0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Gretsch G5422TDC Electromatic Double Cutaway Hollowbody - Walnut Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Near Gatlinburg, TN October 19, 2016Music Background:
    Four years piano lessons, Many choirs over the years, Madrigal singer

    Gorgeous Guitar

    I'm exceedingly happy that I was in the market for a Gretch when the G5422tdc jumped out at me. The WOW factor occurs every time I open the case! I was indeed happy to sell my 1956 Gibson es125 to step into a Gretsch. This guitar may not have the resale value of the Gibson, but it's a far better guitar with versatility. I'm getting sounds I never expected from a guitar. I've been playing since 1964 and am 68 years old. This guitar has rejuvinated my interest in the instrument. I now play every day rather than twice a year! I have nothing bad to say about it. Hooked up to the Fender Champion 100 with the effects and two thumpin' 12's, I can rattle the county! This is my dream guitar and now in retirement, I'm living the dream. The finish is incredible. The urethane covers every seam flawlessly! It looks like Gretsch may have discontinued this model. That's ok.........it'll make mine more valuable!

  • from Shelbyville, KY January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Been playing for 30+years

    Gretsch Electromatic 12-string

    I purchased my 12-string on Jan.20th,16. Sweetwater does a great job with service, and the only music store that treats your guitar like gold. Zach Garrison did a great job with me.

  • from VA January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, church, Indie

    Gretsch for life

    I bought my first online guitar from sweet water because if the 55 point inspection. I found my sales engineer Kevin S. To be more authentic and caring than the other stores. Awesome service.

    Now to the guitar. This is my fourth electric. I own a les paul, a tele and had a PRS. I was looking for a new tonal option and was eyeing the gretsch filtrons. Right out of the box this guitar looked spectacular. Once I hooked it up to my AC15, it really came to life. This is my favorite guitar and can't imagine not owning this one. I thought about the 5420, but wanted a thinner profile.

    Great guitar. Don't think about it. Just get it.

  • from Chicago, IL November 17, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Stunning

    Have no doubts about this guitar. Comes out of the box and looks amazing (and plays great - thanks sweetwater). Sounds beautiful and resonant unplugged, and although different, still sounds great amplified. The best thing about this guitar is its versatility. Obviously, being a Gretsch hollowbody, it's fantastic for cleans and light overdriven parts, but it handles high gain surprisingly well. If you're looking for an all-in-one guitar that looks great and sounds even better, don't hesitate with this one. It is worth every penny.

  • from Benton, Louisiana October 14, 2015

    Gretsch G5422TDC Electromatic

    My new Gretsch G5422TDC Electromatic guitar is awesome! The fit, finish and playability are perfect! Additionally, the customer service at Sweetwater was very impressive! I would highly recommend both Gretsch and Sweetwater!

  • from Binghamton, NY, USA October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Awesome! Gretsch G 5422 TDC Electromatic hollow body

    This is the 3rd Gretchen guitar I purchased and they just keep getting better. These are obviously not the high end, pricey gretsch guitars that most of us cannot afford, let alone take into the battle zones, but they ARE affordable, working guitars with great Gretsch quality. The sound is exactly what you would expect...phenomenal! I play Beatles, Stones, Fleetwood Mac, Ronstadt, etc. (we have a female singer), this guitar handles it all, and handles it well. I am completely satisfied with this axe, and if anything should ever happen to it, I would replace it with another one in a New York minute.

  • from Tampa October 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gretsch g5422tdc

    I have had the g5422 two wk.s
    It's great!
    Great sound,an action.
    I have Gretsch 6122-59 ,also an the 5422 for the money is up there.

  • from North TX January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Bluegrass, Southern Rock, Contemporary Country - guitar, bass, banjo, mandolin. Just getting started with Home Studio stuff

    Gretch Electromatic hollow-body electric

    I love this guitar! It was the one spectrum missing from my guitar selection. It's beautiful and it arrived spotless, flawless, packed amazingly well.

    I know lots of players just assume when they get a new axe, they are going to be making some setup tweaks to suit their personal style. I get that.

    This one I will be taking to a luthier soon to at the least, get the bottom ends of the fret wires buffed/rounded off. They are pretty sharp. I know that a proper classical style would rarely touch them with the left hand, but I ain't that player haha.

    That is the only thing that kept me from a full blown 5 stars. However, I will say that Robby in sales, Ian in tech support, and some unknown folks in shipping are the reason why I will never to to Guitar Center ever again (or anywhere else for that matter).

    Sweetwater has set the bar really really high!

    Kelly

  • from Middletown, OH November 7, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    Gretsch G5422TDC

    This guitar is made in Korea and the Korean builder / luthiers are some of the best in the world. Fit and finish are excellent as are balance and build quality. This model now has a secured non-floating bridge which greatly enhances the intonation accuracy. This guitar is a true thinline hollowbody, with no center block and outstanding resonance. Since there is no center block the pickup output is a little less than expected but not unreasonably so. The open back tuners are somewhat archaic but they do keep the guitar in tune. All in all, I believe Chet himself would have liked to own one the these beauties ! Thanks for reading.

  • from South East PA September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Former bar band pro musician.

    Gretsch g5422DC - one of the best, period.

    Bought this a few months ago, and love it. I owned a '60's Chet Gretsch years ago...this is better made, better playing and better sounding. Great build, strong hardware and Bigsby. Beautiful and very adjustable pickups - tailor the sound you want with just a few adjustments.
    I DID replace the factory bridge saddle, but that's just me. I would like a pinned bridge, but the floating bridge works just fine.

    I have over 40 guitars,most more expensive, but this is one of my favorites after a few months. I bought 2 other Gretsch guitars since I got this one.

    This guitar is a pleasure to play and it is very high quality with great sound. The only mod I recommend is a hard case. This guitar deserves the best.

  • from Kansas City, MO December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Dedicated Hobbyist

    Versatile and smooth Hollow Body

    I purchased the The Gretsch G5422TDC Electromatic Hollow Body a few weeks ago and am very pleased with both the buying experience provided by Sweetwater and quality of the instument. Besides being beautiful, the G5422 is one of the most versatile guitars on the market. The unique sound is rich and smooth with just a touch of twang on the high end. The bound F-holes and Filtertron pickups are a great improvement over previous guitars in this price range. Combining this with the ease of play makes this a great guitar for any level of player.

Questions about the Gretsch G5422TDC Electromatic Double Cutaway Hollowbody - Walnut?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway