0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Gretsch G5420T Electromatic Hollow Body - Aspen Green Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Ohio March 20, 2016

    An Unbelievable Guitar!

    This is really an unbelievable guitar. As you read through all the posts, you think com'on these folks are just all hyped up on thier new guitar. At least that's what I thought. Then I got mine. And Wow, now I'm a believer (hmm, I think there's a song like that). Anyway, right out of the box my wife and I were dazzled. It's beautiful, flawless etc, etc. And, after playing around with it for a few days now, I couldn't be more impressed. Gretsch has come a long way in the past few decades. A long way for the good! This is a seriously nice guitar folks. The sound, craftsmanship, look, feel it's all there. Even the price is good. I didn't think that I'd say it so soon but, I am sold on this one. The 5420T is worth the investment - hands down! And the Sweetwater team... from start to finish they were awesome, really awesome. Thanks Forrest, you rock!

  • from Springfield Al. January 31, 2016

    Great guitar

    Wow, from the time it arrived, only 2 days, and opened the box this guitar is beautiful. I am a stray and tele guy but always wanted a hollowbody Gretsch. Sure its not a $3000.00 Gretsch but I have played those to and this one sounds just as good for s fraction of the cost. The finish is flawless and plays great. As always, Brendan was great, called me within 30 minutes of my online order and said they were shipping as we were speaking. Don't be afraid to buy anything from Sweetwater there the best!!

  • from August 23, 2015Music Background:
    Musician and writer for 45 yrs.

    Gretsch G-5420-T

    I literally bought a $3,000.00 Gretsch guitar for $799.00..WOW & double WOW! 'how else can it be put it from the way I see it.
    ?.. I've been playing for 45yrs. and have had more than a hundred guitars of every high dollar brand on the market..both Acoustic and Electric..and yes I'm a professional. Dan Heynen "Keepsakes"on I-Tunes! playing a Historic series Gretsch Streamliner made in Korea & from late 90's on many of the songs on my album. And where else do you get a guitar from ..other than Sweetwater.. who will go over your Axe from top to bottom seeing to it you get the very best for your money because of their integrity. Dan Heynen

  • from Atlanta June 8, 2015

    My Wife Is Jealous Of This Guitar

    If you happen to be on the fence about getting this guitar, like I was, you should be assured that this is a great guitar to have in your collection. I was surprised by it's versatility, it does the "twang" if you want it to, but it delivers rock and roll, blues, etc. with wonderful tone. The quality cannot be beat. Add the great service and its a no brainer.

  • from March 23, 2015Music Background:
    Working Artist of 25 years

    Solid,Precise,and Versatile

    This guitar is a value that does not cut corners in craftsmanship,tone,character,or quality in any way. Upon receiving this guitar I have looked over every detail and I honestly cannot find a single aesthetic blemish anywhere. Normally I have a knack for finding that one little thing that bugs me and there is truly not a single facet of the 5420t that disappoints in any way.

    I am now a month into owning my first hollow body electric and I feel that I now have multiple tones that I was looking for dialed in. I truly did not expect the 5420t to be so versatile ..she delivered the creamy tones of 60's rock, the melodic swoon of shoegaze rock, the spirit of jazz,and the soul of the blues over hours of experimentation and near endless play. There was little that I looked for in this guitar that I could not find. Dialing into all of this much tonal variety has simply been a fantastic musical journey for me. The setup from sweetwater survived the FedEx journey and arrived in tune and they simply nailed the setup on this guitar. I didn't change a thing "which is rare". I was hesitant to purchase this guitar online but I simply could not find one in a local shop so I gave in. The whole experience of buying this guitar from the sales guy,to the professional photographs of my very guitar,in great detail,delivered via email made the experience a very pleasant one for me. Guys and Gals..you will be hard pressed to find this much of a guitar anywhere else for 800$.

    The 5420t is a set apart from a guitar like the Epiphone Dot. Everything about a Dot felt like it was lacking to me the guitar has a cheap and thin presentation that left me with a substandard view of what a hollowbody electric should be.

    So, in close if you are reading this you are in the same place I was when I started scouring reviews...you think you may want one. I truly cannot think of any solid justification for anyone who is here looking at this guitar to pass up the opportunity to own it. Tell the old lady,your mom/dad,or the little pessimist on your shoulder that you need this guitar in your life. Buy it.

  • from Los Angeles, CA USA February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist, Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Get one before they change.

    I've played various Pro Series Gretschs such as the White Falcon and the Tennessee Rose. This honestly plays and sounds just as good as them. Built in Korea instead of Japan, the craftsmanship is amazing using the same materials! I'm super impressed by the true clear, and well balance bite from the Gretsch designed black top filtertrons. I didn't expect them to be that good but was seriously blown away by them! No need to spend the extra money for TV Jones pickups. The Bigsby B60 is a nice touch, I love using it. I like how they gave it it's own tone knob instead of having a 3 way selector switch so you can have a wider variety of tone settings. Just a heads up, the Wood Based Tune-O-Matic bridge is set so it doesn't move anywhere unlike the traditional Gretsch guitars which is a big plus! Totally recommend it to a seasoned guitarist or any one who is willing to spend the extra money to get a higher than average affordable guitar! z

  • from Md USA January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Working guitarist over 30 years.

    Nice neck- a real head-turner!

    I love mine. Bigsby tuning issues are NOT a problem if you lube the nut well with a graphite pencil. Then a few wangs, and she will stay in tune for hours, no matter the wangin'. Tuners are open back but excellent. Plays fine right out of the box, but I replaced my tunematic bridge with a Compton, altho in hindsight, I think I didnt need to. You need to run at least .010's on this thing, IMO, because it doesnt seem to like anything lighter. The larger body takes a little getting used to, but then you dont think about it. The filtertrons are a different beast, sorta like between single coils, and humbuckers (they are a kind of humbucker). They have their own sound, and I like 'em. Sometimes can be harsh, maybe use a little compression. This guitar is a little deceptive. It doesnt like to be babied. Played somewhat aggressively, it responds well. No wonder punkers and rockabilly dudes like 'em. Everybody loves the looks. Well made, nice neck. I had to slightly shave the corners of the nut so as not to hurt my hand, but that took one minute. It's a hollowbody, so it has a different bunch of characteristics. Feedback is not a serious problem, if you understand feedback. You can actually use it to great effect, if you want. but I play through a Twin Reverb fairly loudly, and dont have real problems. Roll the bass off if it gets outta hand. It has a bigger sound than my Stratocaster had. String changing takes a little patience- this thing is for people who like guitars , not for prissy , particular people who dont like to tinker a bit. It's made to be used and maintained. Keep the screws tight, and use "Loctite" sometimes ;)

  • from Omaha, NE January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Classic guitar at a great price

    This guitar has been so much fun to play. The sound is warm and clean, but when you kick it into overdrive, you are rockin'. My only issue with ths guitar is that you have to tune it often. Personally, I may upgrade the bridge and tuners so that this is a thing of the past, but overall, I love everything about this guitar.

  • from New York, NY June 25, 2013

    excellent !

    This is my first Gretsch and Man, this thing is sweeeeet !
    Excellent guitar for the money.
    Very versatile instrument; you can easily go from a nice mellow jazz tone to hard rock. You can also get a very nice clean acoustic sound with both pickups with rolled volume knob.
    The neck feels great, bigsby is excellent.
    Check the videos online, this is a lot of guitar for the price.

  • from Hermleigh, TX USA June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Singer / Songwriter

    Gretsch Electromatic Hollowbody

    I love this guitar! Sounds great. Easy to play and its beautiful to look at. No complaints whatsoever. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Broomfield, Colorado February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro guitarist/recording

    New age of Vintage

    I'm a collectedr and was blown away at the quality and craftsmanship of these Gretsch guitars. I'm usually a "buy American" guy , so I was curious what would happen when Fender/Gretsch plant popped up around the world. I gotta say" top notch". We may be in a new age of vintage and AFFORDABLE!!! Snatch 'em up kids... While they're still this cheap!!! I already got 2....

Questions about the Gretsch G5420T Electromatic Hollow Body - Aspen Green?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway