0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

G7th G7 Performance 2 - 6 String, Silver Reviews

4.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the G7th G7 Performance 2 - 6 String, Silver?

Questions about the G7th G7 Performance 2 - 6 String, Silver?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jed Elliott

    The ultimate capo! On my acoustic guitar most capos work just fine. But for my electric guitars, the other capos I have tend to make me go out of tune. I picked up a G7 Performance 2 a few years ago, put it on my Strat, and I was still in tune! It's the only capo I've used since then. Love the design - it doesn't get in the way of my hand when trying to make chords!

  • Mario
    from Long Beach, CA September 14, 2016

    Wonderful Capo!

    Greatests capo invention ever! So easy to use and performs perfectly! Highly recommended.

  • Butch
    from Fifty, USA January 1, 2016

    Great capo

    I doubt there's an easier to use capo out there. My good friend MikeinFIFTY, formerly of Hidden in Plain View, told me about this product and since he's a world famous rock star, I figured I'd give it a go. It gets 5 stars easily. I wish I could give it FIFTY stars. It definitely deserves FIFTY.

  • Customer
    from December 31, 2015

    State of the art capo!

    Tremendously sleek neat capo that works on my electric's and acoustic's.

  • Daniel
    from Tacoma, WA December 28, 2015Music Background:
    Musician of 15 years

    A great capo from a great company

    The capo works great. The clutch functionality makes it easy to quickly place the capo at the desired fret with just the right amount of pressure to avoid buzzing while also not causing tuning problems. I used one of the spring loaded "pistol grip" capos for years before the tuning problems they cause forced me to try a G7th performance capo. I was completely blown away with this capo's ease of use and general overall quality.
    On top of a great capo, you also get the benefit of purchasing from a reliable and trustworthy manufacturer. When they say lifetime warranty, they really mean it. I bought one of the original G7th Performance capos years ago. Recently the rubber that contacts the backside of the guitar neck started to lose its adhesive, so I e-mailed the company asking about a replacement about a week before Christmas. They said they didn't have any more of the original performance capos, but offered to send me one of the new models. All I had to do was send them a picture of my old capo and my address! I was completely blown away when I got a package THE NEXT DAY from the manufacturer in Leicester, United Kingdom (basically halfway around the world from my home). I can only imagine what this sort of shipping must have cost, but I definitely appreciate it very much.
    A very special "Thank you" to Simon Campling of G7th for the outstanding support, and for getting me a replacement so fast especially during the holidays.

  • ScottyA
    from Cinci, OH October 16, 2015Music Background:
    pro

    works so good

    Hands down the best capo. I lost mine and tried to go back to another brand-forget it! The is the one that I need and works far better. it really performs and works the best! I cant live without it

  • Bbobgeetar
    from WI October 3, 2015Music Background:
    pro

    the best capo i have used

    this is the best and most accurate capo I have ever used. Excellent product!

  • Scott Thompson
    from February 27, 2015

    A fabulous capo

    From an engineering standpoint, this is a nearly perfect gadget.

  • Customer
    from September 26, 2014

    Worth every penny

    I bought this capo 6 years ago after being repeatedly frustrated with the quality of other products. All I can say is that it still works flawlessly, you can apply it with one hand every time and exert exactly how much pressure you want. It's survived countless shows and who knows how many times its been thrown across the room, yet it shows no signs of slowing down yet. 45 dollars isn't much when you can use it for the rest of your life.

  • Jeep Pepper
    from Bellefontaine, MS September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Amatuer for 70 years

    G7th capo

    Best Capo I have ever used. Does it's job and stays out of the way.

  • Guitarpickingirl
    from August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Worship leader, hobbyist

    The Best Capo

    This capo is awesome. I was having trouble with buzzing on my high end guitar when I would use my Kyser Quick Change Capo. The neck seemed to be straight so I wasn't sure what the issue was. I started using this capo and there is no longer any buzzing. It takes a little bit to get used to adjusting the tension yourself but after you get the hang of it it's really easy. The design is great. It is very slim and not at all bulky but you can tell it is sturdy and high quality. I would highly recommend this capo if you have problems with fret buzz.

  • Jim
    from Connecticut July 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Capo

    I'd heard a lot of good things about this capo so I thought I'd give it a try. It doesn't use a spring but is rather a "clutch" type of capo. So it really works like your hand when you play a bar chord. You only have to make it as tight as necessary to capo the strings without buzzing. This results in better intonation when using the capo. It's also really easy to put on and take off and it's not a big and cluncky thing.

  • Jake
    from Bakersfield, CA July 10, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist

    Convenient and easy to use.

    This capo is awesome!

    Just squeeze the clamp to your liking and it will freeze into place. Pull the thumb lever and it releases. Easy to attach, remove, and re-attach with one hand. I also appreciate the lightness and thick rubber stoppers in protecting the neck.

  • Matt Turgeon
    from Mechanicville, NY March 9, 2017

    Great Capo

    I was sick of having to retune my electric every time I moved my capo. This thing does the trick. So much nicer.

  • Shelly Sullivan
    from Florida May 7, 2015

    A perfect find!

    So glad I found this capo. I had been using the Kyser capo but found it a bit hard to attach. The G7 is very easy to attach and looks great when on the fret or at rest on the headstock and doesn't apply excessive pressure to the strings. I would highly recommend it.

  • Allen
    from Trenton, OH August 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro/Worship Musician

    G7th 2

    Great capo. 4 stars only because I'm not sure it's worth this kind of $ when competitors are considerably more inexpensive. I use those capos as well.

  • Dewayne
    from April 13, 2015Music Background:
    Bass, Guitar, Drums, and many more instruments for more than 36 years in Praise & Worship.

    Cool G7th Capo

    The G7th capo is a slick looking design and easy to move on the neck of your guitar. I like that when you put it on your strings it is not in the way of your fingering. The one draw back is getting the capo down on the string tight enough to keep them from making vibration noise. It does not have a spring to hold the pressure on your strings it only uses finger power and a locking mechanism. I sometimes have to adjust a couple of times to stop the noise. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for a good capo that is out of the way of your fingers.

  • SC
    from Hope Mills, NC October 7, 2015

    Just ok

    In my mind, the learning curve of how to actually accurately apply the capo isn't worth the result. In my line of work, I only have a couple of seconds to place the capo on the guitar. Having to figure out the exact pressure point is too much, in my opinion.

  • Peter Geiger
    from Cary NC October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    Smaller than my other g7

    Smaller than my other G7

  • Customer
    from September 29, 2015

    Not in love anymore

    Loved this when I first received it. A few moths later it is useless. Will no clamp down to where the strings don't buzz. Went back to my much cheaper capos

  • Alex
    from Los Angeles October 31, 2016Music Background:
    Professional player for 10 years

    Nope - better, cheaper capos exist

    This thing is outrageously overpriced for reasons unknown. To boot, it just doesn't work that well. I have a lot of different guitars, and for the older, more "characteristic" ones (aka can't be set up with super low action) this just can't cut it. Doesn't get tight enough to eliminate buzz on certain guitars, and bent strings get stuck in their bent position. It's kind of a fun design until you realize it doesn't work. I sold it and bought the Planet Waves NS Tri-Action and am so much happier. It's also just about half the price. I gotta say, I'm done with G7th.

  • Esteban Nieves
    from June 2, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Not the best

    Although the design is good, it doesn't work very well. I got mine and the next day it broke for absolutely no reason. The release mechanism just stopped working. I also found that it doesn't squeeze the strings hard enough which causes a buzz. Even after i applied as much squeeze as I possibly could, the capo didn't grip the strings hard enough. I might just have gotten a bad capo... But I'm not satisfied with it and it definitely is NOT worth $50. I would not recommend this capo for a gigging musician because it just isn't reliable.

  • Zachary Galyen
    from Idaho April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Full-time Musician

    Total Downgrade

    I've had multiple "original" version G7 Performance capos and this new "version 2.0" takes everything that was great about the original and throws it out the window! The kicker... it even costs MORE!!!

    The biggest disappointment is that it doesn't even work well. I've tried multiple times to use it on ANY of my guitars (various Taylors, electric guitars with different neck profiles, etc.) and no matter how I put it on I still get buzzing strings! It's like it just doesn't fit!? I can only get it to function if I completely squeeze the snot out of it and even then it's hit or miss. I actually feel like I'm going to damage my guitar to get it to work... not a good feeling.

    Don't even ask about getting it off of the guitar! The new clutch mechanism is absolutely horrible as well. The old one was smooth and was easily removable without much effort. Just press the release lever and voilĂ , off it goes. I have to wrestle with the new capo's release lever (and push REALLY HARD) for it to "maybe" decide to release.

    All in all... a big let down. Sorry G7th, go back to the drawing board! You took a great product and destroyed it.

Questions about the G7th G7 Performance 2 - 6 String, Silver?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway