0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Martin GPCPA5K - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Newport, Arkansas June 12, 2017

    Martin GPCPA5K

    This is a great guitar, right out of the box, sounds and feels great, stays in tune better than any of my other 8 guitars. Sweetwater made it easy to get, and pay for.

  • from April 4, 2016

    Value for money

    Beautiful feel and easy on the fingers. Great sound.

  • from March 28, 2016

    Amazing guitar!!!...

    Customer service was fabulous! The best price in the country! An absolutely incredible guitar! I consider myself an advanced beginner/intermediate player, and I honestly can't imagine a better sounding instrument than my GPCPA5K!!!...

  • from Carbondale, IL January 7, 2016

    Very Happy

    Bottom Line – I’ve only had this for a month but have 2 strong impressions: I like this better every time I play it, and it sounds better played with a lighter touch.

    Details – I wanted this type of guitar (solid top, rest of the materials strong) so that I could focus on playing it, not worrying about it. I keep it on its stand a lot, but will put it in the case with humidipaks when I’m away or when the humidity changes outside. Seems to work. I wanted a cheaper guitar that would impress me, rather than an expensive guitar that didn’t live up to my desire for it to be perfect. This guitar so far seems to fit that goal. Personally, it is a challenge to fight against wanting a more expensive, and let’s be honest, more attractive guitar. But the sound and playability are both pleasing. The sound seems better each time I play. (I’m probably leaning towards the Martin SP strings vs Lifespan, but doesn’t seem to be a big difference.)

    I see that some reviews notice the same thing I do on this guitar; it sounds very ‘Martin’ with a light – medium touch. (VERY ‘Martin.’ Surprisingly good to me.) With a heavier hand, the sound quality diminishes. I’ve done bluegrass picking & strumming that are not soft, and it handles it just fine. So, I do NOT feel limited. But if you really like to bang or dig-in, I don’t think this is your preference. Sweetwater has been terrific on a couple purchases. My transactions have been simple, but I still appreciate their personal touch.

    Caveat – this guitar is still very new. I fully expect it to keep getting better in sound. Honestly, I like it now better than I did a couple weeks ago. For what it is, I am very pleased. That is not a negative comment, just an acknowledgement that it fits my goal very well. It is an inexpensive guitar that sounds better than I expected and I don’t want to spend double or triple the money for a small sound gain and better eye candy. This does what I want very well.

  • from Phoenix November 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby player

    Very Nice

    This guitar is awesome, well made, tone is great, what else can I say. I play mostly thru amplification.

    On a side note, the strap came off and it hit the hard ground,(tile), not a ding, my electrics get dinged way easier.

  • from April 22, 2015

    Better Than I Expected!

    You can't beat this for the price! This guitar sounds great plugged into a 60W Fishman LoudBox amp. The neck on this guitar is solid and it looks/feels amazing! The Koa HPL also looks/feels amazing! It's so easy to play chords/finger style and the guitar has that wonderful Martin tone. It sounds great in DADGAD tuning as well. The spruce top feels good underneath my forearm and the guitar is very comfortable to play sitting down or standing up using a guitar strap. The weight is just right...not too heavy or too light.

    I also own a Martin HD-28 and a Martin SWOMGT. I'm proud to add this to guitar to my Martin collection.

  • from MI USA August 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Teacher, and Student

    Best affordable guitar

    Looks great, sounds great, easy to play, and feels really nice in the hand defiantly recommend this guitar

  • from Fowlerville, MI USA February 17, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Excellent Tone for an inexpensive guitar

    Great tone easy to play , much better than expected for an entry level Martin. And I can't praise Sweetwater enough beyond fantastic service.

  • from lynchburg va usa February 7, 2013Music Background:
    i just play lol

    Amazing sound

    This guitar sounds amazing, plus for the price of it you cant beat it , very easy to play . I highly recomend this guitar !! Good job Martin !!

  • from Rock Hill, SC May 13, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Nice mellow sound

    I was looking for a guitar to work alongside my Carvin Cobalt 850 Acoustic which is fairly bright in tone. The GPCPA5K does exactly that. It is very mellow and warm...almost dark-sounding. Fantastic. The 4.5 rating is only because the action was EXTREMELY high out of the box.

    The GPCPA5K is lightweight but sturdy-feeling. The Stratabond neck feels solid and is smooth as silk.

    Overall, a wonderful instrument and exactly what I was looking for.

Reviews

  • Mitch Gallagher
    7-12-2012

    Want the classic good looks, smooth playability, and powerful tones of a Martin steel-string acoustic, at an affordable price? Look no further than these two new models from the venerable Pennsylvania guitar maker! The GPCPA4 Siris and the GPCPA5K are two new members of the company's Performing Artist family of acoustic guitars. Martin sent me one of each to check out, just in time for me to take them into an acoustic-guitar-based studio session I was working on.

    The GPCPA4 Siris features a cutaway Grand Performance body shape, with a solid spruce top; scalloped hybrid X-bracing; and siris sides and back, with a center wedge of East Indian rosewood in the back for extra tone. The neck is hardwood, with a Richlite fingerboard. The guitar delivers all the tone you'd expect from a Martin acoustic. It's powerful and punchy yet clear and articulate, with excellent sustain no matter where you play on the neck. It held up extremely well under a variety of alternate tunings, even with the low E string dropped as low as A.

    The GPCPA5K is also a cutaway Grand Performance shape, with a solid spruce top. But this model features an environmentally friendly HPL (high-pressure laminate) back and sides, with a beautiful koa wood pattern and an amazing-looking brown Stratabond neck with a Richlite fingerboard. With its thick midrange thrust, this guitar proved excellent for lead and melody lines -- the sustain was unbelievable! The GPCPA5K also worked well for both fingerpicked and strummed chords, with good note definition and a full sound.

    Both guitars feature Martin's fast-playing Performing Artist neck shape as well as Fishman F1 analog electronics -- a natural-sounding pickup/preamp system that works well both in the studio and live onstage. Hardshell cases are included.

    If you're in the market for a high-quality but affordable steel-string, look no further! The GPCPA4 Siris and GPCPA5K offer Martin construction, playability, and tone, at two nicely comfortable price points. Whether as your primary guitar, a stage guitar, or a backup to a higher-dollar acoustic, these instruments shine in every situation!

Questions about the Martin GPCPA5K - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway