0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Gator GK-88-SLIM Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key Slim Reviews

3.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator GK-88-SLIM Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key Slim?

Questions about the Gator GK-88-SLIM Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key Slim?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Johnnie
    from September 20, 2015

    Perfect Fit for Akai MPK88

    I love this case! Perfect for the Akai MPK88 (which I currently have). So happy I can finally take my board with me wherever I go. And it weighs less than 20 lbs.

  • John
    from Upstate, NY July 21, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro, Worship Leader

    Perfect for the Yamaha CP4 Stage

    I struggled finding any definitive guidance on what case would fit the Yamaha CP4 stage. After some research and a leap of faith, I ordered this for our church. It is an extremely well made case and more robust than I thought it would be. I love the highly padded internal retention straps that hold the piano firmly in place.

    The only minor downside if there is one is that there isn't a great place to stow the optional music stand that attaches to the piano. I ended up putting it careful in with the piano as the external pocket is not large enough to accommodate it.

    Even though this case will see light use at Church, my many years of gigging experience tells me this should serve the weekend bar/lounge warrior well. I used to favor SKB for quality but Gator is definitely up to the task now as well.

  • Donn Stephens
    from Springfield, IL April 1, 2014Music Background:
    educator, composer, performer

    Perfect

    Absolutely perfect. Just what was needed, fit, protection, ease of handling, cost......everything was just perfect.

  • Emerson Scott
    from Decatur AL USA October 27, 2014Music Background:
    Former music teacher, Current hobbyist.

    Best Solution for Low-Impact Transport

    This is my 3rd Gator Keyboard bag, but my first 'Slim' version. I like the snug fit on my Yamaha keyboard - the previous bags needed extra foam padding to get a 'tight' feel. I couldn't give these bags a '5' because they seem to last only about a year, before visible wear and tear on the fabric or zipper. And, I am not a regular 5-nights a week musician.

  • Terry Miller
    from Lady Lake, FL United States April 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician and studio player for 50yrs.

    Gator GK-88 Slim

    To tell you the truth I haven't even used it yet but I have inspected it thoroughly and find it of very good quality. I can't wait to actually use it for real. Since it is made right here in the great state of FLORIDA, I have no doubt it will be great...........Go Gator

  • Pete
    from Central Florida February 5, 2014Music Background:
    Piano since '63, Trombone since '65, Guitar (acoustic & bass) since '68...with a bit of Harmonica thrown in for good measure

    Fits like a glove...nearly

    Although not specifically made for my Casio PX-350, it is designed for slimmer digital pianos - it works well. This case securely holds the keyboard (which will only nestle in it's 600 denier nylon fabric and foam womb briefly during transport) and arrives unscathed.
    I agree with some who point out that the top handle could be able to be upgraded or redesigned to provide a more secure handle, but it's not a deal-breaker for me.

  • Matt
    from Proctor, VT June 27, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Professional Musician 30+ years

    NICE CASE

    Everything about the case is great, except that the handle at the top (when carrying it like a brief case) needs to be sturdier, and there needs to be another set of handles on the opposite side. What is there, however, is quite good. Sturdy, padded, and the wheels are solid and work great. The keyboard is well protected and the exterior pocket is very handy. Add sturdier handles and more of them on the side, and I would rate this a 5 star.

  • B Edwards
    from Idaho January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    not suitable for workstation keyboards..too narrow

    When I bought the Yamaha MOXF8 workstation, this product came up on the website. It is a nice case, just too narrow for a workstation. I think the sales engineers at Sweetwater should watch out for this sort of mixup so it can be avoided...it would also be nice if there was a warning on the slim case description right up front that lets you know to get the one that isn't slim. The case overall is a good quality case....just not happy about it not specifying that it is only good for a plain skinny keyboard.

  • Mike
    from CT USA September 19, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Well made and sturdy case, not enough handles

    This case is very well made and I feel completely confident that my keyboard is safe. My only complaint is that it is not much to grab onto when going up stairs. It feels like there should be more straps on the top of the case. Also the handle on the front is very comfortable in the hand, however the way it is attached to the actual case seems like it could break off easily if twisted the wrong way. Overall I'm happy with the case and would recommend.

  • Yuya
    from November 18, 2014

    Flimsy

    The handle at the end is too weak, it broke off under the weight of my keyboard and caused it to fall to the ground, breaking a key and denting the cabinet. Since there are no wheels on the sides and the handles at the sides are too long to actually carry it by unless you're over 6 feet tall, I can no longer use it in this state.

    Consider buying something much sturdier if your keyboard is a heavier, all-metal model.

  • David
    from Irvine CA December 23, 2016

    Too Thin

    Got one of these for my KORS SV-1 88 last year . The padding is too thin . What I did I cut and put one inch thick rubber pad at the bottom , around the corners and put blanket on top of my SV-1 and
    I'm safe . This case is ok for light 88 keys not heavy keys like mine . I would of given 3 star if the price was right. Did someone's title say "Flimsy" ? That's right ... it is flimsy too .

Questions about the Gator GK-88-SLIM Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key Slim?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway