0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Martin Performing Artist GPCPA4 - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin Performing Artist GPCPA4 - Natural?

Questions about the Martin Performing Artist GPCPA4 - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Saint Martinville, LA March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyiest

    REALLY AWESOME GUITAR!

    This guitar really is so easy to play and the sounds is so clear and beautiful!. The fit and finish on this instrument is prefect , Every note plays clean with no buzz and once you pick it up you never want to put it down, Sweetwater couldn't have been more helpful! really a pleasure doing business with.

  • from United States June 14, 2014Music Background:
    garage band drummer and now guitarist

    Awesome Martin GPCPA4 guitar

    It was a pleasure doing business with Sweetwater. The 55 point inspection was why I chose you. Other stores would have charged for that and you never would know who handeled the guitar before I did.
    Thanks to Chris Lewis for helping me with choosing the right weight.
    I also bought the Fishman Loudbox Mini which came with a mic ,boom stand and mic cord. a sweet (water) deal. I wrote a couple of songs on it already. Thanks again

  • from Mullica Hill, NJ January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Guitar

    Always wanted a Martin and decided to play a few acoustic-electric models from Taylor and Martin. Came across this baby and after playing it for awhile I knew I needed to have it. Tone is great, feel is smooth and it provides me with the capabilities I was looking for. I do a lot of finger style as well as blues and this guitar handles both. Extremely happy!

  • from Kentwood,La March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Music Director,Hobbist

    Martin rocks!

    Bought new from Andy Miller at sweet water,great guitar,great service.

  • from largo fl March 10, 2013Music Background:
    played live country music ,for 13 years !!!

    perfect

    been playing an alvarez acoustic now for the last 22 years, i felt it was time for some thing new , bright and exciting.the first guitar i picked up was the martin performing artist series,and that was it, that,s all it took, it was light weight,well balanced,with a bright crisp tone it was exactly what i was looking for !!! i instantly fell in love!! needless to say, she came home with me !!! thank you martin !!!.

  • from January 19, 2013

    Fantasticq

    I am a little biased...I have been playing a fender DG11 the past 10 years...about a $120 guitar I got when I was 10 (always been a big electric player)...so this guitar was obviously an upgrade for me.

    BUT I do have to say that compared with the other high end guitars I have played, this guitar is amazing. It is extremely comfortable, looks great, sounds AMAZING and plays fast. It even smells amazing. Martin includes all the little fun stuff as well like a maintenance booklet and whatnot, and the included case is great!

    Sweetwater, as usual, did an awesome job setting up the guitar and getting it sent out as soon as possible. I havent had a chance to play it live yet, but after owning it for about 3 weeks I can say that it is an unbelievable deal. I love it...

  • from United States November 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Worship Leader

    Great Guitar!

    It plays and sounds like a Taylor. I have played many Taylors and Martins before and this is definitely one of the best in terms of sound and playability. The action is just right and the sound is bright. My friends came over to my place and wouldn't let it down!

  • from erie pa September 17, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    awsome guitar

    i own a gibson acoustic that i love to play, but when i played this martin i was blown away with its rich tones, had to have it, i also played some of the more expensive martin guitars and felt that this guitar sounded just as good at a better price.

  • from Lakewood, Ohio August 24, 2012Music Background:
    Working pro for 40 years

    What a wonderful guitar

    This guitar plays like butter and sounds beautiful!. The fit and finish on this instrument is flawless. As far as the set-up goes the action is perfect for me, right in the middle between high and low, Every note sings pure with no buzz.The pitch of this guitar is spot on.Mark and Dustin from Sweetwater couldn't have been more helpful and I received the guitar in one day! I love this ax!!!

  • from Homer, Alaska January 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro and amateur since '63

    The perfect instrument

    After 49 years of playing mostly electrics I finally decided to treat myself to a Martin acoustic electric. I couldn't bring myself to pay thousands for a guitar because I've played the high dollar models and they frankly don't sound any better than many of the less expensive ones. Not only was this guitar affordable, but my GPCPA4 exceeded even my wildest expectations in both craftsmanship and electronics. I plug it into any type of amplification and it sounds magical by just tweeking the one tone/phase control knob. My highest respects to Martin for maintaining such a high level for nearly 180 years. One note: the strings that came on the guitar sounded great but were a little too heavy for my style of playing so I dropped down to an .011 set and it plays like a dream.

  • from Rural Colorado, USA November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Performing musician

    Excellent Performer

    This is my first professional-grade acoustic, so I can't really compare it to others on the basis of extended usage, but I couldn't be happier with it.

    Fit, finish, and playability are excellent, the tone is full and chimes from top to bottom, and the Fishman through a P/A has to be heard to be believed. The Richlite finger board plays like ebony, and looks like it from any more than a few inches away.

    A fine instrument at what I consider a very fair price.

  • from Tucson March 13, 2014Music Background:
    I play, what more can I say.

    New strings made it sing

    I sold a 510ce Taylor Koa wood guitar. Don't know why, i did love that guitar. I bought this martin expecting it to sound as nice. I went against all I preach and didn't play it first. Got it home and was disappointed. I just didn't have that deep rich tone I was expecting. But the story didn't end. See I wasn't being fair, I think this martin came with light or at most martin medium/light strings. I just replaced them with martin medium strings and my tone is back. I am happy. Sound very good. It's not as flashy as my older Taylor. It's simple.. Beautifully simple, and does sound sweet. Can't say it sounds better than the Taylor but it does sound good, it's all about tone and feel.

  • from Hawaii October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Great Sound!

    Just to add on to my last review, the electronics are great, but the preamp, not so much. It has a tuner and volume control, but for tone, the only control you get is over the mid. It allows for mid scoop, but nothing more. If you do plan to get this guitar, I would recommend getting a LR Baggs Para Acoustic DI, so you can shape the sound better. That's all. Otherwise, it's a great guitar.

  • from Hawaii October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Great Sound!

    The only reason I gave this guitar a 4.5, is because I wasn't exactly blown away. Don't think that I'm trying to downgrade this guitar, because I'm not. I was just not blown away by the sound. The guitar is pretty awesome though. It's very comfortable, easy to play, it has a great sound, very beautiful, made of high quality material, yet made simple, and it looks very traditional. It is a wonderful guitar for a wonderful price. Although the fretboard isn't made of wood, it is made of a material that is very durable, and almost impossible to break. It is very solid, and makes the guitar sound very nice. Sapele, is, in my eyes, a bit different from just your everyday Mahogany. It is a lot more crisp than Mahogany, yet still has a greatly warm tone for fingerpicking and light strumming. This is such a great deal. Good luck and have fun with your new guitar!

  • from Sebring, fl February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Music student. Worship leader.

    Awesome guitar!

    Great guitar solid mids really has a punch ( I was surprised) , I heard it had a poor dry sound, but the more I played it the better it seemed to sound. The end result is this is a nice guitar nice per amp can't go wrong with a buy.

  • from NC September 4, 2016Music Background:
    30 years playing guitar

    My Martin GPCPA4

    First of all, I waited a long time for a Martin guitar. My wife bought this guitar for me in celebration of my retirement (33 years with a major ultility in the South East). The guitar arrived by Fedex in good condition. Once I opened the case, I heard something loose in the guitar body, and saw a wire that was not attached. After contacting Sweetwater, they sent me some clips to attach wire properly; not too much a big deal, but I should not had this happen with this price guitar. The guitar sounds really good plugged in (also purchased a Fishman Loudbox Mini), but unless you use a think pick, unplugged it's a little weak. Also the action is a little high; I will play it a while before addressing this ( more expense on a pricy guitar). I would go somewhere and play this model, and compare it with others before purchasing.

  • from Sebring, Florida USA March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Worship leader, solo performer

    If your on a budget. can't go wrong

    This is a real solid guitar overall, Nice Martin tone, and really nice design. The problem I had with this guitar was the dry acoustic sound of it, It really left me wanting more. Don't get me wrong I'm not saying it sounds bad, it could just use a little more something, specifically on the high end. Plugged in, It does it's job and sounds great. I returned this guitar and started looking int Taylor the 3xx and 4xx specifically. I really fell in love with the Taylor sound and went with the 414ce. In my opinion if you have a Budget over $1500 go for the 314ce over this, but if your looking to spend under $1500 this will be your best option no doubt. At the end of the day this is a great guitar that you won't regret buying.

  • from north Carolina July 8, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Disappointment of set up

    Although I'm very pleased with the awesome guitar that Martin has made, I'm displeased from the setup that the Q.C. Department at Sweetwater did on the guitar. I was hoping that the intonation (not in tune)& action (string height too high on higher frets) would be correct after the amount that I payed but instead I'll need to go spend $40 more at my local music store to make sure it is perfect. Delivery & Billing was handled very well.

Questions about the Martin Performing Artist GPCPA4 - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close