0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Gator Lightweight Case - Classical Guitar Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Classical Guitar?

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Classical Guitar?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Hampshire June 26, 2016

    Excellent value

    I wanted a case for my classical guitar (Yamaha C40). I have a hard-case, but it is huge and clumsy and it seems like I bang it into every doorway between my house and my teacher's studio. This case is great... Fits my guitar like a glove. It is lighter, a bit shorter, sturdy and nice looking. Perfect.
    I read the spec sheet carefully before ordering and based on my measurements, I thought it would also fit my steel string... Yamaha FS700. Not a dread. Smaller. The Gator case almost worked, but not quite.
    Also, on my classical, use a DeOro support. (They are the best IMHO.) I had hoped I could leave the support on the guitar in the case. As I noted above, the case fits like a glove, so leaving the support affixed looked problematic. I know people have issues with suction-cup supports coming off at the worst possible time. I have never had that problem, but I'll bet the more frequently you take the support on and off, the more likely it is to come off when you don't want it to. So I decided to adjust the case. Not that hard. Cut the lining so I could pull it back to expose the foam, did a little surgery on the foam to make room for the support affixed and reattached the lining. Oila!
    Last observation... Sweetwater's delivery was super fast. I will not hesitate to buy from them again.

  • from Palm Desert, Ca. April 4, 2015

    Awesome

    Well worth the money spent. Great Hybrid (soft/hard) case !

    The nice padded outside prevents banging up the interior of your vehicle, the ballistics nylon is real durable feeling. Has back pack style handles too, so you can sling it over your back.

    The inside is a nice hard case with a soft fleece lining to protect your guitar.
    One pocket inside and two exterior pockets( the main one is big enough for music books)
    So there are options for some extra gear storage too.

    Sweetwater ships for free so its a nice value overall.

  • from Arlington, VA June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Why aren't all guitar cases made this way?

    This is a great, lightweight case. My Yamaha C40 classical guitar fits perfectly & is well-cushioned, yet the case itself is fairly light. I can't understand why all manufacturers of guitar cases don't offer this type of structure for all types and sizes of guitars.

  • from Arlington, VA May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Retired and learning.

    Fantastic case

    This is a great guitar case for a classical guitar. I'm wondering why all guitar case manufacturers don't make models like this for all the different models of guitars. It's lightweight, but the exterior looks as if it will stand up to pretty rough treatment, and my Yamaha C40 classical guitar fits in the rigid foam interior perfectly. The rigid foam will cushion and protect the guitar as well as a hard case in my estimation. I ordered it on a Monday, and it arrived 2 days later--remember that's FREE shipping! Thank you, Sweetwater and Ben Porter.

  • from Little Egg Harbor, NJ April 22, 2014Music Background:
    Professional guitarist

    Solid, lightweight case

    This is a well-constructed, lightweight case that affords my nylon-string guitar plenty of protection. I particularly like the soft, plush interior which is normally found on higher end hardshell cases. This one's a winner.

  • from Dayton, OH August 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Satisfied

    Thanks Sweetwater (Allen) with the return of Dreadnot case and replacement of Classic case. The Classic Case fits my guitar perfectly.

    Excellent Service!

  • from New Plymouth, ID USA March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Play just enough guitar to back up my vocals.

    Well worth the money

    I already had one of these cases for my older classical guitar so I knew it was a good one. Bought a new classical amplified guitar so knew just what I wanted. It is sturdy and well built. The outside material is scuff and dirt resistant and the inside is padded and cushioned well and it is light to carry. For my needs I would never buy any other kind of case and I highly recommend it for classical guitars. Thanks, Sweetwater, for carrying the Gator brand cases.

  • from Cincinnati April 8, 2016Music Background:
    Music Major/Teacher/Composer

    Beware the Strap Inside the Case...Cut Before Use!

    Brand new guitar $2900 from Spain for my son. Pristine. Placed it in the case for 3 days [it never left the house] and then took it out and looked at the finish on the lower right bout [on the high e string side] and there are now some very fine but distinct etchings/scratches in the finish. Puzzled, they would not rub out. When I placed the guitar in the case and closed the case I realized the strap that holds the top part of the case open had scratched the guitar because it folds onto /into the case on top of the guitar at that spot. When you close the case, the strap lies on top of the guitar bout in order to zip fully. This will scratch the surface of your guitar. The easy solution was to take a pair of scissors and cut that strap out. Shame on the manufacturer for making a beautiful and protective case only to go cheap on the $.10 strap that touches your guitar and scratches it! So I recommend before you put your guitar into this case [otherwise a really great case!], CUT THAT STRAP OFF ALTOGETHER. It is not needed and WILL scratch your guitar.

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Classical Guitar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close