0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Gator GM-16-MIC-WP - Waterproof mic case-16 mics Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator GM-16-MIC-WP - Waterproof mic case-16 mics?

Questions about the Gator GM-16-MIC-WP - Waterproof mic case-16 mics?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Yucaipa April 28, 2017Music Background:
    Sound man

    Great case

    I'm really impressed with this case

  • from Pottstown, PA December 30, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Awesome

    Great protection for the mics

  • from Midland, TX December 25, 2016Music Background:
    The Stateline Band

    Awesome Mic Case for 5 price Band!

    Great Product! Makes load and unload very fast! Also, good to know our mics are now water proof 💦.

    I would highly recommend this product for up to a 5 piece band.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA December 7, 2016

    WAY More awesome than I thought!!

    I... Just... WOW!!! It's a suitcase for your microphones! Built like a tank! I think it's going to outlast me AND my microphones!! It's also going to be great to have most of them in the same spot rather than multiple cases...

  • from Winston-Salem, N.C. July 6, 2016

    Buy this great case

    Best mike case I have ever seen . Plenty of room for microphones and like the compartment that is larger than most for extra stuff. Glad I got the 16 size worked out perfectly. Easy to use and waterproff for over $5,000.00 worth of mikes is a blessing....

  • from Louisville, ky November 13, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, recording/mixing "engineer"

    Get ready to mod

    FirstFirst off, as the star rating reflects, this is a great case. Same build quality as the iseries skb mic case. The latches are super high quality, very heavy duty, and no way they are opening up on their own thanks to a unique design.
    Size wise, it's smaller than the skb that holds 24 mics. It is slightly smaller depth and width, not a problem, the main issue is the height. It will fit 16 sm57-58's, but if your buying a case for 57-58's something is wrong, just throw them in your old gym bag, they'll be fine. If you have any normal studio mics, they won't fit without modification to the foam insert.
    Now, if you don't like repurposing things then I'd suggest the skb 24 mic case. If you don't mind dulling a steak knife and tracing some mics with a sharpie, then this case is for you.
    I took the foam out, carefully split it in two (there are two halves that stack), rotated the "compartment" side so they were opposite, and then used the bottom compartment side-to-side for 5 mics (two blue, an akg, rode, re-20). They're nice and snug, not going any where. Then, I cut out spots in the other side that has the holes- for additional mics. The top foam then is inserted opposite of the other and repeat process. Works great. Actually can probably hold more than 16 using this method.
    I was disappointed when I first got it, but then soon realized it would be easy to make it usable. Probably took 30 mins. Very happy with it now.

  • from Huntsville Ohio July 11, 2015Music Background:
    Country Lead guitar

    Gator GM-16-MIC-WP

    Great deal on a very good quality mic case

  • from June 23, 2015

    great

    Great item

  • from June 19, 2015

    Gator Mic Case

    Great Case Heavy Duty as Heck

  • from June 5, 2015

    great, solid case

    I got this case in hopes it would work well for my harmonicas. I had out grown my smaller harmonica case. This is PERFECT. I have 16+ harmonicas and they fit perfectly in their cases, in the carved out, circular foam portions (which were designed for mic's). I open up the case, can see all of my keys immediately. Additionally, the large foam cut out portion holds my Green Bullet mic, my harp holders (neck and mic stand holders). This worked perfect for my "harmonica case upgrade"!

  • from West Chester, PA December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Educator

    Great Case

    I purchased this as a deal which included 5-20' XLR cables - excellent price!
    The latches are strong and reliable and the soft grip feels nice when the case is loaded up and weighted. I do a lot of outdoor events so it's nice to know that this case can take the elements. Storage space is sufficient for cables and accessories. Mic slots can handle most standard sized mics.

  • from Roxbury, CT. USA September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and live sound engineer

    Beyond expectations

    This case is rugged, lightweight and cavernous. I didn't expect it to handle such an amazing amount of gear...I should have purchased two!

  • from WI July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Sound guy

    Great case!

    A great case and I like the storage area for extras also!

  • from Grand Rapids, MI July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound engineer

    Great case, very sturdy

    Love this case! I use it for my home studio. It's super sturdy, but doesn't weigh a ton. It's amazing how simple cases can make your live easier in the studio or on stage. It's worth the investment! Probably more useful that most of the gear I've bought recently.

  • from Knoxville, TN. USA May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Great case

    I have had this case for a few weeks now and I have to say it has been phenomenal. It's almost full and I may end up getting another one.

  • from Warsaw, Indiana February 6, 2016

    Just What We Were Looking For!

    This case is great for mic transport and storage as intended. The larger compartment JUST fits the TC Helicon unit we purchased so that was a pleasant surprise. Nice and sturdy and very well padded.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI July 6, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Musician/Audio Engineer

    Fantastic mic case!

    This case is solid. It's strong construction and relatively compact size lends me great comfort about storing my gear in it. The space for accessories is nice and spacious as well. It can be a hair shallow if you have longer mics (think EnCore 300s), but will fit most mics very well. I would definitely buy again. No regrets.

  • from Richmond VA June 1, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader - OrHaOlamVA.com

    Rock solid mic case

    As our band has grown, the need to upgrade to professional carrying cases has become increasingly clear. Snap, the box is open and microphones are ready to place where needed without extra time spent zipping and unzipping bags.

    Snap, the box is closed, and the microphones are ready for abuse by baggage handlers or stage hands that have never had to buy microphones. Lots of space for supplimental gear like extra clips, batteries, etc.

    I would have felt just a little better with another inch of foam on the bottom ... hence 4.5 stars.

  • from Midwest USA September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Orchestrator, Audio engineer

    Just about right, for standard mic size.

    For the investment, this is perfect. Seems very rugged, with plenty of slots for mics and clips and windscreens(if you need them). You could even use this for a small mixer, with some foam adjustments.
    My only gripe, albeit minor, is they assume the you use SM58 or equivalent mic size. I have a few mics that will fit, but barely. Still, it's great value.

  • from Logansport,in July 5, 2014Music Background:
    30 plus years in music.

    Nice case, great price!

    Got it at Gear fest and cannot beat the price. Loving it.

  • from Davenport, IA June 27, 2016Music Background:
    professionally enthusiastic

    I like it

    This was a good deal for a great mic case. Rugged and waterproof it will certainly protect your microphones and is a good carrying case for a collection of mics and cables in the side compartment. I also use the side compartment to hold an AKG D112 kick drum mic that's too large (wide) for the holes. The only drawback is the height won't accommodate mics much longer than an SM58 or 57. It will fit Audix mics such as the ADX-51, i5, D2, D4 and even a D6 will fit snugly but nicely in one of the holes (if you don't push it down too far). The same goes for a Sennheiser e906. When I tried a Blue encore 100, it was a little too tall. I could still close the lid but just barely and you could tell the windscreen was pushing up against the lid. Overall I'm very satisfied.

  • from Lititz, PA July 16, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Tech for 30 years

    Does the job well!

    I purchased this case because I like the size and shape better than the square boxes of the past. The waterproof feature was important to me, since I work many "all-weather" shows. This protects my mics even if I leave the case out in the rain! I especially love the nice, comfortable handle, it outclasses any other road case I have. The only drawback is that it lacks the height for storing tall/wireless mics.

  • from United States July 4, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Works Great

    It doesn't make me breakfast or anything, but it does everything it is suppose to, holds all the mics I need it to hold. I haven't thoroughly tested it's ability to be waterproof like it claims, and don't intend to, but it's nice to know that it's there and it is a sturdy little case. Huge upgrade from leather zipper bags that come with a lot of mics.

  • from May 19, 2015

    Decent for Shure

    This case is good for SM57s and 58s, and similar-sized mics. Anything beyond that, like an MD421, various AKGs etc., won't fit because the case is not deep enough. You can put those mics in the accessory compartment, but then you lose the protection of a snug mic drop.

  • from Fairfax Station, VA March 22, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Not quite tall enough

    I don't know if it's just the mics I bought (Audix OM7, Audix OM6, Telefunken M80) but for all those mics this case is too short. The wind screens don't go down below the edge of the foam (the mics hit the bottom of the case) and so the case lid pushes down hard on the microphones. If it were just an inch taller it would be perfect, or perhaps if I had short mics like Shure SM57s I'm sure it would work fine. As it stands I would suggest making sure that your mics fit this case before purchasing it.

  • from Oregon September 12, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and Enginer for 30+years

    Short mics good - long mics baaad

    As noted by another reviewer, this mic case is a great value as long as you are using it for SM57s, SM58s, and similar mics with a short body. For mics with a long body, it simply isn't deep enough - the lid has to forced to close and its not clear how much protection the mics really get when the foam is so compressed.

Questions about the Gator GM-16-MIC-WP - Waterproof mic case-16 mics?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway