0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Gator GK-88 Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key Reviews

3.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator GK-88 Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key?

Questions about the Gator GK-88 Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • John Mannes
    from Germantown , Maryland March 23, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Composer, Studio Owner, Producer & Nice Guy!

    A Suit for my KronosX88

    Well, finally an opportunity to be short worded on a review of Five Star praise. My Sales Rep, Ryan, W. who recently sold me a Kronos888 suggested for my use and price a Gater Gk-88 Case with Rollers. It was $200.00 less then an ATA Hard Case, and since my dream of becoming a Rock Star when I was 12 and actually thought I could become Mic Jagger, I work out of a studio all the time except when I move to another studio, so this case fit the Bill (literally)! The case seem's like it was custom made for the Korg Kronos88, but of course, it's not, but I can still believe it was!
    Durable Black Denier Nylon with Support to make it stiff & solid. Inside is Black as well with padding to comfortably fit the keyboard, but holding it in end to end.snug in a bug, so keyboard will not move around in case. Two very good quality Black Covered Material Protection Straps just for added security and protection and this is oh so much easier then using the Foam fit cases that you need to take a square of foam from here and put it there, almost like figuring out a puzzle! Five stars for Quality, Five again for Price and Five more for arriving so quickly tat I wasn't even thinking about looking for a Fed Ex Truck!
    You know this is like my 4th review in about 4 months and I have noticed something. The competition can't compete with Sweetwater! I am officially a Sweetwater Customer,,period. They only know how to do things right, for you to smile, for you to feel "I got a good deal". Besides all the extras which are pretty amazing like 1 year extra coverage, free tech, call backs, working with the same Salesman who get's to know you. Ryan has listened to some of my work, read about my career, knows my Studio and what's in it! It's all good. In fact it's absolutely Great!
    This is a short review for me. Ryan w. know's that as well!

  • Robert
    from CA July 18, 2012Music Background:
    30+ year gigging professional

    Old Faithful!

    For what it is...a light duty keyboard case...it has held up remarkably well. I have used this for well over a year now and have had no problems - none! It rolls well and protects well. I rarely use the outer pockets, but when I have it hasn't been a problem. It is used at least once a week. So; I've had the back breaking Gator ATA Tour 88 and this GK-88, and I much prefer this. With my next board I will however use the next grade up which is the polypropylene semi-hard shell case by Gator because I don't want a soft shell over the large touch screens that are coming on a lot of keyboards these days. Unless I have roadies I will never get a heavy ATA flight case again - (I gave away the Tour 88). The board I put in this case is a Roland RD700GX and this case makes wielding that board around a breeze. For the price, it's just right!
    ~best

  • Rob Fulton
    from Arvada Co March 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Mover haha

    Fits a Kurzweil 2600

    The dimensions of the Kurzweil - 54.3 x 17.8 x 4.8 in. (137.9 x 45.1 x 12.2cm) and the 57.5" x 18" x 6" of this case as you can see will.

  • Mitch
    from Alabama November 25, 2011Music Background:
    Busy mostly amateur musician.

    Excellent case

    For an occasional gigging player who does not need the weight of a fully rigid case and has the ability to roll, this is a great case.

  • Customer
    from December 25, 2015

    Fits like a glove

    I called, as this was a present. The service was great, and the case fits just like it should! Thanks.

  • AJGOGAN
    from Homosassa,Fla. February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    works for me

    well made serves the tyros5 76 key well . fits with room to put the two speakers( TRS-MSO5) .like the padding with padded straps protects the keyboard. I am 76yrs. old makes haul it around w/ wheels a lot easier. and SWEETWATER came through again good price quick delivery thanks guys & gals keep up the good work second to none when it comes to customer service.

  • Chris French
    from SF Bay Area, CA February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good Value

    Great case for the money. Sturdy yet light, with good features inside and out. Was a bit larger than the keyboard I got it for (a Kurzweil PC3x), but the inner lock-straps keep it from moving around inside the case.

  • Edmundo
    from New York City April 22, 2015Music Background:
    Concert Producer/ Event Manager

    Review Gator GK Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key

    The case offers excellent protection and the wheels are an especially helpful feature.

  • Customer
    from September 14, 2014

    Review of The Gator GK Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case

    It's a good case, my only complaint is that it's not easy to wheel around considering that there is not a handle in the back-middle. Otherwise it's great.

  • Elton
    from Florida December 17, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Protection

    I purchased the Gator case for my stage Piano, what a great fit.

    It is now safely stored out of the dust and dirt, away from little hands.

    I should have bought this months ago. Thanks again.

  • David Goering
    from Spokane, WA September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fits the Yamaha S90XS

    My S90XS fits this case perfectly even though the specs suggested that it would be a half inch too short. Now we'll have to see how well it holds up over time. My last one (Gig Skinz) only lasted a couple of years before completely ripping out, so I'm hoping for better!

  • Sam
    from Columbia, SC July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Really protects my investment

    I am not a musician that does a lot of gigging, so I really don't need a hard covered case for my S90 XS, but for when I do need to travel to a gig, this case does a good job of protecting my investment.. The foam padding is thick enough to protect my keyboard from minor dings and falls. I really like the two straps inside the case which hold my keyboard in place which doesn't allow it to move during carry. The only thing I would add to the case would be a shoulder carry strap. I have to lug the case/keyboard up and down a set of stairs and having a shoulder strap would make that task easier.

  • Ed Lambert
    from United States June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Gator Case

    I've used Gator cases before and this one is just as good as the rest.

  • Ky Katsumoto
    from El Cerrito, CA USA January 4, 2012Music Background:
    piano

    I love my Gator GK-88

    I am very please with my Gator GK-88 that I purchased from Sweetwater. The case is light and durable, has good balance and ample space to store my foot pedal and connectors. I was also very happy with the service that Sweetwater provided in facilitating my purchase. They were prompt in filling the order and their follow-up to make sure I received it on time and in good order was great. Thank you, guys!

  • Jeff
    from Anaheim, CA September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    A good middle ground

    I was looking for something that splits the difference between a hard shell case (like the Gator or SKB ATA cases), and a bag with little to no padding, so I bought this. This case is relatively inexpensive, has decent padding, and the wheels are really useful.

    It might seem weird, but I actually don't like that it has a pocket on the side. I've got a pretty big duffel bag that I keep all my cables, pedals, stomp boxes and extra junk in (as I imagine most keyboardists do), and since the outside pocket is way too small to fit any of that, I don't think it's useful. I'd rather Gator just left it off, because I don't think anybody will actually use it. But the padding is pretty sturdy, and it's kept my keyboard safe so far - which is my main concern.

    This is a great case for in-town stuff. If you're touring, you'll obviously want something more heavy duty.

  • Josh Harting
    from Boston July 17, 2007Music Background:
    Original recordings to feed obsessive hobby

    Acceptable for a Kurzweil K2500XS within reason

    For the money, it can't be beat. I'd just not use it for regular gigs. For the occasional trip, it has been sturdy enough and therefore, fine.

  • Customer
    from San Diego, CA July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    very sturdy but heavy

    I really like the case...it has really solid construction and looks like it's made with really high quality parts...the padded straps on the inside are wonderful and once my keyboard is in the case and I can use the wheels it's great. But it's way heavier than I was expecting and that makes it really difficult to get the case and keyboard in and out of my car without help. I think they could have also added a better pocket for sheet music...all my accessories fit and there are fun little pockets for pens and headphones, but my music really just fits in the mesh part out front without getting smooshed and i'd rather it be more protected. overall though, I'm happy with it.

  • Jens
    from Madison, WI October 18, 2012

    A decent, affordable alternative

    The GK-88 is an affordable alternative to a hard shell flight case for the average gigging or jamming musician. No,it probably won't survive a world tour, but I doubt that that phone call is coming anyway.

    If you're looking for some protection for your beloved 88 key pride and joy while you travel to and from a local gig or jam, this is your case. Ample pockets for cable and pedal storage and easy rolling wheels.

    One complaint - it could use more grab handles for hoisting it into the car or up onto the stage. Other than that, I'm quite happy with the GK-88.

  • Lee Griffith
    from Santa Cruz, CA September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician.

    Gator GK-88 Keyboard Case

    This is a good case for the money but not the best I have owned. It is fairly heavy in an empty state and the lack of a shoulder strap makes it more difficult to transport up and down stairs. If it had a strap, I would have given it a 4 star rating instead of 3 stars. I bought it for a Nord Stage 2 88 keyboard and it is a bit too long for this, but the internal straps hold the keyboard securely.

  • "Uncle" Walt Rodriguez
    from Hillsboro,OR December 6, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Very handy overall but could be modified for easier transport.

    The case was pretty much what I had expected, however perhaps the addition of some modest "side" wheels and a shoulder strap would be handy for the heavier "88" models.
    Relace "netting" on the side pouches with a solid fabric thast won't get caught on objects you may encounter when moving or loading etc.
    [I tore mine and haven't even use it yet!]

  • Joel Mercado-See
    from Houston, TX July 1, 2006Music Background:
    singer/songwriter/pianist

    Hmmm....

    I bought this case along with my Kurzweil Sp88x about a year ago. I really loved the stairsliders. They really helped when I was taking my keys up or down at venues without ramps. I wouldn't recommend using them at home cuz they will scratch up wood or pull carpet! As durable and rugged as this case is made out to sound... it still wasn't enough for me. The fabric is alreay worn out. The stitching for the side handles have ripped. Also, I never use the accessory pocket. It's enough like a game of Tetris trying to load a van with equipment without having a large lump in the middle of a case! For the first 6months I had this case, I really loved it... It was light and made loading and unloading so much faster. My only gripe with this product is that it not made for musicians who gig more than every other week...

  • Gary Rigers
    from Michigan July 23, 2016Music Background:
    In bands for 50 years. Some pro work.

    Keyboard case

    Over all pretty good. Not as good as my old case but they don't make it anymore. Trying to pull it up stairs the wheel guards catch and you have to wrestle it to get it free. They have plastic runners which is nice but afraid it will pull the strands of my carpet. I only move it once or twice a month so it's not a deal breaker but if I was on the road it would bug me. Keeps my board nice and secure with room for my stuff.

  • Judy Kaye
    from Central Illinois March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Well-made, except....

    The bag is great. The zipper does not want to go around one corner. I'm afraid it is going to be returned. It is a nylon zipper, which is good, but it appears to be sewn in too tightly on that corner.

    I wish it had a handle on the wheel end, to facilitate carrying by two people. I like the stair-slides on the bottom.

  • james
    from October 14, 2015

    junk

    Ripped after second time of use.

  • Michael Workman
    from San Antonio, TX January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    How are there so many good reviews for this?

    For an 88 note keyboard, this type of case is downright stupid. It is flimsy. I wouldn't expect it to last a year from any consistent road use. It's like a gig bag. For a larger keyboard, just not a good idea.

    Combine that with my FA-08 being much too skinny - it doesn't hold in place properly. Again, not a good idea.

Questions about the Gator GK-88 Semi-Rigid Keyboard Case - 88-Key?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway