0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm Reviews

5.0 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm?

Questions about the Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from KY March 7, 2017

    AWESOME

    What else can I say that others haven't. I even use my DSL40 as a speaker cab for my Peavey 6505 MH to hear this mighty speaker. I have a Peavey 1-12 with a regular greenback and I do like it, but the Creamback is just bombastic. Very pleased. I swapped the stock 70/80 out of the Marshall and never looked back. People drool over the tones com ing out of my Creamback.

  • from Mi July 26, 2016Music Background:
    35 years - guitar

    Instant difference

    I am very hard to please when it comes to sound from my guitars. I am totally satisfied with the cream back. No detail text needed. They speak for them selves. Sound quality is unmatched. Make sure you break them in for the nice mellow tome these drivers were meant to sound like. Top notch.

    Steve. - SOLID STATE

  • from Montague, MI. April 28, 2016Music Background:
    Recreational Enthusiasts. 35 years experience.

    Heavy Cream, please!

    After rolling through multiple preamp tubes and speakers through my DSL40C I finally got a 65 watt Creamback and was instantly a believer in all the Creamback hype. This is the most complete sounding speaker I've ever heard. It sounds amazing with all levels of gain AND volume! Very full-bodied across the whole spectrum. It's a pure kick in the guts with both my Gibson and Fender. Obviously the last piece of any tone quest puzzle. Pure Rock *****!

  • from WATERFORD, MI February 6, 2016Music Background:
    Worship leader, guitarist, recording/mix engineer, lover of music, seeker of tone, etc., etc.

    What a speaker!

    This speaker sounds just as advertised - a higher wattage G12M Greenback. This speaker is not harsh at all and has noticeably more low end than a Greenback. It isn't altogether noticeable to a SM57 in a recorded mix with a band, but, holy cow, stand in front of this thing in the room and your pant legs vibrate. Awesome! It sounds great with my Peavey 6505MH 20 watt head. I can't even imagine a full stack loaded with these things, how huge that would sound.

    One caveat, I did order and receive a "demo" version of this speaker, so I don't know whether it was ever actually used or broken in before I received it. I am guessing not since there weren't any marks or soldering remnants on the terminals. Either way, I played it for a few hours before I recorded with it. Time will tell if the frequency response will change more or not.

    I would highly recommend this speaker to someone looking for a great sounding driver for their guitar amp. Cheers!

  • from Bulter, PA December 22, 2015

    Celestion G12M-65 Creamback

    I purchased the Creamback to swapped out the 70/80 that came stock in my Marshal DSL40C. I wasn't looing to replace my original speaker but it start making popping and cracking sounds if I turned the volume up past 3 on the amp. I read the reviews on the Creamback and also saw that Sweetwater sells the Marshal DSL40CST which has the upgraded speaker so figured I would give it a try. I couldn't be any happier with the tone from this speaker. Sounds great with my Les Paul, Strat & Epiphone Casino.

  • from Tennessee August 7, 2015Music Background:
    30 years playing guitar. Play 3 times per week in praise and worship bands

    OH MY

    If it were acceptable to marry a speaker I would marry this one. That is how happy it has made me.
    I see it making me tonally complete for the rest of my life. Absolute tonal bliss.

    It has smooth highs. Breaks up nice and warm. Makes my Blackstar HT 20 head sound amazing.

  • from June 11, 2015

    G12M-65 Creamy Goodness

    I originally purchased this pair of G12M-65 to replace G12T-75s in my Marshall combo. I never liked the icy scoop of the G12T's and wanted the warm greenie sound of my '77 1960A. After thinking it through I decided to jump in both feet and had a 2X12 custom cab (1936 clone) built. I loaded the new cab with the G12M-65s and powered it with a DSL100H (plexi / crunch channel mode). I was shocked at how incredible the whole combination sounds - just amazing. The G12T's got ice picky when I pushed the treble and mids. Not the G12M-65s, they get richer and more complex. Now I can get all those amazing tones I always wanted. Best speakers I've ever owned - even better than the original greenies. And Sweetwater service was superb.

  • from Gilbert, AZ April 15, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Wow, amazing!

    Best speaker I've owned, hands down. I was debating between this and the 75 watt version with the H magnet. After hearing both in person, I'm glad I went with the 65 watt version with the M magnet for my application. I play clean and lower gain crunchy stuff with a 60's sort of sound. The 75H sounds more modern and stiff to me whereas the 65M sounds more loose, crunchy, and smooth to me. The tone is about what you'd expect from a quality Greenback-type speaker. Definitely a must buy if you're after vintage Greenback tones with a higher wattage rating.

  • from Orrvile Ohio April 7, 2015Music Background:
    Almost 40 yrs. Pro background, now hobbyist

    Great upgrade!

    Upgraded from Celestion Seventy 80. Very pleased! If you like that "woody" organic speaker tone......like the Greenback, but need higher wattage, the. Go with this!

  • from Hammond, IN January 27, 2015Music Background:
    30+ years guitar, classic rock, blues.

    Very nice tone

    I used this speaker to replace the Celestion Rocket 50 that was stock in my Blackstar HT 20. The Rocket sounded decent but something was missing. The bottom end was lose sounding and the mids were not well pronounced.

    I also play a Vox Night Traiin combo and the stock spear in it is a Celestion Greenback. The Creamback is almost a twin for the Greenback although I think the bottom end is a little tighter sounding with the Creamback. I am able to get very Marshall like tones from the Creamback. Very nice for classic rock tones. Hendrix to Zeppelin and all points in between.

    If you are looking to hot rod a nice amp that has an inferior speaker and you like that Marshall growl without the wallet drain that goes with that t would recommend you give one of these a try.

  • from Chicago, USA January 21, 2015Music Background:
    I love guitar and music. Teacher Performer - Friend of Guitars For Veterans Chicago USA

    The best tone I've ever had.

    Was all over this speaker and bought a 16 ohm demo when no one had any in the country. I am fully starting to realize it's perfection as I get back into gigging. I wanted to get this tone. THIS TONE. It should only get sweeter as it ages. 16 ohm is the land of mojo. Pass it on.

  • from OH USA August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AWESOME TONE

    I swapped out the 70/80 that came stock in my Marshall dsl40c and I'm completely blown away by this speakers' tone...it is exactly what this amp needed...smooth tone with plenty of girth and grunt....I can't recommend this Celestion speaker enough...this is truly what a Marshall should sound like-BUY IT- YOU WON"T BE DISAPPOINTED!

  • from Camby, IN August 5, 2014

    My Marshall Dsl 40c Sounds Monsterous

    My Marshall Dsl 40c Sounds Monsterous with this awesome Speaker. I couldn't Be any Happier with the Kick Ass Tone from this Speaker. Awesome cleans to Thunderous Crisp Distortion Guitar Tone. Thanks to everyone else who gave good reviews about this speaker, because it is as Good as you all said. As Always Thanks to Sweetwater for the awesome and speedy service.

  • from Austin, TX June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Engineer, Producer

    My New Favorite Speaker

    I initially bought one of these speakers to try in a 1x12 open-back cab, but it sounded so good that I immediately ordered a second one, and now they're both in my favorite closed-back 2x12 cab- a Marshall 2061CX. I own (or have owned) dozens of different speakers -- from classic Celestions to newer Celestions to ASW to Scumback -- and these are definitely my new favorites! I usually play crunchy hard rock with a stock 1986 Gibson Les Paul Standard through my Blackstar or Marshall amps, and the G12M-65 Creamback is a perfect match for me.

  • from burnsville n.c. May 9, 2014Music Background:
    26 years of playing guitar

    killer speaker

    if a v-30 and a g12h got together and had a baby this would be it. sounds killer. nice highs, dead on middle, and killer low end. I put into a dsl40c and the amp came to life, added the low end amp was missing. speaker works for clean to metal, celestion nailed it with this one!

  • from Duluth MN April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Luthier who has played in many bands for 37 years

    sweet zip zip smooth

    I have been tired of settling for mediocre and spent a lot of time researching on you tube after many, many demontsrations I decided to spend a little more $ for a speaker I knew I would like. I will be purchasing a second this fall. I loaded it into a 1960's 2x12 Kustom tuck n roll cab, and even with the open hole for the second speaker, it still has plenty of low end with well balanced mids and highs with a nice sparkle. I have been a luthier for 29 years and a metal head at heart. I also play a variety of distortion pedals through my clean chanel of my peavey xxx. I cant see myself wanting any other. primarily I have used celestion vintage 30' but the dynamics of the creamback blew me away.

  • from Connecticut February 27, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    This speaker rocks!

    I replaced the G12T-75's in my 1960a cab with these. The tone is fantastic and just what I was looking for. The highs are smoother and not as spikey. The lows are firm and full. Played through my Marshall JVM205H with VoodooAmps mods I can achieve everythign from chimey cleans to raucus overdrive. The crunch on these speakers is what rock blues is all about. Yes, you have to adjust your amps eq a little, but that is expected. You also have to give the speakers some time to break in. There is a good tutorial on the Celestion website, so follow that and you can jump start the process. I've been playing them for a while now - low volume to high volume and clean to drive and I haven't found a space that I don't love the sound.

  • from Seattle, WA USA October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Celestion G12M-65

    Great speaker!! Was exactly what I was looking for. Totally woke up my bland Egnater 2X12 cabinet. I recommend them highly.

  • from Pasadena, CA August 22, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist of 6 years

    Smoother than Amish-churned butter!

    From the first time I heard a demo of this speaker it was easy to tell that it was above the rest. I had been doing comparisons between Austin Speaker Works, Scumbacks, Eminence, Tone Tubby, Fanes, and other Celestion models, and even consulting some of the makers for their advice. In a split second of hearing these they were "the" sound.

    Celestion has nailed that woody Greenback growl and bark, but in a higher wattage. It's everything I expected to hear in a good set of greenbacks, and still be able to handle my amp's load. Though they are rated at 65 watts about 1/3 of my amp's volume does a great job of pushing these speakers into a nice, smooth breakup. The bottom end keeps its definition, but isn't extremely tight (heavy metal-ish); it's very classic. What makes this speaker so perfect is its upper midrange growl. While the top end stays pronounced and smooth, the upper mids have a great bite that cuts through the mix well and also avoids the icepick of too much treble.

    Not exactly the cheapest speaker, but its an investment that I won't be trading out anytime soon. An excellent addition to the Celestion family.

  • from June 17, 2013

    Creambacks Rock

    These speakers kick $&@ I play acdc stuff mostly they do that very well thru a dsl 40c or Jcm 2204. Good handling power killer tone. Buy now

  • from Omaha,NE January 9, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    Celestion Creamback is the best speaker I have ever used

    I have right now G12T-75's, vintage 30's, weber 12f150, celestion anniversary 30 watt speakers and the Creamback sounds much better than any one of these. I had started combining speakers in an effort to get a more complete range of sound. I tried alot of combinations and it all stopped when I got this creamback. I plan on stocking my 2x12 with all creambacks. I have a G12t75 in it now with the creamback and it sounds great but when I pulled out the creamback and put it in an EVH 1x12 cab it sounded even better! The sound range is very full. It has alot of bass response comparable to vintage 30 and g12t-75 but some how fuller and not boomy. No ice pick sound like vintage 30 but still has crunch. The mids have the perfect frequency very smooth and not honky( like g12t-75). The highs are not harsh but still enough presence to sound good with clean settings. you could play any style of music with these. Biggest tone improvement I have made since buying a new amp (maybe even more).

  • from PA November 8, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Simply AMAZING!! - Installed in Marshall 1936

    Have always used two 4x12's together, one with Greenbacks and the other with well worn G12T-75's (1990s). Wanted to get my tone in a 2 x 12 and have been waiting for the 65 W Creamback. Have a number of older 100 W Marshall heads, so pairing a Greenback in a 2 x 12 was always a concern. Bought a Marshall 1936 with V30's and replaced them with another well worn G12T-75 and ordered the Creamback (both are rated at 97dB, so they're a great match).

    I am totally blown away by this combination in a 2 x 12. Delivers classic Marshall tone. The Creamback is definately a Greenback on steroids! Smooth midrange and crunchy, with better low end than a traditional Greenback, making it great in a 2 x 12. Mixing this speaker with a well worn G12T-75, which has shimmering highs and a tighter low end....it is pure magic.

    Celestion did it right with this speaker. If you have been waiting to get Greenback tone in a 2 x 12 that can handle higher power, then don't delay! This speaker is truly amazing!

  • from Connecticut February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar hobbyist

    Perfect sound

    I put 4 of these in my Marshall 1960A cab and love the woody tone. The highs are sweeter and the bass feels lower and more full, but not boomy. I wanted a higher wattage speaker than the Greenback to keep them from breaking up too early. I run my JVM205 through this cab and the clean tones sparkle and the drive tones rattle your bones but do not flub out. They are just beginning to be broken in and I am already in love with the tone. It will only get better.

  • from SAN GERMAN, PR USA April 24, 2014Music Background:
    30 years + PLAYER

    VERY GOOD

    WORKS PERFECT AT CLOSED VENUES BUT NOT THAT GOOD AT OPEN AIR STAGES

  • from August 13, 2016

    Dull, Lifeless Speaker

    A few years ago, I was searching for a "smooth" guitar sound. I had been using budget combo amps for several years (Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III; Peavey Classic 30) and was unsatisfied with the harsh tone I was getting. I figured a big part of the problem was in the cheap speakers that most manufacturers slap into their combo amps. Eventually, I decided to buy an amp head so I could easily pair it with a speaker of my choosing. Around this time, the Creamback was gaining popularity, and several reviewers talked about how "smooth" it was. I listened to many demos of the Creamback, and agreed that it was the "smoothest" speaker I'd ever heard. I bought one and put it into a Jet City 1x12 cabinet to pair with a couple of low-wattage heads I was using (JCA 22H, Blackstar HT 20). When paired with the HT 20, my first impression was that I'd finally found the tone I needed. The sound was dark and inoffensive with no trace of the fizzy shrillness that I hated in my combo amps. However, when I captured that smooth sound in my project studio, I discovered that it couldn't stand up to other instruments in a mix. Where the harsh fuzzy combo amps had punched fiercely through the densest mixes, the Creamback/HT 20 rig politely stepped into the background. At first I thought it was the Blackstar causing the lack of cut (as an amp, it's smooth to the point of muddiness), but the Creamback yielded the same disappointing results with other amps, including the Friedman Smallbox and Kemper Profiler that I purchased much later. My current cabinet of choice is a Hughes and Kettner TM 112 loaded with a Celestion Vintage 30; and no matter what amp I use, the Vintage 30 always works for me. Moral: "smooth" guitar tones actually come across in a mix as lifeless, muddy husks with no character. Recommendation: skip the Creamback unless you have a brutally harsh amp that needs balance.

Questions about the Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 16 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway