0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Flat Top - Vintage Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 59 customer reviews
Questions about the Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Flat Top - Vintage Sunburst?

Questions about the Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Flat Top - Vintage Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indiana May 17, 2017

    Amazing Sound

    My husband got me this guitar for my birthday last week and I absolutely love it! It sounds amazing, handles really well and is just comfortable in your hands.
    I loved it so much, I just ordered the exact same one for my dad. Great price and an amazing instrument. Awesome deal!

  • from May 3, 2017

    Semi toy

    Had a rough time setting this up, tuners could be better. Low e is weak and sounds better finger picked. Changed strings and lowered action, adjusted neck. Should have come with a gig bag. Having said that, it sounds better than all of the little guitars i tried out near that price. Looks eay way cooler too. Thanks Rob.

  • from NYC April 11, 2017

    Fun little guitar

    This is cool little guitar. I wanted something small and not too expansive just to play at home. For that this guitar is perfect. Since that was my first experience with Sweetwater big thanks to Aaron Cieslikowski . Now Sweetwater is my go to online store.

  • from April 4, 2017

    Just OK

    Not blown away. Replaced saddle and nut to get rid of some ringing string issues, which helped a lot. Size is also an issue for me. Just seems a little too small to be super playable, but that's just me. I'm also a beginner who has no idea what he is talking about.

  • from Texas March 26, 2017Music Background:
    Pro

    Awesome little guitar

    Amazing volume for a parlor guitar. It's got it's own unique voice, reminds me of vintage Stella's. For the $$$ it great. I've found it's sound very useful, when recording for color. A quality Sm condenser postponed corectly yielded excelent results. It doesn't have warmth or the complexity of a Colings or a Taylor, but thats not always what is needed to male the song. it's fun to play!
    At the price it would also be a good knock around beach guitar. An amazing value!

  • from Memphis March 16, 2017Music Background:
    Rock n Roll

    Blues Box/Jazzy little guitar

    This little beauty is a fantastic comfortable good sounding parlour,it has its own unique voice and sound,thats a good thing as most other acoustics pretty much sound the same.Not a solid top and made out of Agates but who cares!, for the price it kicks some serious butt!,even though this is one of the cheapest guitars I've ever had its probably one of the best I've had!,I'm not joking..love my Gretsch Jim Dandy!.

  • from Florida February 16, 2017Music Background:
    Many years a long time ago but am now trying to catch up

    Jim Dandy

    If you are thinking about the Jim Dandy, just do it. Even as an owner of some very collectable vintage guitars, I find this to be my "go to". It is kept in a stand in my office and once I pick it up I have trouble putting it down. It is immensely playable as the action is right on and the tone can very very soft or it can develop an attitude quickly. The guitar was well packaged and received in perfect condition. It was an absolute pleasure doing business with Sweetwater.

  • from Oahu, Hawaii January 13, 2017

    Gretsch G9500 JD

    My go to guitar for everyday playing at home
    The tone and volume is perfect for me
    This guitar practically plays its self if i stay out of its way, i learn something new everyday
    I started playing music at the age of 8 years old
    I been playing music off and on for 54 years
    Thank you very much!

  • from Texas January 10, 2017Music Background:
    Amateur

    Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Flat Top - Vintage Sunburst

    Great little guitar!

  • from December 29, 2016

    Great sounding guitar at a great price

    It's really hard to believe the quality in this guitar for the money. The size of the guitar is perfect for portability and has a great sound. Difficult to beat the value here.

  • from December 6, 2016

    Incredible Deal

    I still can't believe what a great deal for this excellent guitar for the money. It's perfect size and excellent build will serve me well as I continue to learn guitar. The customer service is top notch and highly recommend.

  • from Orem, UT October 24, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Fun guitar

    It's an awesome guitar for the price. It's also an awesome guitar if you have lots of money and you just want a different sound or a guitar to take out an not worry about. The neck is comfortable and it stays in tune surprisingly well. It doesn't play as well as a top of the line guitar or even some 300 dollar guitars but it's a lot of fun and a great cheap guitar.

  • from August 25, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Love This Guitar!!!

    I have an Epiphone Dot that I absolutely love, but it's a little big to play on the couch or sitting up in bed, so I started looking for something a little smaller. Enter the Jim Dandy. The nust size is almost identical to the Dot's so it feels familiar to my fretting hand (important as I am a beginning guitar player) I love the sound --a little twangy, but in a good way, and it's easy to play. Maybe not quite as much fun as my Dot, but still a blast. Holds it's tune very well. Really there's nothing bad I could say about it. Except that the finish isn't perfect, but what do you expect at this price?

    Add to that the fantastic customer service from Sweetwater (Jon Falloon in my case), the fast shipping (ordered on a Wednesday night--received it Friday afternoon) and the candy and you just can't go wrong. I will definitely order from Sweetwater again.

  • from August 17, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz instructor

    Kvetch Jim Dandy is a Dandy of a guitar

    The bang for the buck. Great for jazz rhythm comping. Consistent intonation and tone

  • from Ohio August 2, 2016

    G9500 Hours of fun!

    I cant put it down, I love this this little guitar! I have owned the baby Taylor and the mini Martin and both of these guitars are great, however the tones produced by the G9500 to me are more desirable. It also plays so well, very comfortable and it stays in tune better than some of my other more expensive acoustics. If you are looking for an awesome travel guitar consider this thing, it's wonderful. I prefer playing it with my fingers but it also sounds good with a pick. It's possible I got the best sounding one at Sweetwater! (lucky me)

    I cannot find anything I dislike about.

  • from Redwood City, CA July 26, 2016Music Background:
    Active guitarist, 37 years

    Has become my favorite guitar.

    Like some of the other reviewers, I've been playing guitar for 37 years and own a bunch of high end guitars, Ibanez Jem J7V, Gretsch Hot Rod, Les Paul Axess, Gibson Flying V Benchmark etc.
    I was looking for a parlor guitar since they've become so popular lately.

    Looked at the Gibson...$$$, played both the fender and Jim Dandy at a local guitar shop, they didn't have the color I wanted.

    I decided on the Jim Dandy and ordered mine from Sweetwater, Arend is always great to work with, I've had it about 3 weeks and have not put it down since, looking to record a couple of songs with it as it has that retro vibe that I think will record well.

    It feels and plays great and the sound is awesome and retro like I was hoping for, old school blues all the way, It's the best $169 guitar I've ever played, and it doesn't feel or sound like it's price.

    Recommended it to a friend who is just starting to play, she got hers from Sweetwater and she loves it too, loves the sound and it fits her great.

    If you're looking at this guitar you can't go wrong, I love Gretsch guitars because they're not only instruments but works of art, and in it's own way the Jim Dandy is as well.

  • from Pennsylvania June 14, 2016

    Jim Dandy

    Well packed. Received tis afternoon. Was set up pretty good from factory, will probably put a bone nut and bridge on it since I have some laying around. Have been playing it for several hours, and have not put it down. What a blast. Who would have thought that an inexpensive guitar could be so dog gone fun. Buy one, you will really enjoy it.

  • from Los Alamos, NM June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Great little guitar!

    I've been looking for a travel/parlor guitar for a while, and this one is fantastic. I couldn't believe the amount of guitar I got for the price. I'll probably take my trusty ol' Taylor 410 to gigs and such, but the Jim Dandy will fit in the overstuffed car on camping trips, or in the gig bag on my back on the bike ride to the coffee shop, or many other places where a full-sized guitar just can't go. Good job, Gretsch. Thanks to Sweetwater for excellent service as always.

  • from CT May 20, 2016Music Background:
    avid casual guitarist since 1966

    Amazing value 12 fret guitar!

    Finding such a perfect instrument wouldn't have been possible without the help of the Sweetwater Team!

    This guitar plays, sounds and looks fantastic!

    It's perfect for 'Blues'n out' next to the campfire or fire pit.

    Considering it's diminutive size, it is quite LOUD and emits a warm sound that I think is marvelous.

    The neck feels great, too!

    This guitar is a real winner in my opinion!

  • from May 19, 2016

    So Good

    The Best $169 I've ever spent dollar for dollar on a musical instrument. Does it sound like a rich, boomy Gibson or Martin dreadnought guitar? Of course not.
    But, that's not what I want. I want the focused, sharp attack of a parlor guitar that sounds like something Lonnie Johnson would have recorded with in the 1930's. This guitar gives me just that. Thanks to Tom Maxwell at Sweetwater!

  • from Baltimore May 18, 2016

    Awesome!

    Perfect guitar to leave out in the corner, pick up and play around with. Don't have to worry about the dog bumping into it or any other dings. Sounds and plays great for the money. I would have guessed it would cost at least twice as much.

  • from Minneapolis April 12, 2016

    Becoming my favorite guitar!

    I got this back in February. I switched the strings to some light Martin Steel and Silk. Some put heavier gauge on these but I went the opposite. It plays super smooth and is still plenty loud! I also own a very nice Breedlove Atlas Black Magic and a Godin A-6 Ultra- both awesome guitars and I gig with those. But the Jim Dandy is the one I play all the time! I recently had to travel from Minnesota to Florida by air. I had just a basic Gator soft case for it. It fit in the airplane overhead compartments so easily. It amazed the flight attendants! It is so easy to travel with and so worth taking with you on a trip! It stays in tune and plays like a dream. It's hard to imagine for such an inexpensive guitar! I think I should get another one in a different color! You won't be disappointed!

  • from Orlando Fl. April 9, 2016

    Nice but -w- has issues

    This is a you get what pay for and a little more, out of the box it's a nice guitar and even when it's been set up I found that I was still getting some string buzz out of my bass strings and as of this writing I haven't resolved the issue but hey this isn't a high dollar guitar and the fix for this may be as simple as changing my neck nut to give me a little more height or it could be fret buzz just haven't pursued it. Is it worth the money absolutely! If you play country music buy it. Well worth the small price you can always up grade tha hardware.

  • from April 2, 2016

    Goes with my chewing tobacco and sweet tea

    Great fun bluesy parlor guitar. Not big dreadnought sound; more twangy and bluesy. For the money, an attractive guitar you can leave next to your couch to pick up and play with friends.

  • from MI March 21, 2016

    One of the best guitars I've ever purchased

    I've bought and sold plenty of guitars over the years and this one will never be sold. This is a sweet playing little guitar. I would expect to pay much more for a guitar this easy to play. It has a nice bright tone, but not like a cheap guitar. I tested plenty of parlor size guitars regardless of price and found the Jim Dandy to be the absolute best of them all. I would have paid twice as much for this little gem.

  • from Minneapolis February 15, 2016Music Background:
    Music Major, keyboards guitar. Play in a pop rock band and an acoustic duo.

    Aweseome Little Guitar

    Ken is right, just get it! I usually don't like Indonesia/China made guitars. This is from Indonesia but then, it's only $169 and the build quality is impressive! The playability and sound also is way more than you will expect! The setup from Sweetwater was perfect. Let it warm up from shipping in a cold temp week, tuned up the strings and been playing it for days now! My guitar snob bandmate picked it up the other night and he couldn't put it down either! I really got this as my "grab and play guitar" but I am actually thinking about using it on certain songs with the duo I gig with. It has a nice midrangey :old time" sound that would work well with some of the folk style songs we play. So now looking at a Dean Markley transducer to attach to it so I can put it through the PA. I usually like vintage stuff too, but some of the vintage parlor guitars you can get for under $500 seem to need a lot of work (bridge, body cracks etc.). This cops the retro look and it's new so no playability issues. Even though the binding is painted on, they did a good job aping real binding. It won't blow away my Breedlove concert Dreadnought but it's a darn nice little guitar! Breedlove is in the case with a humidifier while I play this gem!!

  • from Cleveland, OH February 8, 2016

    If you're reading this, just buy it.

    If you're interested enough to be reading reviews on this little guitar, you might as well just add it to your cart and get it over with... seriously, you won't be disappointed.

    Since I couldn't find any shop that had one of these suckers in stock so I could play around with it, I did a whole lot of web research (reviews, YouTube demos, etc). Because the reviews were overwhelmingly positive, I finally took the plunge and I've had it about a week now.

    The guitar tuned right up and played well out of the box. It's a 3/4 size parlor, so even though it's smaller it's not tiny and toy-like (so don't worry about looking like a circus bear riding a tricycle when you're playing it). And despite its size, it sounds much bigger than it looks.

    It doesn't have the rich warm tones of a more expensive guitar, of course, but it has a good aggressive retro sound that gives it a lot of personality. It's very playable, the action is pretty low, none of the frets buzz, and the tuners (even though they're of average quality) really do hold the tuning well. It sounds pretty good in open tuning, but it really began to shine when I popped it into open G and broke out a slide... it's like having your own personal Delta Blues machine.

    I also picked up a 3/4 size Gator Case (item GWEACOU34) and it fit the guitar like a glove. I have other guitars I love to play (mainly I'm a Martin fan), but due to the size alone I know I'll be packing this one to take on trips etc... it's nice and portable compared to a full size.

    So, to make a long story even longer... just buy it. It looks & plays great, and it's small enough to hide from your wife. :)

  • from January 12, 2016

    More than I expected!

    This guitar is better than I expected. I love that it is a Gretsch. I wanted a knock-around guitar and expected it to sound like all the others I've heard. It's now become my favorite. It is exactly what I was looking for as far as size and playability. But, again, I can't believe how good it sounds. No compromises here. I've never bought a guitar online - I like to play them first, but the price was right so I took a chance. Glad I did! Can't beat the price and quality.

    FYI: The hard shell that fits it is the Gator GWE ACOU 3/4 Hardshell Acoustic case.

  • from Mass December 31, 2015

    Piedmont Blues All the Way

    At this price, I was not expecting too much. I read many reviews before purchasing and listened to a few reviews on YouTube, etc. I bought from Sweetwater, because they always provide a great service and playable instruments. This guitar sounds great! Worth it, and I may get another. Love that the guitar has a bluesy sound and feel. Looks great too. Nice small size, perfect for comfortable playing around the house. Not at all disappointed. Great little guitar for the money, sturdy, stable, and seems like it'll last.

  • from Normal, IL December 26, 2015

    Great Guitar

    Arrived 3 days ahead of I originally expected (due to the holiday) - very nice.

    Packing job was terrific (thanks Sweetwater!). Really appreciated the note on the box indicating the need to wait to open it due to the cold temps outside.

    The guitar only required a little tuning before I could play it. Can't tell you how awesome that is (have had different stories with other stores).

    Great sound for such a small guitar. The chunkier neck actually feels right. Frets are a little rough on the edges, but not too sharp. All trim and inlays were flush and painted well. Coloring and finish is even. The vintage tuners feel a little fragile but they seem to be holding the tuning just fine.

  • from NY November 2, 2015

    Suprisingly Good

    I am truly blown away by the quailty and sound of this guitar for the price. I wanted a small guitar that I could leave in my office without breaking the bank. It is a great little guitar that fits the bill. Thanks

  • from Winter Park, FL October 25, 2015

    Great little guitar

    I purchased this guitar from Sweetwater a couple of months ago. The strings that came with the guitar were a little hard on the fingers, plus the action was too high for my tastes, which is common for any manufactured guitar. I removed the bridge and shaved off a little at a time until I had it to my liking, then I installed some Martin Flexcore Silk and Phosphor custom light strings. This is now my "go to" guitar. The sound is not as full as a standard guitar, which would be expected. But, it sounds good enough and is a lot of fun to play, plus it's a great guitar to take out of the house for travel or camping. For $169, it can't be beat.

  • from Ohio August 13, 2015Music Background:
    Almost Pro Musician

    My Couch Guitar

    I was going to buy some fancy vintage parlor guitar at 3 times the price but with this baby available why spend the money? I had some fret buzz and the techs at Sweetwater instructed me on how to go about adjusting the truss bar (allen wrench included with guitar) and voila, it's now perfect!

    Sound is great, very big for such a little machine and the vibe is so sweet.

    I'd bought one for my grandson about a year ago and I've wanted ever since. If you're thinking about it, stop. Just buy it.

  • from Texas August 12, 2015

    Deja Vous

    This is like finding my first guitar at a garage sale. The difference, other than color (Grey Sunburst), is this one has a straight neck, level frets, and low action. Do not let the price scare you. This is a very nice little guitar with a charming tone, perfect for finger style Blues. I have installed a K&K Mini pickup and it sounds even better amplified. Every guitar player should have one of these.

  • from Cowtown USA July 27, 2015

    What a sweet surprise

    I bought this guitar to keep on the stand nearby to grab quickly. I am completely in love with this little monster. Don't be deceived by it's looks, if you don't get one you'll regret it. I think they will go up in price, and I've always been right about these things.
    I have expensive guitars, and this is the one I always grab. It's my song writing mate, the overtones and harmonics amaze me intonation is right on. I can't wait to get in the studio with this crazy little guitar. Oh yeah it has a truss rod for neck adjustment.

  • from July 8, 2015

    Perfect little guitar

    So I just thought I would write this review up for anyone that's still thinking about getting one of these cool little guitars. I spent weeks researching it on forums watching on the Youtube videos, and I finally just bought it, and I've had it for a few weeks now, so I thought it would be a good time to write a review for it.

    I've been playing for about 10+ years now. I enjoy blues/bluegrass styles like Chet Atkins, Elizabeth Cotten, John Fahey, Mississippi Fred McDowell, John Hurt, RL Burnside, the Band, Black Keys, CCR, CW Stoneking, Ry Cooder, and overall most fingerstyle stuff, etc. I enjoy playing in standard tuning, as well as with a slide in Open G or Open D, and Open C as well. This guitar does all that and then some with ease. It's definitely become my go to for around the house noodling and for on the go in place of my resonator.

    I think this guitar is suitable for the beginner as well as the more experienced guitarist. In my opinion, it's not really till you've played awhile and have held a few guitars in your hands that you can start telling which guitars are quality and which guitars are going to be a pain in the butt to play (intonation and action/overall setup). I think for the more experienced guitarists this guitar just feels good. It doesn't feel cheap, and it doesn't sound bad either. For the guitarists who are just starting out if you're debating which guitar to get or if this is a gift for a future guitarist then definitely consider the Jim Dandy because I think anyone will have a really good time learning on this guitar because it doesn't weigh that much, the neck is pretty small, the action is set up nicely, and the body isn't too bulky for a kid or an adult who is trying to learn. It just has a lot of the small things that'll make learning the guitar a more positive experience.

    The positives: It came set up extremely well right out of the box. I didn't have to make any adjustments. I kind of bought it as a little traveler's guitar because I would be too worried to lug my resonator around everywhere especially on long road trips, and luckily the Jim Dandy is a solid substitute. The finish is great, and I think they definitely nailed the look they were going for. Overall, it's a fun guitar. I have it sitting on a stand (while my resonator is in it's case), and I find myself usually going for the Jim Dandy. And like I said earlier, for the type of music I like playing it's perfect. It sounds good with slide, and I think it really sounds huge playing it fingerstyle in Open C or Open D. Also, the neck is smooth like butter, and the intonation is right on.
    The areas for improvement: I think my only complaint is that the tuners don't always stay in tune, but that's nothing a little upgrade can't fix. Also, if you're buying this guitar as a bedroom guitar you're probably planning on just leaving it out for a quick grab and go, but I love it so much now that I've been trying to find a decent case for it, and it's been kind of tricky finding a case that'll fit it snug. Just thought I would throw that out there for anyone that might think they'll get really invested in playing it!

    Also, I would like to give a big thanks to Jed at Sweetwater for helping me with the order and everything. They're really cool here, and he even called the next day to confirm that I had placed the order, and he followed up with any questions I had regarding my purchase.

  • from Oklahoma July 1, 2015Music Background:
    play by ear

    a dandy Jim Dandy

    Arrived on time and very well-packed.
    Sounds good out of the box, with just a little tweak on a couple of strings.
    The customer service is over the top good and appreciated.
    Will take a little getting used to, going from a jumbo to a much smaller size, but that's what I need, being older with limited finger stretch due to health issues, and being away from guitars for quite a number of years.
    I'm sure, over a little time, Granny will make this thing rock.

  • from MO. June 18, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner

    A Dandy little guitar!

    I chose this based on the reviews of Sweetwater and the guitar. I must say all the reviews of Sweetwater service is true. They processed my order quickly, it arrived in perfect condition, and it was ready to play. No string buzz anywhere on the neck, the low string height makes it very easy to play. Plus they threw in some candy and a couple guitar magazines. All this for a budget guitar? No doubt when I'm ready to upgrade my purchase will be with Sweetwater.
    Now for the guitar, I couldn't find any real finish flaws, even the sound hole was clean. The was sound pretty balanced and the sound projection was louder than I expected. It doesn't have a sweet tone to my ears, but is pleasant. I think this is a great guitar at a great price. Kudos to Sweetwater and Gretsch!!!!

  • from Virginia April 30, 2015Music Background:
    Proffessional

    exceptionally well spent $

    Wasn't everyone's first guitar a little acoustic like this? Mine was a Cameo....well this little thing is amazing. Extremely versatile - and records so well. Fingerstyle, strumming or really projecting flat picking - each has a distinct character. Latin music....this thing cuts so well - acoustic blues has plenty of spank - delicate fingerstyle - nice midrangy boxiness. I wanted a go-to couch cheapo but I find that I reach for this before the gibsons and its finding its way on my new record. LOVE IT

  • from Missouri February 25, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Good value guitar

    I bought this guitar to take on outings. It is priced such that I would not have to worry about nicks and dings on it. It is not a real sweet sounding guitar but it has good volume, holds tune well and is easy enough to play. It has a good old time sound to it and shines when playing delta blues types of music. All in all I am happy with this guitar for what I bought it for.

  • from West Virginia February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, home studio, songwriter, engineer, etc.

    BRAND-NEW VINTAGE! ASTONISHING VERSATILITY!

    The first time I saw a picture of the Jim Dandy, I thought..."Man, I sure hope that thing sounds like what it LOOKS like it sounds like!" HA! When it arrived, I couldn't get over the fit and finish, playability, and TONE!!! Like another reviewer, I also have a collection of great guitars; but I reach for this little guy nearly every single day. The versatility is astonishing! You can use the Jim Dandy to play blues, folk, country, bluegrass, pop, etc...and it ALL sounds amazing whether you're using a pick, or going at it fingerstyle. It has seriously become one of my very favorite guitars. You MUST own one of these for what they cost!

  • from SATX November 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby

    Jim Dandy

    This is an awesome guitar. Sounds great for the price and mine was shipped to Afghanistan and back in the original packaging and made it through without a scratch. Just wish they had a hard case for it.

  • from September 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician with drums and guitar background (30+ years)

    Jim Dandy

    A few people not totally happy with construction-finish of G9500 (Jim Dandy), however, the wood is real (top/sides/back) and probably along the lines of what may have been used by guitar builders, more so very rural back in 20's and 30's…So, I say that this truly adds to the Vintage aspect…And $150..?!..I actually looking for a Gloss Black guitar in the
    $250-$500 range and did a lot of research but kept coming back to Jim Dandy…I've also Gretsch drum kit and great build so leads me to believe guitar factories will only put out quality instruments , or, doors to business can close awful quick…Incredible value and my type of travel guitar as, ain't that what they did back in 20's and 30's…!...

  • from Pittsburgh, Pa. May 24, 2014Music Background:
    Self taught, hobbyist, church musician.

    Great Little Guitar

    I purchased a Gretch Jim Dandy after reading reviews.and listening to demos on uTube. I wanted a small-body guitar suitable for fingerstyle blues and rags. The Jim Dandy delivers, especially for the price. Great neck and surprisingly ropust tune. Don't be put off by the "toy" appearance. It's not a Martin 000 or Gibson L-00 but you will be surprised.

  • from Spokane, Wa May 19, 2014Music Background:
    40 year player- hobbyist

    A huge surprise in a small package

    My Jim Dandy was a demo. When I got it I looked it over very carefully and found absolutely no indication that the guitar had ever been played. It was set up absolutely perfectly out of the box. The fretwork is amazing at this price point. Yep, the binding is painted on but on my guitar it looks great, with absolutely no overruns or mistakes. The finish is very dark, but the guitar is really attractive in the sunlight. Indoors, the "burst" is almost invisible. Nice cream colored pick guard.
    Now for the good stuff- the sound of thus guitar is stunning. The volume is as you might expect from a parlor guitar, but it is plenty loud for 99% of the playing you will ever do. The truly amazing part us the balance and tonal quality. This does not sound like a $150 guitar. I have a 1976 Martin HD28, so I know what a great guitar sounds like. The Jim Dandy isn't going to chase the Martin out of the music room, but it is the equal of many guitars costing 5 or 6 times as much. I love it for fingerpicking and old-timely country blues. Fantastic. It holds it's own even flat picking if you don't need high volume. The best guitar value I have ever seen. Buy one for goodness sake. And the service I got from Sweetwater was amazing, especially considering that the guitar fists about what I spend on strings in a year.

  • from Cedar Hill, TX May 4, 2014Music Background:
    15 years of guitar playing... performing on and off

    Excellent

    After looking at other parlor guitars, it came down to the Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Flat Top. All the reviews on this site and on YouTube convinced me that this one made the most sense for me. Ordered it on Wednesday, and I had it in hand by Saturday. I have not been able to put this little guitar down. The sound is great. I will be replacing the strings soon to figure out what will sound the best. For $150, you get the most bang for your buck. This guitar is great. To top it all off, Sweetwater.com's customer service is unbelievable. As soon as I ordered, someone called me to verify. Never had that happen before. I might get used to it. They eased my mind about buying a guitar online.

  • from United States April 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist,enjoy guitars..

    CAN't Be BEAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can't believe how GREAT this little guitar sounds and plays.Right out of the box and sounds GREAT!!!!!!Get one before they are gone!!!!!!You won't be sorry!!!!Fast Shipping and Sweetwater is the Best in the Business!!!

  • from Redondo Beach Ca, USA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Jim Dandy

    This guitar sounds great, plays great and is well made, it's fun to play and I feel was a killer value!

  • from Florida, USA March 26, 2014

    Good value for price point

    First things first - this guitar was inexpensive. Its small, sounds a little boxy, and obviously isn't in possession of a solid wood top. Because it was so cheap, it lays around in various places in my house waiting to get played. And it gets played often. Daily. This guitar is extremely playable for the price and sounds good enough. I have a few all solid wood gits that cost five times as much and this guitar can't keep up with them. But I don't expect it to. This guitar is perfect for what it is - a small guitar to sit in your lap the the computer as you learn a new song, or at a desk as you write a song. Its great on a couch or laying back on a bed. Its a fun little guitar that I am very happy I purchased. The finish has a few scratches. But I don't care. It cost me the same as going out for drinks a few nights.

  • from citrus heights, ca. March 22, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician.

    gretch alligator

    amazing guitar for the money. plays easy and sounds much better than
    one would think for the money.im very happy with it.

  • from Cincinnati, OH March 18, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro drummer, noob guitarist

    huge value - great little guitar

    I gave my son my acoustic guitar and needed a replacement. Read reviews and watched you tubes on this little guy and ordered it up. It arrived in perfect condition; there was enough bubble wrap to drop it from 30 feet without damage. The guitar, to me, looks incredibly cool, and when I tuned it up, it was exactly what I wanted. It is not loud and boomy, but the sound is rich and intimate, dare I say. It is the perfect guitar for sitting on the couch at the end of the day. It feels great and there is no struggle to play the thing. I am working on some delta stuff and it has that sound. I would be very happy with this purchase at twice the price. Don't think anymore, just buy it.

  • from New York February 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Student

    Great Guitar for the money

    I just got this 3 weeks ago and i've played it everyday since. It has great action and playability. It does have a couple imperfections but very few considering the price point. I would recommend it to anybody who wants a cheap guitar to leave around

  • from Brooklyn, NY November 19, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing for 45 years. Songwriter (BMI). Performer. Guitar nerd.

    One of the best

    Listen fold...I collect guitars. I have more than fifty and I know that is a serious case of GAS. BUT..this guitar is a dream. I cannot believe the sound and delight in playing for the price. I can't put it down.

  • from August 31, 2013Music Background:
    Tone deaf amateur

    Wow

    Just bought this guitar and due to its popularity I had difficulty obtaining one. Not really had a chance to play it yet(wife ill in bed) but going by all reviews I know I will not be disappointed. I have looked at it, caressed it, even sniffed at it. Joy! It's small and very light, very ,very, light but that can only be good as you can hold it for longer without getting tired. Fit and finish is quite acceptable for the price. And this is a 'Roots' instrument, meant to be played not polished and put in a display case. I reckon in a few months with a little wear and tear this will be a true classic. Buy one and enjoy it, it just feels 'right'

  • from MIssouri July 31, 2013Music Background:
    been playing guitar for 40 years

    I love it

    Surprising quality for such a low price. Surprising bass for such a small guitar. I can't put this little beauty down.

  • from April 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good bang for your buck.

    This guitar has the sound and look of a much higher priced parlor guitar (3/4 size). Once you look at the finish from a few feet away though- you see some of the nice touches are only skin deep... or in this case... paint deep. Guitar's sound gets 4 stars but aesthetics (on close inspection) get 2... averaging for a total score of 3 out of 5. White edge/trim is simply a layer of paint. The wood's finish is some type of satin lacquer which appears to only be a sprayed/coated on varnish and is not a true stain. I feel the guitar sounds quite nice. I would describe the tone as crisp and bright as opposed to full and warm... stays in tune, simple but nice fretboard and hardware. Neck is smaller than standard and easy to get your hand around. Action seems just right. It is a shame such a nice sounding and playing guitar is finished so poorly. I guess for the price-point they had to cut corners somewhere. Perhaps a good opportunity to refinish a guitar? For the price, this satisfies though. This guitar's short fall is the finish, and frankly; I would have paid twice the price for a higher quality one.

  • from United States March 29, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter, Home Recordist

    A Great Little Parlor Guitar!

    I bought this as an inexpensive and small guitar to travel with and leave my nicer, bigger acoustics at home. However, I play this one almost exclusively since it came in and have recorded with it many times since. It gets the old folk and 'blues box' sound in spades. The quality is exceptional for a guitar in this price range and I'm surprised daily by the value.

  • from Austin, The Republic of Texas February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Record Company Owner

    Sweet sounding little guitar

    The only sub-par thing I could find on this guitar was the tuning machines. They are cheap, and several are binding up and are hard to turn [easily fixed]. The white 'binding' is really a painted-on stripe.

    The good news is that this little [36 1/2"] guitar sounds amazingly loud and sweet. I think that the tone is somewhere between a cedar and a spruce topped instrument, not as dark as mahogany. Of course, these opinions are always very subjective, but I was really pleased at the tones coming from this little box.

    I have small hands, so I was happy with the shorter scale [24"], and how easy this guitar is to play. Sweetwater did a great job with the set-up, as usual. Agathis is a wood sort of in the conifer family, softer than spruce but a bit harder than white pine, and it's a pretty good tone wood. The Jim Dandy has a very pleasing tone and excellent sustain.

    This instrument is wonderful for finger-picking, and would make a great kid's guitar due to it's small size. I am very happy with my purchase of this guitar. Get one!

  • from Portland February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Jim Dandy

    My Jim Dandy just arrived!

    I wish the neck was a little thicker and wider, like my Stella - but not bad.
    You won't find a hint of woodgrain on this guitar. There is a veneer that covers every inch. Luckily it has a mat finish, so it's not so bad.

    The action is great, especially if you're used to playing old Harmonys or Stellas. It stays in tune and has a nice tone, not too bright. The guitar comes ready to play ou of the box (at least mine did). Comes with D'Addario EJ16 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Guitar Strings.

    The tuners are okay but I would have preferred that they were much less ornate - something similar to older Klusons.

    The binding, like the guitars they were modeled after, is painted on - a little sloppily, especially at the neck . The guitar would, in my opinion, look better withouth the pick guard.

    Now after all my nit-picking, I freaking love this guitar. Any one that loves old Harmony, Stella, Silvertone, Kay etc.... guitars, will be happy with the Jim Dandy. If you're tired of buying vintage flat tops off of eBay, and finding the neck to be unsuitable for anything but slide, will be happy with this guitar out of the box.

    Come on, it's only $149 with shipping. How can you go wrong? It kicks the crap out of anything in its price range.

Questions about the Gretsch G9500 Jim Dandy Flat Top - Vintage Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway