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Long enough!

    I originally bought this case for an Ibanez Iron Label 7 string ... and it turned out to be just a tad short for the length of the headstock, so wound up buying an Ibanez case for that guitar. I'd also recently bought a Jericho long-scale baritone guitar (an awesome guitar!) and needed a case for it. Wouldn't ya know the Gator GPE-E is a perfect fit for the Jericho! You couldn't design a nicer fitting case. Snug, exactly the right length, and nice padded bins for carrying all your stuff. Excellent value case!

  • from Grand Prairie October 10, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Really Nice Case

    First of all, thanks to Nate Edwards & all at Sweetwater for taking such good care of me & my orders. These people know how to take care of their customers! Customer service the way it should be.
    The case itself is very sturdy. The handle is very comfortable & the latches are very solid. Nothing flimsy here. A perfect fit for my Ibanez S970W(beautiful!). A good looking case that is well built & will protect your prized possession.

  • from Long Island, NY January 9, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Songwriter

    Great Case for PRS SE

    I ordered this case form Sweetwter with my PRS SE Cusotm 24 electric guitar. The is truly a great case, well designed and built, like other Gator cases for my synth & other gear. When I find a great brand I to stick with it - I stay loyal to a company or manufacturer that meets my needs - hence, my purchasing another Gator case from Sweetwater.

    The PRS SE fits perfectly in this case, as if Gator custom designed it for PRS. I love the molded ergonomic handle and the perfect balance point when loaded with with the PRS SE. The latches are fine and there is plenty of interior storage. The fretboard support is amzing. My half star deduction is that I find the case a little difficult to open (which may be due to one of my neurological disabilities).

    Oh, and it looks great as well; in fact I have received a number of compliments on the case itself. Brad, my longtime sales engineer, once again helped me choose the right equipment to meet my needs and budget. I highly recomment this case and Sweewater.

  • from Houston, Humid, TX April 6, 2009Music Background:
    Expert

    Great Case

    Rick from Diego- The previous rating. I did not understand your concern about the "Latches" not being resessed. However, I except and respect your opinion; however, I find the latches to be of no issue. Great case as others have reviewed for the $$...
    Worth the money!!

  • from Ashville, Alabama January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Used to play for pay, now play for fun..be jammn !

    Every aspect of this purchase was great !

    The customer service was exemplar.y, the product was great just as advertised and delivery was prompt. What more can I say ! Thanks !! Don M Sharp

  • from Knoxville, TN June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Long-term musical life

    Good case

    I still have not seen the actual case, but Danny Ransom, who is building a guitar that fits in the case, says that it is a good case. From several interactions with Danny, I'll concur with his assessment: "pretty good case, it looks like." Also, if someone wants to have guitars built that are not standard, Danny is the man.

  • from Volney NY August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Musician (Guitar, Keys, Vocals, Percussion, Blues Harp)

    Great Case for the money

    Purchased a Charvel Desolation DX-1 FR which did not have a factory case available. This Gator model was for most electric guitars and fit mine almost as if it were designed specifically for it. Well balanced to carry to gigs, two open side compartments for strap and accessories. Shell is very sturdy. Highly recommend.

  • from Taos, NM April 23, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great case for my Strat

    Super sturdy, with TSA locks (nice if you fly with your guitar!). Two open "compartments" inside for stuff. I put compartments in quotes because they are essentially open trays, no lids. The case lid is formed in such a way as to secure stuff in the trays so it doesn't shift into the main guitar compartment when the case lid is closed. If the compartments had lids, I'd give this case 5 stars.

  • from San Diego July 16, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician 40yrs

    Gator ATA case

    A good case for occasional airline use. Plenty strong and has a place for the now necessary security lock so you can lock it to anyone but security people. Only negative is that latches are not fully recessed;can't imagine why since that is pretty much the whole point of this type of latch. Overall a screaming deal $wise, fits a Strat perfectly.

  • from Huntington, WV July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician for 50 years, recording engineer for 20.

    It has it's ups and it's downs.

    My 3.5 stars is based on knowing that "fits most guitars" might be a little optimistic. I bought it for an Epi Nighthawk. I can get the guitar into the case, but, it is a forced fit. I could not force a Special II nor a Paul into the case. They are all too wide in the body. It held a Tele, a Strat and an Squier 51 with ease. I ended up getting a case specifically made for a Les Paul. Kept the case in question for a lefty Strat. I like the extra carrying capacity of this case and the fact that is has a TSA lock. Latches are a little hard to operate. Lid rocks a little bit.

  • from Seattle, WA November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A very solid case... Ok latches

    I found the case to be durable and the latches for the TSA models to have a sturdy fit. The only thing I wish they had designed better was the latches in that you can see if they are actually open. On this model, unlike other TSA models, the latch pops open but does not show any sign of opening. This can be deceiving because you can drop the guitar out of the case because it looked like the latches were closed. My Ibanez RG guitar fits snuggly in the case while having room for extras such as hardware, picks, etc.

  • from Dothan, AL August 28, 2013Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist

    Decent product

    Seems to be a pretty good product. We'll see how it holds up to travel and use over time. Exterior materiel seems a little less than high quality but thus far a good price for the product.

  • from PA September 16, 2014

    gator case

    This case is solid. I ordered it for a LTD JH 600, but the fit is not that great. there is room between the body and sides of case which allows the guitar to move side to side about an inch, Also the head hits the bottom of the case before the back of the neck hits its intended support, so it seems like the neck is bending. I should return it but won't(restocking and or shipping fees). I added a couple pieces of soft foam to resolve the issue even though i should not have had to.

Questions about the Gator ATA Molded PE Guitar Case - w/TSA latches for Double-cutaway Electric Guitars?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway