0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Cordoba GK Studio Negra Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Cordoba GK Studio Negra?

Questions about the Cordoba GK Studio Negra?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Chicago March 5, 2017

    Great Guitar

    I finally got my guitar and let me tell you, it is amazing!. For the affordable price, you don't only get great quality, a good look, a built in tuner, and a gig bag, but also high quality sound. I have been playing this guitar for about a week and I can't believe how easy it is to play. Great for beginner as it is also easy on your fingers. Very happy with my purchase.

  • from Bayarea,Ca January 6, 2017Music Background:
    Proffesionsl musicianfor over 45 years.

    Cordoba is the best , period.

    One of the most versatile and best nylon guitars I have ever played , great tone ,excellent response , fantastic workmanship , nice electronics . It makes you want to play, very hard to put down once you pick it up . There is nothing out there that I know of that can come close to it and I have several nylon guitars some costing up to $7,000.00.Hands down the winner , Price or not.

  • from September 3, 2016

    Cordoba made my day

    Cordoba has managed to make a very beautiful guitar and I love it. Enough about the aesthetics, now let's get to how playable it is and how it sounds, shall we?

    I am not an expert flamenco player but I do understand what good sound is. Base notes have a snap at first with a reassuring heft which soon follows. Mids are tight yet broad and highs are very bright and sparkly, as if with a sheen on it. Although it is obvious that we can control how "fat" a note must sound in, for example, a falseta by correctly choosing the right string, it is hard to find a guitar at this price point which has pretty decent projections where ever you play on it.

    After I set it up for the first time (Thanks Cordoba for including that truss rod! Times are changing and whoever says a truss rod is inappropriate in such a guitar is just missing the point.) I literally was amazed at how much faster I could play on it, be it Picado, rasgueos, arpeggios or just compases in general.

    The Fishman pickup included is good enough for live amplification but for recordings, if there is access to an external condenser microphone then that will be the better option. For home recordings though, it should be more than enough, just make sure that you use as much MIC in the blend as possible without affecting the robustness of the tone and do some tweaking on your DAW to record stereo. If you are a serious flamenco player, you will need to constantly tune your guitar no matter which brand of guitars you play but this guitar stays in tune fairly well.

    The balance of the guitar is slightly biased towards the neck (which felt heavier than it should) but that could be due to the truss rod, although Cordoba say that their truss rods are the same weight as the mass of wood it replaces. And this is the only downside I found. Otherwise, it is pretty much a perfect guitar for the price.

  • from Orlando, FL August 19, 2016

    Great Guitar is the best I've bought!

    I just bought the guitar and I love it the sound is amazing the finish is beautiful and to play it wow!! It's so delicious to play so easy and it just make you feel like you don't want to stop doing it is a great guitar and plays and sound even better than many expensive guitars I would recommend it to anyone!

  • from Ohio April 21, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro, Solo Performer

    Es Muy Bueno!

    After FINALLY finding an instructor (Fernando from southern Spain!) in my area, I began my study of Flamenco guitar. He said my current classical guitar was fine to start on, but here was an excuse to buy yet another guitar. I checked the local music stores and didn't really find anything so started searching on-line. After reading various reviews I felt this guitar would best suit my performance/price requirements. I like some bottom in my sound so opted for the Negra over the Blanco. As usual, Sweetwater and my guy there, Sam, were great at processing the order.
    It's an excellent guitar, the look is very striking between the lighter top and the darker back and sides. I like the mic/piezo blend option of the Fishman preamp, preferring the mic sound more, but still need to tweak to find that sweet spot. It's nice to have that mic/piezo option. The gold/black filigree on the tuners doesn't add any sonic value but looks classy. It's a quality instrument. There are more expensive and cheaper Flamenco-style guitars out there, but this gives good value for the $$. I do like the bottom end and am quite pleased with the overall sound; although I will admit I've not played many other "Flamenco" guitars. While perfection in life is rarely, if ever, realized, I can't really find anything wrong with the guitar at this point. The guitar and I are still getting to know one another but I've not found any dead spots on the neck, the notes ring out and those bottom strings give me the low end I like. It "is" lighter than my current classical and the neck a bit more accessible, all traits of the Flamenco build. If my playing skills become more deserving I would certainly consider upgrading to one of the premier Cordobas. Hey, if they are good enough for Ben Woods...

  • from Arizona April 1, 2016Music Background:
    play classical and folk for fun

    Cordoba GK Studio Negra

    I ordered this guitar to augment my classical guitar I have had for 40 years. This guitar has exceeded my expectations in every category. It looks and sounds great. I particularly like the low action on the strings. I have arthritis in my fingers and this guitar makes using bar cords possible again. The guitar was perfect as received (had to tune strings) and was in use right out of the case. I was going to buy a hard type case for this but I find I like the case that came with it so well I won't need to. All in all I am very pleased with my purchase. I would recommend this guitar to anyone and I would recommend working with Sweetwater to anyone.

  • from Las Vegas October 7, 2015Music Background:
    X keyboard player, Beginner guitar

    Outstanding Sound and Craftmanship

    I had bought a C5ce and loved it, but the strings spacing was a little to close for my fat fingers. So I sold it and bought this . I love it. The spacing is perfect for me and the sound this guitar is incredible. I am an a beginning player , trying to learn Spanish and classical music so I wanted a guitar that sounds and plays clean and clear. This fits the bill. My only complaint is the socket for the cord is loose from the inside, but I will tighten it when I replace the strings. This guitar is beautiful just sitting . I wish I could get across how great this guitar is. I love it again and again and again...Buy this.from Sweetwater , great service....Thanks Mike

  • from Conyers ,Ga 30021 July 14, 2015

    Great guitars

    I Love Spanish guitar's

  • from Hope, ME June 6, 2015Music Background:
    Professional jazz musician

    Sweet Ax

    I have had a Cordoba C-10 for about two years and love the guitar for its beauty, expressive tone and playability but needed a flamenco-style nylon string guitar I could take on gigs and amplify without too much hassle, as well as be able to reach the upper register for those jazz and bossa numbers. Enter the GK Studio. Nate Edwards was extremely helpful in getting this order to me quickly and painlessly. Having played the GK on a gig for the first time last night I am very pleased. Nice action, crisp tones and sensitive to the touch. A lot of guitar for the bucks and a real delight to play. Plus, she's just a gorgeous instrument, with the spruce top and maple binding setting off the rosewood back and sides. You kinda' want to be alone with her. But not in a creepy way...

    Well, maybe a little creepy.

  • from Bronx, NY December 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Music Director for a church.

    Amazing

    I just got the Cordoba GKStudio Negra two days ago and I must say the sound of the guitar is amazing love it. The built on it is really good. And the amazing customer service from Ian really really really on point. Sweetwater thank you so much . Merry Christmas
    Ray Rivera

  • from Clermont, FL May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Class Act!

    I been playing guitar for then 40 years and never considered the possibility of purchasing a crossover instrument like the Cordoba GK Studio Negra, until now . The quality, feel, tone and playability is first rate.. And I can't say enough about the onboard Fishman electronics. A class act to be sure... So if your looking for a crossover instrument that feels and plays as well as your favorite acoustic electric or steel string guitar, consider the Cordoba GK Studio Negra . You will be glad you did! Thanks JK at Sweetwater.

  • from San Diego, CA November 23, 2012

    Beautiful Tone and Looks.

    What can I say? This beauty is loud, fast, deep, snappy, and classy. You don't even notice the Fishman pickup because the Rosewood is so dark. You have to hold and play this guitar to understand just how light the body is and how rich the basses are. I would recommend it most for those transitioning from steel string or those who pursue Flamenco. If you are a strict classical player, you may want something more traditional. Personally, I love this guitar.

  • from Chicago, IL March 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Beautiful Guitar!

    This is an amazing guitar for the price. I bought mine from Sweetwater.com and I have to say that I am more than pleased with it. It looks and sounds great. I highly recommend this guitar to those who are passionate about Flamenco and who want to get a great instrument to play it with. Moreover, the guys at Sweetwater were extremely helpful and friendly. I will always buy from them!

  • from January 28, 2016Music Background:
    Non professional hobbyist

    Like it!

    The sound is nice and bright. At first I had a fret buzz on D string at frets 4-6. After playing it for a while it has disappeared. Very pleased with the purchase.

  • from Columbus Indiana March 17, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist

    Very Nice Guitar

    This is an excellent guitar, period. I would say "for the money" but it really is a beautifully made instrument at any price point. The top on mine is very nicely figured, and the set-up and action were good right from the box. I have typically played classical guitars with wider necks, but I have had a couple of crossover guitars that went to the opposite extreme, and used necks that were too narrow for nylon strings. I constantly fought the problem of the strings slipping over the edge of the fingerboard, which really made them unplayable for me. The GK has a very comfortable neck, slightly narrower than a classical, but generous enough in width to allow room between the strings and still have plenty of clearance at the edge of the fingerboard. This neck is perfect for my hand. The electronics work extremely well. I use the under-saddle pickup primarily, but I have found that the microphone is really nice for amplifying percussive body tapping. If you use a looping device, this is really a cool option. I can set up a percussive loop with the mic, and then roll over to the UST for the string sound. Best of all, it sounds very warm and balanced when played acoustically. This guitar is an excellent value, and Sweetwater's customer service is second to none.

  • from Mercer, ND June 2, 2014Music Background:
    guitar lover, aspiring musician, actor,model, athlete, politician

    Love at first sight!

    Got this one after much research at this price range. I've played steel string instruments only and wasn't expecting much for an addition to my guitar collection. The base tone and volume…..Ay compadre, it is thee best! Thanks Jon Gilispie/Sweetwater

  • from Frederick, MD February 25, 2014Music Background:
    amateur musician

    good performance to price ratio

    Bought this guitar for playing in a jazz band. We do gypsy jazz, swing, bossa nova, bebop. This guitar sounds really good in all forms -- you get the great articulation and fast play of a flamenco, but some respectable base for solos. The Fishman pickup system works well with a Bassman emulation SS amp or with my Blues Junior, has nice control for feedback and balance.
    The on board tuner is so-so, I don't use it.
    Appearance is very good, finish is adequate for the price point: some marginal glue jobs and finishing, and the frets required filing on the edges. However, the guitar arrived well set up, and tuning was off 1/2 note down on all six strings. Impressive. I Highly recommend Sweetwater for mail order guitars. They did a much better job than the big outfits in delivering the right guitar in a ready to play state.

  • from Chicago suburb. July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Cordoba 3k Studio Negro

    Better sound and resonance than guitars c0sting 2-3x the price.

    Purchase experience was flawless. Shipped on time. Lower price than some "discount" web ites. No sales tax. Are you kidding me !

  • from Las Cruces, NM September 10, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Professor of Music, aficionado, multi-instrumentalist

    cordoba gk negra

    This is an excellent guitar for the $$$! I got it for the convenience of the cutaway and have been looking for a decent acoustic/elec guitar for a while. It has great sound whether plugged in or playing acoustically. Very comfortable neck and easy to play. This guitar is good enough to play any style desired I use it for classical and flamenco and it does the job of course it is weighed more towards flamenco. Cordoba specializes on nylon guitars so they are made to specs. Sweetwater has excellent customer service with included inspection and warranty that other authorized dealers will not give you. I will use them again for any musical items in the near future.

  • from Philadelphia, PA July 10, 2014

    Not sturdy enough for Flamenco

    Not the worst sound and the pickups are nice. But it cracked on the top from playing golpe, which is a basic flamenco technique. If you don't plan on playing Flamenco you might find yourself a decent gigging guitar.

Questions about the Cordoba GK Studio Negra?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway