0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Wechter Guitars - LR Baggs Electronics Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Union City, CA May 5, 2013Music Background:
    Non-professional Hobbyist

    Wecther GA-8221CE Grand Auditorium Select with Cutaway

    I'm an older retired Grandfather who has played of and on for most of my life. I'm not a professional, but enjoy playing when I can. I was looking for a guitar with a nice sound with a cutaway and electronics. I was hesitant to purchase a guitar without actually playing it, so I asked Geoff for some advice about a few guitars I was looking at. I heard some very good things about this Grand Auditorium guitar, and decided to give it a try. He was very helpful in narrowing down what I was looking for. Overall, I was very impressed with the electronics and how the guitar performed plugged in. I fingerpick alot also, and although it does have a narrower neck, it is still playable, but excellent for flat picking. I really love the built in tuner. Even though the body thickness isn't wide, it still sounds rich with the sold natural woods used in it's contruction. . Unplugged isn't as loud as some guitars, but still pleasing. Plugged in this guitar sounds great, and I'm sure rivals or exceeds more expensive acoustics. The custom case is awesome. For the price, I don't think you could do any better. I highly recommend this Wechter guitar. I'm sure it will last me a very long time.

  • from leesburg, OH March 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awsom

    Played for years then got out and just got back in to it .The Wecther can run with the top dogs.Case is awsome can't beat this sweet deal.Kent was just great to work with.love sweetwater i think i found a new home.

  • from Danville, Ohio February 26, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great guitar, Great support!

    I am very pleased with this guitar. I wanted an affordable acoustic that I can take on stage. I wanted a guitar that had a plek set up. I can see, feel, and hear the difference. The gloss on the Rosewood back and sides is incredible. I am very pleased with the sound plugged and unplugged. Thanks go out to S E Andrew for his help and advice. Thanks to Chuck for an unexpected personal reply to my survey response. I appreciate the prompt courteous support from everyone at Sweetwater. I am a very satisfied customer.

  • from New England February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording and Mix Engineer, life long musician

    Wechter GA-8221

    When I received this guitar I was very very impressed with its sound and how beautiful it was. The tone is very well balanced and in my opinion sounds better than much more expensive Taylor, Martin and other big name companies guitars that I played while looking for a new guitar. When picking, all notes come out very clearly and have great sustain. When strummed this guitar just sings. The quality of the instrument is also very good, no complaints. The case this guitar comes with is of very nice quality as well, the guitar fits snugly and looks very nice to boot!

  • from Fairfax,VA December 13, 2012Music Background:
    experienced musician-40 years+

    Wechter GA-8221CE Grand Auditorium Select Guitar

    I've owned alvarez,martin,yamaha,Guild acoustic guitars and none of them sounded as good as this one. Great job Wechter. Even the bracing and tonewoods are excellent. Set up was outstanding. In five minutes I'm in tune and jamming man. What a guitar for the price. unheard of in todays market!!!!!!!!!!

  • from Naples, FL. USA October 23, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    You have to hear it to believe it!

    The Wechter GA 8221-CE. This guitar is amazing. The tones and sustain from this guitar are incredible. Great workmanship, nice tuners and a beautiful looking guitar. I play this guitar more than my martin. great value for the money.

  • from Liberty, MO October 21, 2012Music Background:
    Singer, guitarist, producer, engineer, studio owner and MOST IMPORTANTLY a songwriter with over 40 years in the music business

    Am I glad I chose a Wechter GA-8221CE

    My sales tech Mike Conyers has never given me any bod advice regarding gear purchaes and when he suggested I purchase the Wechter Guitar's GA-8221CE Grand Auditorium Select, he was again, 100% right on target. This guitar played and still plays great right out of the box/case and the quality of the instrumnet both construction and sound quality is excellent. I bought it mainly as another acoustic guitar for the recording studio and it really delivers! Thnaks Mike and the folks at Sweetwater.

  • from Franklin, NC August 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Flawless...

    I have owned literally 100's of guitars over the years, all from the big names like Martin, Taylor, Breedlove, Gibson, etc... I can honestly say, this is the best sounding guitar I've ever heard right out of the box. The set-up is flawless and the craftsmanship is exquisite. I can't even put into words how impressed I am with this instrument. I have to say that I am now a Wechter fan! I believe I will check out one of their electrics next.

  • from Citrus Springs, Florida July 28, 2012Music Background:
    Been playing longer than I can remember!

    Wechter Guitar GA-8221CE Grand Auditorium Select Review

    I've played a lot of guitars in my life with a lot of different sounds - and this one stacks up in the top of the pack to any that I own! When I first ordered it up from my Rep at Sweetwater, I had never played one or even seen it in person. I figured that since its a "Wechter", I can't go wrong no matter what! That assumption was correct. When I first received it and saw it for the first time, it was not necessarily an "eye-stopper" - nothing out of the ordinary and certainly not one that turned a heard; pretty much a standard-looking, plain-Jane type Grand; that's where the similarity's stopped! I would like to add that Sweetwater was nice enough to place my always-used D'Addario favorites (EJ-17's) on it when shipped. Even when beginning to tune up, it had a sound that really grabbed me for some reason - different and yet nice, clean and with a sustain and tone not felt or heard on any other GA (or straight Acoustic) I had played. It did not take me long to realize that the comments about it from a few others (and Sweetwater Rep - Jim Watson who is also a musician and owns it himself) were right on!!!! Jim said that "you'll love it" and he was right - it was hard to put it down once I got started! When I hooked some power to it (used a Fender Acoustasonic SFX-II), its inner acoustic sounds really resonated and came to life - just superb!!!! That Wechter sound that so many talk about really was evident and put a smile on my face. Without a doubt, its a quality-made Acoustic-electric guitar with a sound that will add both warmth and depth to any music you put your fingers too. Whether you are hooked up using the LR Baggs Stage Pro electronics or just straight-on plain acoustic pickin' - you'll be happy to have it in your personal inventory. PS. Don't forget to pickup a G7th Capo to have available in it case (I use the 12-string version on it but the 6 will work great too.)

  • from Gothenburg, Ne. June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter for "The Lost Irish Souls"

    Sound is Amazing

    I was turned on to this guitar from Marcos Sanchez (Sweetwater engineer). He first turned me on to the Wechter Nashville. I figured that since the Nashville was more than impressive...I would buy one of these. This beauty has a full rich sound that is deep. It sounds awesome plugged in or unplugged. The guys at Wechter know what they are doing. As always my mdse from Sweetwater comes to me in impeccable shape. I am very satisfied with this guitar...actually helps me shape my sound on songs that need to be more rich and deep. Can't thank you enough for this one. Anyone looking for a full bodied impressive instrument....grab one of these...you won't be sorry...Irish

  • from Phoenix, AZ October 10, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Guitar Strummer

    Great Live Guitar

    This guitar sounds amazing live and plugged in with it's stock electronics!
    It has a very balanced sound. Not as loud or with as much low end as a Dreadnought body, but plugged in you would never know it.

    Nice and light guitar with an amazing case!

    It is has a plain design but comes off as beautiful in person.

Questions about the Wechter Guitars - LR Baggs Electronics?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway