0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

George Ls Effects Cable Kit - Black/Nkl Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the George Ls Effects Cable Kit - Black/Nkl?

Questions about the George Ls Effects Cable Kit - Black/Nkl?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Bakersfield, CA October 14, 2016Music Background:
    Music Director / guitarist

    Great diy cables

    Great product simple and easy to use
    Custom cables exactly how you want

  • from Treasure Coast, Florida May 21, 2016Music Background:
    Keyboardist, guitarist, vocalist, singer, songwriter, producer

    Best pedalboard cables.

    I've used these for years on my pedalboard and they've never failed me once. Great for that custom board where the placement of the pedals is for easy access rather than in order of the chain.

  • from Elizabethtown, KY April 28, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Awesome!

    This kit is great. I wired up my pedal board, and was really amazed at how easy it was to assemble. My board is clean and most importantly quiet. I know its a little expensive, but totally worth it.

  • from Cleveland April 26, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist and Studio

    Pro stuff

    This is the way to go with connecting your pedal boards. You can customize everything just for your needs. Easy to use, High Quality and very Handy to implement!

  • from April 27, 2015

    must have

    This is a must have for those that are seeking a clean, uncluttered pedal board. Some of the reviews state that the cables are hard to get right, but I didn't have that problem. Every single one that I made worked the first time. I have a little electrical experience under my belt, maybe that helped. Regardless, these are a piece of cake. Just take the time to do it right the first time! they send you enough cable to run 10 pedals easily, so I just ordered a set of the connectors and got it all done with cable to spare. Expensive product, but I'd gladly pay double for the quality. Well done George L. Special thanks to Tyler Berggren for over the top customer service as well. Wouldn't buy my products elsewhere at this point!

  • from Dallas, TX USA March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician (part time)

    Really cleans up and simplifies an effects board

    The ability for me to create quality, custom-length cables for my exact effects board application specifications has been awesome. The thin gauge wires and low-profile plugs really cleans up and simplifies an effects board. The sound quality is excellent also. I'm 100% satisfied and will definitely purchase again.

  • from Smyrna, TN February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Mercenary

    Best I've Found

    I've been using these for years and I can honestly say I don't understand how some folks say they have issues. Sure, I've had a couple that didn't work the first time around. Sure I've had a few go a little "hinkey" on me, but in either case you just snip a little off and BAM---- new patch cable with NO SOLDERING AND NO WIRE STRIPPING. Not only this, but these things preserve tone INCREDIBLY. Also, the ones I've had trouble with have lasted at least as long as any store-bought, pre-made patch cable (which wasn't custom length). Pricey, maybe. Worth it, ABSOLUTELY! The Sweetwater guys (Mike Godlove) also do business the old-fashioned way, which means they are actually interested in the satisfaction of their customers, and are happy to help you make the best decisions regarding your gear. Mike has (more than once) patiently listened to me run down my entire rig, and has offered genuine insight and advice, not just a sales pitch about some "flavor of the week", as some (a lot) of companies do. Customer for life.

  • from murrieta, CA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Performing/Recording Musician

    Love em!

    Easy to build. Reliable. I run 2 of these kits at all times and have never had a single problem.

  • from United States July 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Video Technician

    Best cables I ever used

    Pure clean qaulity tone. No coloration or frequncies changes. Worth ever penny you pay for. I have compared to just about every cable out there. They are the best of the best.

  • from Minneapolis June 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    George L's Cable Kit

    Perfect length cables every time for your pedal board, great sound quality, easy to use!

  • from El paso, TX usa April 15, 2013Music Background:
    Worship

    George l's

    Awesome patchies!! You can compare to any other side by side and hear the clarity that overthrows any other patch cables, and easy to make.

  • from Hot Springs, AR December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Grear Effects Cable Kit

    Since replacing my old cables with George L's, I have no more noise coming from my pedal board or guitar. Easy to make cables by just following instructions. Well worth the cost and excellent service from Sweetwater.

  • from July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, performer, tonehead

    Good Stuff All Around

    Super easy to make, I'd go as far as saying idiot proof! 100 times better than all the other patch cable kits I've used, I wish it was cheaper, but worth every penny!

  • from July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, performer, Gearhead

    Good Stuff All Around

    Super easy to make, I'd go as far as saying idiot proof! 100 times better than all the other patch cable kits I've used, I wish it was cheaper, but worth every penny!

  • from January 11, 2017

    Solder-less Rocks!

    I'm 10 for 10 with my George Ls cables!!
    I'm an Electrical Engineer by day and I've seen 100's of different types of cable, made several of them too!
    I've always made my own guitar cables...finally tried the George L's. Solder-less is the way to go. Much easier, faster, cleaner, safer without the soldering iron and can carry some spare parts too to make a cable in a pinch, but...
    WATCH THE VIDEOS online to be sure you put them together correctly!! There are a lot of ways to mess it up.
    I wouldn't expect these cable to handle a lot of movement. Perfect for a pedal board, but I wouldn't expect them to work for long if you unplug them and throw them in a bag after each gig. Having said that, I've rearranged my pedals a few times now... and no problems! Audio quality is perfect, no crackles when I move the cables (yet??). I'd guess the plugs are reusable, so if a cable does fail, could probably cut the ends off and redo it!

  • from Las Vegas July 28, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great cables

    Great cables. I have had them in some of my permanent boards for years and I've never had one of them go bad. Put them together properly (with a box cutter, pliers and a cable tester), it takes 2 minutes and you're set. Definitely the way to go for custom pedalboards where pedals are close together. They are expensive, but if you consider that you can put together 5 custom length cables with the kit and have cable leftover to put together 2-4 more if you buy extra jacks, it is a deal. Great noiseless cables for a custom board for a bill.

  • from Huntington May 28, 2015Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter

    A great way to customize cables on your pedal board

    Standard sized patch cables often present a problem when setting up a pedal board. Either the cables are too long or too short. With this kit, you can adjust the length of each cable to fit the space between your devices. There are several YouTube videos that show how to set up the connections. If at first you get a bit of static or no sound, try re-doing the set up. I found that it is important to make sure the top screw slightly bites into the cable so that a proper ground is established. Enjoy!

  • from Kalamazoo, MI March 1, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Good Quality, Good Value

    The cables are easy to assemble, the instructions are almost clear enough, although I had to rebuild the first cable. You have to make sure to get the end of the cable all the way into the hole inside the shaft of the plug, but other than that it was a breeze. If the caps are not screwed in to the right amount you will get home (ground not connecting) but a simple adjustment will clear that up. Better quality than you might expect from the weight and feel of the package.

  • from Boise October 29, 2013Music Background:
    Cover band

    Easy to assemble and work great

    Very easy to assemble the plugs on cables and create custom cable lengths for your pedal board. Works as advertised.

  • from Princeton Tx April 20, 2016Music Background:
    Player,Builder,Producer,Engineer.

    GL's

    Have bought several of these for different pedal boards. They have never let me down. Sweetwater is the best and my guy Luke always gets what I need to me fast and free.

  • from Grand Haven, MI July 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great stuff!

    Effortless assembly, allows for versatility on my pedalboard.

  • from California April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Can't believe I didn't do this sooner!

    I recently upgraded to a fairly involved MIDI switching system. 4 Audio loops, 5 pedals, small patch bay, etc. I knew I would need custom cables to wire it all up. I'd done the 6" jumper thing in the past, and while it works, it doesn't look nearly as clean and organized as a well thought out custom board can look and function.

    Building the cables themselves is simple. Just take a CLEAN razor blade (not wire cutters), cut the cable, insert it into the plug, and screw on the end cap! Couldn't be easier!

    These cables sound great, don't load down my signal, don't hum or buzz, and are easy to make!

    The thumb-screws can make your hand sore after an hour or so of making cables, so be sure to space out your cable building over a few hours. But the pain is worth it!

  • from New York, NY March 4, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great invention, but be smart during setup

    The idea behind this kit is that you arrange your pedals (on your pedalboard) in any order you want. You then get to custom-size your cable connections to allow for the proper pedal order/cable connections. So go ahead and put your wah on one end and distortion on the other; you just simply run a longer piece of wire to connect them where you want in your signal chain.

    The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because they don't include tips or real instructions of any kind. Do yourself a favor and save yourself the headache:

    1. Once you're satisfied with your pedal placement, it's time to cut cables. I like to loop mine underneath or side-by-side, short and out of the way.

    2. You stick open end of the cable into the jack and press firmly in (use just your hands), bend at a 90 degree angle, screw on the screwcap. You can then put on your little rubber George L cap.

    3. Eyeball or measure the other end of that wire until the next pedal connection. Use a straight, sharp razor to cleanly cut. I used a sharp wire cutter and still lost signal. Carefully used a razor and was fine. After cutting, follow step 2 again.

    4. Once you have your first connection, hook it up through your guitar and amp to make sure you're getting a signal. It crossed my mind to do this, wish I had!

    5. Repeat step 4 as you add pedals to avoid missing the one little cable that wasn't cut right or isn't connected properly. About a third of my cables weren't done right.

    This all might be common knowledge for some of you out there, but I thought it best to give my thoughts. The George L web site doesn't have an instructions/FAQ up just yet, and sometimes you're just not near Youtube to get that info when you're ready to work.

    Definitely get this kit! I'm impressed with how nice and quiet the cables are. Very pleased.

  • from Holland, MI March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist....

    Good Product

    Works as advertised, however, I would recommend that you have a cable tester handy to ensure that you've connected them correctly. I had three of the five cables I made not work initially as I did not push the cable in deep enough into the plug. The instructions say not to push the cable in too hard, however, I found this not to be the case. Still, a great product....

  • from Los Angeles April 14, 2014

    Be prepared to mess up a lot...

    When properly assembled the cables work fine and cutting them yourself allows perfectly custom sizes for your board.

    However, after reading the instructions, and watching 3 video tutorials on how to properly cut and assemble the cables, and doing it exactly the same each time, I found that most of the time the connection isn't made and the cable doesn't work. Trial and error is the only way, you just have to keep doing them and checking each cable to make sure you got it right. It took 10 tries to get 4 working cables. Not a great percentage.

    Tips:
    -Use a SHARP razor (no wire cutters scissors or strippers) and cut a SINGLE clean cut perfectly perpendicular to the cable (straight across not at an angle). If you have to saw away at it you may as well start over.
    -Push cable into plug and do a 180 degree twist to get depth. Bend cable at right angle and twist cap tightly. Tighten with a tool but without bending the cable left or right.
    -Check your cables individually!

    I'm sure pros can get these right more often than not, but for a first timer, even being meticulous about following directions, it still comes down to trial and error in the end. Too tight is bad, too loose is bad and connection isn't made.

  • from Nashville, TN December 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Composer

    Very inconsistent in getting a solid signal

    I bought these expecting a simple build and great sound. Instead I got a lot of wasted cable and now a total replacement with Lava Cables instead. This design hopes that you can push in the cable so that the two rings insert into the cable without any shorts. I found, however, that even when the cable tested fine I had no signal coming out of one of my cables. I prefer the mix of old school (stripping wires) and new school that Lava offers. I have yet to have a tested cable fail in build my new board.

Questions about the George Ls Effects Cable Kit - Black/Nkl?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway