0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Gretsch G2622 Streamliner Center Block Double Cutaway - Walnut Stain Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Gretsch G2622 Streamliner Center Block Double Cutaway - Walnut Stain?

Questions about the Gretsch G2622 Streamliner Center Block Double Cutaway - Walnut Stain?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Morris, AL March 8, 2017

    Affordable and Awesome

    This is a killer axe, especially at this price point. A ton of fun and easy to play. It seems that Gretsch was going for something that would appeal to more "high-gain" players without taking away from their reputation for guitars that have nice clean and low-gain tones. If that's the case I think they nailed it.

    Is it perfect? I suppose not. There's not really so many different tones available as you turn the knobs, but honestly I usually play with the tones knobs of my guitars all the way up anyways. You should keep in mind that this is a guitar that is less $ so of course they must have cut cost somewhere.

    TL;DR This guitar is better than you may expect based on the price

  • from Napa Valley February 22, 2017

    Gretsch G2622

    I decided, before I bought a guitar this time, it would involve more than just how they look and how they are made. I studied demand on resale, reputation, and checked out how they sound in person. For me, a needed criteria is how they sound without an amplifier. My preference is not a flat guitar, I like it to have it's own sound, and then plug it in. with that, I was concerned about the Gretsch semi hollow body vs the Epiphone Casino hollow body. I have been pleasantly surprised, this Gretsch has it's own individual sound, carries a note beautifully. The sound compares to the new Fender Coronado at a much cheaper price and better looking.

  • from Portland, OR January 8, 2017

    Great for a first electric guitar!

    I have played acoustic guitar (Martin D-18) for about 45 years, but I had to finally admit that I've got a rock and roll heart. I was surprised and amazed to find this Gretsch G2622! I was prepared to pay $1000 +, because I believe that quality informs ability, but when I found this one, it was an easy call. I knew that as I moved into electric this one would help me on my journey. I have since bought two Fender Strats, one new and one MIM 2009, and they are fine guitars, but the Gretsch, which I named "Alice" (you gotta name your guitars, right?), is my fave, even at that. I can't add anything to the praise from the other reviews. This is simply a wonderful musical instrument, and one that I wiill pass on to one lucky grandchild.

  • from Washington State November 5, 2016Music Background:
    Music Director/Teacher

    Plays Like a $3000 Guitar.

    Um, wow. Played this at my local music store and was blown away. I for some reason am usually uninspired with the Gretsch guitars that I've played in the past. This one was different. The neck is thin and extremely fast. It's lightweight yet still feels high quality. The pickups sound AMAZING. Pristine, in fact. I played it through a Blackstar head/cabinet stack and couldn't stop playing it, switching thru different settings on the amp and messing with the volume/tone controls on the guitar. No joke- it was MORE inspiring to play than a Gibson ES-335 I'd recently tried. If you haven't tried this guitar, you need to... NOW. For this price? It's ridiculous. Call Ben Porter at Sweetwater. He's the best.

  • from October 27, 2016

    Incredible guitar incredible value

    This guitar would be incredible at twice the price. Excellent build excellent sound excellent action excellent look.

  • from February 20, 2016

    G2622 is an Outstanding value

    I have been playing electric guitar since 1982. I bought the Gretsch G2622 because I wanted to add a different sound. I have a number of guitars but no hollow body. After viewing the features, pictures and price I purchased it online in the hope that it was worth it. I didn't want to spend 2-3k; I felt that 450.00 (including shipping) was a deal. It definitely was. This is an excellent choice for either the beginner or an experienced player who doesn't feel the need to fork out a fortune to get a Gretsch guitar. It fills a unique space separate from either a Les Paul or Fender soundprint.

    First, it came out of the box set up perfectly. It is a beautiful guitar. The finish is outstanding. The binding is beautiful along the neck and body. The neck inlays look great and the workmanship appears top-notch. And the V-shaped stoptail is a very nice touch. This model is built in Indonesia. From a quality control standpoint you would think this was a $3000.00 guitar. I'm not saying that this competes with a 3k vintage Gretsch, but if you read any Gretsch snobs who diss this guitar, they don't get it. This fills a great space in the Gretsch lineup that will bring you a Gretsch sound at a phenomenal value.

    Next, the action on the guitar is very low but there is no buzzing at all. The pickups were designed specifically for this guitar buy a guy that used to work for Fender's Custom Shop. They sound great; they're punchy and warm with no unwanted feedback. Each pickup has it's own volume control plus there is a master volume as well. This allows you to set different volume levels between the two pickups for various sound combinations. I ran the G2622 through a 1983 Fender Concert (clean) and also a Mesa Rectoverb 50 on the clean/clean pushed channel. On both amps it sings like a bird and also has a great low-end growl that is, again, different from either a Les Paul or Fender sound. It's distinct. I also ran the lighter distortion channel on the Mesa and the Gretsch was excellent. It has great punchy mids. After stretching the strings through a 5 minute warm-up there were no tuning issues at all unless I was doing 1 1/2 stop bends. It's also very light weight. There simply is nothing to complain about.

    As an aside I ran it through a Wampler tape echo and later an atomic phaser and the guitar sounded phenomenal when you add either "color".

    Wrapping up, you will not be disappointed if you like this style of guitar and plan to buy it. I recommend it for jazz, blues, country, and all rock-n-roll short of hair-metal and the drop D type of stuff. It's too good to be considered an entry-level guitar. If you didn't know the price you would think it was 2-3k. Congratulations to Gretsch.

  • from September 23, 2016Music Background:
    I have been playing for 50 years and have played in bands from Pennsylvania to Illinois to Texas. I play in our local college productions of Broadway plays. I have played in the church for 45 years and for the past 16 years I have play three to four times

    Great Guitar

    This is my second Gretsch. My first one was in the $1,700 range. This one is $450. You would think that there would be a big difference between the two. There's not much difference in quality. There is no difference in playability but there is a real difference in the tone. This Gretsch G2622 has a unique sound. It made me have to take a while to adjust to it. Here is what it does. It sounds like the guitar right between a Gibson and a Fender. There is enough low end and high end to travel in your tone along with the best. I had trouble figuring out what was going on because it would sound like a jazz box hollow body then it sounded like a hard rock Les Paul. Then, it would sound like the jangle sound of a Fender Strat.
    I really love that this guitar is only 6 lbs 7ozs and looks like a much more expensive guitar. Don't let the lightness of the guitar throw you. It feels strange for a guitar to be so lite. It makes you think it might be cheap but it is far from a cheap guitar. This is going to become my go-to guitar for the dinner music group I play in at in our local restaurants.

    I have been playing guitar for 50 years and I have owned a lot of guitars and amps. This is guitar is one of the top three that I have owned. The amp makes a lot of difference, too. I use two amps. I use a Laney 60 watt amp and a quilter Mach2 200 watt amp with this. Fantastic sound. You won't go wrong investing in this guitar. I have the Walnut stain version and it is beautiful.

  • from Columbus, OH June 7, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very solid guitar for the under $500

    I've been enjoying my new Gretsch G2622 for about a month now. I'm very happy with my shopping experience and the service I received afterwards. Thanks, Sweetwater!

    I can't say enough about the guitar. It's set up just about perfectly right out of the box, as long as you are good with .10 to .46 gauge strings. There are only a couple of issues, and they're not huge. First, the G string tends to go out of tune if you're bending beyond a half step. I understand this can be remedied by doing a little bit of filing/sanding on the nut. Second, the bridge pickup is not squared up with the body and a little loose to the touch. Again, this should be a rather simple fix. Otherwise, this is a great guitar.

    The style and the sound are exactly what I was looking for, and at this price I don't have to be paranoid about minor dings when taking it out of the house. The Broad'Tron pickups provide some nice tones. It's very easy with a little bit of gain and the bridge pick up selected to get early AC/DC tones out of this thing. With low gain and the neck pickup selected, you can also get some familiar sounding semi-hollow blues tones. I'd definitely recommend this as a gigging guitar for anyone playing blues or rock. I don't play with high gain but have a feeling these humbuckers would do fine.

    I can't speak to how this would compete with a $3,000 Gretsch, since I've never played one. By itself, and considering what I paid, this is a fine instrument. Thanks for reading!

Questions about the Gretsch G2622 Streamliner Center Block Double Cutaway - Walnut Stain?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway