rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Gretsch Electromatic Pro Jet Bigsby - Black Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Gretsch Electromatic Pro Jet Bigsby - Black?

Questions about the Gretsch Electromatic Pro Jet Bigsby - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Kentucky February 18, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Sweet Sounds from Sweetwater

    this thing is sweet! I bought a 72 Fender Thinline a few years ago from you guys. Its been my main go to axe,but it just got replaced. This guitar has great tone and the Bigsby is wonderful. I use it for just about all my worship music. And Patrick at Sweetwater made the experience even better with his personal interest in what I play and quick delivery of my guitar. I'm a Sweetwater customer for life.

  • from Canton, GA March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro Lifetime

    I'm in love!

    I was blown away by this guitar. It exceeded my expectations .First off, it's beautiful and classy, top workmanship, but then the sound. Very chime-like clear tone and great definition. It is very Beatles for sure, in the tone department and looks. Also has a fantastic middle position Rock 'n' Roll tone. Searing powerful treble position and warm neck pickup. I could not be happier with it. It is at the top of the favorites in my collection.

  • from Baltimore, MD February 1, 2013Music Background:
    MUSICIAN FOR OVER 40 YEARS

    PLAYS LIKE A $2000 GUITAR....

    GOT MINE ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO, AFTER A RATHER MINOR ADJUSTMENT OF THE BRIDGE, SHE WAS GOOD TO GO. THE FILTERTRON PUPS ARE AMAZING. GREAT FOR JAZZ, BLUES
    AND OF COURSE I TRIED SOME BEATLES AND STONES WITH
    FANTASTIC SUCCESS. NOT LIKE MOST GRETSCH'S, THE
    BRIDGE ISN'T "FLOATING". NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. THE TUNERS
    ARE EXCELLENT. FOR THE $$$$$ YOU HAVE TO HAVE THIS GUITAR...TAKE ONE FOR A "SPIN", YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED.

  • from Lafayette, IN USA July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar hobbyist

    Gretscherrific!

    Being a "Dapper Dan Gibson Man" for much of my playing career, I haven't had too many close encounters with Gretsch instruments. I once recall taking a 6120 out for a test drive but wasn't too enamored with it--not surprising since I've mostly owned and played 335-style instruments over the years.

    However, I took a chance with the Pro Jet and was very pleasantly surprised when I strapped it on and hit the strings. Excellent workmanship, action, and--most importantly--sound! I couldn't believe I got this guy for less than $700--it sounds and plays like instruments costing 2-3 times as much. The pickups on the Pro Jet are very impressive: to my ears they fill a niche between Fenders and Gibsons: heavier and darker than Fender single-coils yet lighter and brighter than Gibson humbuckers. The Pro Jet is a very interesting, good-looking (love the penguin shape!), and versatile instrument on which one can play just about any style of music. Well, maybe not shred metal! ;)

    Last word: my new Pro Jet is an outstanding guitar and a fantastic buy. Indeed, I've just made it "my new best friend"--it's definitely a keeper. Check it out!

  • from Lisle, IL March 27, 2012Music Background:
    working musician

    Gretsch Pro Jet rocks the house!

    I took the Gretsch Electromatic Pro Jet with Bigsby to a gig the same day it arrived on my doorstep. Very little set-up work was needed to adjust it to my preferences. I also took an American 72 Telecaster Reissue and a Gibson Les Paul Traditional. The Gretsch was the only guitar I played all night! For Classic Rock covers this guitar has it all! From Shania Twain to the Kinks to the Beatles to Arrowsmith it really shows off its versatility and playability. I've played a lot of guitars in my band, and they all agree that this is by far the best sounding! Rock on!

  • from east coast March 2, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist ( playing about 3 decades )

    great instrument ,, great sound ..

    Got this gretsch about 3 weeks ago & love it .. Was within days of buying an American Strat when I caught this @ Sweetwater site.. Owned fenders in the past and wanted a change .. Took a chance and really got lucky .. This guitar gives a ton of warmth from those humbuckers..And when you want bite ,, hit the treble and just a little gain on the amp.. think early ZZtop .. I have an '83 les paul that I compare all guitars to and for 3 weeks ,, I've only played the Gretsch .. Says abit about what I think of this guitar .. And when your finished playing ,, look down @ the black and chrome and think ,, I can not believe that I paid under $700 for this guitar .. love the sound ,, love the look ... > no - bull ...

  • from September 18, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great

    Just get it set up at a music store because out of the box mine had this terrible fret buzz. After set up though it's great.

  • from Champaign, IL November 20, 2015Music Background:
    retired pro

    Great Guitar for the price

    Instead of using superlatives or other subjective opinions, I'll try to give those of you considering this guitar some good information based on my experience owning one so you can make an informed decision.
    First: the build quality is very good. Playability is excellent and it stays in tune. I had to make no adjustments at all, intonation was spot on.
    Second (and this is important): This guitar has ceramic magnet pickups instead of the usual alnico. It will sound a bit more brittle and shrill but it also means it has some serious bite to it. I've found this guitar sounds best when paired with tube amps and analog effects (just like the '60's man).
    Third: The layout of the controls is very good for a working musician. One tone control is all you need and with both pickups on, minute adjustments in the individual volume pots can give you a wide range of tone and grit.
    Fourth: For the money, you can't go wrong. And if the pickups are not to your liking, invest another couple hundred with Gretsch or TV Jones and you'll have a guitar that sounds as nice as one of those $3,000 ones.
    And finally, perhaps the best compliment is that of my Tele, Ric, Les Paul with Seymour's, and Dean, I find I am picking this up almost every time I play. Maybe it's just the newness, but I doubt it.
    Hope this helps.

  • from Detroit, MI June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Semi pro musician & student

    Gretsch 5415 Special Jet

    This is my 2nd new Gretsch & I love them both! I was a bit baffled at first however. Wasn't sure what to make of them. The word "hybrid" comes to mind. They're not "true" solidbodies in the sense of the word, but they're not real hollowbodies either. Both feature "chambered" body designs, my Pro Jet is an Arched "Goldtop" while this one is a "flat." First the bad news. Humbuckers are a bit noisy & very "touchy," very sensitive. They also tend to be a bit "boomy" at high volumes or with effects kicked. My only complaint & it's controllable. On the positive side, the workmanship, fit & finish, & quality control are beautiful on this instrument! Much so for a so called "lower level" guitar! She's Chinese & it's readily apparent these guys care about what they're doing! From the first 1 or 2 chords played, you know she's a Gretsch! Has a unique voice all her own, but not the deep bassy "twang" their larger hollowbody siblings are known for. I suppose with the right settings you maybe could mimic that somewhat. Plays & sounds beautifully with effects off. I'd suggest her strong hand might be good old school early R & R, R & B. The late great Bo Diddley comes to mind. She's probably capable as a lead providing you can tailor her sound to your band, but she'd be an excellent rhythm or 3rd guitar. Great for early Rock or Rockabilly. This was a "spur of the moment" purchase. Saw it, liked what I saw, placed the order right there! Available in several pinstripe/color schemes, went for blue model #238 as it's my favorite color. This is a limited edition model guitar, but I highly recommend it if you can find one. Sweetwater even threw in a very nice hardshell factory case. Good lookin' out fellas, appreciate ya. Special kudos in order again to Norb B. & the crew at what was got to be one of the finest music outfits in the nation! Been a steady customer w/ Sweetwater since 10/2013 & I've never been disappointed!

Questions about the Gretsch Electromatic Pro Jet Bigsby - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway