0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Gator ATA Molded PE Keyboard Case - 88-Key Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • Dan
    from Naples, FL April 26, 2015Music Background:
    Assistant to Beethoven

    Best hard case I've ever had

    This case is huge. I also have the smaller case for my 76 key Triton pro. I've read lots of user reviews on them and honestly can't see everyone ever being able to top it. The handle breaking off seems to be one I've read the most, but highly doubt I'll be using that with my keyboards in it. I prefer the metal handle on the end so I can take advantage of the wheels. Some say it's too thin, while others say it's too heavy. If thicker it would be heavier and as is I think has tons of protection for my investments. I think it would be great if the case had a couple sturdy rings that one could attach a shoulder strap to. I'd think that would make much better use of and care of the middle handle. The inserts and Velcro spacers are fantastic and do the job perfectly.

    My only con is with Gator support (or sales). I have emailed them on several occasions prior to buying my first case and they never responded. It's hard not to take away stars for that since that's incredibly bad business.

  • Carol
    from MN January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Yamaha Tyros5

    I am Gerald's wife and am the primary user of the Tyros5. We have used the Tyros and the Tyros2 extensively as we both have served as the orchestra pit band for several musicals. Even though we truly felt the first two Tyros' we have were great, the Tyros5 is superb. The sounds are perfect. We have absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend this instrument.
    We purchased the Gator case last and it is fine also.

  • Josiah
    from Arroyo Grande, CA July 10, 2013

    Works Great, built like a tank

    We bought the keyboard at a national chain and intended to buy a case at the same time. The cases were sold out so we decided to order one online from the same retail store, thankfully I got a call from one of the helpful sales reps at sweetwater. Paul was a tremendous help and made sure we got the case that would fit our needs and our keyboard (which is a good thing because the one we would have been sold was too small).

    I always enjoy working with the Sweetwater team

  • Lori S.
    from Anderson, In November 25, 2012Music Background:
    play out locally

    Great Case fits a couple of my keyboards

    Love this case. The strap system makes it very easy to adjust to fit whichever keyboard i am using to play out. the wheels make it easy for me to handle this big boy by myself and the plastic seems very strong. I plan to buy another one for my smaller boards.

  • Steve Golz
    from Montgomery, IL March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound and musician.

    Big case

    My wife has 2 keyboards and I wanted a case that fit one or the other. This case fits the bill. Very heavy duty construction. Very happy with the case.

  • Ray Champion
    from Imlay City, MI USA December 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Case But Heavier Than Listed

    It's great that I can customize the inside to fit my keyboard (Korg Krome88). But...the Krome weighs 14lbs less than my MO8 and the listed weight on the Gator case is 20lbs (same as the MO8 case). When I weighed the Gator case it came out at 31lbs. So the difference between the 2 keyboards & cases are significantly more than what I expected. Fortunately the wheels on the Gator case saved me. It makes it a lot easier to load in my vehicle. All in all I'm happy with it.

  • Jon Colon
    from Saint Louis, MO USA July 11, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur Keyboardist and Live Sound Engineer

    Pretty Decent Case Overall

    I bought this case after I purchased a Korg Kronos 88 from Sweetwater. The case has plenty of additional foam and padding with velcro to allow for good placement of the keyboard inside the case. The locks are pretty solid, and the handles on each end along with the heavy duty luggage-type wheels are a god-send! I say that because once you get a 50lb keyboard and add the additional weight of the case itself (36lbs), it becomes a monster! (86lbs) The single handle on the top becomes nothing but eye-candy at that point! You are definitely not going to lug this one with one hand like a briefcase to the office! Lots of folks complain about the looks of the case, but you know...it does the job, and protects my $3,800 investment! It's not whether it's pretty or not. Well worth the money, and once again my sales rep, Bart Good did a solid job with my order...he even knocked a little off the price for a returning Sweetwater customer! Aim High, Bart!

  • G. Ward
    from Bowie, MD USA December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Artist/Engineer; Up and comming Musician

    Travel Protection

    My primary concern was the weight. Slightly heavier than a bag style, much lighter than other hard shells. I'm sold. This is my 4th case, and I'm certain its my last. I Like the handle and jelly wheels.

  • Ryan
    from Freeport, IL May 30, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Gator GKPE-88-TSA (88-Key)

    Case is very sturdy, and incredibly well balanced (at least with my Motif xf8)...I did have to take ALL of the inside padding out of the case in order for the keyboard to fit, and there isn't room for even the power chord...

  • Alex Ramos
    from Alameda, CA December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Case...Terrible Handle

    I've had this case for almost 3 years now. It's very solid no doubt. It's also pretty heavy, but I guess that comes with the protection. I use to transport a Yamaha CP5 so the combined weight is not very manageable for one person except for rolling on the wheels...which brings me to the one serious downside. Like others, my handle busted on me while rolling it! It sheared right off. Like someone else mentioned I'm opting to repair it myself as opposed to trying to get a replacement with the same potential issue.

  • Ed DesJardins
    from Maine August 23, 2012Music Background:
    Pro touring musician

    Works

    Previously I posted a not so flattering review of this case when the center handle snapped off in my hand while trying to lift the case with a Motif ES 8 inside. They use a plastic lug that will certainly break in short time and in my opinion should not be an issue with a 350.00+ case. Sweetwater was great to offer a new case but I declined the offer because I would just be getting the same problem anyway. So I fixed this case myself using some bolts and lock nuts. I had to drill out the old lugs - quite a little task but it is fixed and will work from here on in. The positive aspects of the case are it's fairly light weight, solid useable handles on each end, and smooth rugged wheels. So I do like the case - but Gator would do well to redesign that handle so end users wouldn't have to go through so much trouble to keep and use it in the real world.

  • PianoJoe
    from Seattle, WA January 18, 2012Music Background:
    performing pianist

    flawed

    I had this case for less than a year & the top side suit case handle busted off in my hand when i was lifting it into my car. Now its almost impossible to use. Really disappointed : (

Questions about the Gator ATA Molded PE Keyboard Case - 88-Key?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway