0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

TC Electronic G-Major 2 Multi-effects Rackmount Processor Reviews

3.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic G-Major 2 Multi-effects Rackmount Processor?

Questions about the TC Electronic G-Major 2 Multi-effects Rackmount Processor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Heath
    from LA April 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Deal! Great Processor!

    For the money you can't go wrong with this unit! Good quality effects, build looks and feels pretty solid and it is rather easy to program if you're familiar with any type of guitar processor. I had the G-force a while back and though it's more versatile, I really don't miss it. Also had the g-system and I think the g system and g major2 are very much similar in sound quality and ease of use. If you're looking for a good muti-effects processor thats simple yet highly effective and doesn't empty your bank account I highly recommend this unit.

  • Ted
    from Ocala,FL May 16, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    G-Major 2

    There is no processor is this price range that can touch it.Loads of effects and options.It will switch amp channels and has full midi capability.The sounds are top notch and you can tweak them to no end. It does have a steep learning curve as far as midi programming is concerned,but once you get it down its pretty easy. I would give it a 5 but the T.C. website doesnt offer much support for it in the way of extra patches,you are pretty much on your own in that aspect,but overall you cant beat it!!

  • tom
    from Delaware February 11, 2016Music Background:
    professional musician, studio owner, instrument manufacturing

    for the money it's sweet

    I used this so I could put my gforce in the studio full time. My buddy has a nova and let met try it, the gforce won out just based on ease of use with a midi pedal versus the three per bank way the nova does. It's not exactly what I wanted, but it's way less than an Eclipse or Fractal

  • Alan Brady
    from Gillette, WY October 19, 2015Music Background:
    Lead Guitar

    TC G-Major 2 Rocks

    Works great very cool happy I went with the G-Major 2

  • John
    from Detroit, Mich November 19, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Producer

    Pro Sounding

    The factory preset delays, chorus, tremelo etc. are top notch and programmable to save as user presets. Add your own touch with
    ping pong on delay, etc. and save it. Only concern is longevity. The front control knobs seem to have a wiggle. For any gear, I expect a long use period, especially if all you do is turn it on and off. The unit sounds great.

  • Rodney Zimmerman
    from Akron, OH USA July 24, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    TC Electronic G-Major 2

    This unit is sonically awesome. I did not realize that it does not have a USB input for programming. I wish I had some kind of magic box so I could leave the MIDI's plugged into the daisy chain of cables in my rack AND also have the means to keep my MIDI to USB constantly plugged in and coiled up at the back of the unit, so I could program it without having to ever unplug any MIDI cables.

  • Tim
    from Central Missouri October 23, 2009Music Background:
    Ex-Pro Guitarist, Recording Hobbyist

    A Rack by Any Other Name

    I picked up one of the original G-Majors right after they came out back in 2001 (I think). Since the mid-80s, I'd switched from racks to half-stacks and back again several times, at least until '94 when I stumbled onto a Mesa-Boogie Studio Preamp with a stereo power amp. That was the 1st amp (of the 12 I'd owned by that point) that I was ever really happy with. I still love it, too, although it now shares my affections with several heads & combos that have been good enough to stick around for a while. But, I digress...

    When I first got that Boogie, I loved the sound, but I still needed effects. I must've gone through almost every rack processor ever made, some more than once, before I found the G-Major. Like the Boogie it shares rack space with, it was the 1st processor that really did everything I wanted it to (well, almost)...

    So, when TC came out with the G-Major II, I thought it sounded like a worthwhile upgrade. True to form, it seems to be a worthy successor. The reverbs are still just as good if not better, and the delays & modulation effects are top-notch. The switching relays work perfectly with my setup. And, I get the added bonus of being able to use it as a VST plug-in, if I need a new flavor in the studio. Maybe my favorite thing is that there's no modeling here. Granted, modeling has gotten a LOT better than it used to be, but... The G-Major II doesn't pretend to be something it's not. (Admittedly, I do own a PODxt, which has been a great practice tool.)

    Still, though, it's not perfect. The intelligent harmonies are a good addition (it's about time, huh?). However, the compressor isn't that great (it's alright for studio use, though)... probably has something to do with the placement in the signal chain (e.g. after the pre-amp, not before). The phaser, well, let's just say that my old Arion Stereo Phaser that I bought in '86 for $20 is better. The Through-Zero Flanger didn't impress me much, but the Tri-Chorus is OK and the standard chorus and flanger are really good. The delays are stellar, though. It's nice to be able to modulate them, too, although it's a little tricky getting it to sound like a good Echoplex or Deluxe Memory Man.

    So, while my pedal boards aren't in any danger of being sold in the immediate future, I'm pretty happy with the G-Major II. It does everything it's supposed to do, is really easy to use and program, and sounds excellent. Without spending several thousand on an Eventide, I doubt anything else will ever be in my rack (G-Major III, maybe).

  • Customer
    from February 6, 2015

    Buggy, No Support

    This thing can be really buggy (like the delay volume issue, being non-functional on startup, etc.). TC Electronic hasn't released an update to their site (for firmware or the visor software) since 2008. The product has been deserted.

  • DawnOfCremation
    from April 11, 2016

    Not impressed

    I bought this for live performances to use in the effects loop of my tube head. When it worked, no doubt about it, it sounded good but this unit is not intuitive at all especially when trying to program with a midi foot pedal. Not long after the warranty was up the left side output jack stopped working producing only static, so just continued to use just the right side instead. After a while wasn't getting any sound out of it at all , the display still shows and everything else seems to be working but no output so useless to me. Got about 18 months of frustrated use out of it before it finally stopped working. I like to think I take good care of my equipment but this thing is probably suited for a studio environment where it never gets moved - very temperamental

  • Anderson
    from June 19, 2015

    Sometimes freeze

    sometimes freeze randomly!!!

Questions about the TC Electronic G-Major 2 Multi-effects Rackmount Processor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway