0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Takamine GN93CE NEX - NEX Body with Cutaway Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Takamine GN93CE NEX - NEX Body with Cutaway Natural?

Questions about the Takamine GN93CE NEX - NEX Body with Cutaway Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Ohio December 4, 2016

    Love my Takamine!

    I absolutely love my new Takamine! The finish is absolutely gorgeous and I love the overall shape of the guitar body! The action is also a big improvement compared to my previous guitar. I haven't plugged my guitar in much yet, but I really love the acoustic sound.

    I would rate the Sweetwater service at 5 stars! The staff is amazing, and our sales associate worked with us on price on everything!

  • from Pennsylvania March 4, 2016

    Excellent Quality & Customer Service

    Thank you Matt! I love the Takemine GN93CE Guitar! Excellent Quality & Service! I Would Definitely Buy Again!

  • from Shelburne,VT December 27, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend guitar hero

    A Guitar way above its price class

    I was looking to get the next level Taylor as I needed the cutaway for the Gypsy Jazz music I've been learning but found the cost too prohibitive. I found this guitar on the Sweetwater site and bought it without ever trying it. I've never had a Takamine before so I was a little nervous but for the price I thought why not try it out. I was presently surprised as this is a really fun geat sounding guitar. I am finding that the electronics are stupendous and require no extra EQ as I run this flat and it sounds great. The neck is very comfortable and easy to play on. The frets are smooth and gresat action. The craftsmanship is top notch. The backside woodwork is beautiful. This guitar is easily in the $1200 class for less than $600. I am looking forward to recording with this guitar and I suspect that I shall not be disappointed. I would like to thank my guitar tech at Sweetwater who set this up that they did an excellent job.

  • from Thomasville, GA February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    My Go-TO

    This is my go-to performance guitar, and it has never let me down. Frets are great, sweetwater action is stellar, and the looks are amazing. The stripe on the back is just beautiful. For a chinese made guitar, it is amazing. It sounds great as is, but when you plug it in, the TK-40D shines. I love it.

  • from United States January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Studio Musician

    Simply beautiful..

    a well made guitar, with an ease to play...fast low fret action action..great intonation ..no fret buzz whatsoever..for those who shred, a can do with this guitar..a rocker's dream..

  • from Central Coast California. October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording artist songwriter, performing singer songwriter. over 40 years on the guitar.

    Nathan Clay

    This guitar was my second choice, I first tried the PRS Acoustic. That is all I will say about that.. I returned that one. and got this guitar and the sound is much like a taylor very clean sound. I feel the heavy .12 strings are far too heavy for this guitar, the neck does not seem to like the pressure of the .12 gauge string. I put extra light gauge strings on it and tuned the guitar down to D instead of E and I am amazed by the sound I get. the guitar sounds like it is twice the size it is and when you plug it in OMG this guitar kicks the big A. I have a takamine concert ver. the same one the Eagles use in concert. I like this guitar more.

  • from Kingsport, TN March 30, 2014Music Background:
    Vocalist many years, musician for the past few.

    As nice as expected!

    This guitar has been everything I had hoped. It is more beautiful in hand than in the pictures and the sound is on par with the look. I hadn't found much information on this guitar prior to purchase in the way of videos or reviews, so I was a little apprehensive. I'm glad I went for it! Great quality for the price.

  • from Buffalo NY April 5, 2016Music Background:
    60's rock band and 2003 till 2016 revisit

    Factory Setup

    I ran into this guitar at a locally owned store in Buffalo NY, called Music City, one day after work. Picked it up and was really taken back with the guitar's set up. So low and so easy to play. No other guitar at any store regardless of brand and price was ever set up this good. I asked the owner if he had it set up. "No, came out of the box like this". I strumed and finger picked and gave pleasure to my ears. I could not put it down until my wallet snuck out and I made it mine before anyone else found out. I like it as much as my Taylor dn3, perhaps more. Worth hundreds more than asking price.

  • from Las Vegas November 13, 2015Music Background:
    Working musician, singer, songwriter, and 3 time inductee in the Las Begas Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

    Great guitar and a great price

    This guitar sounds warm and rich. It project beautifully unplugged and sounds even better amped up.

  • from England April 21, 2015Music Background:
    Musician (30yrs)/Sound Engineer (20yrs)

    Shiny looks and sound

    I bought this to replace my Taylor 410, which I am going to sell, I just haven't got on with that sound. I was a little apprehensive about the buying of a guitar without playing it, however, this is a very comfortable and easy guitar, and the sound shines out with a very balanced tone, and enough of the required frequencies to hear the subtle nuances of your playing.
    The looks are fantastic, and the quality of construction is high, I don't like the fact that its made in china, but I'll live with that, as, I have a Takamine EAN10-12 which I love, (its made in Japan) I trust Takamine enough to have bought this blind! The pickup sound isn't as natural as my EAN10-12, it could be the pick-up, whether its different in a MIJ model, or it could be that the original Graph-ex pre amp is better, but I have a choice of alternative pre-amps to deal with that.
    All in all, a lovely clear open sound, easy to play, and light to hold, I'm looking forward to breaking this guitar in, which means playing it as much as possible, after all, an instrument that inspires you to pick it up, is the best instrument.

  • from Albuquerque, NM October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro- weekend warrior. Playing 30 years, gig about 8 nights a month.

    A pleasant surprise!

    I bought this guitar sight unseen with out ever playing it (a first for me). I have a Tak EAN15c (the one Glen Frye endorses and Nancy Wilson play in their live videos) and am totally sold on the Palethetic pickup system (just listen to the "Hell Freezes over" DVD, they all play Taks with that pickup). I love the sound of that guitar and I've always been a dread guy but as a get older the big boxes really aggravate my back and sports hernia when I play out multiple nights in a week. I borrowed a friends Taylor 414 GA and while I think Taylors are great, I think they are way overpriced and can get much more bang for your buck with Taks and the pickup system is superior the Expression. I was trying to find something in the Naturals or Pro Line because I had read the G series wasn't as good but the natural series is discontinued and I didn't like the looks of the PRO NEX body style models. I had read good good reviews on this and decided to pull the trigger and order one after only listening tothe Brad Davis YouTube vid. I had fully planned on having to take this is for a setup (I mean it IS only a $550 guitar) but the intonation was surprisingly spot on when I got it and the action was great. I was pleasantly surprised with the unplugged sound. Very clear, but still enough punch for a dread guy like me. Plugged in it doesn't matter, you can make it sound as bassy as a dread it you want. The preamp isn't quite as fancy as the CT2B that comes with the Natural & Pro series but run through a Baggs PADI it sounds just as good. It's the palethetic pickup that make Taks the best sounding amplified acoustics out there (IMHO). The onboard tuner, though not as accurate as the one in my TC Helicon pedal, is way more accurate and not as finicky as those cheap clip-ons that are all the rage.
    I don't know if it's because it's the high end of the G series or whether all the G series Taks are this nice but for $550 this is one nice guitar and probably will be my main stage/gigging guitar. I take off 1/2 star because the spruce top doesn't have as tight a pattern as the higher end guitars (and I rarely give ANYTHING 5 stars). You would be hard pressed to find a better guitar even in the $1000 price range, and the rosewood/quilted maple back is just stunning!

  • from Fort smith, AR October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarrist rock and classical. Home studio recording

    Great sound beautiful guitar

    Sounds and looks great. The acustic sound without amplification is clean and crisp. The dynamic on the neck is really nice. Difficult to beat for the price. The finish and construction are notable. Fulfilled my expectations and more.

  • from GA, USA February 18, 2014

    Beautiful Guitar

    This is a beautiful guitar in both looks and sound. The feel of the neck and fret board is fantastic and the pickup are very nice. The tuner OK but is not perfect, helps get it close enough. A tuner in the pedal chain is what I usually use. This is a very nice step up from the older G series I have. A great sound, feel and look at a great price!

  • from Lake Park, GA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    I've been playing guitars for over 45 years. I own or have owned Martins, Gibsons, and my favorite, Guilds. I have played in bands over my 45 years of playing, but now I only play for personal satification and relaxiation.

    Beautiful Guitar, but frets in cutaway need filing

    This guitar plays and sounds better than guitars costing thousands of dollars more. The acoustic unplugged tone is bright, with moderate sustain and when plugged in, can be tuned to whatever sound you prefer. The NEX-style body is the most comfortable body I have ever played and the neck is very fast. Action was perfect and the Takamine neck design is extremely easy to play, especially if you have small to medium hands. If you play acoustically most of the time and need a loud guitar with a lot of sustain and bass, this probably won't be the guitar for you. If you like a brighter sound, with moderate sustain and volume, go for it. If you plug in most of the time, you can't go wrong with guitar and can save yourself thousands of dollars...it's THAT good.

  • from Boston, Massachusetts USA December 21, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Takamine GN93CE

    This guitar has a tone much richer and sweeter than many of the higher end acoustic brands I've tried. Very pleased with the purchase, and great service from Derek and the Sweetwater team.

Questions about the Takamine GN93CE NEX - NEX Body with Cutaway Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close