0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Gretsch G9240 Alligator Biscuit Cone Roundneck Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Massachusetts March 15, 2015Music Background:
    around-the-house guitarist

    great guitar, esp. for the price

    I've had this guitar for about two years and it's been wonderful. The set up was great out of the box, playable in standard and open tunings, in both regular finger style playing and with a slide. It comes with lights, which I like. I tried mediums just to see how it would be (more volume.) I've gone back to lights. They just feel better on this guitar. In the past year, I've kept it mostly in Open D and it has settled into that tuning really well. However, after two years, the action is starting to come up a bit around the 9-12 frets. I'm assuming a little tweaking of the truss rod will take care of it. I live in New England with radiator heat, so keeping acoustics humidified correctly in the winter can be challenging. All in all, this is a great affordable resonator guitar. It has wonderful tone, the neck is really comfortable for my hands, and it's a nice comfortably-sized guitar to hold on your lap and play. I own some really nice guitars (Martins, a Mossman, Larrivee) and this Gretsch holds it own with all the others. If you're looking for a wood-body resonator under $1000, this is the one to buy. The case is very good and you can get a padded gig bag for it as well. And finally, Sweetwater is a great outfit to do business with.

  • from Clinton, ME February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    My first Resonator and a perfect choice

    Once again, my personal sales rep. Ryan Holquist came through steering me in the right direction. I wanted to try a resonator without breaking the bank and for this much money wasn't expecting much in return. Was I ever wrong. This guitar is amazing. The fit and finish is amazing. Honestly, I have no idea how Gretsch does this for the money they charge for these. Beautiful headstock, gorgeous finish on the wood and the cone material is stunning. The action is low, sounds amazing, plays like a regular acoustic with a much different sound. It will be fun to experiment with this and dedicate it to certain songs I already have in mind...especially a few CCR songs.
    Excellent choice for a first resonator for anyone and quite frankly, I don't see myself getting another one. This one is so nice I can't see upgrading into something else. I love it. I HIGHLY recommend this to all guitar players to add to your collection!!!!!

  • from Chicago October 20, 2014Music Background:
    Bedroom Musician

    First Guitar I Bought

    I picked up my sister's old electric six months ago to teach myself guitar after seeing Queens of the Stone Age live.
    A few weeks ago I took the next step by searching for an acoustic to toughen my fingers up. Can't believe how amazing this guitar sounds. I play it for hours every day and see myself developing as a player.
    It's fun enough to play solo, but also such a distinct tone that I can't help but sample it to make some quirky music on my computer using Reason.
    Very rewarding purchase.

  • from Los Angeles October 12, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Value

    My Martin D-28 has the classic boominess on its bass strings (which is fine if that's what you're looking for), but I wanted a more articulate sound for old-time backup guitar. I also wanted the guitar to be loud enough for playing at jams. On the recommendation of a friend, I bought this guitar sight unseen. The Alligator has far exceeded my expectations: It's very easy to play, well constructed, the intonation is great, and it sounds terrific. Any any price, this is a very good instrument. The price tag was a bonus!

  • from Chicago September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Most Exciting Thing I've Purchased In A Very Long Time

    I was surprised at how good it looked when I opened the box but I was blown away when I started playing it. I totally didn't think you could get a guitar this good in this price range. I'm no Chet Atkins but I've been playing guitar for over 20 years and to me the intonation is great. The action was perfect right out of the box and it's fun to play. I find myself going for it all the time. Thanks to Gretsch and to Sweetwater for speedy delivery and for being attentive. Thanks Zach.

  • from Dayton, Ohio May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Player for 40 years.

    Unbelievable for the Price!

    Right out of the box, the craftsmanship, first, will astonish you: The matte sunburst, the perloid headstock and the fit and finish overall. The tuners are smooth and they look and feel like high-quality machines.

    The intonation is nearly perfect everywhere on the fingerboard--something I haven't experienced with any of my three Martins. The guitar stays in tune and really wants to be rocked, but also has a nice tone on a quiet blues song. Remarkable sustain for an instrument at this price.

    And the tone? It sounds like a good resonator to me. Not what I'm used to, but it's really fun to play--just pick the right music and the right style. I can't wait to figure out how to play it with a slide. (So far, I'm not gaining on that too fast because it's too much fun to play finger-style.)

    And these babies look cool! I just might get the Boxcar, too, with the natural mahogany finish and the shiny cone!

  • from Fort Worth, Texas August 16, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Song Writer, Home Recording Artist

    An Absolutely Wonderful Gem

    Beautiful Guitar, Bright, Crisp Sound. Great set-up from Gretsch, out of the box. No blemishes whatsoever.

    I'm a long time Jazz / Funk / Fusion Bassist who is just getting into guitar, so i'm no guitar pro or Resonator player by experience, but years of bass playing has enabled me to easily jump right into guitar playing and writing & learning songs on the guitar.

    This week i started a guitar arsenal. i bought (all new) a Fender Hellcat, Epiphone Texan, and this Gretsch Alligator Biscuit Resonator to have some versatility right off the start.
    This Gretsch is the most fun to play out of all three.
    WoW. What a toy ! lol
    you don't need to even be familiar with bluegrass to have a blast with this Gem :)

    Since it is such a bright sounding guitar, the 1st song i busted into with the gator was a happy little country tune called 'A Little Bit South Of Saskatoon', by Sonny James, and wow ! ... the cute little song sounds so dang good on this Resonator ! ... after i finish my bottle of beer i'll see what i can do with slide on this rascal ! lol
    .... and for the price... pull some change out of yer pocket and add this to yer collection. Too Cool !

  • from Peachtree City, Ga May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Performer...

    Thank you...

    I couldn't have done it without you... What a great instrument... And believe me___ I've played all the jewelry high end status guitars... Thank you Brian!!!

  • from Vermont April 17, 2013

    Style for days and sounds great!

    I had been looking around the market for a resonator for a few years. I've been wanting to learn some bluegrass and slide guitar, but I'm new at it so I wasn't willing to drop $800 + on a guitar. It's hard to find a "nice" resonator at a good price because there simply isn't as many options. You can pick up a standard acoustic guitar for $400 that sounds great and still has quality put into the finish and look. All of the resonators I looked at in the under $400 range just didn't do it for me. Some would sound decent, but then I would be turned off by cheapness of design/quality of materials. It's all the little extra details that go into a guitar that get me excited and the Gretsch does this 100%

    Everything about this guitar screams class and style from the pearloid headstock, the matte finish, black tuners, and classic dark sunburst. Even the peg at the bottom for the guitar strap is wooden which I think is such a cool little detail. For the "Roots Collection" they really knocked this one out of the park.

    The guitar plays great! Perfect for anyone that wants to finger pick, or just play like a standard acoustic. Since I got it I can't put it down. The people at sweetwater were super helpful and their customer service is awesome.

    I highly recommend this resonator to anyone that is looking to try one out for the first time and doesn't want to break the bank.

  • from Western North Carolina February 17, 2013Music Background:
    Still a beginner

    Great New traditional resonator

    I am very impressed with the Gretsch G9240 resonator. I know of no traditional wood bodied biscuit cone resonators on the market under $1,000 except this one. The Johnson, Oscar Schmidt, and Dean wood bodied resonators are competitively priced with the G9240 and they may be fine, but they are all more contemporary thin body depth electric resonators and have more narrow 14 fret necks. The G9240 is traditional all the way with a 12 fret neck and great open Grover sta-tite tuners that work exceptionally well and stay in tune. I've had the guitar over three weeks now. The hand spun "Ampli-sonic" cone seems to resonate forever. The eastern European shop that makes the cones sure knows what they're doing. I can still hear sustain from the cone after 25 seconds! Furthermore, for my preferences, the set-up on the guitar I received is excellent for combining fretting and slide; 4/32 height at the bass E string at the 12th fret and 3/32 at the high E string at the 12th fret. Also, the nut is bone and the saddle appears to be ebony on top of maple, not just stained maple. The finish is a very tasteful matte and I could find no flaws. The neck is dead straight, the fretboard has a nice crown and the fret ends were all dressed very well. I had anticipated having to have the guitar professionally set-up, but for me there was no need. I don't think my luthier would do anything, but maybe change the strings and oil the fretboard, which I can do myself. The strings are D'Addario EJ16, but I traded out the 1st and 2nd string for heavier .014 and .017 plain strings; just personal preference, and I will be trying an EJ17 set next for open tunings. If you change strings, you may want to check the new strings for fit before purchasing. I found that the wrapping at the ball end of a plain Ernie Ball string was too large to go through the hole in the tailpiece (but the tailpiece holes could easily be drilled larger, however.) Anyway, I am very pleased. I'm sure this guitar will not have quite the fit and finish and investment potential of a National, but when MSRP on the low-end El Trovador is $3,200, this guitar is 90% there. By the way, Sweetwater was a pleasure to deal with. I received a telephone call asking if I had any questions about the guitar or my order, an e-mail confirming my order and another when it shipped, and the guitar arrived with free shipping to NC in two days and the packing was very substantial. That's terrific customer service.

  • from citrus heights, calif. January 8, 2014Music Background:
    musician and writter.

    gretch alligator

    sounds great and plays pretty easy. very happy with the purchase.

  • from Southern Illinois January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur guitarist of 45 years

    "This Classic Resonator Plays Like a Guitar!" NOT!

    I returned this guitar thanks to Sweetwater's no hassle return policy; it was not for me. It is a beautiful instrument with a deep rich resonator tone. Build quality was excellent. But, I bought this guitar to play acoustically 90% of the time with only an occasional use of slide. I would have sworn this thing was setup as a squareneck. The action was that high - virtually unplayable. If you're looking at the Alligator as a slide guitar, you won't be disappointed. If you have hopes of fretting this thing in standard tuning, keep looking. To make it playable would require extensive nut and bridge work if the instrument's geometry would even allow it. The product description states: "This Classic Resonator Plays Like a Guitar!" Maybe like a $49 First Act guitar.

Questions about the Gretsch G9240 Alligator Biscuit Cone Roundneck?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close