0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Planet Waves GH Acoustic Guitar Humidifier Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Planet Waves GH Acoustic Guitar Humidifier?

Questions about the Planet Waves GH Acoustic Guitar Humidifier?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from October 30, 2016

    Better than the old ones!

    These humidifiers with the removable sponge are so much better than the old style ones where you had to inject the water into the material with a syringe. Very easy to use and they do a great job at keeping all my guitars humidified. Highly recommended!

  • Customer
    from Fort Wayne May 2, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It Works!

    I was skeptical of how well this very moderately priced humidifier could work. The alternative that was suggested just rattled around in the guitar, however, so this seemed like a better choice, if it worked. Lo and behold, it does. It is deceptively simple. You squeeze the sides, and out pops a sponge. You could do your dishes with it, and I assume that if you want to replace it, a chunk of kitchen sponge will do the trick. You soak the sponge to your liking, pop it back in the unit, and snap the top back on. Now for the feature that I think sets this apart from those plastic tubs. The unit slides between the strings in your soundhole. The little tab that you can see in the center bottom of the picture (which is the top when you place it in your guitar) is actually for the string to snap over, so that the humidifier cannot slide or come loose. The great thing about this is that it never touches your guitar (other than the strings) or the inside of the body, and cannot rattle around and make noise or damage the inside of the sound chamber. You can flip guitar all around, and the unit stays put. Also, as long as you have not totally sodden the sponge without squeezing it out, no water can come out to mess things up. So it does what it is supposed to, without creating any cause for worry.

  • Steve
    from Huntington IN December 4, 2016Music Background:
    Just a beginner

    Just got one today

    So simple to use. I didn't take the top of and pull the sponge. I just submerged it in water and shook the excess out of it. One reader said the clips break when you take the top off and on so I decided not to do it that way. Works just fine and does not drip any water at all

  • John Ritz
    from Greenfield, IN (USA) January 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and beginner

    Cold dry weather protection for my acoustic guitar.

    Seems to do the job of keeping my guitar at a good level of humidity while in the case. My meter shows consistent 45-50 percent. Don't really like keeping it between the strings as suggested, so it fits well next to either E string without falling through. Very good product.

  • Patrick Kondratko
    from Onaway, MI USA January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby Musician

    Does what it says on the tin

    Very simple. Does what it says. Small sponge inside, wet sponge, wring out, put into holder and put in the guitar strings. Pretty simple.

  • Tommy
    from Richmond, Va February 3, 2013Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Works well if you keep your guitar in a case

    I bought this because it's been dry and I thought I could just humidify my guitars "as needed." I thought I'd just stick the guitar in a case for a week with the humidifier and "refresh" it. Unfortunately, it doesn't work like that. After I did further research, I realized your guitar needs to stay at a constant humidity, not fluctuating. I can't stand keeping my instruments in cases because I'm lazy. I need them on a stand for easy access or they won't get played. So I decided to invest in a room humidifier instead. As for this product, I still intend to use it when I travel. It is easy, convenient, and effective when you have your instrument in it's case.

  • Brownie
    from Ft Wayne March 27, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Recording Hobbyist

    Works Great

    I'm using two of these in my acoustic (one by the high E one by the low E) and they keep my case (and the solid-wood Martin inside it) at around 40-45% humidity. Perfect. No complaints. Does take some effort...wetting the sponges on a regular basis. But totally worth it--if it keeps my guitar happy and healthy. So far, so good. Not sure yet how durable the plastic flanges/tabs will be over time.

  • Customer
    from January 26, 2012

    Simple, Easy Humidifier

    I have several of these little humidifiers. I even use them in the cases of some electric guitars, just laying in the case (rather than inserting into the soundhole, because there isn't a soundhole). So, even with an acoustic, if you don't feel comfortable inserting this into the soundhole where it places constant pressure on the strings, just throw it in the case. I have never had any problems with any water leaking out onto any of my guitars.

  • Will
    from Brush Prairie, WA April 7, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Decent Product

    It works great, but it doesn't look as good as it does in the picture. It doesn't damage the electronics in your A/E guitar.

  • Stanton Kramer
    from IL Illinois November 14, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-professional musican

    Best design of this type

    I've just ordered 3 more. I've had a bunch of humidifiers over the years. My first one was the original Planet waves and it lasted (for the most part) for 20 years. But in the original they sealed in the sponge-like material and eventually it got petrified and wouldn't hold much water.

    I got one unit of this updated model on closeout 2 years ago, but it didn't come with a sponge. The ability to open the top allowed me to put in some absorbent material. I actually used a piece of "Sham-Wow" and seems to take 1 full oz of water or a little more. Last year I made the mistake of buying some Chinese humidifiers. They're really really cheap, but I would have to buy them again as after one year they are no longer retaining water. I'm happy to pay up for a few more of the Planet Waves because I know I'll never have to replace them. Comparable humidifiers in other brands cost as much as $20 or more.

    To repeat myself, what makes this model superior is the ability to remove the top and replace the absorbent material. Unless a gorilla jumps on it, it should last forever and from time to time you'll only have to replace the guts with the material of your choice.

  • Steve
    from Lincoln, NE March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Plastic clips break

    The idea is good but the clips are very flimsy. I have to re wet the sponge every day or two in the winter and mine only lasted about a week before the clips broke.

Questions about the Planet Waves GH Acoustic Guitar Humidifier?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close