0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Gator ATA Molded PE Guitar Case - w/TSA latches for Acoustic Dreadnought Guitars Reviews

4.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • David
    from Virginia October 16, 2015

    Gator TSA Case

    This is a great case, you won't have to worry about your guitar getting damage.I don't think I will ever fly with this case, but knowing if someone happen to knock it over with guitar in it case will protect it.

  • Bruce Stewart
    from Marshall, AR USA February 3, 2015Music Background:
    We play in church and twice a month at the local nursing home, and occasional jams with groups of friends.

    Gator dreadnought case

    I was searching for a quality case for my wife's guitar. She was tired of the old heavy wood case she was using, but wanted something that would also protect her guitar. Wow, I hit it out of the park with this one! Great case for the money, no doubt about it. Latches solid and is way lighter than what she had, and offers better protection! And she loves that it will stand on its end without having to be leaned up against something. Very stable.

  • Scott Nienhaus
    from Alton, Illinois USA August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    So far, so good!

    First of all, I like the indentation on the side for the electronics. The guitar fits perfectly snug. Very comfortable to carry, I haven't flown with it yet, domestic or international, but I'm confident it will do just fine.

  • Delbert Walling
    from Coldwater, Michigan 49036 February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Started playing guitar at 7. Been performing in a variety of groups since I was 13. Graduated from G.I.T. in 1979. Did studio work from 1984 till 1992 for radio, television, corpoarate convention sound tracks and for songwriters. Been teaching guitar 5 da

    A Great case!

    I ordered one of these cases a few months ago from Sweetwater for my Seagull Solid Wood Mini Jumbo acoustic electric guitar. This is a great case and safe for traveling the world. It is just a tad wide for my Mini Jumbo at the lower bought so I cut a nice piece of super soft cotton material to place in the case and this makes the case a perfect fit for my guitar! I really like this case, it's inside compartment, the handle, the extreme protection for my guitar and how it balances in my hand while carrying my guitar. I rate it a 4 and 1/2 due to the metal around the case sometimes takes an extra moment to get it to line up properly for the latches to close. I am not hard on my gear and have learned throughout life that patients is a good thing. For the protection this case offers, it is a good deal. Sweetwater is the best! I have purchased other pieces of gear from them and I send all my weekly students and friends to them for their gear year around. Thank you Sweetwater!!!

  • Rodney Moore
    from NOLANVILLE, TX October 18, 2014Music Background:
    lots but I like to think the best is still in the foreground ... btw ... beware getting on a lyric writers bad side ... just sayin

    Gator ATA Molded PE Guitar Case

    It is as expected but with one small disappointment in that neither of my Martin 12 strings will fit when I am used to using my Martin factory cases interchangeably. I will order another at my convenience that will fit them, while the D-28 rides snugly. Shipping was also as expected though when my wife saw it on the porch she said ... OH NO! NOT ANOTHER GUITAR!

  • Rick Nulton
    from Hoisington, Kansas December 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    Gator DPE-Dread Accoustic guitar case

    As good if not better than I expected. Great followup by your sales team. SWEETWATER really is different than other music supply companies!

  • Customer
    from UK November 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    CASE CLOSED...HAPPY CUSTOMER

    After purchasing the exact same case 4 years ago, I can see the differences straight away regarding the new style. Goodbye metal edges and pins and hello black moulded hard plastic...apparently indestructible. After checking my guitar onto a recent international flight in previous case, I was boasting about the strength and durability of these great cases...picked it up and it fell to the floor...handle broken due to pins dislodged! It was brilliant comic timing but very worrying! As soon as I reached my destination I bought the new style..more fitting on the inside, no pins and I like the locks...so a good purchase..

  • D.Jennings
    from las vegas,nv November 27, 2011Music Background:
    student

    good case

    For the price its a very good case,make sure when you close that the halves are aligned and seated to get latches closed,would have but given it 5 stars but i,am leary of the hinges.

  • Steve Riley
    from July 26, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    It worked

    It did what it was supposed to do. It kept my guitar safe on an international flight. That's really what matters. However, it is not the easiest case to close. It takes a few tries to get the latches lined up to close. I would recommend it for the price.

  • Pete
    from northern Michigan March 31, 2016Music Background:
    singer/songwriter/producer/multi-instrumentalist

    Latches are problematic

    I'd read reviews on this case before I purchased, and now wish I'd paid attention to the comments on the latches. Just as I'd read, I had problems with one of the latches within 2 months of purchasing the case. I'm happy with everything else about it (the handle is very comfortable if you're carrying the case for any distance), but the latch design needs to be improved.

  • Peter Stroud
    from Atlanta, GA April 14, 2013

    Great value for the price

    When it comes to air travel, I've come to regard all guitar cases disposable with a very limited lifespan. Even shied away from the hi-dollar carbon cases, since the latches appear flimsy and they're what take the biggest beating.

    I'd give this case a higher rating, but these latches tend to pop open easily. Still finding need to gaffer tape before flying. My case does not close perfectly tight around the headstock.

    Nevertheless, this Gator Case w TSA latches has served well on the half dozen or so flights so far as checked baggage. It's taking a beating for sure and showing signs of it, but the guitar has been fully protected. Therefore I consider it a great value. Nothing else I've found compares in it's price range. If it ends up trashed after a year of heavy travel, I'll have no problem buying another.

  • Mark Bisson
    from CT April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Part time band player; recording; 3 albums

    Lock was NG

    The first one I ordered came in with a lock that would not turn. The second one had the same problem, but I kept it and fixed it myself rather than go through the return/order process again.

  • Wendell
    from Washington, DC October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Worship Leader, Recording Engineer

    Failing after a year of use

    After a little over a year of use, the bottom latch broke. I got in touch with Gator and they sent me a replacement latch. It took me an hour to replace it (I'm not that handy), but I thought, "Ok, so at least it's fixed." 9 months later, ANOTHER latch breaks. As well, the soft rubber on the handle has started to leave a sticky residue on my hands. Although I appreciate Gator's responsiveness to my warranty requests, I'm not a fan of this case and will probably replace it soon. I do not recommend.

Questions about the Gator ATA Molded PE Guitar Case - w/TSA latches for Acoustic Dreadnought Guitars?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway