0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Gretsch G6122-1959 Chet Atkins Country Gentleman Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Santos-Sao Paulo-Brazil March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Luthier

    One of the best

    If you wanna one of the most beautiful clean sounds on earth, this is your goal. Go to a good Luthier, buy Gretsch Chet Atkins 011 gauge pure nickel strings and is it. Chet knows how a good guitar have to sound!
    A lot of rock tunes on the bridge too, but this guitar is not for metal heads!
    Bridge output is weakier than neck and its audible when you change the pickups!
    This guitar history tell us that Chet Atkins almost never use the bridge pickup alone (only blended with the Neck Supertron PU. So why worry ? Just let this guitar sings and you will know what I mean!

    3 Guitars you have to play in life! One Fender Stratocaster with vintage 54 singles pickups, one Gibson ES 135 with a 57 classic neck and a P94T in bridge, and this Gretsch...

  • from United States October 24, 2014Music Background:
    50

    The Ultimate Guitar

    If I could give this guitar a 100 instead of just 5 I would and so would you. But you need to be warned this guitar is so clean it will scare you to death each note sounds like it came from someone playing on a cloud somewhere? That is good unless you make a mistake then the whole world knows that as well. So playing it will make you a much better guitarist and that bridge pickup is plenty hot. One thing before i forget and Gretsch should have mentioned this, the Bixby arm comes with both the swivel version pictured and the rigid one Chet used. I have two with the rigid version on them and this is no Mickey mouse swivel it is great and moves with your hand to stay with what you are playing it is not just to swing out of the way. Ask for Marshall Oliver, he takes care of me and he will make yours sound right too.

  • from Temecula, CA June 6, 2014Music Background:
    solo performer, hobbyist, collector

    Chet Atkins G6122-59

    I've been playing guitar since 1986 when I first saw Chet Atkins in person. That was it! I wanted to play like Chet Atkins and Paul Yandell. I got to know Paul later and this guitar is special. I own a lot of very nice guitars. I love that way this one plays, sounds, looks, and feels. I love the after purchase support that I get from Gretsch which is part of what you are buying when you buy this guitar. You are buying a top drawer support team that wants their customers to be happy. I love the guitar and I love the Gretsch Guitar Company for making me very happy! I hope to add yet another Gretsch to my collection soon.

  • from midwest April 11, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Players guitar

    Expensive? Slighty unwieldy to some? Yes and yes. But this Gretsch stands out among all other Gretsches, including the other gents. It has the longer scale and the wider nut. It has the supertron in the neck and the classic in the bridge (both TVJones). Closed guitar with painted f-holes. This all adds up to sustain, chime, or as I understand it, as Chet Atkins himself put it, (and this guitar was designed to match his specifications and preferences.."you get more note".
    When I first read that I had to think about it, but he is right (as usual). More sustain, more clarity, pure and wonderful sounding tones.
    As youc can tell I'm a fan.
    One last thing. It is difficult to dial in a bad tone with this guitar. And you can use it for a number of different genres. Want the best? Consider this one.

  • from Albuquerque, NM September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Former guitar teacher for 8 years while in school. Since just an amatuer.

    Chet Knew What he was doing.

    This is a great guitar. I actually have a 1956 6120 with the cows and cactus, but it isn't made as well as this one and Chet never really liked it. So, this was the eventual design he came up with (before the double cutaway which I never understood). I watched Chet play this several times in concert as a kid. I always wanted one, but the old ones are hard to find, expensive and not made as well as the new ones. So, this guitar is a great compromise and it will pretty much do anything you want. I also like the way Sweetwater treated me on the deal.

  • from Indiana May 16, 2013Music Background:
    40 years of playing for fun

    Great sound, great action

    I love my Taylor T-5 Custom. I've played it once in the year since I bought my Gretsch 6122-59. The Gretsch's sound is fantastic. Its action is nice and low, and the intonation is really good for a guitar that doesn't have a compensated saddle (my strings are 11s). I had a little trouble staying in tune (especially using the Bigsby) at first. When I pressed down on the saddle I heard a click. I guess something on the bridge had to be seated better. I also lubricated the nut. These two tricks solved the problem.

    This guitar puts out a lot of sound. You'll want to play this through something beefier than a practice amp. It just overwhelms a 30-watt G-DEC or Vox Valvetronics amp. A Deluxe Reverb handles it well.

    Friends tell me I smile when I play my Gretsch. Any day I play it is a good day.

  • from CA, USA January 1, 2012Music Background:
    30 Years since High School

    A Truly One of a Kind

    I was blown away with this guitar with it's quality and the "sound", Oh the Sound... Nothing quite like it. I have Rickenbacker 330, 325c64, Gretch Duo 6128, and nothing quite like the sound of this one. Because of it's wide neck, it takes a while getting used to but, it's heaven to play indeed.

  • from March 22, 2011Music Background:
    Gosple, Country, Bluegrass

    great clean rich Chet sound

    I bought this guitar wanting something clean, warm, rich and something differant from my Gallagher Doc Watson acoustic.

    First is sound and very light action. If you are looking for a great Chet Atkins sleek sound you cant go wrong with this guitar, very clean and clear all the way up the neck. Action is very light and great accses to the last frets.

    I would absolutely repace if stolen. Just woudn't do with out it.

  • from Woodbridge, VA September 17, 2007Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Louder and Crispier than the G6120s

    The G6122-1959 has a louder, much more crispier sound than the G6120 Atkins and G6120 Setzer. The TVJ Supertron and HT on this guitar has a more powerful punch than the TVJ Classic and Filtertrons. This guitar has a simulated F-hole and amazingly, the sound seems to resonate better than the real F-hole models from Gretsch. The neck is noticeable wider but if you're a real guitar player, this shouldn't bother you. Note that this is a professional guitar and requires advanced skill to play this.

    For those with short arms, I recommend that you play this guitar standing up rather than sitting. The lower bout has a high arch that will strain your neck and elbow. I know this because I have short arms. About an hour into playing this instrument sitting down, you'll start feeling some tension on your neck and elbow. I've been playing for 30 years and have owned almost every brand of guitar. Nothing comes close to the Gretsch sound. If you are ready to take the next step into professional instruments, then go for Gretsch. As a word of caution, Gretsch guitars don't come cheap so save up. This is my sixth Gretsch guitar by the way. Mind you, this guitar is awesome with almost any style of music. I love playing Funk and soul with this guitar. Brilliant!

Questions about the Gretsch G6122-1959 Chet Atkins Country Gentleman?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway