0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Cordoba GK Studio Pro Negra - European Spruce Top Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Cordoba GK Studio Pro Negra - European Spruce Top?

Questions about the Cordoba GK Studio Pro Negra - European Spruce Top?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from CT October 25, 2016Music Background:
    Regularly giging singer songwriter

    My new go-to guitar

    I am an acoustic (mostly steel string) fingerstyle guitarist. When I first played a demo model of the GK Negra at a local chain music store I was not in the market for a nylon string classical. I just wanted to try something different. Different it was! I was immediately blown away by both the playability and the fabulously lush sound I was able to produce. I played for a couple of hours and couldn't stop. A sales person suggested I plug in and when I did it was all over...I couldn't put the guitar down. The Fishman Prefix ProBlend pickup system reproduced all the subtile tonal color that captured my attention when I first started playing acoustically. I knew immediately that I wanted to own this guitar.

    The store I was at didn't have a "new" model and wasn't going to be able to get one for over a month. I
    found the same guitar on Sweetwater (for less!) and, though I have never bought a guitar that I didn't actually pick up an play first, I decided to give an online purchase a try (largely because of Sweetwater's return policy and satisfaction guarentee). I had my guitar in a couple of days. It was set up even better than the one I played in the store and had the same great sound. This is important because there can be inconsistency in tonal quality between individual guitars even when they are the same model. This was not the case with Cordoba. I was VERY pleased with Sweetwaters service and attention to detail. They made my first experience buying a guitar online a positive one (so much so that I will definitely shop with them again).

    I own (and have owned) high end Taylors, Martins and a vintage Guild. I just love the nuances of different tonewood combinations and guitar designs. I could not believe how well the Cordoba stood up against my other much more expensive guitars in terms of tone quality and playability. It is my go-to guitar at home and I fully expect to be using it at gigs regularly in the very near future. The only reason its not my primary gig guitar now is that I re-writing many of my arrangements of songs I play on steel string because, the GK Pro is so playable. I am able to play better and do more with this guitar.

    I'm sure a classical or flamenco guitar purist would not appreciate some of the deviations/innovations Cordoba has incorporated into the GK Pro Negra - like the relatively low action, the narrower neck radius and more rounded neck. But it is a beautiful instrument in its own right and a joy to play for a crossover steel string player like myself.

    High marks for Cordoba and Sweetwater!

  • from Fallon, Nv September 5, 2016Music Background:
    Artist, with a home studio.

    Cordoba GK Pro Negra

    Mine came yesterday by UPS and must state very well packaged. Always been interested in Nylon stringed guitars and took the plunge. Well this model blew me away perfect in all aspects and sounds outstanding both plugged in and not. The finish and workmanship....outstanding and that special case great.....I added it to my other non-nylon electric/acoustic guitars. I found the Cordoba has a higher string action and it takes awhile to get used to but that is the way all nylon string guitars are built....but they sound better than metal strings. I made a good decision on this guitar thanks to Paul Allen my Sweeter Rep. Very satisfied no issues what so ever..Jim Fallon, Nv.

  • from Iowa City, Iowa April 24, 2016Music Background:
    Working and touring musician, artist.

    I had to get another one!

    I already own several Cordoba Guitars, including a GK Pro Negra (see my first review below) and have made it the instrument of choice for my work. I generally play anywhere from 6 to 8 shows a week, so I need a real instrument of quality.
    My original GK Pro has taken a literal beating in the last 3 years, adding up to almost 1,000 shows. I live in the midwest and tour between here and the tropics, so the guitar not only has a lot of shows to do, but goes through severe climate changes overnight. I recently had an accident where the case fell of a counter, broke, and the guitar came flying out and hit the floor, causing an 7 inch crack in her top. Although she is on the mend and will be back on track in a couple of week, and event though I have other Cordoba models that are similar to the GK Pro (55FCE Negra, GK Studio Negra), I wasn't feeling well about the thought of losing this guitar if it took another blow.
    There was never second guessing or any thought on trying another guitar. The Cordoba GK Pro Negra will always be the sound of my live shows!
    I also would like to say thank you to my friend, Robert Williams, who is not just a great sales engineer, but a great human being. Un abrazo, hermano!
    Thank you Cordoba for making such great instruments and helping me in my life in music.
    Here's to another 1,000 shows!
    Fernando Ufret

  • from Kansas City February 11, 2016Music Background:
    Artist

    Sweet!!!

    I purchased the Cordoba Pro Negra Spruce&Rosewood from Sweetwater and received the guitar in less than 2 days. The guitar is a beauty with matching sound. The guitar has even tones and great bass response for playing Jazz/Sinatra styles as well as instrumentals. I love the overtones and overall brilliance of this guitar. The humidified case is a big plus. Thanks, Sweetwater, for superior service and a wonderful product.

  • from Columbus OH August 28, 2015

    Great Instrument

    Love this guitar. It really has an amazing tone and sound. It also really puts out the volume (acoustically). I have run it through my PA and all of my guitar amps and the electronics are very pliable, so I can get the sound I'm looking for. My only negative comment would be Cordoba advertises this as a flamenco style and the action comes setup like a standard classical guitar, but a visit for a setup at my local luthier set it right. I play primarily jazz and classical string heights are problem up around the 12th fret for me at least. It is long way to go to get to fret board with some of those really weird chords.

  • from April 9, 2015

    great guitar

    When i opened my package i was amazed how beautiful this guitar looks solid spruce top and solid rosewood back and sides gives amazing sound. This is truly very nice modern classical flamenco guitar. My guitar was packed very good. It came in two boxes and also case for guitar is very sturdy and beautiful. Guitar was already tuned and it works impeccable. I do not see any issues. Thanks Sweetwater!!!!

  • from Indiana April 4, 2015Music Background:
    Church worship leader. Play multiple instruments over 40 yrs.

    One beautiful guitar!

    The craftsmanship and attention to detail on this guitar makes it a piece of art. The quality and attention to detail makes this a very fine instrument. My first impression of this guitar when I first picked it up was how beautiful it was. Then when I began to play it the tone touched my hear. The richness of the lower bass strings are balanced with a very sweet and clean tone on the upper register. When replacing the strings, I suggest staying with the same ones that come with the guitar. The electronics give you a lot of control over the sound. I play this guitar more than my expensive Tayor 716. Very nice guitar. I'm buying the 55fce next! Don't tell my wife.

  • from Redlands, Ca January 23, 2014Music Background:
    Classical, Jazz, and Contemporary Guitarist

    WOW, What a Guitar!

    The GK Pro Negra is a lot of guitar for the buck, I was so blown away by the sound! It is a very versatile nylon string- you can play Flamenco all the way to Bossa and Jazz. The Bass on this thing is incredible and the Highs are profound. The neck is smooth and transitions are a lot easier than most other nylon guitars I have played in the $1500 range. To Top it off.. it is All Solid!
    Great job Cordoba!

  • from June 17, 2013Music Background:
    Artist

    THIS GUITAR IS PERFECT!

    I OWN 3 CORDOBA GUITARS; C7, GK STUDIO NEGRA, AND NOW A GK PRO NEGRA!
    THIS GUITAR IS EVERYTHING YOU WANT IT TO BE AND MORE. FROM THE NECK FEEL TO THE HUGE SOUND IT GETS, IT'S LIKE IT WAS BUILD TO BE VERY VERSATILE.
    MY SHOW RANGES FROM GYPSY KINGS TO QUEEN, AND THIS IS THE PERFECT GUITAR FOR THE JOB!
    THANKS TO CORDOBA GUITARS FOR SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT AND THANK SWEETWATER FOR BEING AWESOME AT WHAT THEY DO!

  • from January 22, 2013

    Cordoba GK Pro Negra

    Just purchased a GK Pro Negra! Very impressed with the craftsmanship of this guitar. Great playability and tone. Highly recommended! Nice going Cordoba! Jerry

Questions about the Cordoba GK Studio Pro Negra - European Spruce Top?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway