0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Gator GL-Dread Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
  • from Connelys Springs NC August 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gator GL-Dread

    What an awesome case. I was a bit concerned about the fit for my Martin HD-28 but no worries! Absolutely perfect. The shipping and follow up from Sweetwater was incredible. I threw the "other" catalog into the trash ... I'm calling Sweetwater home!

  • from Crofton, MD May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, vocalist

    Quality, Lightweight, Sturdy Case

    Fits my Fender dreadnought perfectly. Has nice sized storage under neck and large zippered pouch on outside. The rigid, molded, padded interior protects your guitar as well as a hard case without the extra weight. Would be nice if it had padded carrying straps, but that's just a nit. Good buy.

  • from Lemon Grove Ca December 15, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Player 30 yrs

    The Best Gig Bag You Can Buy

    I was looking for a great gig bag to protect my
    Regal RC-51 Tricone I wrote to more than one company
    But Sweetwater namely Peter Van Horn was the only one who
    Replied and recommended the Gator GL Dread case it was exactly
    What I was looking for its as sting as a hard case yet as light as a gig bag. It has a soft interior , back pack straps if you are looking for the best gig bag to protect your best guitar THIS IS IT

  • from St. Louis, MO October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    High quality light weight case

    This is a great lightweight case that offers better security than a typical gig bag without the weight of a hard shell case. The internal storage compartment provides plenty of space for tuners, a metronome. Spare strings, etc. The plush interior ensures that the guitar finish will remain safe. Backpack style straps are also useful for taking the guitar on short hikes.

  • from United States June 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby

    Great deal

    As always, Sweetwater provides the best equipment and helps you choose the right one.
    Thanks Robert!!!

  • from Maryville, MO USA September 15, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Top Notch!!

    This case is not a gig bag. It's sturdy and protects my guitar perfectly. It's light weight, so it's easy to transport and I feel safe knowing my guitar is being protected and secure. Plus I bought it at Sweetwater to avoid shipping costs. What a bang for the buck!

  • from Corvallis, OR USA September 8, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic case!!!

    As Gator says - best features of gig bag and hard case. This thing is made of an incredibly rigid foam; strong but light (about half the weight of a hard case). Unless you need a hard case for heavy travel, stacking tons of stuff into a truck, etc., this is the best case there is. Since I just got it, the only thing that remains to be seen is its long-term durability. It's made very well, so I think that won't be a problem.

  • from Phoenixville, PA July 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love the Gator Case

    Great case. Extremely protective and good looking. In a perfect world, I'd love to see the Gator logo at about 1/2 the size - a little too prominent for my test

  • from New Orleans March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Professional drummer, semi-professional singer/songwriter/guitarist.

    NIce, functional case

    This case does what I needed it to do. It provides the convenience and lighter weight of a gig bag (plus shoulder straps) with the protection of a hard case. My only minor concern is that the zippers are cheaply made,( like on most cases these days, unfortunately) and too easily get caught in the fabric of the case. I would pay a few bucks extra for a heavy duty metal zipper. Otherwise, the case is a keeper. Fortunately, Sweetwater's customer service is fantastic, and any problems will be quickly and cheerfully handled!

  • from Sacramento, CA February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Gator GL-Dread

    The gig bag is lightweight and easy to open and place the guitar inside. It also has a box inside the bag you can place extra strings or other things to store. It also has a holder on the outside that you could place your music in it and have easy access to get them out.

  • from Emeryville,ca November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Great bag and great service!

    I badly needed a nice sturdy and light weight gig bag for traveling and really like the ag, price, and superb service from Sweetwater. I'll come back for more! They provided excellent information over the phone and were very helpful in helping me choose the right bag,

  • from Ramsey, N.J. October 24, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur musician

    Gator guitar bag a hit!

    A great case with versatility and style. Shoulder straps for backpac use are great but the handle works well too. Inside is well padded and soft on my guitar. Completely satisfied with the case and couldn't be more impressed with Sweetwater's service!

  • from Bronx, NY USA December 21, 2008Music Background:
    full time musician.

    Love it!

    Great protection to my 16' archtops. I wish it would come with better straps, but i will take care of it myself. These hybrid cases are the way to go, unless you are really going for the high end soft cases which will cost you like a nice amp or more. The protection is as good as it gets-and that is the bottom line.

  • from Chicago June 25, 2008Music Background:
    Touring singer/songwriter

    Terrific case

    Love this case. Fits all my 6-strings from dreads to Taylor GS to even Martin M-Series (which is a challenge to most other cases). Very sturdy, storage galore. Only thing that cost it half a star was that the plastic clasps on the shoulder straps can be torqued off the D-rings if you sling the case on to your shoulder without supporting the bottom on a hard surface--the "tongue" of the clasp gets reversed (but you can easily set it right. Will probably replace that hardware with metal, from a hardware or outdoor.mountaineering store, or just buy new and better straps.

  • from Los Angeles CA May 14, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Versatile Gig Bag

    I needed a really good gig bag for my Gibson ES-335 CRR - something that I could throw over my shoulder for cruising around the airport and something that could fit in the overhead and also trust for gate checking. This case fits the width of my 335 CRR perfectly. i used a couple of towels to fill in the depth. I also use this same case to transport my Telecaster and my JTV 59. It's a good all purpose case for me. The shoulder straps could use some padding. They dig into my shoulders a little bit, but I can work with that. Definitely a great gig bag for the price and extremely versatile.

  • from December 13, 2011

    Great piece of gear for the price well made

    This Is just right to tote around my acoustic to and from my practices and gigs

Questions about the Gator GL-Dread?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway