rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Celestion G12 V-Type 12" 70-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Celestion G12 V-Type 12" 70-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Questions about the Celestion G12 V-Type 12" 70-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Springfield, OH June 6, 2017Music Background:
    Just a living room guitar hero dreaming of making it big some day at a local bar.

    An affordable speaker with a nice and balanced sound.

    I purchased a used Marshall TSL 122 for next to nothing to tinker on while I shopped for a new amp. When the amp arrived, I discovered both of the original speakers were damaged during shipping. The original speakers were specially produced for the combo and finding direct replacements was going to be time consuming. My first thought was to buy a pair of cheap speakers and then pass the amp along when I received a new amp. While browsing Sweetwater's website, I came across the V-Type speaker. Based on reviews from around the internet and literature about the speaker, I decided to go with a better quality speaker and purchased a pair of the V-Type's from Sweetwater with the assistance of Josh Lively. I was able to repair the amp and the V-Type speakers were installed without any modifications.

    The V-Type has been described as a cross between a couple of different Celestion speakers. I honestly couldn't pick out any speaker by its signature sound, so I am unable to compare the V-Type to another speaker. I am giving the V-Type speaker 5 stars based on my experience with them. I have been very happy with the sound from my amp through the V-Type's from day one. I do not have the desire to experiment with other speakers after a few months of use. This is the sound I expected to hear from a Marshall. The speakers handle the 100W amp without seeming to break a sweat. Between the clean, crunch and hi-gain channel, all of the notes keep their definition. After breaking in the speakers for a month, I began to push the volume to the point where I could feel the sound waves from across the living room. It feels like a warm, creamy hug. So I would say the speakers push a lot of air smoothly.

    I am very happy with my decision to buy a pair of V-Type speakers. They sound great and I feel you receive a quality speaker for the price. I am no longer looking for a new amp now.

  • from East Texas March 15, 2016

    Awesome sounding speaker!

    I mounted my 2 new V - type speakers in my 412" cabinet to replace 2 other dull sounding speakers. .what a HUGE DIFFERENCE in sound an clarity ! These speakers are very even across the range, perfect for the high gain settings I always use, and to me the quality is great, I can not hear or see any faults in the V - type speaker. .even on a rare occasion I flip to clean channel the lows are nice and round, highs not overly trebly, but still have a bite to them, and the mids are as I would say a little less pronounced. .I just used my amps heads eq controls and dialed in my ideal sound within a couple of minutes. .I was hesitant to buy these V types but I am so glad I did! Excellent all around performer! And thanks to my sales rep Robert W it took maybe 3 minutes to complete transaction and was shipped immediately!

  • from yakima wa March 2, 2016

    Review Celestion G12 V-Type

    Well let's just say without a doubt this speaker is BA for what you pay for !!!! Changed out the bad turbosound speaker in my Bugera v22 it now has more of everything i wanted !!! go ahead and buy this now !!! And the best sale's rep jarred !!!!

  • from NY, NY June 26, 2014

    Great, Solid Speaker

    At this price point, it doesn't get much better. I love the sound I get out of this thing. (Not breaking the bank is a really nice perk, too.) The tone balance is perfect no matter what I'm playing.

  • from Madison, WI June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Awesome for the money

    Bought to replace the stock speaker in a Fender combo that I use as a practice amp. Immediately blown away by the difference - it cleaned up and rounded out the low notes and had a really nice open mid-range. Not overpowering but really expressive and it dirty's up real nice. I've played a bunch of of different speakers, and I still love my 1970s Cele Greenbacks best, but for the money this V speaker is pretty awesome.

  • from 'Merica! June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Rockin' it 'til the wheels fall off!!!

    Unbelievable performance!!!

    I needed to replace the Eminence Cannibus Rex's I had in my 2x12. The reviews on the Celestion V-Type fall short on how powerfully versatile and musical this speaker is. I don't know what those crazy Englishmen are doing in their R&D department but keep up the good work. This product is phenomenal and at only $99.00 you're a bonafide fool for not buying it.

  • from New Jersey June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Tone Fiend!

    Fantastic speaker

    Love this new V-Type speaker!
    Celestion seem to be on a roll at the mo. The speaker responds to the slightest input and feels really alive, combined with a such a relaxed and natural kinda 1960s vibe.

  • from San Antonio, Tx March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing guitar for 38 years

    Celestion G12 V-Type 12" 70-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm

    I listened to several brands of 12" 8 ohm speakers on UTube, and found the one that best suited my tastes. I'm speaking about the Celestion G12 V-Type 12" 70-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm. I put a brand new one into my Marshall 50 watt combo amp, and absolutely love its sound. It still has a long time to "break-in" as I've only put about 10 hours of playing time on it, but It sure does sound great! I use a pedal board, and had to fiddle around with my EQ to get the sweet sound out of my new speaker, but a little bit of tweeking, and I am very happy with the speaker's response. I play anything from "oldies" to metal, and the celestion delivers on all all of the various songs. I highly recommend this speaker!

  • from New York November 18, 2013Music Background:
    Avid Hobbyist

    Excellent British Toned Balanced Speaker

    This is an excellent speaker - light weight, great price, excellent construction, but most importantly it sounds great. This has quickly become my favorite Celestion speaker. It has a bit of the creaminess and midrange punch of a V30, but also the bite, rasp and chime of a G12H30. The result is a very well balanced speaker across the spectrum that still retains it's British character. It gives you a very "honest" tone without sounding American in voice or sterile.

  • from Colorado June 8, 2015

    Celestion G12 70

    I must be old. I've changed many speakers and even built many from scratch before decent, full range P.A. speakers were available.
    I wasn't aware however that mounting standards had changed. Though the holes for mounting were close to original, no cigar. I had to pull the T-nuts and redrill the holes and change the grill to fit this speaker in my box. It works fine but the country of origin is no longer G.B. It is Chinese in manufacture.
    Thanks to Walmart, Chinese manufacturing totally gets "cheap" and whatever those standards aren't.

    (It's hard to imagine that a 5,000+ year old culture doesn't know what quality is).

    O well...

Questions about the Celestion G12 V-Type 12" 70-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway