0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Gretsch G5420T Electromatic Hollow Body - Orange Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
  • from California April 16, 2016

    Seriously?

    I think everyone else has all ready said it enough times. This guitar Is incredible. I have no regrets and I now have two Gretsch guitars now in my line up. I never seem to touch my Stratocaster or Les Paul much anymore. This guitar is just so unique you won't be able to put it down. I love it and I love the price...

  • from Up North April 5, 2015Music Background:
    30+ years writing, recording and playing music

    G5420T

    Better than I expected. Craftsmanship is spot on. Comfortable to play, light weight and stays in tune very well using the tremolo and soloing. Thought I would have to upgrade tuners and pickups but see no need. In my opinion this guitar covers more genres than any other. Paired up with the right amp and OD pedal you can't go wrong. I love my new Gretsch.

  • from Phoenix April 5, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Love my Gretsch!!

    Without a doubt, this is the best electric guitar I have ever owned. Yes, and I have owned many. Fenders, Gibsons, Guild, even a Martin. This Gretsch beats them all hands down.

    It plays like a dream. It sounds amazing and it looks, well it looks beautiful.

    Then, the incredible experience of buying from Sweetwater. The 55 point evaluation they perform saves from needing to take the guitar to your favorite tech to have it setup. That is a great benefit.

    I'm sold on Sweetwater and will be buying from them again and again and again.

    I love this guitar!

  • from Mayfield, KY March 29, 2015Music Background:
    Country

    Gretsch G5420T

    I just got this Gretsch guitar this week, Right out of the box it played perfect.. Took it to my show and I had more people ask me about this guitar than any other Ive ever had. Everyone said it was beautifull. I usually play a Telecaster, but this is the sound I was looking for. Ive played much more expensive Gretschs, but this is just as good as any of them. Cant beat it for the price , if you have thought about getting one, you better get one while you can...

  • from Belvidere New Jersey, USA December 16, 2014Music Background:
    collector and hobbyist

    Gretch G5420T

    You cannot find a better instrument at this price point. Playability is outstanding and fit and finish is excellent.

  • from Miami,fl, USA June 16, 2014Music Background:
    CLASSICAL, ROCK, NEW AGE

    GRETSCH ELECTROMATIC

    EXCELLENT GUITAR IN ALL SENSES!

  • from Tallahassee, FL June 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Everything I Hoped For

    The guitar arrived one time and in great shape. The packaging job was excellent--double boxed with plenty of inner filler.

    Out-of-the-box the guitar sounded great. Fantastic setup. I've been playing it for about six weeks now and can't put it down. Every time I pass it I have to pick it up.

    My sales rep, Mark Chapman, was the best. He called to make sure I was happy and that everything was fine with the guitar--if you ever need someone to work with he's your guy!!

  • from Evansville, IN April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Love It!

    This guitar is not just a looker but plays very well. I asked Sweetwater to setup for me with 11's, flats. When it arrived it was flawless, ready to plug in and play! Excellent setup guys! Thanks again

  • from California February 16, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Devalued Guitar

    OK, I decided that a Gretsch was for me. Price was not an issue. I got the 6120, the Atkins, etc... After playing with them all for a few days, the Electromatic gave me the best sound, versatility, easy to play, light weight, etc... I can even play this guitar with no amps, it works as an acoustic too. I don't understand why a 6120 cost $3,500 and the Electromatic cost $874. I ended up with the Electromatic although I could afford the most expensive Gretsch out there. This guitar is terrible under-valued. It is a complete deal and the guitar market is just totally schizophrenic.

  • from January 9, 2014

    Why eat a peach when I could have a Gretsch Orange.

    I could not ask for better. The online service was the best I have ever had. The packaging was very secure and will assure what you order will arrive as something new should be ..perfect.
    As to the Gretsch, well I have always had a soft spot for them.
    Even made a to trip the factory when they were back in Brooklyn,NY.
    Thanks Sweetwater.
    (As any new guitar,check the bridge and tuner up,make it sweet.)

  • from Broomfield, Colorado February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro guitarist/recording

    New age of Vintage

    I'm a collectedr and was blown away at the quality and craftsmanship of these Gretsch guitars. I'm usually a "buy American" guy , so I was curious what would happen when Fender/Gretsch plant popped up around the world. I gotta say" top notch". We may be in a new age of vintage and AFFORDABLE!!! Snatch 'em up kids... While they're still this cheap!!! I already got 2....

  • from Lewes, DE April 12, 2016Music Background:
    Self taught guitarist

    Gretsch 5420T

    I have owned many Gretsch guitars in my time, this 5420T is my fourth one. I have always been a Gretsch fan and I always lusted for an orange one. I use this Gretsch mainly as an acoustic but it tears it up when plugged into my Fender Princeton. It took me a while to get used to the 11 gauge strings but they are right for this 5420. The only complaint I could make is the case is just adequate for this guitar. Id gladly pay more for an all vinyl covered gas. Cardboard leaves me cold! I'd like to add a 5422 as well

  • from Crivits, Wi. June 12, 2015Music Background:
    Rock & Country rock band in the 60's, Gospel & country now

    G5420T

    I've played an acoustic electric for several years and recently became interested in a hollow body electric. Reviews rated the Gretsch 5420T as as a very good instrument and a good value. I placed my order and the guitar and case arrived 2 days later. Both were well packaged and set up nicely. The only adjustment needed was a tuning and slight correction of the bridge to eliminate a buzz on the low E string. The fit , finish, and sound is very good for a mid priced guitar and would be worth your consideration. Sweetwater has a very helpful and a knowledgeable staff and easy to work with. The only change I plan to make is a change of strings as I prefer a wound G.

  • from Northpole alaska July 14, 2014Music Background:
    New student

    My new gretzsch

    I love my new gretzsch guitar
    I recently sold a 6120 Chet Atkins original from 1960 the same batch entwistles came from
    So replaced it with something I won't have any fear of damaging or dropping, love it quality is next to none, service was above expectations.
    Jim Stowe
    Would buy it again.

  • from Hermleigh, TX USA June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Singer / Songwriter

    Gretsch Electromatic Hollowbody

    I love this guitar! Sounds great. Easy to play and its beautiful to look at. No complaints whatsoever. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Florida March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Gretsch G5420T Guitar

    Very good copy of the old Gretsch guitars. I used to have an original PX6120 and except for the missing tone switch, it comes very close to the old Chet Atkins model. Close enough for my uses. I just wish the case for this guitar was as good.

  • from Denver, CO February 2, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro guitarist, songwriter and singer.

    Bargain

    Great guitar for the price. Great tone from the neck pickup. I'm not as fond of the bridge pickup. The neck is comfortable to play. And it looks good! This will be hard to beat for the price.

    This is a small thing, but the strap buttons unscrew so you can put your strap on and screw them on; I've never seen this on other guitars, but what a great concept!

    I first tried a 5422, which is a double-cutaway and a thinner body, but I thought it had a somewhat muddy tone. My 5420 has a much clearer, brighter and sweeter tone.

    Sweetwater triple-boxed it, so it was well-protected in shipping.

    Sure, a $2200 or $3500 Gretsch will sound better, but this one sounds pretty dang good. I've been playing ever since I got it. Puts a smile on my face.

  • from northern michigan January 20, 2014Music Background:
    50+ years of playing and collecting guitars

    Gretsch G5420T

    I am a guitarist who has been at it for more than 50 years. I have been purchasing guitars for a lot of years. I have numerous accoustics, solid body electrics (both single coil and humbucker types), semi hollowbody but I did not have a true hollowbody in my collection. I really wanted the 6120 but could not justify the extra 2K. I have played both and this is an excellent guitar but there is a definite tonal difference between the two. This guitar has the typical Gretsch sound which you may love or hate. I am happy with this purchase. I love the tone, the Bigsby and I really like the appearance.

  • from November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Night Clubs

    Gretsch G5420T

    Beautiful Guitar. Sounds Good, Good Size, Good action neck.
    Disappointed with Volume an other controls. Volume dial has to be turned half way to get a result.
    The other dials make no difference what you do. The toggle switch does make 3 subtle changes.
    Maybe I have been spoiled previously owning a White Falcon, Gretsch Duo-Jet,Gretsch Firebird, and A Gibson Les Paul Perfection beyond expectations. I was told told for the money you can't expect more.
    Yet there are other guitars that do have the subtle adjustments with comparable good sound quality

Questions about the Gretsch G5420T Electromatic Hollow Body - Orange?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway